43 independent reviews for Algarve holiday accommodation

Reviews for Algarve holiday accommodation

SHOW
26
16
1
0
0

review 2 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lying in the hammock and reading my book.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t make too many plans, as it’s wonderful to just lounge around the grounds.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We mainly used local businesses in Odiáxere for groceries and there was not much environmental impact at Quinta Alfarrobeira. More or less everything is recycled and they have their own water and renewable energy systems.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved my time there, a beautiful and relaxing place.

review 29 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The tranquility and bird song

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for mosquitoes

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The site is very environmentally aware, and there are a number of excellent local shops

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Marvellous

review 3 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Early morning swims in the pool listening to the birdsong and watching the trees move in the early morning breeze.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring insect repellent as the mosquitos do come out at night attracted to all the plants and then you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes all the cleaning products in the house were low impact, water and light consumption were kept to a minimum by timed lights and environmental water recycling. The local village and market was perfect to buy good quality local fruit and veg with a great local baker recommended to us by our hosts. The planting of trees and use of frugal water irrigation had made the area a haven for wild birds and small animals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We came back rested and happy. Good balance of seeing local areas and then returning to a homely and easygoing atmosphere at night.

review 31 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lying in a hammock at the accommodation watching the moon rise!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit the Monchique mountains, Sagres and as many of the beautiful local beaches as possible

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation was run sustainably, waste is limited and local products are used. There was also a wonderful local farmers market in Lagos benefitting local producers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Awesome! Beautiful part of the world. So many different and interesting areas to visit within 30/40 minutes of Lagos. We'd love to go back there, a beautiful and relaxing place to stay.

review 22 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving to sit by the tranquil swimming pool, gradually taking in the views to distant hills framed by a colourful variety of trees, cacti, beautiful blossoms, oranges and lemons. Enjoying mouth-watering fresh bakery goodies: almond cookies, honey cake and meringues from the local village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For a weeks stay there was enough to interest us within 5-10km, visiting the nature reserves or the mountains would probably require car hire. The comprehensive info compiled by Inge, Theo and Yorick is worth a read.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We took public transport from Faro airport to Lagos and were kindly picked up by arrangement for a small charge from the train station. We walked everywhere during the week, finding different scenic routes to the village, to the beach and to the town. The village has more charms than can first appear as there is a main road running through it. It provides all you need in terms of a daily market, bakery and family business piri piri chicken and is certainly worth supporting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 18 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and quiet

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to spend time at the property rather than dash off to all the many other attractions in the algave.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The property is run in ecological principles. Visitors benefit local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 27 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Collecting oranges with the kids for fresh juice every morning

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take boat rides!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 2 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Inge was such a great hostess, the place is beautiful and lush with vegetation and character, we loved staying there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You’ll need a car for getting to this site.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We really loved being able to pick fresh lemons and oranges, the fresh eggs were great!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were really sad to leave. Such a lovely place to stay.

review 25 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife and scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful.

review 29 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The children were almost speechless with delight when they first saw the pool and how close it was to our guesthouse. They also loved the pizza evening with our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You don't need to plan too many activities. We enjoyed a paddle boarding trip, visited a couple of beaches and had a day in a water park but mainly just enjoyed swimming and barbecuing at the accommodation. Note: We were there late August and definitely needed our mosi repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There were facilities to enable easy recycling and yes, seems very much set up to reduce environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a perfect end to our travels through Portugal.

review 9 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Working on the land, pruning olive trees around the quinta, and meeting our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get the feeling of Portugal in 'winter': visit the empty beaches, work on the land, enjoy the colors of the flowers and the sounds of the birds. Because it feels like spring, in December!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Instead of flying, we took the train from The Netherlands to Portugal, a very nice and easy way to travel. Also, we helped to maintain the land around the Quinta and left it a bit more beautiful than it was at our arrival.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful!

review 31 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing at the villa

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito spray and bite ointment

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great. The villa owners made us feel welcome. Accommodation and setting were perfect. Really relaxed feel we had everything we needed with a short car ride into the village or Lagos.

review 4 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hosts holding a pizza party on Thursday evening, and the beautiful swimming pool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the very helpful information in the house.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did, Inge and Theo have set up a very well thought through environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As a three generation family this holiday, couple in their 60s plus our daughter and her 5 year old granddaughter, it was perfect.

review 14 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely location, central to the best parts of the Algarve but right out in a peaceful hide away.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat at A Baragada in Lagos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - very low impact to the environment. It really was an organic stay...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - happy to recommend.

review 13 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spending time relaxing in and around the stunningly beautiful accommodation. There really was very little need to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The local market in Lagos was really worth a visit for stocking up beautiful local produce.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We definitely supported local people by using local markets and local shops in the village. We only ventured to the larger supermarket for the things we couldn't source locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had the most amazing time in a simply beautiful location with stunning accommodation. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I would recommend this holiday wholeheartedly and can't wait to return.

review 13 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautifully created and carefully looked-after space - room, garden and terraces - that sit harmoniously in a lovely environment, full of wild flowers. The welcome from hosts Inge and Theo, always ready to help with information, and all the attention to detail.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There are walks around the area that are definitely worth doing! The salt marshes, and if you have transport, further afield. It's also easy enough to walk into Lagos if you want the town sights or beaches. Late spring/early summer is a great time to go for wild flowers, and delicious fresh strawberries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I shopped in the local village as much as I could so hope that that supported local businesses. i also used local public transport. The Quinta is built and maintained very much with environmental concerns at the forefront, with solar power and recycling/reuse of materials, and I was happy to be reminded to use electricity and water sparingly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The weather was not as good as I'd hoped, but that's to be expected here on the Atlantic coast! I'd also like to come again in a quieter season. Overall, this was a relaxing, invigorating holiday.

review 15 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable was the overall ambience of the quinta especially swimming in the unique pool surrounded by beautiful countryside. This could be a 'no shoes, no news ' holiday if you wanted to make it - but you' d miss out too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book a car. The roads are easy to drive and it's well worth taking in the spectacular coastline, within very short distances.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes , all of these.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful hosts, idyllically peaceful, varied restaurants and such friendly locals.

review 18 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The place was totally beautiful and relaxing. The atmosphere was so tranquil.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do some research on the local areas, the beaches and make sure to do a shop so you can do your own BBQ.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the ethos was totally different to usual holiday places, it prioritised the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, would love to go back.

review 9 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed watching the kids play with Lola the cat and improve their swimming in the pool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely hire a car and bring mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt encouraged to use local shops and restaurants which we enjoyed, the furniture was upcycled and I think that reduces environmental impact

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful family holiday, we didn't feel over crowed or isolated so it was just perfect for us.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The design of the homestay, its buildings and gardens. To wake to birdsong was wonderful and after a hot day out to come back and have a cooling swim in the pool was heaven. The welcome and generosity of the hosts make this a very special place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need a good amount of bottled water, the Chapel Suite has a very small fridge so you need to buy food daily. The bakery in Odixere is superb. Relax and enjoy the hammock!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the homestay's 17 hectares are a haven for flora and birdlife. We used and were encouraged to use the local stores, markets and restaurants. Recycling was well organised and clear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars - it was one of the best holidays we have had.

review 2 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Finding an amazing beach on the west coast and a gorgeous lake 15 minutes drive north of the accommodation. The bakery in the local village was another bonus- fab bread, cakes and quiche.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car. Luz car were great in Lagos. The roads are narrow and often don't have pavements; I wouldn't have liked to walk them. Even if you want to just stay at the house and use the pool you'd need to go to the local village for supplies. I wished I'd taken insect repellant and was very glad I'd remembered my sun hat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

These holiday houses recycle rubbish and water and have an ecological source of electricity and water. They also provide eco cleaning products, a small hand made soap and a bottle of locally produced wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The accommodation hosts was very welcoming, relaxing, beautifully decorated inside and outside, the gardens are lush and varied. The pool was fab.

review 23 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the lovely deep pool with our five year old daughter, with no one else around.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't want to hire a car then you can get taxis to beaches and back fairly cheaply, the taxi service Inge recommended were great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the commitment to ecology is very clear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful. Beautiful place and everyone working there was so friendly and helpful. Very relaxed but with a luxurious feel. Would recommend.

review 12 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was the quiet and the peace, we stayed in april and we found a really quite place, with flowers fruit trees birds and sun, where you can take a break, breath and enjoy the nature and yourselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your time, we have been there just three night and 2.5 day but that is not enough to really appreciate the atmosphere which is unique (A car is needed).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, thet had solar panel for heating the water and for power, they used just natural cleaning product and gave us natural soap and a really tasty biologic wine, moreover they were situated in a not turistic area and gave us many tips for local markets resturant and activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect for families but also for person alone which are seeking for some time to think and relax.

review 8 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is a stunning place to stay. It has been beautifully restored and rebuilt by the owners and they have filled it with old and interesting pieces of furniture and art. It was incredily comfortable and nothing was too much for the owners. They provided a big box of Lego for my son and a guitar for my partner and plenty of hammocks for me to read my books in so we were all happy. It is in a very convenient location so easy to explore the area - that is if you can tear yourself away from the pool. We will definitely be coming back!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito repellent

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As the place we stayed is off grid and they grow a lot of their own produce and recycle everything it felt very environmentally sound.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five star - we loved it!

review 26 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of our holiday was seeing the property and our room for the first time. It was truly magical.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The Quinta we stayed in was quite remote ( which made it special) but I would say a car is essential to get around. Also, be aware that August is very busy and beautiful looking beaches are crowded.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the Quinta is very eco friendly and the owner encourages visitors to use the local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday was one of the best we have ever had. The Quinta and owner are very welcoming and helpful whilst being unobtrusive and we had a fantastic time and will be back.

review 8 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was wonderful from start to finish - a warm welcome, a beautiful house, lovely pool, fantastic views. The best bit was being outside all of the time, we could sit out for meals, wander about picking flowers, lemons and herbs, stroke the cat, visit the horse - it really was idyllic. The children loved the pizza night and we enjoyed meeting the other guests too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were lucky enough to spend two weeks here so could relax by the pool some days and explore on others. You will need a car really but there is plenty to do nearby so you won't feel like you're spending your holiday in the car. Wonderful beaches close by, Lagos is touristy but nice for a wander around and has a good selection of restaurants. Would definitely recommend exploring the coast if you can drag yourself away from the peace and tranquility.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Inge and Theo are working hard on all of this. We were encouraged to recycle everything and the coloured bins really help - the children loved taking the rubbish out!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday and we hope to return.

review 25 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The swimming pool is a tropical paradise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire car is definitely needed. You can walk to the village in 30 mins but in 40 degrees heat as it was in August, it was hard work.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as despite the heat, we were comfortable without aircon.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Was an amazing place to stay. Gorgeous pool. Inge was very friendly and helpful. Just need a car next time.

review 5 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Inge was incredibly welcoming and helpful all the time. We celebrated a birthday while there and she was happy to lend us a cake tin. We decided to invite the hosting family as well as the other guests to our little celebration and had a great time by the pool. A few days later Inge put on a pizza party by the bread oven. She made the dough and sauce and we all brought toppings and drinks. Apart from guests of the quinta there were also young volunteers from a nearby permaculture farm. It was really a great evening with enthusiastic and inspiring people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Allow yourself time to just hang-out at the quinta. It's so relaxing and there are plenty of places to sit/lie while reading yet another good book. A true possibility to stop life for a bit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We went shopping in the local village and especially appreciated the bakery. Inge also gave us a bottle of organic wine produced by a neighbour as a welcoming present, and we bought more from her later on. Very nice wine. We particularly enjoyed being able to go out in the garden and pick herbs and the odd pepper or tomato (whatever was ripe at the time) for our cooking. It's clear that Inge and Teo are very concerned about conservation, so e.g. there were very clearly designated bins for different kinds of recycling. And they are off the grid producing their own electricity from big solar panels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time, even though we unfortunately all suffered from bad colds that we'd brought with us from the UK. The place was a perfect place for restoration and recuperation, so even though we didn't have the holiday we'd planned, we were all very happy with the experience we did have in this wonderful, warm and relaxing space. We've been lucky to be on other equally wonderful holidays, so don't want to say this one is The Best. Hence the 4 rather than 5 stars.

review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We spent 10 nights and it was all really great, friendly and helpful hosts and beautiful, clean accommodation. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the garden (not being a gardener myself) the plants are beautiful and there are so many different places to sit, with each providing a different view. The pool was fantastic, great toddler areas and also big enough for swimming. The location was also very good, we were able to do lots of trips out and still have plenty of time relaxing by the pool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car via Inga and stop on your way from the airport for supplies especially bottled water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation certainly does no harm to the local area, we ate locally at restaurants that were recommended in the large folder of information and also bought bread from a local baker who came to the Quinta to bake in the bread oven. The gardens are a great habitat for insects and birds.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded our expectations and we plan to return in the next couple of years.

review 16 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and tranquillity of the surroundings. The wonderful welcome shown by Inge and Theo. The freedom to wander their land, pick oranges, lemons and apricots. The beautiful swimming pool with a natural rock surround which all three generations used every single day. All the space that the Vivenda cottage and grounds offered us. The wonderful hospitality of all the local people in the fish market, the small supermarkets and small cafe's/restaurants. Lunch at Chico Ze an absolutely amazing lunch time only restaurant set in a wonderful grounds restored and set as a museum with school room, chapel, farm buildings a wonderful place for our almost 3 years old grandson to enjoy. The meals were superb and the service outstanding.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car through Inge's contacts at Marina Car Hire, no waiting around for hours like others had to, take good walking shoes but mostly sit back relax and take in all that there is to see and do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from once shopping in Lagos at a larger supermarket we bought locally daily, ate local and only travelled locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

100%. Exactly what we as a family of three generations, age range from almost 3 to 71, were looking for

review 1 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great place, great people!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and lean back. enjoy sitting on the terras and doing nothing. owners are superhelpful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very nice - also perfect place to be with kids!

review 5 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The accommodation is faultless and very beautiful and the hosts are welcoming and friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

My daughter is vegan and while Portugal is hopeless for vegans, she had a great time picking fruit and nuts from the trees and buying vegetables (local and cheap) in the markets.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a lovely time!

review 7 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location - so tranquil and perfect hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The accommodation is perfect for getting away from it all, but with facilities nearby when needed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best!

review 28 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For my son it was feeding the horses, for my fella the beautiful trees on the land and for me the good vibes and being poolside

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a car, walk the land, bbq some fish

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, felt the owners are trying to be as self sustainable as possible

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

So relaxing! Excellent apartment with beautiful surroundings, chilled out owners who make u feel very welcome. Looking forward for a return.

review 17 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of our holiday was staying at the Quinta. We were very warmly welcomed by our hosts Inge and Theo who are very helpful and easy going. The location atop a hill, is a charming restored farm with its annexes, surrounding gardens and beautiful lagoon like swimming pool. One can enjoy the enchanting landscape views from the multiple terraces and much care and attention has been given to make the interior decoration tasteful and comfortable. We were so relaxed and happy spending tranquil days by the swimming pool (that our 3 year old loved splashing about in) and barbecuing our meals using the outside kitchen facilities, that we often chose this option over days out at the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a car through Inge and Theo, we ended up paying much more than we needed to. We also thoroughly enjoyed a day out on the West coast of the Algarve, its totally different and stunning with natural reserves and actually just a half hour drive from the Quinta. There are folders in the houses giving very precious indications on restaurants, beaches, shopping facilities etc. We found this advice to be very useful with some great, cheap, typically portuguese addresses.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All rubbish is efficiently sorted and recycled with different bins for each type of waste. Our hosts recommended that we shop at the local daily farmers market in the village, which was excellent and that we used as much as possible along with the local bakers. We also ate in local restaurants and used the local commerce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday that we all thoroughly enjoyed and would warmly recommend. Perfect for a relaxing family holiday. Also an ideal setting for visiting the Algarve.

review 7 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The space both inside and outside, and the beautiful pool.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whilst we had a car, and we did make use of it, but I think it would be possible to manage with bikes for Odiaxere and Lagos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Theo and Inge's commitment to the local area is very evident

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic place, and Theo, Inge and their family have created a very special atmosphere. A brilliant place for our children's first holiday abroad. It would have been nice if there would have been children in the other guesthouse while we were there but this was a great place for both us and them.

review 9 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our young son finally finding the courage to come into the sea on the last day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't plan to do too much - the Quinta is so lovely you'll want to spend lots of time there. A car was really useful, even though we only used it for short trips. It would have been too hot to walk during most of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The owners seem very mindful of the environment and the community. It was easy to recycle waste and local businesses were recommended.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a really lovely break. This very special place has a wonderfully relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Very suitable for young children - there were even boxes of toys to play with.

review 21 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There was so much about this holiday that we loved. The beauty of the quintal, the colours, the attention to detail (nothing is mass-produced, everything feels unique); the hammock and the pool; having freshly-laid eggs for breakfast, or picking up a lemon from the garden; perhaps most of all, the genuine warmth and hospitality of the owners. We also loved having the choice between doing absolutely nothing and venturing out. We were particularly blown away (not literally) by some of the stunning beaches on the nearby Atlantic coast; great surfing too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Rent a car, unless you really just want to completely unwind and stay very local. It's possible to walk from the quinta to the local village, but apart from that you need a car. The local beach was further away (on foot) than we expected (appr. 40 mins walk). It's lovely to walk from the local beach to Lagos.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, there is a true sense of care for the environment at the quinta, not just going through the motions but genuinely slowing down, considering the options and doing what it best for, or least harmful too, the environment. We were only there for a week but we also had the impression that the owners, who are Dutch, are very integrated into the local area and work with local people whenever they can.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fabulous time. We feel this is small-scale rural tourism at its best.

review 19 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The property was really unique, beautifully restored, in several acres of land, full of flora and fauna, with a relaxing remote setting but only 5 mins from Lagos. The owners were very friendly, and shared their oranges and lemons - delicious for breakfast. The pool is also very good - we were only brave enough to use it once, but it would be fantastic in the heat of summer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Explore the fields around the quinta, and the nearby nature reserves. Cliff top walks are fantastic - we did Salema-Burgau and Benagil-Marinha, and the west coast beaches are beautiful and quiet. Try the local wines - excellent value and really good too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As much as it is possible - the quinta has several recycling bins and solar power, and we used candles when possible!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic relaxing family holiday - great to get away from it all and enjoy a beautiful part of the world.

review 8 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is a beautiful spot with very friendly and helpful hosts. My favourite aspect was the variety of outdoor seating - it made for some very relaxed moments.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - so much more considerate of the environment than so much of the Algarve.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our fourth responsible travel find and a fourth success. Thank you.

review 24 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful, relaxed atmosphere of the accommodation. The quietness of the surrounding hills. The beautiful pool with lots of vegetation around it and comfortable lounge chairs. The attention to detail the owners have put into everything (no plastic!). It felt really timeless. The owners were very accommodating; Inge especially was very helpful, laid-back, and a pleasure to talk to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book enough time to relax and slow down. We were there for eight days and only went out exploring for 3 of them (we're admittedly quite lazy). The guest house (we were in the smaller one) and pool were so beautiful it was hard to tear ourselves away. And the hammocks...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our hosts were very environmentally conscious, and the materials of the house seemed like they were re-used had been thoughtfully chosen. They had an amazing notebook full of recommendations for local places to eat and visit, and Inge even guided us to an organic farm where the very generous owner picked the veg we wanted then and there. So yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was amazing. Really the best one I've ever had. I loved the feel of the place and I felt really at home with out all the baggage of being at home (phone, computer, projects, piles of stuff...)

review 26 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the house where we stayed. The garden, the swimming pool, the quietness, the views - were all just what we wanted.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy being in the house and garden and pool. Shop in the local markets for fresh fish and vegetables and cook delicious food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think the whole way that the owners of the property have designed and built it - the garden - the re-cycling - the encouragement to shop locally all benefit the local area. Unfortunately the planners have allowed a great deal of development in the Algarve that is not sympathetic to the environment - but from the house and garden this is not visible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent place to stay and relax. I honestly could not think of a nicer house / garden. I was sad that in the 20 years since I was last in Southern Portugal, there has been a lot of ugly development. However, we tended to drive into the hills or go to the wild west coast and that is still beautiful and unspoiled and only 40 mins away.

review 8 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful gardens and pool which, together with the comfortable and well-equipped accommodation, really helped us to unwind and relax.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your mosquito repellant!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the house is well designed in this respect with good facilities for recycling. We shopped in the local village and might have considered using bikes if weather was a little cooler.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies