11 independent reviews for Petra and Wadi Rum by bike, Jordan

Reviews for Petra and Wadi Rum by bike, Jordan

SHOW
7
3
1
0
0

review 11 Apr 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I was blown away by the scenery we were able to enjoy during the ride. Absolutely amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be more than moderately fit to do this ride. There are some big hills and we could not finish them all. I know thatís not the goal, but it was very challenging.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we had the chance to support the local economy without making a huge impact on the surrounding environment by staying in the camps during the trip. It was a lot of driving between rides, and hopefully later on they will have an electric vehicular that can do that.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was the most amazing and challenging and eye-opening holiday I have every had. The experiences of ride, snorkeling, touring these ancient sites, eating local dishes, meeting local people, and meeting the wonderful people we rode with will always be a remarkable memory for me.

review 12 Apr 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most of it!! Petra, cycling in amazing scenery, eating in someoneís house (fantastic food), floating in the Dead Sea, swimming in the Red Sea!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!! Read all instructions with care & follow them - especially about what to take

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted local people financially Not especially for the other two

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab!

review 3 Apr 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra and the natural beauty of the mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

research weather and what to bring clothing wise as it can have a stark impact on enjoyment and make sure dietary requirements are catered for

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

definitely benefited local people, cycling obviously low carbon but support vehicles not and am not really sure in what was conservation was supported

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great experience overall! some accommodation questionable and dietary requirements were an issue for some

review 14 Nov 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visit of Petra

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Avoid Petra by night

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Many local people where involved in this trip (drivers, leaders, hotels etc)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 26 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling to Petra on a almost empty road up and down hills in the most amazing countryside was breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When cycling having the right kit eg handlebar bag is really useful!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think it supported local people and generally environmental impact was kept to a minimum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had an excellent time and would look to use the tour operator again.

review 6 Jan 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of my holiday on the sight-seeing side, was seeing the whole of PETRA, including cycling to Little Petra. Also, cycling to the Dead Sea & floating in it ! Likewise, swimming in the Red Sea. The most exciting part was visiting Wadi Rum, the 2 to 3 hour ride around its vast desert, seeing herds of camels in open top jeeps, seeing the incredible sunset & sleeping in a bedouin tent underneath the stars !

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of sunblock, plus sunhats / sunglasses, gel saddle for the bike. Also, be prepared to buy your own alcohol at off -licence shops, as many areas do not serve beers / wine. Draw enough spending money from a Jordanian ATM once only, as they charge enormous fees !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did ! It benefited the local traders & I supported them by buying a few memorable items.... this type of holiday definitely supports local conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For me, it was the Christmas holiday of a lifetime, a truly unforgettable experience, which will remain long in the memory !

review 9 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling down Mount Nebo to the Dead sea, marvelling at Petra, waking early in the Wadi Rum and watching the sun rise over the silent desert. Experiencing it all with a lovely group of people and some superb guides

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be completely bowled over by a truly astonishing country. Take a travel towel for the desert!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local businesses, made us aware of the local community. Not sure about environmental impacts, we cycled but had motor support

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely highly recommended with brilliant guides in Bassam for information, culture, history and great stories and our lovely cycling guide Abdul Aziz, who encouraged us all and made cycling a great adventure

review 11 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Zooming down hill from Mount Nebo.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you dink enough water as it gets rather hot at mid-day 300 meters below sea level..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8 from 10..

review 11 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My most memorable moment was walking through the slot canyon that leads to and opens up to the Treasury in Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Potential travelers should not be afraid to visit Jordan. It is a very safe country, with good accommodations, food, and infrastructure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip benefited local people financially. We visited and supported local sites of conservation interest.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful experience that will rank as one of the best vacations of my life.

review 20 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery is amazing In Jordan, incredible gorges, rock formations as well as good variety. In terms of ancient cultures - Jerash and Petra stand out. The people are very friendly and its very safe.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Cycling was pretty easy as long as you can do 30 kms comfortably you should be fine. Women take a gel seat cover or your own saddle.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Stayed in local hotels and ate local restaurants. However, having a large coach for just 18 of us and using gallons of bottled water (when the tap water was fine) was not very eco friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4/5 Was disappointed with the cycling as didnt do as much as I expected spending too long in the coach and being made to go in gift shops! Dead sea was a non event - 1 hour would have been plenty, could have done some nice cycling around the dead sea that day instead. Group was great and guides all fantastic.

review 25 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Action packed, fantastic from start to finish

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it, it was fantastic

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic throughout

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy