10 independent reviews for Mont Blanc walking holiday

Reviews for Mont Blanc walking holiday

SHOW
6
4
0
0
0

review 19 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful scenery along the way, professional guide, friendly teammates.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Intensive exercise for 3-5 months in advance, so that you can better complete the walk and have the mood to enjoy the scenery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Consumption on walking increases the income of the local tourism industry, and we do not litter to protect the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect holiday, look forward to the next time.

review 19 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving at the top of the Col de La Croix du bonhomme after a long, long climb and sharing the moment with other lovely people, hitherto strangers, several of whom had dug really deep to get up there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take seriously the tips about getting fit in advance. Take as little stuff as you can - the mule will appreciate it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We brought some trade to refuges and some local producers. We minimised waste ( though really hard to avoid plastic packaging for lunch ingredients). We did without transport to and from each day’s walking unlike many other tours.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous! Arrangements were impeccable the guide was superb- knowledgeable, authoritative when necessary, good at caring for the mule, absolutely bilingual, and above all cheery! The group was a great range of nationalities, ages and interests and all mixed in well.

review 19 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to hike in the alps in 3 countries and seeing the wonderful landscapes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use snow boots (Spring).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Especially with the local produce such as food, wine, etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was awesome, we had a nice weather apart from just 1 day of rain.

review 6 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The incredible views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's not the distance or time walking each day but the steep climbs and descents which make this walk challenging.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our guide was extremely environmentally conscious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 12 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had some stunning views, every day! Although the days were very different, they did not disappoint.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you are physically fit, and be prepared for some long climbs, 700-800m takes 2-3 hours to complete. Buy a good hiking rucksack with hip harness, as this takes the weight off your shoulders.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We made sure to clear up all our rubbish and leave nothing behind, being very careful to not have any impact on the natural beauty of the area

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8/10

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful alpine meadows backed by mountain scenery, including 12 ibex one day. The last 2 days were the best - more like walking in mountains in the UK rather than on good paths.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you're fit enough - another group had one person so much slower than the rest that the guide had to stay with her, meaning that the rest of the group couldn't benefit from his knowledge. If you don't take hold luggage, buy a cheap kitchen knife in Chamonix. Take plenty of factor 50 and a wide-brimmed hat - we had over 30 degrees a few days even quite high up. There was no choice for the evening meal so don't be fussy - the food was excellent, much better than I'd expected and plenty of it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely benefited local people as we always stopped at alpages and refuges during the day and mainly stayed in small communities. The guides are from a local company and are very knowledgeable (if Yves is anything to go by). Lunch was always locally sourced with wonderful cheese etc, and the evening meal was usually made from fresh ingredients. Our baggage was transported by van as there was a bit of snow but as it was so hot I was glad for the mule.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience, really glad I was there for the wild flowers. Well organised and a brilliant guide. Good rapport among the group despite language differences.

review 12 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

While every part of our holiday was amazing, we particularly found the stay in Fornovelasco to be the best. We loved listening to the river outside our window, hiking up to the arch, and down in the cave. Our daughter went zip lining and climbing with the local adventure group in town.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the fitness level seriously. This was a wonderfully challenging adventure. Also, try to be in Italy for a few days beforehand. We flew into Florence the week before and spent a week outside of Bologna first. We found flying in and out of Florence easy to do, getting both a bus and train to get to ur destination,

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, these were rural areas and we were often the only people staying in our hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - this is our third family vacation through Responsible Travel and each one has been fantastic.

review 2 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good fitness level

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10

review 28 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything: from the best guide (Maxime), great food and accommodations, amazing travel companions and the place itself...it was perfect!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you train well for 6-8 hike everyday to enjoy the scenery

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect!

review 15 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing down Fenetre d' Arpette, and climbing up Bonhomme.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you are very fit physically, and read something about the Alps (geographic, flora & fauna, history, culture). Other than that, everything was very well organized. If you fly in from outside of Europe, consider arriving a few days earlier, stay in Chamonix area and warm yourself up with some small day-hiking trip. I travelled 24 hours to arrive in the evening before the trek started, and felt tired even before starting walking. Better spare some time to adjust.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies