33 independent reviews for Sailing holiday in the Aegean Sea

Reviews for Sailing holiday in the Aegean Sea

SHOW
11
17
2
0
3

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dolphins around the bow of the yacht, beautiful beaches and villages, the walk up to the church on the hill in Chora, Folegandros.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light - there is limited space. Interact fully and share with all your travelling companions - not just the ones you know.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we went to different bars/restaurants/shops every day and there is a strong sustainability ethic on board in terms of recycling etc and clear appreciation of wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Magical. The skipper and assistant worked incredibly hard to please everybody and are extremely skilled.

review 22 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the islands of the Small Cyclades we visited--Iraklia, Amorgos, Koufonissi, Antiparos... All stunning and with a wonderful, relaxed vibe.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly--all one really needs is a swimsuit, flip flops, shorts and a few t-shirts. Also worth packing a waterproof, lightweight jacket to wear on deck during high seas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! Annie and Sotiris are passionate about making as little environmental impact as possible and that credo imbues everything on, and relating to, the trip, including selecting dining spots where the owners offer local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful adventure and I will cherish the memories I have from a fantastic week at sea with Annie, Sotiris and my fellow travellers.

review 11 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The spontaneity of the whole trip. Nothing was really planned - the skipper would decide the following day's itinerary each morning. The highlight was a beach BBQ on a deserted beach and near-full moon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light . You don't need a lot whilst cruising the Islands and cabin space can be tight. If you are device addicted, it may be worth bringing a powerbank as recharging facilities are not always available.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we ate at local family taverns.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday. Our skipper and Divemaster were fantastic and made this a memorable, relaxing holiday.

review 25 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The close contact with sea for one week. I and my 8 year old daughter loved sailing and jumping from the boat in the clear blue sea of beautiful small Cyclades. To swim with thousands little fish and to snorkel in natural caves. The Tahita crew - Annie and Sotiris are a sweet couple who took care of all the crew with love. We really appreciated all thir information given during the sailing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go sailing ! Is the most natural, sustainable and beautiful way to visit islands in Greece. You will be out of the crowded touristy places and you will see beautiful desert beaches and islands that is priceless.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Annie and Sotiris can suggest you the best taverns on the islands. They really take you to visit the places where local people gather . They have an authentic and friendly relationship with local people. We enjoyed a lot a night of live Greek traditional music , we were the only foreigners in the restaurant ! Sailing is a sustainable way of travelling -Sotiris the skipper - tryes to reduce the use of engine to the minimum. On the boat they have a system of wind power. They take care of garbage .

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday , very very recommended indeed ! I am reborn!

review 9 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire holiday was memorable without exception. But some of the many highlights were snorkelling through spectacular luminescent coral reefs, the stunning and dramatic coastline walk around Koufonisia, exhilarating sailing in force 7 winds, and the delicious and authentic evening meals in local tavernas on each island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it! You won't regret it. But pack very lightly. You need much less stuff than you think you do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. In every way possible. Sotiris, the skipper, also runs an up-cycling business, making useful and beautiful items out of garbage, and is passionate about conservation and recycling. It comes through in everything he does and the way the trip is run. Without a doubt, we kept our environmental impact to an absolute minimum and supported small local businesses. Sotiris and Annie gave us such a deep insight into the local culture and economy on each island we visited, and how they are being impacted by social changes and globalisation. The trip was not only hugely enjoyable, but incredibly informative, and highly Eco-aware.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Sotiris and Annie were perfect hosts. They put so much of themselves into this trip, and treated us like travelling companions and friends, rather than customers. They are friendly, engaging and entertaining company and they instantly made us feel relaxed and at home on their boat. They clearly love what they do, and this comes out in their passion and enthusiasm. The trip itself was filled with exceptional moments, both on land, on a new island every day, each with its own charm and character, and at sea - sailing, swimming and snorkelling in crystalline waters surrounded by beautiful undersea life. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience, Annie and Sotiris.

review 29 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Building a bonfire & BBQing on a deserted island, sleeping under the shooting stars, taking local food & wine, swimming in the clearest waters,

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel lightly and learn as much as you can from your skipper!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, and it was so exciting to meet with locals and eat local food

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Definitely 5 stars

review 22 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I won't forget the fantastic landscape of the Cyclades, beautiful clear sea, shining sun and friendly people. Whether out on the sea or exploring the islands you feel really at peace and awed by your surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - and I took away from it an appreciation of how much water and electricity we consume daily without even thinking about it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - the hostess and skipper are so hospitable. There was no problem too great that Annie couldn't solve!

review 21 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was our first sailing holiday. We enjoyed it greatly and there was a fantastic team of people on board so that made the holiday ever more memorable. Plus we really enjoyed the diving.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be flexible and keep an open mind as sailing is very much dependant on weather so schedules can vary but there are so many great place to visit around the small Cyclades.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. We had a very informative presentation about the Mediterranean sea and the marine life and it was apparent that the holiday providers care about what they do very much.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great adventure! It definitely something we might do again.

review 3 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's very difficult to chose something one because that one week on Tahita yacht was a very memorable experience in itself. The feeling of freedom when you feel the wind on your skin during a sail, sleeping on a deck under the open sky with myriad of bright stars, every evening discovering a new island, snorkelling at night, seeing a tortoise- all of these was memorable and exciting. But perhaps the most memorable experience is getting to know the skipper of the yacht - a man who made all of the above possible plus he taught us how to to be more aware of the limited resources we use daily without thinking, such as water and electricity, and ultimately how to appreciate the beauty of simplicity on the yacht and generally in life. The stories he told us about Greece and its people, the places he brought us to taste delicious local food, the music he shared with us, the long conversations we had over dinners - these are the most precious and memorable moments. My 12 year old son puts it simply: Sotiris, the skipper, was the best part of my entire holiday in Greece.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to confined spaces and limited resources ( you can't take showers for hours on the yacht), but more importantly be open-minded, don't expect an "all inclusive service" and don't expect anyone to serve you. This holiday is about something different - it's about exploring and discovering something about the sea and yourself and your companions. for me that was the most valuable part of it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate at local tavernas and again thanks to our skipper we learnt a lot about garbage recycling, became more aware of how to use water and electricity with less waste.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

These 7 days on the yacht created a lot of wonderful memories and both myself and my son feel very grateful to the people who made it happen . Thank you, Sotiris and Annie, hope we'll come aboard Tahita again for a longer sail and for more nights under the open sky.

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip did not meet our expectations. The host, Annie, did not even show up for the week. We heard that she left the boat the morning before we all arrived but it wasn't explained. She did not join us on our vacation, and we did not hear from her that week. The skipper of this boat should not, we are sorry to say, be working with people alone. He brought his new girlfriend, who unfortunately did not like to sail, and was sick the whole time; she was very pleasant but we didn't often see her. Most of the week we were left to fend for ourselves. We bought our own bread and water and replaced basic supplies when necessary. We spent the majority of the time in port. This cannot be blamed on the weather, as short trips around the islands to spots for the day would have been easy, and fine for us. Indeed the other boats that crossed our path that week did multiple day trips of this sort while we lingered on the concrete. When we asked if that was possible we were reprimanded and told that we should have been abandoned in the first port for the week. We were taken on one day trip, for an hour and a half, on one day of the seven, under duress. The contempt for doing so was apparent throughout the day and we were made to feel like we were even more unwelcome. The skipper was, at best, silent and moody, at worst, hostile. We were not welcome on board, and any questions were given one word answers or ignored. There were no walks organized, no explanations, no information given about the ports we were abandoned in, no orientations or even ideas about what to do. Most of the time he left us and went away. When he was on board he did not speak to us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We are repeat clients of RT and have only had wonderful experiences every other time. We had absolutely lovely fellow guests which made the trip, and we all share the same concerns. We have all spent a lot of time on sailboats, and so we know what the trip should have been like. We have just returned from an absolute amazing week sailing on another boat in exactly the same area, and every day was glorious, interesting and full of adventure, with amazing hosts; and all in worse weather than we had the week of this sail; and would be highly recommended.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The facilities were somewhat poor, not kept in good shape, not normal for a charter. And we have been on four other similar charters. Once berthed, we would not see our hosts for the day. We took no tours or eco-walks, as discussed prior to sailing, when asked for recommendations about what to explore or where to go we got silence or 'do whatever you want I don't really care' as a response before walking away. We were advised that breakfast was included. As we have experienced on other sailing tours, the crew would be up and have a simple breakfast ready for their waking guests bought locally. This was not the case on this trip. The guests were required to buy ourselves with our own funds all supplies for breakfast including water. We did have dinner in all-local restaurants. So we do not know of any other positive impacts as we were not communicated with for the most part. We all felt the holiday provider fell well short of "responsible tourism". We were told that the diesel motor had to be constantly run to charge the batteries in order for there to be sufficient power for the lights. However the lights were not standard energy efficient LED lights and as a consequence we had to run the diesel motor longer, sometimes all day or overnight. On one occasion, while berthed, the crew departed from the boat with the motor running all day. We were confronted by the neighbouring boat berthed alongside complaining of the constant running engine which was both inconsiderate and environmentally inefficient. We had to explain to them why and try to calm them down. They ended up boarding and turning the motor off themselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Other than one stop that we begged the skipper for, for an hour and a half, on one day of seven, our tour of the islands could have been replicated using local ferry services. We were all actively discouraged from participating in sailing the boat, even though we all had experience, and some of us were fully certified. On the occasions when we tried to participate we would be told in a most discouraging way that we had incorrectly. In the end, we decided for our own sake that we should simply sit quietly.

Read the operator's response here:

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your sailing week with us. It was a challenging week in terms of the rough seas. Apart from one day that you stayed at Iraklia, you sailed to different islands in the Small Cyclades every day. We only wish you had communicated with us during the trip or sooner as we may have been able to explain and clarify certain issues you raised (for ex, there is no hostess, breakfast is self-service, etc) and maybe we would have been able to act and do something to make your holiday a better experience. We sincerely hope you have some good memories from the islands you visited and the people you may have met. Best regards Annie

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our experience with the holiday provider in Greece was disappointing. In short we found the holiday provider to be anything but mystical and far from ecologically responsible (as claimed). Our expectations of "mystical" was to sail to remote Greek island beaches and bays, spend the day at isolated locations, and then sail to a quiet harbour to spend the evening in a local village. We also envisaged that we would be welcomed to participate in sailing - something we have done previously and thoroughly enjoyed. The reality fell well short of our expectations. Other than a dive stop on the first day, and another stop at an isolated beach (reluctantly made by our captain following a request by another guest), we did not stop at remote island beaches and bays. We simply sailed or motored directly to the harbour of the next island where we moored or anchored for the day and night. Other than these two stops, our tour of the islands could have been replicated using local ferry services. Guests were actively discouraged from participating in sailing the boat. On the occasions when we tried to participate we would be told in a most discouraging way that we had performed the task incorrectly. In the end, we simply sat quietly being "ferried" to the next port. As paying guests and reading previous reviews we expected an engaging and accommodating host. Annie, who features prominently in the feedback, was not on our tour - despite the understanding and expectation she would be. We were later advised she and Sotiris (the captain) had separated. Sotiris is anything but an accommodating host. His communication style was "matter of fact" (at times abrupt) and lacked any personal hospitality. It was very quickly realised that the less you said the better! We were advised that breakfast was included in this tour. It wasn't. The guests were required to buy all supplies for breakfast including breakfast for the crew. Breakfasts were on a help yourself basis - nothing was prepared or laid out by our host. Guests were expected (at times requested) to buy drinking water for ourselves as well as the crew. A few of us did experience a great dive at a remote location on day one which was guided well by Sotoris. This was on the first day and the highlight of the week. Leading dives and sailing are obviously Sotiris' forte as he is any but an accommodating and welcoming host. accommodation host are communication was otherwise abrupt and generally impersonable. Highlight- seeing dolphins, the dive and getting to know the other 3 guests.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book with another operator. We have done many sailing trips similar to this one in other countries and unfortunately this was far below expectations and promises.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

If conservation includes lack of basic facilities that should have been provided as mentioned in the brochure then yes. There was no hot (or warm) water for showers. There was no fresh water "wash down" facilities at the stern (to rinse after swimming), something common on boats the size of Tahita (the boat). There was no facilities to charge mobile devices. There was no refrigeration, despite there being a refrigerator. Guests reverted to buying ice in an attempt to keep perishables cool. We felt the holiday provider fell well short of its "ecological" mandate. This was possible best evidenced by the over reliance on the boats diesel motor. We were told that the motor had to be run to charge the batteries in order for there to be sufficient power for the lights. However the lights were not energy efficient LED lights (the common standard for energy efficient 12 volt systems) and as a consequence we had to run the diesel motor longer. The nights we berthed at a wharf we did not connect to mains power or water supply. We were told the leads and hoses where too short. On one morning while berthed, Sotoris had left the boat with the motor running. When we and other guests went to leave the boat we were confronted by the owners of the boat berthed alongside complaining of the running engine. (We know that running an engine for any length of time whilst berthed is irresponsible and inconsiderate). We ate at local restaurants every evening and the food and service was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As Tahita is old and in a very "tired" condition we rate this holiday poor. We endured a disappointing experience the holiday provider and frankly could not wait for our time on Tahita and it's miserable captain to finish.

Read the operator's response here:

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your sailing week with us. It was a challenging week in terms of the rough seas. Apart from one day that you stayed at Iraklia, you sailed to different islands in the Small Cyclades every day. We only wish you had communicated with us during the trip or sooner as we may have been able to explain and clarify certain issues you raised (for ex, there is no hostess, breakfast is self-service, etc) and maybe we would have been able to act and do something to make your holiday a better experience. We sincerely hope you have some good memories from the islands you visited and the people you may have met. Best regards Annie

review 28 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sailing in the open water on the calm sunny days with gentle wind. Mooring in the isolated bays away from any crowds. 5 different dive sites, especially the cave. All the small villages we visited.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good to book slightly out of season to avoid the crowds. Pack light if the weather will be good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Good to see the crew were all over the recycling and we also had a beach clean up on one of the islands.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great experience and gave us a good taste of sailing, now ready for some more! You guys made the trip even better, great job Sotiris and Thakis.

review 18 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from ashore and on dry land. The Cyclades are really unique.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Personal space is limited but it all adds to the fun. Sotiris and Annie are great hosts.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. We ate at local taverns, shopped in small shops that also offered local produce and learned to use water sparingly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

brill!

review 21 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day we would head off under the expert guidance of our skipper, Sotoris, to a new destination, never knowing for sure where we we were heading or what it would be like. But each destination was a stunner and Sotoris was so informative and helpful we were able to enjoy every moment spent there. Fantastic. There were so many highlights it is hard to pick out the best - snorkelling in clear blue waters, visiting deserted beaches, wandering through the streets of ancient villages far away from all the tourists, eating marvellous local food, seeing ancient ruins, sailing under starry skies....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! Don't hesitate.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our skipper was very conscious of his surroundings and made sure that life on the boat reflected these principles. On board the boat Everything we used was recycled and we only used the motor when there was not enough wind to sail. Skipper Sotoris taught us about the marine life and the ecology of the surrounding area and how to protect it whilst we swimming and sailing. Each time we put into port Sotoris gave us the option to visit local family restaurants and cafes. He also helped us with timetables and tickets for the local bus services if we wanted to explore inland. All helping the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It doesn't get much better than when 2 truculent teenagers and 2 grumpy parents all agree it was the best holiday they had ever had!

review 21 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole first day in Amorgos, from waking up and going to the beach in the morning to the fantastic dinner with Greek music.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with the flow, Sotiris and Annie know the best places, you should trust them. :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we slept on a sailing boat and we were very economical in our wastes, we ate in local restaurants and bought food in local markets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Awesome! I recommend everyone to try it.

review 6 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cave dives, beautiful! The evenings in the company of the group, Annie and Sotiris. Falling asleep on the deck without a single worry on your mind, while sailing and great music in the background.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate, just book! And be prepared to completely relax. You will be in great hands for the sailing, diving, places to see, restaurants to go to,... The boat is in perfect shape, clean.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, just a bit of consciousness, small things can make a difference.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded my expectations on all points. Great atmosphere, great company, delicious food, hilarious moments, beautiful moments, new friends,... Writing this down, I miss it again.

review 1 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The constant contact with a transparent and "mystic blue" sea!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy every single moment!! With a sharing and open attitude, and trust Annie and Sotiris! It'll be just great!! Uh, well..remember to take some tablets/patches against sea-sickness with you just in case! They helped me sooo much! I've NEVER felt sea-sick during this amazing sailing trip! And I swear I'm pretty"susceptible" (is it right?) to those kind of things!;)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well..I think so. I think that it definitely benefited local people and it helped us to put out attention into not wasting water or food

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great.!! Just great.! I've been very lucky: great group, wonderful weather, stunning sea, amazing places, no sea sickness and many smiles and laughs. And a breath taking full moon rising from a silent blue sea...

review 6 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sailing to some really beautiful, off-the-beaten-track islands and swimming and exploring.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be afraid if it's your first time sailing; the skipper is brilliant and really knows his stuff. Indeed, for some keen sailors, it may include less hands-on sailing than one might expect. Also, the boat docks the evening before joining day and leaves the morning after, so you CAN just about fit the whole holiday into a week...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. They try to use as little fuel as possible. The level of recycling was unusually high. And we supported local shops and tavernas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent break.

review 4 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We couldn't agree so here is a list of some of our best memories: racing over the waves at full sail, dolphins, moonlit walk along an ancient path, night snorkelling, travelling by bus to tavernas in remote villages, with our skipper and first mate. We were immersed in local culture.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take soft luggage containing only: flip flops, sun cream, moisturiser, sun glasses, swimming cossies, sunglasses, T shirts, shorts, long sleeves/dress if you need it. The end. We took cash but there were quite a few ATMs. Might be worth thinking in advance if there is anything you want to do e.g. learn how to sail/scuba etc. It is nice to be able to contribute to the planning of the week and an objective would help.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our skipper suggested we could help the local economies by spreading our shopping around the different communities we visited, which made sense to us. We ate in local tavernas and used public transport or walked to get to places on the islands. We travelled under sail whenever the conditions allowed. We even cleaned up a beach!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was astonishing. We were a bunch of urbanites from Manchester (UK) - actually we still are but we feel different.

review 21 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can't say enough good things about my holiday. The company is amazing; they are great at communicating, helping you to organize and prepare, and are concerned and active in helping the environment. When I got to Greece I was overwhelmed by how friendly, knowledgeable and well organized the personnel were (thatís Anne and Sortires). The sail boat was beautiful, the people so so nice, and the location..the Western Cyclades..Unbelievable. We sailed..really sailed..which was great. We discovered off the beat locations to explore...we met amazing people and swam and dove in beautiful locations,...we hiked on deserted islands, had camp fires, and swam under the stars at night. Sorteris is a knowledgeable, strong, and extremely capable skipper who kindly shared his knowledge and helped me to learn sailing and navigation. Anne, was another great host...patiently teaching me to dive and showing me the ropes on board...but also lovely places to visit on the islands. I simply loved every minute of my trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be open ...let the magic of each day unfold. There are no set itineraries which most of us are often very committed too. However, I can say without hesitation, that at trip with this operator will unfold better than anyone could plan or imagine!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. I loved that we had lots of interaction with people in the communities..people from Greece not just other tourists. We bought our supplies from small communities and enjoyed the local food and wine. We sailed whenever we could..so as not to use fuel, and there was a wind turbine on the boat to generate electricity. The operator also does work to support biologists..logging wildlife observations, and also does cleanup projects in areas that they visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was MAGIC!!!! I've already done slide shows and posted pictures on Facebook. I've recommended the operator and Responsible Travel to my friends and family but also to co-workers. I love the commitment to the environment, and to the local people, place and culture.

review 14 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sailing with tahita was a perfect way to experience the greek culture and see some of the smaller islands, away from the hordes of tourists

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best to sail outside of the windy season

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, tahitas crew were very conscious of looking after the environment and ensuring our impact was minimal. Our captain was also very knowledgable and passionate about the mediterranean and marine life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing!! Beats sailing on a cruise liner any day. A much more personal and genuine experience.

review 7 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snorkelling with Sotiris and my kids. It was a whole new experience for us, and the water and rocks were beautiful. And walking all over the Greek islands with Melita. She was so wonderful, teaching and planning and guiding. We learned so much from her.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light. Come armed with questions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. We went to several small islands and ate at restaurants run by local families. We visited a wildlife hospital run by volunteers. Melita is an environmentalist, and taught us much about plants, birds and sea life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was amazing. We really enjoyed every aspect.

review 18 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the beautiful Greek islands, particularly Folegandros which I have been meaning to go to for years, and not disappointed!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect too much space in your cabins, and confine your party to two couples plus possibly a child.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the Greeks are in need of our custom - we ate in local tavernas and shopped in small shops on the islands. The yacht was very environmentally conscious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday could have been much improved if the attitude of the captain had been better. We found him surly and very uncommunicative. We did not feel he put our wishes as a priority to his own. Also despite the publicity saying that the yacht could sleep 10 (where?) but for comfort confined guests to 6, there really was not enough space to sleep 6 - the 3rd cabin was extremely cramped with zero storage space, even though we appreciate that this was a yacht and not a hotel. Also we expected to be able to visit several small islands and deserted beaches - this did not happen. We expected better snorkelling opportunities. The beach barbecue did not happen. WE had to do our own shopping for the advertised "provided" fruit and milk for breakfast. The coffee ran out. However we had a good time with lots of laughs. Just a shame it could have been so much better.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Rosy Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. It's greatly appreciated. We will look further into the issues you raised. I would like to comment that the boat can sleep up to 10 people and we often have 8 guests onboard. We recommend 6 though in order to guarantee maximum space and comfort. It's true that space inside a sailing yacht is limited and as you said it's not a hotel room. Beds in cabins are basically designed for sleeping comfortably and not hanging around. The Jeanneau Sun Kiss 45 is considered to be a very comfortable and spacious model. If our guests want more space and even luxury we recommend other sailing yachts but of a higher fee. I am also very sorry that you found the skipper uncommunicative. Please let us know throughout the trip if you have any issues so we can act. The skipper you had is very experienced and we've had very good feedback about him in the past. All skippers are in daily communication with us regarding the itinerary and depending on the guests onboard and their needs we amend the itinerary. If, for example, our guests find it hard to climb in and out of the dinghy we avoid spending too many nights on the anchor and we choose small fishing ports like the ones you visited. We are very glad that you enjoyed yourselves and your wish of visiting Folegnadros came true. Thank you once more for your feedback.

review 4 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Islands that we visited. The secluded ports and the wonderful food that we enjoyed at the various taverna's. Like the idea that it was not all commercialised properties. Sotiris's knowledge of the localities. Enjoyed getting in there and helping as needed - putting on the new mainsail was a memorable experience - thanks Sotiris!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Generally in life I prefer to expect nothing and then have no disappointment. This is a great trip and the fact that Sotiris was happy to negotiate other places made it so much more fun because Quote "it keeps it fresh!" and this was so true.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I do believe that this is true. It was nice to be able to go off the beaten track. We finished off our holiday in Santorini and in honesty it was like we had 2 very different holidays within the same country. SO I was happy with what we experienced on the this trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great relaxed enjoyable trip. I loved the flexibility of the Skipper too.

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing some interesting things on the different islands. The adventures on the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a waterproof coat - it wasn't on the list and we all got soaked on the boat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a great time - I loved it all (apart from one very negative person on the boat who spoilt it a little!).

review 14 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We made the decision to leave the boat after 2 days (1 night). It was not a suitable choice for a honeymoon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is important that people are clear about their expectations before booking this holiday. It is not suitable for couples (like us) who are looking for a romantic break or relaxation. It was certainly not a suitable holiday for our honeymoon!! It is very cramped and often choppy meaning that during the sailing you are confined to the small 'cockpit area' of the boat getting cold and wet as the waves splash you whilst you travel. The breakfast included consisted of some leftover bread and Nutella from the last cruise which was stale (the bread was green!!) so we ended up purchasing our own breakfast to share with the rest of the passengers and the captain. We were disappointed that we did not get the warmest of welcomes by any stretch and the briefing seemed to consist of a long list of things that we must not do! Although we fully understand the importance of safety it was done in a way the did little to lift the mood of the boat. Our main problem was that is very difficult to sleep on the boat due to the creaking of the boat and the splashing of the waves, also when the weather was windy the boat would rock about a lot. I understand that there is nothing that can be done about this, but before booking this trip people should be aware that sleep will be difficult. The boat was much much smaller than we had expected and the amenities were very very basic. There is no hot water on the boat for showering. This holiday may appeal to those who do not mind lack of sleep and basic conditions but it did not meet our needs. We were very disappointed really and that's why despite the huge loss financially we chose to leave the boat and check into a hotel on the second island that we visited.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Eco friendly was certainly encouraged at all times.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Disappointing.

review 23 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As one specific event, the most exciting thing was seeing 3 dolphins on the last day, they swam with us alongside the yacht for fully 5 minutes. Closely followed by swimming and exploring in the sea at night. Overall, the most memorable thing was the fact that Sotiris our skipper was so knowledgeable about the Cyclades, the flora and fauna, the people, the food, the music, the history, and happily shared his extensive knowledge with us. This meant we were much more aware of all aspects of the area through which we were travelling, and consequently gained much more from the experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

First - take less stuff! Pack once, then take it all out and leave half behind, take the remaining half. Yachts don't have much space! Be prepared to share - buying supplies, washing dishes, raising sails, clearing litter on beaches, or whatever. A holiday on a yacht is not ideal for people who are not prepared to muck in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes because we travelled by yacht, and through Sotiris' recommendations we used local businesses and tavernas to buy supplies and meals. Also we recycled as many items as possible. Finally, we cleaned two beaches of rubbish during our trip. Again these are measures that the operator believe in, to minimise environmental impact and help sustain the local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic.

review 9 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a barbeque on an island where only two people lived. Really interesting discussions with Sotiros (the captain). Being able to jump off the boat for a swim (Iím scared of deep water so it was a huge achievement).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be too 'planned'. The weather is a huge part of it so if it is too windy in one direction, you may have to go in a different direction. Expect down-to-earthness, it isn't an 'all inclusive 5 star holiday' - and thank god for that! Pack lightly, the boat cabins are just that. Cabins so there isnít heaps of space.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, as much as tourism allows. I felt like i was contributing to local businesses rather than big companies. Our lunches and dinners when not on the boat or bbq were at little Tavernas which seemed Family owned/run. The boat recycles and we used little water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! We are already thinking of our next one. Telling people about it like Tahita-Prophets.

review 20 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A hairy sail in a force 7 gale- exhilarating but a bit scary. (Other sails were lovely and calm though.) Amazing sunsets from Kastros and monuments on Naxos, Andeparos, Sifnos, Kimolos and Milos. Wonderful bbq on a deserted island. Mooring offshore and being one of only a few yachts there overnight. Philosophical discussions with excellent food and company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take very little- there is virtually no storage. You do not need to dress up for dinner. Take wetwipes as showers not always possible, and earplugs - locals sometime carouse on jetties half the night. Eat whatever Sotirus recommends and you won't be disappointed. Most of all just go with the flow - this is Greece...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, ate locally and the tour operator is very environmentally aware and educated us holiday makers a lot.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Annie and Sotirus could not have been more helpful and Sotirus the Skipper is an excellent and knowledgeable host. You will not be bored! Just book it...

review 18 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The islands and sunsets were beautiful, the water incredibly clear. (Capt.) Sotiris was an amazing person, a wealth of information and stories, loved his philosophy of life, came back with a new perspective. Fellow crewmates were wonderful. It's exciting when the sails first go up as well as sailing at an angle. Dining out was always an adventure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be flexible regarding the itinerary. Pack light, the boat is comfortable, but space is limited. Be adventurous and try new foods.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Sure, we shopped in the local markets, ate in the local tavernas, recycled our plastics, used the wind whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, it was a much more intimate way to experience the Greek islands rather than with a big cruise ship.

review 6 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I think it was the beauty of the Cyclades, it is such a beautiful place. The sailing was amazing, very hands on, and the skipper very knowledgeable. For a first time sailing, at one with nature, was a thrill. We had an encounter with a sea turtle while in full sail that was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít bring too much in your luggage, you donít need it on the boat. There isnít much room and its not a get dressed up every night sort of thing. Bring the basics and you will be all the better for it. I would also suggest that you be realistic on what this experience is. It is real sailing, the room downstairs is tight and cramped, you do need to help out on the boat, and good way of thinking about it is it is camping on a boat. You need to be mindful of your water consumption, showers are not always an option, the toilet facilities are not the simplest, or easy when you are in port. But you can and will have some much fun on this trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I do we made an effort to mix in with locals which ever island we were at.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Itís up there with one of the best holidays we have ever had as a family. We met great people, we felt in touch with the locals and the local surrounds (though there are so many tourists in Greece, you are really just another tourist). Seeing the place from a boat gives you a freedom we had never experience before. I highly recommend it.

review 14 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The variety of the islands we visited, from the most remote where the population was less than 100, to the more commercialised. The food and the local people made us so welcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very tight sleeping conditions on board!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, this was always taken into account whatever we were doing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The islands, people and food were amazing and very enjoyable. We had 2 skippers for our 2 week tour. The first skipper, who was with us for our first week was absolutely brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. We had a really memorable time. The second skipper, however, was quite the opposite and was rude and insulting to us. We ended up leaving the voyage 3 days early and had to make our own way back to Piraeus.

Read the operator's response here:

We are sorry that you did not get on with one of our skippers. If only you had let us know promptly, we could have arranged for someone else to join you and solved the issue. As a gesture of goodwill we have refunded you part of the fee which covered most of your expenses for the last days of your holiday. We wish to be aware of any issues that may rise during your holiday so we can address them as promptly as possible.

review 4 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

In no particular order: -The friendship that developed within the group -Our lovely hosts Sotiris and Annie, who couldn't do enough to make us happy -The lovely sea and secluded beaches.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack small and keep it simple!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the holiday was run by a Greek company formed by young and enthusiastic individuals completely committed to sustainability and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies