22 independent reviews for Liveaboard diving and sailing holiday in Greece

Reviews for Liveaboard diving and sailing holiday in Greece

SHOW
10
10
1
0
1

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring all of the small local towns in the Greek islands. So unique and charming!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for rough seas

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 3 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The smaller islands of Greece were absolutely amazing! Shows more of the real Greece and not just the tourist spots. The diving was also unbelievable! The caverns, crystal clear water, though a little chilly, were beautiful1

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light! Unfortunately I was traveling for over two weeks so had lots of luggage which not ideal for a small boat but they were able to accommodate me. Don't expect it to be like a cruise ship, its very self sufficient and perfect for those that want a more intimate, hands-on experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Each night, went to a local restaurant supporting the smaller islands in the Cyclades. One night in Antiparos, ate at a place that stays open year round run by a family for generations while others close after the tourist season. I feel that our Captain and Divemaster chose places like these that they know serve great food and was a great experience. We conserve water and power as much as possible and recycled everything we could.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A million stars!! It was awesome!! We do it again in a heartbeat! We recommend to those with adventure in their hearts!

review 22 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cool badass diving!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get ready for living on a sailboat. It's not easy for everyone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10.

review 12 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

the boat: TAHITA the team: ANNIE & SORTIRIS the adventure: sailing, diving, hiking, ... the location: the cyclades

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

if you are looking for ADVENTURE and EXCITEMENT - perfect!! if you are looking for five stars service and comfort - don't do it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

we went to local people for lunch; we got a briefing about the biodiversity of the mediterranean sea; we had to save water and electricity on the boat and to reduce garbage; we learned about greek projects for recycling garbage;

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

we had a GREAT TIME!!! :-)

review 10 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Amorgos and Koufonisia because they are very beautiful islands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to possibly get sea sick. If you want to dive, be flexible and have some recent diving experience so the whole group can enjoy diving.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we visited many restaurants and sailed most of the way so we used less fuel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 30 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to pinpoint a most memorable and exciting part of the holiday, because each island is unique and special in its own way and the captain and crew (Sotiris and Annie for our holiday) elevate the experience even further with their insight, recommendations and stories. Some favorites included diving the white rock formations and shipwreck in Milos and then finishing with a medley of mezze at a beautiful small fishing village and eating deliciously roasted goat in a small mountain village after a beautiful hike and sunset on Irakleia, as well as finding hidden creatures, such as starfish and hermit crabs in crevices while diving. The water is so blue and clear, the history is so vibrant and the people are unforgettably friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Research the area you will be visiting, but also be open visiting new and unexpected places. Understand the differences in the islands, Mykonos and Santorini are larger and more touristy with more amenities while Kimolos and Irakleia are smaller and less visited, but charming. Have an idea of what you would like to do or see, but also be willing to trust the captain and crew to gain an understanding of you and your style and guide you in a wonderful direction. Be open minded, flexible, and respectful as you will be living on a boat with up to seven other people. Each person can enrich the experience. Embrace the culture, learn a few words, like Kalimera means Good morning, whereas Kalispera means Good afternoon. Pack lightly, not because you have to, because the boat is spacious, but because you can and it makes the trip easier and less stressful. Similarly, disconnect from technology, not because you have to since there is wi-fi everywhere, but because it makes the trip more enjoyable and fulfilling. Finally, appreciate every moment because they will be full of surprises and will fly by.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday on Tahita benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts and supported conservation. While sailing, we were able to use wind power instead of the engine. We were also able to minimize power and water usage reducing our carbon footprint for the week, especially since the boat has a wind power generator. We were respectful divers while viewing the habitat while trying not to disrupt it. We provisioned and ate on all the different islands, including many small ones to benefit the local people across many places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We could not rate our holiday any higher. All six of us are eager to return. We miss the stories and history learned from Sotiris and Annie, the deliciousness of the local authentic food, the curiosity of learning about a new place and its culuture and the genuineness of the hospitality everywhere.

review 4 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We did a night dive (my first) in a very small group and we came across an interesting sight. We watched transfixed as a rather large, diaphanously-white nudibranch went about its slow and curious business of being a nudibranch. We were all pleased to see such an ephemeral creature and Sotiris later described it to the non-divers as "like a bride". My favorite part of the night dive came later. Unexpectedly, surfacing after a great dive with new friends in warm, tranquil waters into a night sky twinkling with bright stars is something to be remembered.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack Light. I mean really pack light and use a small soft-sided bag and/or SMALL backpack. You won't end up wearing half of whatever it is you've packed. In August all you need is a couple of bathing suits, 3-4 pairs of shorts/skirts, 3-4 tee shirts, 1-2 long sleeve sun-cover shirts, 1-2 lightweight sundresses, 1 lightweight sweater/jacket, Light-colored Sun-hat with brim/baseball cap, 1 lightweight beachtowel, 1 sarong (doubles as a dress or 2nd beach towel), Sunscreen. For footwear I suggest 1 pair of sport sandals with rugged soles (I like Keen's), 1 pair of water tolerant "dress" sandals. And if you're unfortunately like me and prone to motion sickness you'll need seasickness tablets and/or anti-nausea wristbands. (I was highly skeptical but the wristbands actually seem to help.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did spend most of our time on smaller islands and our tourist euros went into the pockets of local restaurateurs and purveyors. Sotiris and Annie seem keen on low-impact sailing and being conscientious consumers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a really lovely time.

review 24 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For me it was the opportunity to see some amazing places, both on land and underwater. The night dive on Polygaios with the bioluminescent plankton was mind-blowing, Avatar style!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can get some good opportunities for hiking if you're up for it, so some good footwear would be necessary. Otherwise, you don't really need to bring a lot, except swimwear and sunscreen :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 23 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was wonderful to visit islands that we would not normally visit, we particularly enjoyed that some of them were off the beaten track. Annie and Sotiris were helpful in taking us to local tavernas where we had some wonderful meals. Two members of our party dived and Anna was excellent in her tuition so that they could complete their open water PADI certificate; which they had started at home before the holiday. Annie also took 3 members of our party on a 'try dive' excursion and again her attention to safety and tuition was excellent. Unfortunately the first disappointment was that Sotiris and Annie spoke the majority of the time in Greek, without any translation or explanation to us as to what they were speaking of. This caused discomfort because they appeared to be arguing. Also on our arrival Sotiris 'welcomed' us onto the boat, unfortunately his manner was less than welcoming as he appeared to have made the assumption that we would not respect the boat and not clean up after ourselves. This was incredibly rude as he had no idea of who we were.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light, enjoy the Greek islands and people but do not expect great hospitality from the crew. Make sure you have a itinerary of what they promise on their advert because the reality is that they just sail you from island to island with no input about the places that you visit. Also they miss out things advertised as part of the trip; we did not stop for the mud bath on Delos or explore the ancient cave on Iraklia. In fact no guidance was given with regards to where to visit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday benefitted local people as we visited local restaurants, however, I did not feel that it benefitted the local environment as the only drinking water had to be purchased in 2 litre plastic bottles - the absolute curse of our oceans and seas. We have undertaken a similar trip sailing around Italy and on that trip water was stored in much larger containers that could be refilled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Disappointing. although we thoroughly enjoyed the islands, food and local people but the fact that Sotiris made us feel like unwelcome guests on his boat and spoilt the holiday. The advertisement promised an insight into conservation mentioning a biologist who would introduce us to the unique fauna of the Aegean, he was not present on the trip, and neither were Patricia the wildlife photographer or Dafni. A power-point presentation was given but not until the 5th day of our trip and it was quite frankly something a 10 year old could have done better. They also advertised that you could join in with sailing the boat under Sotiris' supervision, my husband helped a little; he is a qualified day skipper, but was not encouraged and made to feel that he was more of a hinderance. Therefore the children; who can all sail, did not want to join in. This did not feel like a crew who were interested in sharing their love of environmental issues and love of the oceans but more like they were just doing it to earn money. They did not appear to have any real interest in their passengers other than as a money making scheme.

Read the operator's response here:

We are very glad that you enjoyed all the wonderful islands we took you especially the ones that are off the beaten track. We are also glad that you enjoyed the home made meals and taverns we recommended and you were pleased with the diving tuition. I'm sorry to hear that you found the holiday disappointing. We wishes we were informed during the holiday or sooner. Your husband I believe left the following feedback on our guestbook: "What a fantastic trip, amazing sights, fantastic diving. Sotiris sailing was our saviour, strong winds, exciting island crossings, just grcat. Highly recommend these guys to anyone who wants to see real Greek islands. Thank you both very much." It's confusing for us when people say they are pleased and thankful although they are not as we cannot act upon any issues! Sorry to hear about your disappointment that the crew was speaking in Greek. The Greek (as well as Italian, Spanish) language is more "loud" and "expressive" and it's true that some people think that we are arguing while in fact we are having a conversation. We will definately take this into account for the future. Sotiris or any other skipper we work with gives our standard briefing upon arrival and explains certain rules about being economical with electricity and water, how to behave on a sailing yacht and about tidiness... our years of experience have shown that these are essential for the safety and enjoyment of our guests. The information/rules you were given are pretty standard and were not meant to insult you or any member of your family. Sorry to hear that you were confused about the trip you took. You booked a sailing & diving holiday and not a sailing & conservation trip with a biologist onboard (flora & fauna). During my first email to you I thought I explained what is included in the fee (sailing, skipper, diving instructor, number of dives, accommodation, presentation on marine biodiversity etc) with a link to the relative webpage on our site. We have 2 people as crew every week according to the interests of our guests (diving, wildlife, photography, walking). The sailing itineraries as quoted on my emails, webpages are adapted according to the weather conditions every week. We cannot sail against the weather and the safety of our guests is our main consideration. Once again thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn't feel welcomed on our sailing yacht. Glad to hear that you have some good memories of the islands we took you, the local poeple and food and the diving.

review 25 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Anchoring in a small remote bay in Sifnos, surrounded by black volcanic rocks, snorkelling in tranquil waters while the wind was howling outside the bay, before visiting the wind-swept Kastro with amazing views and eating fresh fish in a lovely quiet taverna by the sea with our divemaster and skipper.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take the opportunity to learn about the Med and the local culture. Learn some Greek before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel we did all of these things. We cleaned up a beach on the last day and were made aware of key environmental concerns in the Med.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic experience. Sailing and diving every day amidst gorgeous islands and in great company, what more can one want?

review 25 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Night swimming with luminescent plankton; diving some great sites including a wreck; eating at local restaurants I never would have gotten to on my own.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy! :) But also be aware the yacht a small space to live in (comfortable, clean, and safe, of course, but small) and it's an active holiday. Be prepared to go up and down ladders, haul ropes, and do the washing up. Bring anti-seasickness medication - better to have it and not need than otherwise!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - certainly in terms of restaurants we always ate at small, local places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a fantastic time - thanks to Annie and Sotiris - and would happily recommend them to everyone.

review 19 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best bit was the last night campfire and picnic near AntiParos. So clear and still. Wonderful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The diving was fun but donít expect Red Sea-type diversity. We saw some fishes, hermit crabs, a giant eel, a giant live sea shell, many nudibranches and a 3000 yr old Phoenician shipwreck.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Annie & Sortiris are very committed to the ecological agenda. One example, after our beach picnic the objective of the cleanup was to leave the beach "cleaner than we found it".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful trip. The capt showed the ropes literally and everyday we did a dive with Annie.

review 6 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The gracious hosts/crew (dive master and captain) and fellow travellers on the dive/sailboat. There were only 6 sharing the boat for a week so personalities mattered, was fortunate to share a little bit of Greek life. I cannot imagine a better way to visit and dive the Greek islands than traveling with this operator, they run a great operation, exceeded my expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The sailboat begins/ends at islands well connected by ferries and with abundant tourist options. If new to the islands, suggest spending a couple of nights to see the sights and eat the good food. Also can pay balance in cash from ATM (E600 seems to be a standard limit) and save a bank transfer charge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We definitely transferred money into the Greek economy in the usual tourist way. Since we visited small islands, bought groceries for all but one meal each day which was at a locally owned place, most money went directly to the local business owners. The sailboat crew were very conscious of recycling and reducing waste, and picked up trash on some dives and beaches. Certainly the impact was smaller and the benefit to locals larger than most other holiday options.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

In my top 5 after 46 years of travelling.

review 22 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Time stopped. It was like being transported into a cultural bubble, suspended in Grecian hospitality and nature that was a pleasure and privilege to experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is not a holiday, it's like stepping into another world. Be as a real as you can be and it will transport you. Try and impose your perspective and you will miss its essence.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely! Not only are your hosts genuine and important parts of this world, they are totally attuned to the nature, the people and the culture of this magnificent country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent and I recommend it to anybody who needs a real change in perspective as an element of discovering the world.

review 2 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving with a monk seal in the beautiful crystal waters of the med.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You will need a go with the flow attitude as plans can change quickly due to the weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 10 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great experience all around. The diving was better then I expected from the med. The crew was fantastic and took the time to teach some basics of sailing. The boat was very comfortable, and the islands were beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good sunblock, and book it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a really good trip. Had plenty of opportunities for relaxing and/or sightseeing. Very flexible.

review 8 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire experience was incredible - it was both challenging and exciting. The diving was especially incredible - I experienced diving in caverns for the first time, and witnessed 3 different wrecks, one of which was 3,000 years old. No where else in the world can you see something like that. Sailing to a new island everyday permitted us to see parts of the Greek Mediterranean that we could not have seen any other way. There was never a dull moment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

So long as you are comfortable with living on a boat for a week, and prepared to brace some rocky seas at times, you will truly enjoy this holiday. I was new to diving, and the instructors made me feel very comfortable with some of the more advanced diving we did, so I think as long as you have an Open Water certification, you will be comfortable with that. Also, consider the time of year that you go. We went in mid-September and the weather was perfect - not too hot during the day and we only needed a light sweater a few nights on the islands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Economically, it benefited local people because we supported their shops and restaurants when we arrived on different islands, large and small. Environmental impact can be a concern especially when diving, and the skipper and diving instructor were well aware of this, educating us on the areas where we would be diving, the different types of life that existed there, and how we could be enjoy but preserve that life while diving and while exploring the Med in general.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My week-long sailing trip was the highlight of my 2-month vacation throughout Southern Europe. I enjoyed the people, the gorgeous beaches, water, and unique diving experience.

review 10 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's really rare to find a holiday that moves just at the right pace. Being a small group (just 7 including our Skipper and Dive Instructor) the whole feel of the week was about enjoying the moment. Having never sailed before I was impressed by the opportunity it gives for reflection on the beauty of the smaller (inhabited and uninhabited) Cycladic islands and the time it gives to chew the cud on all sorts of topics. The tour operator demonstrated a real commitment to and knowledge of the flora and fauna of the med, diving was relaxed and the lack of big big fish was more than made up for by the wealth of information about the ecosystems that dominate the underwater landscape and the chance to see some real Greek shipwreck pottery!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As a novice sailor be prepared for a wee bit of seasickness if the swell is higher than normal. Stay up top! Despite my trip spanning the end of August / beginning of September I was surprised that the Mediterranean winds can occasionally make it chilly so bring some form or warm or waterproof clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Sotiris made sure we got to visit lots of local tavernas and visiting smaller islands inevitably means you're tourist pound is more likely to make it into the pockets of local people. Being a small group we were careful with our usage of water and took every opportunity to buy local provisions, recycling was encouraged and straightforward.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just perfect for me at the time.

review 28 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to visit some of the smaller, more remote Greek islands that I don't think I would have seen had I just have done the usual 'island hopping' experience. Also a brilliant cave dive (of sorts) which was a unique experience for me.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a fleece and/or windproof jacket - it can be very cold up on deck while sailing!!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

They were very conscious to have as little impact on the environment as possible, everything that could be recycled was. The company is totally locally run so it definitely benefited local people!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant way to experience the Greek Islands.

review 7 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going to bed in a virgin Arki island bay: The small window of my berth showed an awesome universe of tranquillity: the dark but sparkling talk of the sea, the gorgeous rocks and the sky covered with countless stars... In the morning - instead of splashing water on my eyes - straight from bed I jumped in the transparent ultramarine waters of the bay... Unique sensation I will never forget.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sailing is a different experience... One should be flexible and prepared to change their lifestyle and habits for a week. ...And beware, you might fall in love with it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The trip changed my conscientiousness by the practical knowledge of sea environment and the ecology impact in terms of human - biosphere - hydrosphere interaction.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just amazing! Could not have chosen anything more appropriate!

review 1 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving in the Greece Med.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Save all your money and book this trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the crew was very concerned on the impact they had on the environment both in and out of the water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10

review 25 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting barefoot on a deserted beach around a camp fire in shorts and a t-shirt, sipping wine and cooking food, looking at the moonlight yacht moored 100m in the middle of a secluded bay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you bring enough Euros in cash with you to pay Annie and Sotiris because they don't accept credit cards and you may not be able to pull out that much cash in one go Bring plenty of sun cream and some sea-sickness tablets for rough weather Prepare to let the weather decide your itinerary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The food was locally bought and we were taken to places that were run by locals where every penny you spent was going in to the local economy. We picked up debris off a deserted beach and Annie and Sotiris were keen to point out not to touch and play with the underwater marine life but to observe it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great experience and Annie and Sotiris were welcoming and friendly hosts. This is not a standard holiday and you really have to be prepared to share everything with them as you are joining them on their boat and taking part in their lives. They are not the types to sit quietly in the corner. They want to be an active part of your experience and add to it! It was an unforgettable holiday. Thanks guys.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies