8 independent reviews for Great Wall of China walking holiday

Reviews for Great Wall of China walking holiday

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 7 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from the wall watchtowers and then to see the wall stretching out across the beautiful landscape it is something special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Always read trip notes and make sure you are fully prepared to make the most the time you are there

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely benefited local people and we had limited impact on the environment and monies spent may well go to future preservation of certain Great wall areas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great for me I made some of the nicest friends which along with the views and feeling of achievement makes me want to do another and it is this thought that's keeping me motivated going about my normal days work/life etc.

review 26 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking the wall was amazing and the views with very little people around superb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a lot of walking. Pack as if your going to the gym. Sports clothes needed daily. Boots not necessary if you are confidence in your trainers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A lot of local businesses were used wherever we went so yes local people were benefitied

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent very enjoyable itching for the next one.

review 9 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking wall on long empty stretches.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you don't mind short scrambles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported local business. Disappointed that guide told us it was good to use bottled water as they were recycled other places we went in China hotels had large water bottles where you could fill your own bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good but would not say it was more sustainable than any other holiday company.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Roger, Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are delighted that overall you had a great trip. We would like to thank you for raising the issue of bottled water. We are actually in the process of starting a new initiative whereby all trips in China will provide clients with drinking water from a large receptacle. 20ltr bottles will be employed and clients will be able to fill up throughout the trip. We are currently trialling this approach in India and South East Asia and it has been a great sense. We regret that this wasn't quite ready for your trip but please rest assured that it is to happen soon as we take the reduction of our environmental impacts very seriously. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are as responsible as possible. We hope to welcome you back to China one day.

review 11 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the extent of the Great Wall, the amazing achievement of its history and construction.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a good degree of fitness, particularly if going in the summer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 18 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking on the Great Wall. Interacting with ordinary Chinese people in the Temple of Heaven Park. Seeing Red & Giant Pandas (and baby giant pandas in the nursery). Cycling and kayaking in Yangshuo. Very varied and interesting regional Chinese food (most meals had eight or more different dishes). Chinese cookery in countryside outside Yangshuo. River cruise through Yangtze gorges.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the Trip Notes carefully. Take your own roll of toilet paper and keep a few sheets on you. Take your own antiseptic hand cleaner and keep it handy. If it rains, the rain can be very heavy: either accept getting quite wet (not actually that bad) or take truly waterproof clothes. If you buy an umbrella locally, open it and try it before handing over cash.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were used as guides, local restaurants for meals. For several journeys trains were used rather than aeroplanes. Our entrance fees to the Chengdu Panda Base presumably helped Panda conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five stars: Not unequalled, but equal first with a wonderful holiday we spent in New Zealand.

review 3 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every bit of my holiday was great, but the most outstanding part of it HAS to be walking on the Great Wall. The wall is so varied, in condition and terrain. It was TRULY a holiday of a lifetime!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some scrambling, and a little rock climbing in parts, but for the most be ready for lots of steps of varying heights. You will need plenty of energy, but it well worth the experience!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The are a lot of local people who benefit from this holiday, as they run the homestays, and I must say the food is REALLY good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I LOVED every minute of my stay in China, and the tour was very efficiently run. Our tour guide, Jerry was really great.

review 29 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking sections of the Great Wall far away from the crowds with the perfect guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read all the trip notes carefully - all you need is included.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

One of the great things was the amount of contact we had with local farmers and their families. Despite the obvious language restrictions, using our guide we were able to communicate with them and felt using the homestays for overnight stays and for additional meals did benefit the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great organisation, exactly what I was looking for and far exceeded my expectations.

review 28 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The guide was excellent and the wall treks were amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to be outside for a long time with very little respite from the sun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 - really excellent.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies