9 independent reviews for Whale & dolphin research in Ligurian Sea, Italy

Reviews for Whale & dolphin research in Ligurian Sea, Italy

SHOW
3
6
0
0
0

review 21 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing dolphins for the first time

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Seriously, pack light. Especially if travelling in warmer months.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No obvious benefit to local people or environmental impacts, but certainly appeared to support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Living conditions are certainly not luxurious, but if willing to rough it a little and help out, it is a greatly enjoyable holiday. You get very close to a group of strangers very quickly.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing species of Whales that I had not seen before

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 24 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable probably listening to the sperm whales under water and how through the codas that they emit you could always tell when they were about to surface. The most exciting, the sighting of the fin whale. All in all the whole trip was an amazing experience with lovely crew/researchers and guests.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You really don't need to bring a lot of stuff as you probably won't need it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am not sure if I actually supported conservation through it, but it definetely created an awareness of the animals living in the mediterranean and how my day to day activities have an impact on them and got some very useful tips on how to reduce my own impact. The work the operator is doing is definitely valuable for the whole ecosystem and the idea of including non-researchers on their trips is magnificent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was definitely one of my best two trips ever. Loved the people in the group, the activities, the animals and the overall experience. I would definitely recommend it.

review 9 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Observing the sperm whale flukes and using photo identification to determine that we had spotted a previously unrecorded individual.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly, there is limited space on board. Being quite agile and steady on your feet will be very advantageous when out at sea and needing to walk around the boat and climb up to the lookout platform.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The research conducted by provides valuable data to support conservation efforts and increase public awareness of the marine mammals present in the sanctuary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - fun, friendly and highly knowledgeable team made it a very worthwhile experience.

review 17 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering cetaceans 'in real'.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate but keep in mind it is not a cruise but you are there to help. Fun but can be tiring. Worth it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 6 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great spottings of whales and dolphins - baby bottlenose dolphins.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sea sickness pills/ patches or bands could be useful if you are sensitive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Excellent research organisation - all funding comes from participants so essential to the work they are doing to conserve the cetacean populations in the pelagos sanctuary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, certainly one of the best experiences I have had on an organised tour.

review 12 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just being on the ocean seeing so many marine animals created memories which will last forever. So many sightings of whales and dolphins and even multiple sightings of "solitary" sperm whales!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just join in, learn and experience. Don't pack too much, you won't need it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Every effort was made to minimise any adverse environmental impact whether that was reducing fresh water usage and the standard use of biodegradable cleaning products, including shampoo and body wash prior to daily "marine baths". As the purpose of the holiday was to participate in cetacean research conservation was paramount, both by recording the numbers etc of cetacean species and recording the environmental conditions each hour.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. An experience to remember. I would rate it 4 and a half stars if I could!

review 30 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

When I saw the playful dolphins in the middle of the Ligurian sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would suggest to travel light, put lots of sun block and take part in all the activities, research and tasks if possible. Do not go with any agendas as the weather plays a big part in the research.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes of course. Conservation of cetaceans is of utmost importance and using biodegradable products as well. Local people are very aware of the environment and Sanremo is a very clean and well looked after place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My research/ holiday was great. I would give it 9 out of 10. The team was wonderful and so were the members of the group/volunteers.

review 21 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was truly magical and deeply satisfying. Seeing whales close up with experts and having the privilege to understand the behaviour of these animals was the best part, as well as feeling like a valued member of the research.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. It was really good to meet the local captain and be part of a local project.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies