9 independent reviews for Orangutan volunteering in Borneo

Reviews for Orangutan volunteering in Borneo

SHOW
5
4
0
0
0

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed the time in Batang-Ai in the longhouse most. A natural paradise- the tribes people were wonderful and our guide also.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some insect repellent attracts killer bees and hence we didn't bother to wear any in the jungle. Use other methods like taking vitamin b for a month (or thereabouts) before going and during the trip. People relying only on repellent seemed to still get bitten whereas I hardly did at all. It's a great idea to bring a sleeping bag liner or sheet. And a towel. Lots of sun protection. Watch out for the accommodation at Bako National Park - we got moved as the original accommodation we got was awful. Basic is one thing... that was something else.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt like it was a real experience because it wasn't all 5 star. I do feel like it helps the local tribe in Batang-Ai and am pleased that some of the money goes to the Matang rescue and rehab centre (who organise the tour).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, an excellent trip which I am glad I decided to do. This was something I decided to do about 2 weeks before the start date and I went in 'blind' to some extent. I just went with the flow and loved it all.

review 14 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Working with such amazing animals and finding out how intelligent and human like they are.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for humidity, heat and mosquitoes, but with a good supply of bug spray, and if you stick to the shade and drink lots of water, you'll be set to have a brilliant time. You will learn so much about orangutans and yourself, and meet many interesting new people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant once in a life time experience.

review 21 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The opportunity and privilege to work so closely with magnificent animals such as the Orangutan and Sun Bears.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of extra socks and gum boots as it is particularly wet this time of year in Sarawak. Also go with a positive attitude, an enquiring mind and a willingness to work hard and do what ever is required.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I feel that the entire program benefits local people in providing employment and education. I think that the minimal impact we had on the local environment just by being there was balanced by the education and knowledge which we received about the rainforest and its inhabitants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful and moving experience. It has created an awareness of the complex problems associated with the rehabilitation of captive wild animals and the desire to educate people on the impact of keeping and owning wild animals.

review 16 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The nightwalk at Bako National Park was really stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for hard work but it's really rewarding and a great experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I'm not sure this is the right question. I had quite minimal contact with local people and I flew half way across the world to get to Malaysia so I would have to say no and no those questions. On the other hand, going over there meant I supported wildlife tourism in Malaysia and secondly the volunteer work helped improve individual orangutan lives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was really enjoyable, there were a few inaccuracies on the itinerary but they didn't really detract from a great trip and an excellent volunteer experience.

review 29 Dec 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Observing the Orangutans, a mind blowing experience. I have watched multiple DVD's and read many books on primates, but never did I anticipate such a surreal connection with these amazing ancestors of ours. They really are priceless and I can only pray that somehow, their fate is turned around by mankind...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Leave with an open mind and be ready for the most fulfilling journey of your life. Be as mentally, physically and emotionally healthy as you can as so to put 100% effort into your adventure, as it is priceless...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Most definitely, this program is highly focused on eco-tourism. Its very core is centred around working within the community, alongside the locals as the future is in their hands...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant. I will be returning to the same program again next year. I cannot put into words, my utmost appreciation and respect for Leo and the team. Thank Christ people like him still exist on this planet, as they are few and far between!

review 29 Dec 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having the chance to assist with the cleaning and maintenance of enclosures and working with incredible people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with plenty of enthusiasm, a willingness to work and have one of the best experiences of your life.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. Working with local people was a highlight and being invited to their homes over Christmas was a rare privilege.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best holiday I have had in my life.

review 17 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Feeling that you have contributed towards a continuous goal of releasing the Orangutans into the jungle. Working with the sun bears who are under the treat of extinction. And working with a group of like minded caring people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to work physically hard, get sweaty and dirty but the rewards far outweigh any short time discomfort.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely, you work side by side with local people and live amongst local people so you really feel that you are experiencing the local culture.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate it 11/10 if I am allowed!!!! I learnt so much and it has definitely been a life changing experience for me.

review 9 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to interact with the orangutans.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring welly boots and plenty of insect repellent

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had the most amazing experience and would definitely recommend it to anyone else.

review 10 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spending time with Hillary (the Malaysian rehabilitation expert) on the feeding platform and watching baby orangutan Mamu (my favourite) and baby orangutan Tingsan climbing and playing in the trees, going for a walk through the jungle with 8 year old orangutan called Doris, listening to the sounds of the jungle during the night, getting all over wet while working in the rain.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lots of clothes during rainy-season, a week after washing they are still wet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I've had unforgettable experiences with the animals. Also our group of volunteers was great. Last but not least to work with the staff (Leo, Alvin, Hillary, John, Heather...) was fantastic and interesting, even though Leo talks too much. ;) Thank you guys!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies