8 independent reviews for Everest base camp trek

Reviews for Everest base camp trek

SHOW
3
5
0
0
0

review 21 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Being relatively fit before keeps it enjoyable, we passed a few that had clearly not done walking before and they were finding it harder!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all aspects were helping the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Couldn't rate it more highly, it was fabulous and an experience of a lifetime! Achut ensured everything went smoothly and was brilliant.

review 12 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching Everest Base Camp and conquering Thorung La Pass on the Annapurna Circuit!!! In reality however there were many more!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare adequately and avoid taking anything more than what you really need.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Undoubtedly... the locals need tourists badly..... Sadly consumers of the most well known products/brands leave their packaging for all to see..... Finding a balance between short term gain and the maintaining of what makes a place special is very hard to achieve...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent... Great local travel agents run by two dedicated brothers who just could not do enough to please, were highly experienced and delivered on their promises. Their guides including partnership with other operators that were also outstanding. People - both locals and fellow adventurers added to the enjoyment and fun..... Beauty of those lovely mountains and trek routes will remain in my memory for ever....

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was the first time I saw Everest- what a site!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lots of warm clothes & sleeping equipment and water purification (buying water becomes very costly and produces many plastic bottles). It is hard some days but so worth it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefited local people because we stayed with them the entire way but I am not sure how the impact on the environment was minimized.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic! I had a beautiful and relaxing time (even though it was a physical challenge. My guide was knowledgeable and fun and I met some great people along the way!

review 23 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Standing at Kalapathar watching the sun rise over the Himalayas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared physically, and take your time as the altitude makes it quite tough going.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 25 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The early morning climb to the top of Kala Pather to watch the sun rise over Everest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware it gets really cold up there at times....

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think so. It's a bit hard to tell from an "outsiders" perspective, but I can see some positives that the trekking income provides to the people of Nepal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 13 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to base camp was the most exciting part of our holiday. It was pretty amazing to see Everest up close and personal!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We got very lucky with the weather, considering it was the rainy season when we went. But the views of the mountains were clouded a lot of the time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, this holiday definately benefited the local people. We stayed at local teahouses and ate local food. There was very little impact on the environment as we stayed with places with solar heating and used minimal electricity.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday, with very a helpful and friendly guide a porter.

review 8 Jan 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was memorable from beginning to end...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take a sleeping bag that is comfortable to minus 20. Be aware that it is sometimes difficult to get hot water for showering. There is little of no electricity when the sun goes down - so take a head torch and some batteries, then at least you can read your book even if it is dark.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the local people part rely on tourism, although it is a very eco friendly type of tourism, we donít make any rubbish, donít use heating, hot water, there is no transport - only your own 2 legs to trek with.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, exhilarating, breathtaking, physically and mentally challenging...

review 3 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of the holiday was achieving my goal of hiking to the top of Mt. Kalapatar, above the Everest Base Camp.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be very careful with what you eat... maybe bring some food along. Be careful to drink a lot. Donít overexert yourself. If it takes a day longer, so what? In fact, one should probably plan for an extra day or two, just in case.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely minimized impact on the environment. We were very careful to pick up after ourselves, and even after other people. We benefited the local economy. Also, I visited with a school and would consider raising money for this school upon my return home.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Very good company. Very professional. Great guide. Only positive and I would recommend without reservation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies