8 independent reviews for Marine conservation in Belize

Reviews for Marine conservation in Belize

SHOW
3
5
0
0
0

review 10 Dec 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

At the age of 56 I learnt to scuba dive and got my Open Water Certificate. My instructor, Luis, was brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Accommodation is basic but the food is amazing. Bring plenty of swimwear and a sweater for the evenings

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Spearing Lionfish is currently the only way to effectively reduce the numbers of the evasive species

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a 10/10. Stunning, memorable and rewarding.

review 18 Nov 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This trip was unforgettable. The dive sites are all unique and beautiful for different reasons. The variety of wildlife you'll see under the water and from the island made this trip memorable. The staff are fantastic, the meals were so delicious, and hunting lionfish is a must if you're up for it! It's deeply satisfying to capture these invasive fish, learn about them, dissect and fillet them, and most of all - eat them!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for all types of weather! Bring towels, waterproof bag, bug spray and reef-safe sunscreen, you'll need it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The staff are locals and have an abundance of knowledge about what's going on in their environments. We cleaned up trash on a neighboring island, learned a lot about the local culture, conservation efforts, about the marine park, and about how Belize treats it's local ecosystems.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 stars!

review 22 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the beach clean up on a nearby island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you take reef friendly sun screen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes this trip supported local people, and raised awareness about the impacts of climate change on our coral reefs. I did think that they could have given some ideas about what we could all do to reduce our own impacts however.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great, especially for younger divers.

review 31 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving in a downpour. Not scary, just interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the time away from your phone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, plus I learned to be a better steward of the planet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 30 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it was pretty amazing. I didn't realize how small the island was and I loved it. Being able to dive 3 times a day and get to know the local marine life, while learning about it was my favorite.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come prepared to relax and learn. Pack minimally as you basically will be living in your dive gear, and lounging around the island (which was perfect!). Bring a book or two.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yep! I'm sure the money went to help with the instruments and maintenance which is definitely doing good for the environment. It also helped raise awareness in our group for the work that is being done. We got to participate in some of the work that they were doing as well.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect, The tour operator did an amazing job of combining vacation with conservation and learning.

review 9 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being on the tropical island, 28miles from the land, with only 25 people, immersed i nature and conservation project. Didn't miss civilization at all.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely check for a special dietary needs. Though they advertise that their chef is taking care of everything, my vegan diet, main meals were not balanced in terms of nutrients. Two main meals made of two vegetables are not sufficient vegan meal. Bring some extra energy bars or snacks as there is NOTHING on the island but three set meals a day. Very limited internet use for only brief messages.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that it was more about learning for me. The date and we gathered and activities themselves were more symbolical part of the project and very small contribution to the data they are gathering. Local people who taught scuba diving and provided service on the island could have been paid more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a great experience, beautiful location, escape from civilization, if the organizers work on some improvements, it would have been ideal type of eco holiday.

review 15 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diving was fabulous. The instructors are brilliant, very patient and informative!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan the weekends , especially if you are travelling alone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 3 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Diving with like minded staff and guests who love and appreciate the ocean and contributing to research and conservation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay a day or two on each end of your week for local sites. The Hicketee Cottages and the Coral House were lovely places to stay. Heard Howler monkeys every morning. The island is small, but doesnt feel cramped. Be open to new people and appreciate the beauty and remoteness of it and the waters around it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, to all. Very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent opportunity and experience.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy