8 independent reviews for Costa Rica holiday, coast to coast

Reviews for Costa Rica holiday, coast to coast

SHOW
5
3
0
0
0

review 4 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visit to the cloud forest including seeing wildlife and visiting an organic coffee farm.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There was a lot of change in the weather as we moved venues. We had packed anoraks but really used them in the cloud forest where it was cooler and windier than we had anticipated.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Costa Rica relies on tourism for income. I imagine all tourism has a negative environmental impact. Cost Ricans are unusually conscious of their bio diversity and really proud to do anything to support it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all loved it.

review 16 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

White water rafting on the Pacuare River. Also, our stay at the Arenal Springs Resort and Spa, and a nighttime walk in the cloud forest.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother with San Jose. It's just a big, noisy, smelly, busy, dirty city. There is very little there of historical and cultural interest. We did not go to Liberia, but I would recommend looking into flying there instead of San Jose.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it's obvious that Costa Rica relies on environmental tourism, and that they are doing what they can to raise environmental awareness and preserve and improve their natural areas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. Responsible Travel and the operator did an excellent job for us. My only disappointment was that I somehow expected Costa Rica as a country to be more "together" and "mature".

review 23 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing nesting green turtles in the dark on a remote beach

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

research Costa Rica well and then talk to a travel agent who can advise...we used. Good company

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes definitely...both economically and environmentally

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 5 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildilfe was amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Light quick drying clothing. It is very difficult to dry anything in the rainy season.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 20 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many it's hard to choose... horse riding and the hot springs at Arenal were amazing & made for a very special birthday, the wildlife at Tortuguero was incredible and the catamaran tour at the beach... snorkeling, drinking rum punch and seeing a whale and her calf was quite something. We loved every part of the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Add in time to relax at each destination as well as booking all the tours. .. we had at least 3 days in each main location with 2 days of activities and one to enjoy the hotel and surroundings.. and this worked really well, you could settle into the place and it meant a holiday with a fab mix of adventure and relaxation. Most people we met only had 2 nights and it seemed a bit rushed. Ask the tour operator for their opinion as they know the place best... we originally had found a place for white water rafting and they suggested another which gave us much more time on the water. Get to know the people working in the hotels and venture outside to find hidden gem restaurants. . That's one of the best things about Costa Rica... you feel really safe and can freely explore the areas around you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all... each place had an awareness of sustainability and encouraged guests to do their best. The staff all seemed happy and I liked that the final hotel added on a contribution to a local community charity. Sometimes it was hard to know who and what you should tip, in hindsight I'd probably get a bit more guidance on this before the trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic. .. and this still doesn't come close!

review 2 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Monkeys. Saw all four species and such fun! All the wildlife was spectacular, lots of it up close and easy to see. The local wildlife guides are brilliant and everyone in the country seems to know about and care about wildlife - wonderful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take ear plugs - there are a lot of loud Americans in Costa Rica.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

30 out of 5.

review 23 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Macenque & Monteverde & Sarapiqui (La Selva)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take t-shirts that wick away sweat!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. I certainly contributed to La Selva.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 26 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing so much wildlife, which was what we wanted. We saw monkeys in the hotel grouse, sloth and of course the scarlet macaws. We had never been to a rainforest before and could not believe how green it was. All the places we stayed at were interesting and different.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check out the accommodation before you choose. We did not really look at where we were going and in retrospect should have chosen differently in Monteverde, we were disappointed with the standard of rooms and this did spoil our stay there a bit. Overall though the food and accommodation was better than we expected.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Many local people were employed as guides. Also working at the hotels. All claimed to have Eco credentials.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Better than we could have anticipated. All the transfers and pickups were on time and all the guides knew their stuff.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies