10 independent reviews for Namibia self drive holiday, big cat conservation

Reviews for Namibia self drive holiday, big cat conservation

SHOW
4
6
0
0
0

review 16 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The safari

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 20 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A day when we watched over 60 elephants arrive and play at a waterhole in Etosha, followed by watching 3 cheetahs asleep at the side of the road. I also had a memorable birthday celebration at Huab Lodge when 6 ladies sang and danced for me and brought me a cake - an unforgettable moment!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for long days in the car but wonderful scenery as well as animals to see. The speed limit is 80km/h on the gravel roads, but ATI say 70 and it is sometimes difficult to do even that. Check your tyre pressure frequently as ours were overinflated to start with. Take layers in May as the weather can be cool in the morning in certain parts. Put in an overnight stop near Twyfelfontein as we didn't have time to visit as the drive from Swakopmund to Huab Lodge took all day. Visit Spitzkoppe where the rock formations are amazing! Be patient at waterholes, what seems like only a few animals at first can change very quickly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people who had employment in the lodges and Huab lodge sold locally made products in their curio shop. The lodges all asked you to save water and electricity. They all explained how they were reducing environmental impacts and some told us how they were helping local farmers to improve their management of grazing land and to live with the wild animals rather than see them as a threat to their livelihood.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing - scenery, people, animals! Varied from desert, sea and game reserves.

review 9 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Safari at Etosha mountain lodge

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

2 nights minimum at each lodge (which we did). Self drive is not as daunting as you might think even with 3 children. Namibia was a friendly place to visit with loads to see and do.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported local people in that hopefully staying in lodges helps provide work

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 14 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery is amazing and shipwreck lodge is special - all the lodges were very good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Marginally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very Good.
Leave 14 days

review 14 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving through ever changing landscapes and the beauty of the desert. The unfailing cheerfulness of the staff at the lodges and their wonderful singing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to spend a long time in vehicles. The roads are bumpy and the vehicles are rugged and appropriate for the terrain., but this just adds to the adventure! Whilst you can spot animals from your own vehicle, it canít compare with being in a safari jeep.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most of the lodges really made an effort to train up local people and offer opportunities to work up through the ranks. There was a big focus on renewable energy, saving water and protecting the environment. My one concern was the amount of bottled water we were given.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, exceeded expectations and good value for money.

review 16 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was amazing though for me the desert dunes at Sossusvlei take some beating. Namibia holds a secret round every corner, the wide open roads, the scenery, the vibrant colours and most of all the friendly people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't try to see too much, make the most of the road trips and enjoy the journey, the scenery along the way is part of the holiday and discovering small villages and what they have to offer is sometimes a joy. Choose your destinations carefully and spend more time in each location.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Namibia relies on tourism and many local people are employed in the industry. Tourism in Namibia is very discreet and certainly the places we visited worked alongside the environment and embraced it, with advice being given at most camps and lodges to conserve the water and respect the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was put together by the holiday provider who knows Africa. They really listened to what we liked and prepared a wonderful itinerary. I cannot praise Simon enough for all the help he gave both before and during the holiday. Next time I visit Africa I will have no hesitation in using them again and would certainly recommend them to anyone considering a hassle free trip!

review 1 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views from all of the accommodations was amazing, also nothing can beat spotting a rhino when driving through Etosha!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to stretch out the holiday as much as you can, the driving is intense, and a couple of rest days can make a big difference!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, many local people are forging new careers in hospitality. Tourism is helping Namibians appreciate that it's wildlife is worth more alive than dead!!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing!! The space, the colours, the diverse landscapes, from desert to seaside to safari!

review 18 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lodges and safari trips were excellent. We enjoyed the independence of driving ourselves but it was great to have experienced guides especially in Sossusvlei and tracking desert elephants in Damaraland and and in Okonjima looking for leopards.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Drives are quite long so two drivers I think are essential. Take the guided safaris at the lodges but Etosha is very easy to do independently. Plenty of music for the long drives. If you go to Okonjima make sure you have time for a morning and an afternoon game drive...they do separate drives to look for leopards and cheetahs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Lodges provided lots of local employment and support for the two game reserves we went to, Etosha and Okonjima. Every where we went that had good water conservation measures....but they did use some unnecessary resources, replacing towels for example when not necessary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent really good organisation, excellent briefings and advice. The lodges were super. Personally we didn't like Swakopmund and would have stayed just one night there with an extra night at Okonjima.

review 21 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in Hidden Vlei, all alone and surrounded by the peace and quiet and with the most amazing view. An able bodied person who goes to Soussevlei and doesn't make the walk is missing out on one of the world's most amazing places.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with the flow and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most places we stayed were run by local people, the best being the community lodge at Grootberg which was one of our favourite places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellently organised with great places to stay and awesome sights.

review 17 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Grootberg Lodge and desert elephant tracking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay two nights where you can at Grootberg Lodge - fantastic place.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies