12 independent reviews for Self drive South Africa holiday

Reviews for Self drive South Africa holiday

SHOW
11
1
0
0
0

review 2 Nov 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My wife loved seeing the whales off Hermanus. I loved seeing all the big game in Lalibela.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay as long as you can!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only when buying in local markets. Many of the tourist souvenirs were made in China.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Memorable.

review 31 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whales in Hermanus. Simon M promised me I’d “be able to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine & watch the whales” and I could!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Contact Simon M.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! All the food was sourced from local markets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 or A*.

review 25 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The safari.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy it, it’s fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 28 Mar 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The safari was extraordinary - we loved seeing all the wild animals, especially the white lions!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have some change with you for tolls and your camera and phone is always charged - you'll be taking so many pictures, the views were incredible !! Be adventurous when it comes to food - we haven't had a single meal that we didn't enjoy! Bring an extra luggage for all the wine you're going to bring back :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, i am so pleased we stayed in boutique hotels, the level of service was extraordinary, staff gave us so many tips in regards to what to visit

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Incredible, we loved every minute of it!! Every place we stayed it was really clean and spacious, friendly staff and delicious food. The guide we got from Simon was very helpful - we were so pleased with the choices of restaurant and vineyards we tried.

review 26 Feb 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Soweto townships and visiting Hector Pieterson Museum

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book guided tours

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 29 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The game drives and stay at Kichaka Lodge on the Lalibela Reserve. Also found the people and places in generally so friendly, happy and welcoming!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book ahead if travelling at peak times as we were, buy a road map and talk to people they're great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lots of employment of the local people and could see that training for roles was happening but too few in managerial roles as yet. Local produce generally used and provenance generally known. Conservation certainly supported in most places (particularlu Oudsthoorn and Lalibela) but not in more 'resorty' type places. Plastic bottled water still too readily available and too few opportunities to refill our own water bottles with cold fresh water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, loved the country, the people, the food and the wine. Brilliantly organised by the operator

review 13 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting up close tho the Elephants at the Knysna Elephant Sanctuary

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be careful regarding personal security everywhere in South Africa especially at night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes visiting various animal sanctuaries probably helps fund protection of animals

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really enjoyable holiday where we saw so many amazing things - From Whale watching, to Elephants & Birds through to a baby Rhino on our 2 day stay at Lalibela Game Reserve. The scenery is breathtaking.

Read the operator's response here:

As an operator promoting Responsible Travel, we do not promote or book visitor attractions which allow for animal interaction: this includes the elephant sanctuary near Plettenberg Bay, which promotes a ‘hand in trunk’ experience. With regards to safety in South Africa, we would always advise our clients to keep their wits about them, to leave valuables at home, and to take registered taxis after dark. We will happily discuss this with anyone considering a trip to Southern Africa. Thanks

review 6 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it, the hotels and guest houses were great and our itinerary was just what we wanted. The country was so different but interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Driving in Cape Town was tricky but outside was good roads and little traffic. There is crime against hire cars so take care.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully yes, and water conservation was particularly an item everywhere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant.

review 5 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The game drives in Pumba Game reserve was the bit that exceeded our expectations the most. But it was all fabulous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan options for what you might like to do beforehand - there is so much. We couldn't go to Robben island or any other boat trips whilst we were there due to sea swell although the weather was lovely, but we had plenty of alternative ideas so didn't feel as if we missed out at all. Guided tours are a good idea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We took several local guided walks/tours and tipped everyone who helped us. We ate in local restaurants and bought local crafts, and went to local shows. I hope that our safari has helped to promote wildlife conservation too. I'm not sure about reducing environmental impacts as we did fly there and travel around in a car!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous

review 10 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Garonga Safari Park. Amazing experience. Beautiful accommodation with fantastic safari drives.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

South Africa is a fantastic country for those looking to get out and experience nature and adventures. If required include some rest days between travelling to different locations.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all the accommodation were eco friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing, fantastic experience. South Africa has something to suit all tastes.

review 24 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is difficult because the holiday was an incredible journey of different experiences. If I had to choose it would be the Township Tour in Cape Town. This was an emotional and unforgettable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let Simon prepare your itinerary and take care of flights/accommodation/car hire. You won't be disappointed. Try and extend the holiday as much as you can (and avoid 'one night stops' if possible) because it will go very quickly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We definitely made a contribution, which is a nice feeling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday of a lifetime! Truly memorable.

review 3 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing big game at very close quarters during our game drives

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for sudden changes in the weather! It can be very wet and very windy at times. Don't bother packing shampoo, conditioner, body wash or cream....these are all supplied by guest houses and are made from fantastic local products. Don't worry about formal clothes. Everyone is very casual even in expensive restaurants.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! We bought a number of items made by local people. All the guest houses used local products, were ecologically aware in their use of resources, and promoted local business initiatives to us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. The accommodation was superb. There was an enormous number of things to do and see at each stop-over. Everyone was helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and authentic. And most of all, the natural surroundings were beautiful beyond belief.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy