75 independent reviews for Catalonia self guided walking holidays

Reviews for Catalonia self guided walking holidays

SHOW
11
62
2
0
0

review 26 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all fantastic, but the bird sanctuary was my favorite. Beautifully management and interpretive signage. Peaceful stroll.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1) Normally an intrepid traveler? Wondering about whether or not a "tour" is for you? I'd never taken a agent-planned vacation before this, and not having to handle logistics increased the restful quality of the trip by several orders of magnitude; more than I realized it would. 2) American? Add time to the waking estimates. Europeans walk more than we do... so their "easy" could be your "moderate". 3) We did this in late September, and although it wasn't crowded with tourists, we ONLY saw other couples over 60 (Scandinavian, German, British, Dutch, Aussie, French, American) for days on end... Like a weird migratory phenomenon. 4). Normally, we try to explore away from the hotel, but Casa Clara was lovely and the food among the best we had in Catalunya (including that at Ferran/Albert Aria establishments) 5) Steve and Maria couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to the local business support. No sense of impact on the environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Worth it.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing so many beautiful places along the Catalan coast and mountains, from gorgeous beaches to the mountain top monestary, to tiny villages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking sticks and hiking boots helped on the more strenuous hikes. Speaking a little Spanish enhanced our interactions with people we met on this holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, contributing to the local economy and walking were positive aspects of this holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful holiday with many highlights and memorable experiences.

review 27 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Roses to Cadaques and our free day in Cadaques when we took a boat out to the lighthouse and walked back

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking time averages c.5 hours/day. After the first 2 days, it is all up and down but beautiful scenery. The notes on where to go are really good and we did not get lost at all.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 4 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable moment was climbing up to the ruins from Sant Pere de Rodes monastery. The views were breathtaking and worth the extra time and effort to get to the top.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wear comfortable high top hiking shoes, use trekking poles, pack light, drink lots of water and stop to enjoy the incredible views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the vacation brought us to many small communities providing the benefits of tourism to that region. I would consider a walking vacation an eco-tourism vacation which helps the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall the vacation was excellent. Every trail was very different from the next providing interesting and beautiful vistas and walks. However I feel that the grading and description assigned to walk 3 and walk 5 were deceptive and should be graded as 3. The paths were not good as described but treacherous and would be impassable if wet, in particular the descent on walk 5 (trekking poles are essential.) Sections of this trail were so rocky it was difficult to discern the trail from the rest of the terrain. However we are fit, trekked cautiously and felt great after conquering these walks. The most frustrating and only negative issue on the entire vacation was the trail route instructions. The directions could use some concise and clearer guidance (I would be happy to provide further detail if requested.) The choice of accommodations were exceptional. We especially loved the personal touches and the quaintness of Mas de Joncar, Casa Clara and Niu de Sol, all in smaller communities. The other establishments that were in larger communities were great too and perfectly located. The breakfasts at most were typical continental breakfast but still very good and fresh and others again were exceptional i.e. Mas de Joncar and Niu de Sol. The staff at all accommodations were very friendly and helpful. Miguel at Mas de Joncar was even able to pack a lunch for us for the next walk - enough to feed us for a few days (many thanks Miguel). I wouldn't change any of the accommodations - we loved them all. In general, a great walk through a very special part of the country. I would highly recommend this vacation.

review 1 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visit to Empuries on walk 1

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bear in mind that museums and some restaurants are closed on Mondays

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in the sense that it took us off the beaten track, relatively speaking

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good; excellent walking routes which were very varied, and very good walking instructions.

review 15 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the hiking was excellent and a variety of experiences. It was also exciting for the kids to interact with cows and other wildlife.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not expect people to speak English but no worries as the locals are very friendly. Make sure you have provisions for the daily hike - best is local produce - salami, cheese and apples. Adapt to Catalonian time - hearty breakfast and snack during hike and then dinner after 8.30pm

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

One of the great things was that there were so few tourists (not that I do not like tourists) so you felt you had the mountains all to yourself. We would have spent 90 per cent of our funds on local family restaraunts and stores (exception is SPA supermarket). Not sure re conservation but we would not have had a negative impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an adventurous, fun and bonding holiday. It allowed us to have an insight into local people and culture and also some time away from screens and stress. Highly recommended.

review 25 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely seaside towns we walked to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito repellent. I wish I had! We had an issue with the non working air con at one of the inns, so opened a window. Big mistake, as it let in mosquitoes. Later in the trip when we encountered another hotel with non working air con, we called Steve and he resolved the situation. Don't hesitate to call Steve or Maria with any questions or issues you may have.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This holiday definitely helps support local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, a great holiday. The walking was doable...sometimes a bit challenging for us pensioners...but we did it...and the views were often incredible...always lovely. Our dinners were the same, sometimes incredible, always lovely. Get restaurant suggestions from Maria if you are a foodie.

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very friendly people, good hotels and restaurants, a most interesting bird reserve, wonderful wild flowers and a fine walk, especially the last three sections in the foothills of the Pyrenees. Also some great conversations on Catalan identity, culture and hope-for independence, especially with Miguel in Sant Pere Pescador.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I bought a map, as I always do, but the maps provided with the instructions, with the route marked on them, were good. The instructions themselves were fine, slightly open to discussion at times, but never misleading if you read them correctly. It would have been difficult to get lost other than in really bad weather. We both (my wife and I, either side of 70) wore walking shoes which were fine but overall I would have preferred to have worn my walking boots. As usual with Europe, bring electric plug adaptors and a universal washbasin/bath plug. Upgrade the hotel in Cadaques – the Llane Petit was lovely, with sunny balcony, good breakfast and a charming manager – and take the extra day in Girona which is a delightful city. The advantages of walking in early May were pleasant rather than too hot temperatures (18-23 degrees); stunning wild flowers; fewer crowds. The disadvantage were that the season has only just begun and quite a few restaurants were not yet open; the sea was still cold

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local benefit, yes, as we stayed and ate in local homes, hotels and restaurants, and bought local food for our picnics; environmental impact, reduced I suppose by our walking though our luggage still had to be moved by car; conservation, no support.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4.5, really. Steve and Maria run a delightfully personal company and they were both very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend their company and may well return ourselves.

review 9 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Cadaques to El Port de la Selva and after to Palau Salverdera.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the extra night in Girona. Wear good boots, bring walking poles. Although the directions were excellent, consider downloading a GPS app such as Cities To Go or cyclometer for reassurance and to see exactly where you are located. We found some walks difficult since we are in our late 60's, fit but have joint problems. There are options to skip a really hard part.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All accommodations were environmentally conscious, excellent and unique.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Varied scenery, excellent accomodation and great food suggested by Maria.

review 7 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Roses to Cadaques - The weather, location, views, bays, and the walk was the most taxing, but not too much, just enough to feel an achievement. Also the pleasure of seeing Cadaques as you come over the top was a great feeling, it was idyllic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To contact directly the tour guide if you have any queries no matter how small - the people are so friendly, helpful, informative and nothing seemed too much trouble. September was a perfect month to walk, even though it was exceptionally warm; places were not overcrowded and most of the restaurants were still open. Ensure you take plenty of water with you

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people i.e. tourism, - staying in local establishments, eating locally and purchasing lunch the next day from local shops. I'm unsure about reducing environmental impact, possibly not, as we were walking over the land, albeit an identified trail; but better than driving!!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Certainly a four star, and would recommend it and the tour company to friends. I will probably use this company again in the future.

review 6 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trails, scenery and meeting other travelers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to get maps before hand. Have a good sense of direction as sometimes the walking instructions were a bit vague, or the sign posts or landmarks gone or unclear, though finding your way with some difficulty was a bit of the fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No more than most trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met other interesting hikers (Europeans call this a walk, for Americans more of a hike. ) Steve and Maria were very available, responsive, flexible and friendly. Scenery was beautiful. Got to see both touristy and not touristy parts of Catalonia. Good mix of accommodations. Good mix of flat and rugged terrain. Only small issue is that the daily walking directions at times were a bit vague and some signposts were missing. Would have been helpful if sections of the walk were described in kilometers rather than minutes of walking. Overall a great trip and we would and likely will book a similar walk again.

review 3 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Between Roses and Cadaques

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring thongs as well as boots

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic

review 26 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great holiday - variety in walks and hotels. Well organised and flexible to meet request to leave early to get train

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask questions eg if you need to shorten trip

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely Miguel at the Agrotourism stay was very passionate about Catalan food and values

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent walk notes and maps We did not get lost. Personal touch as Maria collected us and Steve took us to start of walk at Roses and then to the station at the end. Small company that really practices good customer service and they know the hotel owners and area really well

review 31 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are several things we will will always remember from our trip: the wonderful places we stayed - particularly the rural hotels which were so individual and where we had such a warm welcome -, the sights we saw - from amazing Greek and Roman ruins to a monastery perched on a mountain to a host of interesting birds at a nature reserve, and the stunning scenery as we walked (and swam!) our way along the Bay of Roses and around the Cap de Creus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We added two extra nights at the end of our trip to enjoy Girona at a more leisurely pace and we would recommend doing this. We also appreciated having 2 nights in Cadaques and wished we'd asked to book an extra night in at least 2 other stopover places where the accommodation was so good and the area so interesting we would have liked to get to know them better. It's worth noting that the heat in July can be quite challenging so a day's break in between walks might be a good idea!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Like all tourists really, we no doubt provided a boost to the local economy but perhaps with this holiday we were sometimes in quieter places more off the beaten track where tourism is more of a benefit. And any money we spent was definitely going directly into that economy. Not having a car meant we were not tempted to drive great distances to see places (therefore our trip had less of an environmental impact) and it gave us a better sense of the particular corner of Catalonia we were walking through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. Everything was very well organised and we were delighted both with the walking trails and the accommodation booked for us. We would certainly book such a holiday again.

review 17 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The time spent in Cadaques, a most beautiful town. The mountain walks were spectacular. The weather was wonderful and we found some great restaurants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the walks were almost too challenging for us, although we did enjoy the variety of the walks. I think you need to be extremely fit to manage 2 of the walks. We decided not to walk to Cadaques (the longest walk). It was well organised, our bags were always at the next hotel, the instructions for the walks were mostly very clear. You definitely benefit from good walking boots and walking poles, especially for the latter walks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotels were exceptional. We liked the fact that we could choose our own restaurants, and where necessary take taxis when we felt we needed to. We also made a contribution to the organisation Amics de ses Animals de Cadaques (the cats of Cadaques) and were delighted to meet and talk with the woman in charge of this organisation which neuters 150 cats each year and feeds around 300 cats in the area around Cadaques.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give it 4 1/2 stars! It was in fact one of the best holidays I've ever had, the walks were wonderful and we loved being there in early June when there were few people around!

review 2 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the hike tremendously. We have been on a number of self guided hikes and this one rates highly. The accommodations were good to excellent. Steve did a good job with logistics and we appreciated the transfer to Girona at the end of the hike. The day's ranged from easy and very pleasant to more challenging. Scenery was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had a mix up with what was included/not included. Know the details up front.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we ate lunch and dinner in local restaurants and the accommodations were in smaller local hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. This is our third trip with responsible travel and we are batting 67%. We would strongly suggest having the company send you trail directions beforehand....which was a part of the problem with the previous hike that did not go as well. We asked Steve to do so and were impressed. His directions were detailed and clear

review 23 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was different, and we always looked forward to reaching our overnight stop, and to exploring a new place. The little places where we stopped were all very interesting and had lots of character. We also enjoyed the food, especially the fish, and the local wines were excellent. We especially enjoyed the visit to the Dali house, a short walk from Cadaques on the rest day, and the old restored monastery on our last day walking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have the proper walking gear. Good boots and a pole were very useful. As the holiday lasts for 7 days it is easy to get an advance weather forecast so you can prepare. If you want to visit the Dali house it is best to book early, as it is very popular, and tours seem well filled.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, some of the smaller hotels/hostals were able to benefit outside the peak season.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable. A lovely part of the world. Everything went very smoothly, accommodation, baggage transfers etc. Steve and Maria were well organised, and always in the background ready to give support as and when.

review 11 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views were fantastic at times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Occasionally the walks are steep, both up and down. As they tell you, wear good boots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at small hotels and eating local food benefits local people. Walking is as about environmentally friendly as transportation gets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Never having been on a walking holiday, we did not know what to expect. We really enjoyed the walks, the accommodation was as expected, or better. The tour organizers (Steve and Maria) were very helpful, as were staff at the accommodations. The variety of walking conditions and scenery was well thought out. The holiday more than lived up to our hopes.

review 6 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Excellent walking in great scenery. Some very good restaurants in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to visit the Monastery be aware it is closed on Monday!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Made good use of local businesses

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent walking, high standard accommodation. Very well organised by Steve and Maria. Very good route notes.

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The awesome coastal and inland scenery, the beautifully clear sea and the wildlife combined to make every day really interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly met a lot of very friendly locals, as is the case throughout Spain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A varied, exciting, very well organised holiday with lovely, helpful organisers and hotel owners.

review 10 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Late April proved a perfect time weatherwise, blue skies, and the countryside was ablaze with colour - stunning. The variety of the walks and scenery each day, and arriving in small, quiet villages for the night. Especially appealing was the bird life in the Aiguamolls Natural Park, the long but rewarding walk to Cadaques, the beautiful walk to Port de la Selva through the National Park followed the next day by a challenging climb to the Monastery and the ruins. Good choice of accommodation and great support from Steve and Maria ensured a hassle free experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good walking boots and reasonable level of fitness. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the wonderful scenery, you may not come this way again. Trip notes and explicit directions provided by Steve and Maria are excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate at restaurants, stayed in local accommodation, purchased food for lunches and walked on well established trails.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We found the walk on the sand along the beach on the first day the least enjoyable part of a fantastic weeks adventure. The variety and diversity of the scenery each day contributed greatly to making this a most memorable experience.

review 24 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the walk along the rocky coast from secluded beach to secluded beach on walk 3, Platja Canyelles to Cadaques. And we both found Salvadore Dahli's house fascinating

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went in February when it was very quiet, if you go at this time of the year make sure you take overtrousers and warm walking gear as it was cold even in bright sunshine.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying in small local guest houses and family run hotels supported the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was a challenge for us as my husband was recovering from a broken leg, but it went better than expected. Steve and Maria were supportive and on some days he rode with them with the luggage but he also managed some of the flatter walks. The places we stayed were comfortable and we especially liked Anna and Miguell's rural accommodation. Seeing nesting storks in the Aiguamolls national park was a highlight too!

review 13 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cadacaue was the loveliest town I have ever seen and the hotel on the beach with the balcony views was equally exquisite

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not bother with extensive research each day unfolds so perfectly that you could not possibly match this attention to detail.. Besides it would spoil all the delight and surprise of adventure travel

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was the best holiday we have taken in many years.

review 5 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many it is hard to choose just one!! Perhaps one dramatic landscape after another, or was it the amazing food, or the super friendly people, or the lovely accommodations?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure your shoes are comfortable...and relax, you're in good hands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly supported local people. Walking would limit environmental impacts but then the organizers were doing a lot of driving!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was wonderful. I greatly enjoyed it. The operator is a great company, they took excellent care of us including catering for unexpected injuries and making last-minute changes as requested/needed.

review 20 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

What I will take home with me is the beauty of the Costa Brava, the variety of terrain that our itinerary covered, and the helpfulness, kindness, and excellent planning of Steve and Maria. From sandy beaches, Roman ruins, and white-washed fishing towns to terraced hillsides, rocky paths, and an ancient monastery and castle, we felt we covered more territory than our 90 km (more or less) journey would suggest. The hotels were also very good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For walking, I would bring sport sandals for the first two days, shoes that slip on/off easily for walking on the beach, bathing suits (or not..,nudity not a concern here), good hiking boots and poles for the remainder of the trip. We needed fewer clothes than anticipated as we washed things out as needed. Rather than purchasing lunches, we just built sandwiches from the breakfast offerings, added some fruit, and brought energy bars from home. Carry lots of water, especially from day three on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Of course! We supported hotels, restaurants, shops, etc., helping local economies. Also, just seeing this area by walking minimized our, so to speak "carbon footprint".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent trip. Though one doesn't cover as much ground as by other means, you do see things more closely, more intimately. We loved it.

review 26 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A really well organised and above all flexible holiday. We were able to do a stunning spanish walking holiday in just 2 days/3 nights - felt as if we'd been away for at least a week.The company tailored the expedition really well for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not especially, although we contributed to the local economy by staying there/buying food/eating out etc. We were given a list of ways to be environmentally friendly on the walks.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 23 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

What a silly question !! The whole hol. Was completely memorable, a feast for the senses...mountain, sea, culture, small local communities, great food and wine, etc. Exciting ?..For my daughter especially, to see close up birds you seldom if ever see in UK...and for me, (octogenarian !) I guess it was realising I could still cope with the challenge of the coastal path to Cadaques, and climbing up the direct route up to Pere de Rodes, such a spectacular monastery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you carry plenty of water for even in early April it was v. hot on some days. One disappointment is if you must visit art museums, this time of year you will find them all closed. Easter was late and I think that is when they reopen after winter. At least paddle the whole 7kms. along that silver sand beach, or better still, swim it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes...the Aiguemolls reserve is keen to have foreign visitors, and they keep their hides in good condition. Buying food and drink in local little shops instead of our usual supermarkets must help, as well as eating in small restaurants and Casas Rurales. Travelling by bike/foot and leaving only footprints preserves their environment too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

ACE ! I have climbed/biked in most parts of the globe, and I have to say that for a short trip, this hol was ideal...and excellently planned/supported by the tour operator. PS 'Can't give it the 5 stars simply because I've spent my life adventuring !!

review 16 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where do I start? The huge variety of wild flowers whose perfume rolled over us in waves, the character filled small towns where we stayed each evening, the stunning coastline, the quiet climbs in the hills behind the Costa Brava, the fascinating variety of bird life in the wetlands! Every day was different.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We really enjoyed the wild flowers of spring and it was a pleasant walking temperature too but be prepared with a good rain jacket because spring can also be unpredictable. Make sure you do the extra climb to the castle of sant Salvadore on the last day. It is a good idea to do some hill walks before you come so you have a reasonable level of fitness for walking uphill.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly supported small local hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were sorry when it ended. Steve is a friendly, down to earth operator who gave excellent advice. The instructions were very easy to follow. This certainly rates as an outstanding holiday experience.

review 22 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of this holiday was the little discoveries along the trail - secluded beaches, apple and olive orchards, vineyards, and old ruins.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Autumn is a great time for this as the temperatures are more favorable for the longer walks. Even so carrying a fair bit of water is necessary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

At a couple of locations, it felt as though this tour is the major client for the local accommodation. I loved visiting the markets, butcher shops, and bakery to put together a lunch for the following day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was very well organized, and it allowed me to explore towns and landscapes in Catalonia that I never would have discovered on my own.

review 12 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, it was spectacular, beautiful trails, not many tourists, unspoilt. Food and wine superb. People at guest accomodation were very friendly and helpful and Steve the operator was excellent. His organisation for the trip was perfect, everything went to plan, he was a good communicator and dealt with any problems we had.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with a company that has an english speaking organiser if you don't speak Spanish. The operator was a very well run and i recommend them highly. We did the trek with a 1 year old baby and had no issues. It was an easy trek but that doesn't mean it's flat, read the itinary, it's detailed and is a good guide to the terrain you are walking and how much up and down there is and how long the days are. You don't need to be supper fit but do need to be aware. Wear good, broken in hiking shoes/boots and take some bandaids etc for blisters as you would for any long hike.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, supported many local businesses. Yes, we had a very low impact walk, leaving no rubbish and Steve the operator mentioned on day one to be aware of environmental considerations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Highlight of our 1 month European holiday.

review 26 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved all the walks. Each was unique and special in its own way. The third walk to cadaques was the hardest and most beautiful for us. Many little secluded beaches which in June or July would be perfect for a dip. Was too cold when we went. The last hotel, niu de sol, is very nice. We would stay another night for further walk or just chill out if we didn't already make other plans.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We think walking sticks would be helpful for the third walk. Cadaques s a beautiful place, however it is hyped up with all the visitors making it relatively more expensive. We didn't like the hotel as much although we could imagine that the location offsets everything else of the hotel. Possible consider asking for upgrade (I don't know).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. We love Catalan cuisine so we eat out almost everyday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great way to connect with nature, travel light and eat very well at night. Steve and Maria are very friendly and explain everything properly to give us a good start. It's hard to get lost with their instruction however we just like to take a different turns sometimes to see where we end up. Lovely and memorable Costa Brave!!!

review 10 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful views over blue bays and green slopes under a cloudless sky; the 360 view from the castello on the last day was stupendous!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take it easy on the uphills, enjoy the journey, don't miss Dali's house in Port Lligat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, excellent individual little hotels run by locals, walk through the nature reserve was stunning as was strolling in the surf on day one - a perfect start!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful - well organised, lovely accommodation, plenty of variety - thanks, Steve and Maria!

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is away from all the other tourist trap. We get to see something very few people have the opportunity to see.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip was labelled as "walk" but it turned out to be a strenuous "hike". The tour operator is a Scottish man, I am wondering if there is something " lost in translation”.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We brought some business to the local area we visited. I think the carbon footprint in this trip is very low.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very nice trip for our family. But it may not be everyone's cup of tea.

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Cadaques to Selva. Lovely walking, great views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn a few words of Catalan. Your efforts will be appreciated and you will be made to feel even more welcome. Remember a lot of places are "tancat dilluns" (closed on Mondays!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate local food (fish, meat and veg and fruit)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pretty good. We enjoyed the mountain sections much more than the coast.

review 22 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every single hike on this excursion was fabulous, but my personal favourite was the hike from Platja Canyelles to Cadaques - just the two of us for miles and miles, going from one gorgeous Mediterranean beach to the next, up and down the coastal cliffs. Being naturists ourselves, it was fun to unexpectedly come upon the "Playa de Nudismo" beach...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Nothing comes to mind...Steve and Maria do such a great job of planning (almost anally so) for every possible eventuality that we felt very well cared for and there were no surprises.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - we bought groceries and ate out at local establishments and left no carbon footprint with our feet doing all the walking...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb - it absolutely exceeded my expectations on every level.

review 24 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We love walking holidays, and this one exceeded any expectations. Steve from the operator organised three wonderful days, each with different experiences in landscape and accommodations. We loved the landscape, the wild native plants (lavender, cistus, cork oaks, etc.), the blue blue Mediterranean, the charming villages we stayed in or near. The instructions for the walks were very clear and easy to follow. Steve was very helpful during our planning process, with suggestions on how to accommodate our interests (such as visiting Dali's house which was close to Cadaques, one of the villages we stayed in).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to walk! Take advantage of proximity to interesting venues (such as visiting Dali's house in Port Lligat, which needs to be prearranged). If possible book an extra day in which you are not walking, so you can explore an area more fully. (We would have enjoyed an extra day in the Cadaques area.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The operator is clearly very committed to supporting conservation and reducing environmental impacts. Our introductory packet included lots of thoughtful suggestions for this kind of behavior. We appreciated the small, in some cases out-of-the-way lodgings offered by local residents, who were very generous and welcoming and took very good care of us. Our first night at Can Mas outside of St Pere Pescador, our hostess did not offer evening meals, and a walk into town after a long day of travel sounded daunting, so Steve arranged for the owners of another updated farmhouse, Mas Jonglar, to come to pick us up, feed us a lovely dinner and then take us back "home".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was extra extra special and totally memorable.

review 4 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A great way to experience in some detail the varied scenery and villages of the area. We particularly enjoyed the challenge of getting up to the heights of the wonderful Monastery of St Pere and the ruined castle we appreciated the fact that Steve and Maria were always nearby to deal with any issues.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It’s pretty strenuous but just enjoy it, it's well worth it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Businesses in the smaller villages would have benefited from our stays there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Terrific!

review 12 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving in an interesting new place at the end of a lovely walk each day. The anticipation of arriving somewhere on foot and the excitement of exploring somewhere new. The birds (especially the flamingoes) on the wetlands and the flowers on the hillsides were memorable too.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take time to enjoy the wonderful views and look at everything around you as you walk as there is plenty of time to get where you are going and the countryside is truly beautiful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By adding to the local economy, walking holidays like this support the protection and conservation of the few remaining unspoilt sections of the North Eastern Spanish coastal zone.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful holiday! Every aspect of our trip was really well-organised, enabling us to relax and enjoy the walks, the interesting towns and the beautiful scenery to the full. The hotels were well chosen and comfortable. The diversity of the walks and places visited enabled us to see and experience much more of Catalonia than we had anticipated. Full marks to Steve and Maria! Thank you.

review 25 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sense of being an explorer especially when coming upon the spectacular (and unexpected) bird refuge!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect very rugged terrain in some places.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were the only people we had any financial transactions with, so that money definitely went into the local economy. Overall the environmental footprint was very light as walkers know better than to leave anything behind and to take away only their fond memories.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was great for clearing the mind and refreshing the spirit while enhancing the ability to focus.

review 22 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dragging my puffing, panting, sweating, body up that mountain, sure in the belief I couldn't do it. Unsurpassable views from the top of the world, and a real sense of achievement. Also swimming stark naked in the March Mediterrean - stunningly beautiful, breath stealingly cold, but rewarded by little fish believing I was an island and seeking sanctury. The comfortable hotels, (espcially the last one) and the miracle of our bags always being there, as if by magic. Whilst Steve and Maria's maps and instructions were superb, you still had to keep your wits about you to search for the marks or posts...no sense of spoon feeding, but still safe and reliable - a genuine sense of really wonderful adventure! The timings were spot on..(I lost the bet)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy posh socks, your feet will love you for it. If you can get to Figueres before you start, go to the Dali museum, your jaw will drop. Once under the care of Steve and Maria (and Jack) -believe you can do it, take your time, the flowers, insects, birds , people and general views are so terrific, even in March, they're worth pausing for. Learn French, it's more useful than Spanish. Don't miss the stunning Basilica at Castello, - Love the Rocamor, but don't eat there (although we hear the food is excellent), your legs will take you down the hill to explore lovely Cadaques. Look for that painting from the Dali musuem as you walk round the bend!! Don't drink the water at the Porto Christo hotel ..yerk... but wait till you reach the monastery for the most beautiful sweet cool spring water fountain.. you'll need it! But you'll have to find it first!! Definitely don't give up there, even if every muscle is screaming STOP and threatening mutiny. Climb to the very top, it's so worth it. Forget the food at the Porto Christo in El Port de la Selva.. yerk ....go instead to the Marina at the end of the town. Pretty, clean and truly excellent fare. Lovely people - we had huge prawns and grilled rabbit, for next to no money. If you like boats, it's boat porn.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely - we munched our way through acres of local fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. Lugged half of it up the hills. Local people were really kind and helpful and our tummies certainly benefitted from their skills. Particularly enjoyed our first night at Miguel's. He's a terrific cook, using ingredients from less than a mile away. The last hotel, Nui de Sol, was superb, immaculate, warm and welcoming. Delicious home made food cooked and served as if in a family, I absolutely loved it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time. One of the best holidays I've ever had. I felt truly refreshed and relaxed by the end. The whole thing worked so smoothly, thanks to Steve and Maria's attention to detail, and Digger's map reading! I can't wait to do it again, but for longer next time. I would have given this 5 stars, because we had such a good time..and Steve and Maria definitely deserve them. The only reason it gets four, is the Porto Christo hotel, which was a disappointment, despite having the MOST comfy bed of the trip.

review 9 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Thanks for a wonderful walk. The combination of ancient roman ruins, spectacular coastal scenery with a backdrop of snow capped mountains, important medieval monasteries, working farming and fishing villages and an important ornithological site made this a unique walk for us. We have walked in many parts of the world and this was as good as any we have done. Strenuous enough to look forward to a refreshing sangria at the end of the day but staged excellently to take full advantage of what was to offer each day. We enjoyed the variety of the different styles of accommodation. It helped some tiredness at the end of the day to wonder what was in store for us that night. Each was very comfortable, friendly and well located. The organisation was just right. We couldn’t have possibly done this on our own. Keep us posted with other trips you have especially in the shoulder seasons. We avoid Europe in summer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Nothing specific. We were given all the information we needed before we left home.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday. We really enjoyed it - it was very relaxing in an active sort of way.

review 21 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Day 3 Hike - Roses to Cadaques. Hottest October 11th in 50 years. Challenging trail and a miraculous oasis halfway through followed by a water taxi ride to complete the trip to Cadaques. The accommodations were varied and the hosts gracious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for any weather, regardless of the season.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Steve and Maria were personable and professional in every way. They were very understanding of limitations of our group, and willing to adjust accordingly.

review 24 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything about the 5 day hiking tour went well beyond anything I could possibly have imagined. The hikes themselves were stunningly beautiful, lots of variation in scenery and elevation. One day we were climbing a mountain, the next we were swimming in the Mediterranean. The hotels were wonderfully charming and run by the most lovely people, the food was excellent. Steve was just great, he provided all kinds of support to make sure we enjoyed our holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If I had it to do over I would probably book the 7 day hike rather than the 5 day. This would just be to give us a little more time, have a less hurried pace.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we certainly spent money in every town, mostly buying food for our lunches from local shops. And obviously by hoofing it we didn't use up a lot of fuel!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I think the walking tour is a most wonderful way to see the countryside, meet local people, eat local food, and feel like you are seeing the real Spain and not just the touristy version. The tour operator is a very well run company that is very client focused. We were extremely pleased with everything they provided.

review 11 Apr 2011

Steve and Maria at the tour company have put together an incredible trip and were gracious and knowledgeable hosts, who took their time to make sure that our trip was exactly what we wanted it to be. The hikes were perfect: beautiful, with just the right amount of challenge; historically fascinating; and easily traversed, as Steve provided detailed directions. Likewise, the accommodations were lovely. I cannot say enough good things about this tour and would recommend it to everyone I know.

review 5 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in quiet and scenic countryside, great views. Temperatures in the low 20s were just right for walking. Everything was well organised - and as we did the 7 night easy walk, the day off in Cadaques was just right. The food at all the places we stayed was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't arrive at the monastery on a Monday - it's closed! but it is open and free on Tuesdays. If you order a picnic from Mas del Joncar then one between 2 is enough unless you have really enormous appetites.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the hotels were independent and we also used local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - I have already recommended this operator to a colleague.

review 3 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Quality and location of accommodation after following well-prepared instructional maps with photos (which enabled us to see much appreciated local fauna and flora en-route) plus enjoying local hospitality. Tomato on toast!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some binos for the storks! Take a towel and birthday suit on days 2. Try and add some trips to Dali's galleries in Figueres, Pubol and Portligat - spell-binding and exhilarating detours! Pick your time of year carefully (check the temperature chart).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes visit the local shops and stick to the paths when walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 for care, quality and provision of service from Steve and Maria and 'Jack' (woof - especially enjoyed him in the photos). 10/10 for route map. 10/10 for food except for El Port de la Selva (poor choice for veggies).

review 12 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was excellent. The variation in the walks and the diversity of the accommodation and food made it very different to other holidays we have been on. A real highlight for us was being able to really relax and enjoy the experience without having any worries as Steve and Maria had everything so well organised.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax, enjoy the views and carry plenty water with you!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, particularly when staying in the Casa Rurals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday, well organised with a good balance of time walking and time in between to recover and discover more about the places visited.

review 8 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful and varied walking with opportunities to have a cooling swim.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the heat! Take a pack that is strong enough to carry plenty of water. The tour operator is a friendly, helpful company, so don't hesitate to ask them any questions about the holiday. They are flexible and responsive to suggestions

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes- particularly the Casa Rural stays.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Well thought out, flexible programme, comfortable accommodation, reliable luggage transport arrangements all contributed to a wonderful holiday.

review 13 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The great views from the walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

None.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 19 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks were wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To book with Steve and Maria.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great.

review 8 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning scenery along winding coastal trails. The warmth and friendliness of the people of Alt Emporda.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light. Steve and Maria are always at the end of a phone should you need anything.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We loved staying in local Casa Rural accommodation and sampling local artesan cheeses, breads etc which must benefit local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Ticked all the boxes...from warmth of first meeting Steve and Maria to the careful route plans & photos they supplied. We always felt looked-after without being part of an organised group. The perfect pitch!

review 25 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Deserted beaches, very few other walkers and fantastic food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make time to stop at the beaches on the way and take a swim. The time estimates supplied proved pretty good guide to plan your day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I was very impressed by the overall holiday, the organisation, detail and thought that went into it. Walking notes were good, accommodation good and food almost always very good. I can highly recommend this tour operator

review 24 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery, the wild flowers, the birds, the variety of the walks and finishing 2 days gazing out to sea (with a cold beer!) Also, staying in independent accommodation & sampling home made food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did the 5 nights self guided but would definitely recommend taking a day off in Cadaqués to visit Portlligat House & explore Cadaqués leisurely. May is a great time to visit to see the flowers & butterflies in the mountains, & also to see the storks nesting, & their chicks, in the Aiguamolls Natural Park.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - independent accommodation was used, with Spanish cooking using local ingredients where possible; there was only 1 car transfer during the holiday & this was done for a group of 6; we were given a 'responsible travel policy' in our welcome pack; encouraged to minimise our plastic bottle use etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent but too short! It was very well organised by Steve & Maria, with lots of help & advice before hand - even helping looking for alternative flights when ours got cancelled. The walks were fantastic & varied, scenery was stunning and the accommodation & food was very good on the whole. A great welcome & a well thought through pack. Walks were hard going in places but worth it, & it was all stress free as Steve & Maria had covered everything so well. We had a great time, thank you.

review 17 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The combination of walking during the day through lovely coastal scenery - past tiny isolated coves and rugged headlands - then staying each night in different, very comfortable welcoming hotels and rural houses in quaint and often very historic villages. All our hosts were very friendly and helpful and we ate fabulous food (vegetarian). Perfect not to have to think about cars or traffic - just follow the walking instructions provided.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay 2 night in Cadaques, walk to the Cape and visit Dali's house/museum. Unfortunately it was closed when we were there, but it possible to ring & make an appointment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Staying & eating at small locally owned & run hotels. Walking has minimal environmental impact. Support for the national park.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday was excellent, everything went very smoothly with no problems around pick up's, transport, accommodation, navigation etc. Steve did a very good job & has a good business.

review 2 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoyed the lovely location - beach, hills and the wildlife in the nature reserve was stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy the lovely views and the great hosts enroute.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday allowed us to meet the local people and obviously spend money with them whilst taking care of the environment that we walked through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - Many thanks Steve.

review 24 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The six hour coastal walk from Rose's to Cadaqués was fantastic - beautiful views, great sunshine and although tiring on the feet it wasn't too exhausting. Seeing the views of Cadaqués and walking into the quiet fishing town was very rewarding.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went in March and the weather was just right, 18+c, but just remember to pack your layers and pack for the weather.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely - we felt like proper tourists having to learn the lingo and eating local fresh food. Brilliant. We felt we got a great flavour of Catalonia life without driving miles around to see all the tourist sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - some great weather (18c in March) and a great blend of low line coastal paths, fauna and flora through the nature reserves and up and over the hills from coastal villages to rural retreats. The accommodation booked really gave us a taste of Catalonia life – great food, wine, walking, weather and people. All in all a first class holiday.

review 24 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Really we loved it all. The walk along the coastline from Roses to Cadaques is breath taking. Though I might have enjoyed the walk from Cadaques to Port de la Selva, even more. Amazing views of the Mediterranean along a beautiful trail. Cadaques is certainly a very special town and we really enjoyed our stay there. Be sure to visit Salvador Dali's House.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We learned the first day that the walking times were for just walking straight through. We spent two hours walking about at the Greek and Roman Ruins (very interesting) and then had a 3+ hour walk. It was fine and actually stated so in the directions, but we just hadn't really realized. So just plan your time accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We stayed at local little Bed and Breakfasts or small hotels. Varied and very enjoyable. And then of course, we walked from destination to destination. I loved the perspective of travelling like this.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really wonderful! It exceeded my expectations. Steve could not have been more helpful in coordinating and supporting us in this holiday. We loved the places we stayed, enjoyed the people and small towns. The food was excellent. The hikes we great. I felt like we really got to see the country and small communities.

review 21 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Breath taking views e.g. Walking down rocky slopes into Port de La Selva and looking towards the final day's adventure on the mountain in front of us- the steep climb to Sant Pere de Rodes and the ruins of Castell de Sant Selvador above. The walk lived up to our high expectations completely and the final descent into the soft, green farmland on the other side made a perfect contrast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask any questions you have so you can make the most of this great experience. Steve emailed answers to all our questions before the trip promptly so we were well prepared. He also gave us invaluable advice, which along with the pick up and drop off service, made arriving and departing from this holiday easy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Great accommodation was usually in owner operated hotels and meals provided were either at these hotels or in locally owned restaurants that prided themselves on serving local seasonal produce. Walking was mostly on formed tracks and the detailed walking notes included reminders about ways we could minimise our impact on the range of environments we walked through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Tremendous. We have many wonderful memories and photos. The walks began at an easy pace and became more challenging and always there were wonderful views. We appreciated the attention to detail that had been given to the information sheets, covering both information about where to go on this self-guided walk and interesting points to note or places to visit on the way.

review 25 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The section of the Cami de Ronda that we walked.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry about getting lost. Best walking instructions/guides we have ever had.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Walked off-season, so our tour would have helped the local pensions and restaurants when their business was slack. Most of the walk was along GRs, so the environmental impact had already been considered.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most enjoyable. Four and a half stars (I have not been "reborn").

review 26 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The unexpected; walks, scenery, accommodation & food. Different & varied every day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be nervous if this is something new for you. Steve has thought of everything & is willing to help out in any way possible. He met us personally on arrival and his welcome meeting was really useful. The walking route instructions made it impossible to get lost.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. A variety of locally owned accommodation was used and there was always time at the end of the day to explore and use local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Parc Natural dels Auguamolis had a fascinating array of birds and we saw more on other trails, including a flock of Parakeets eating the apple crop (well it is rare in the UK!). Climbing up to the Monastery Sant Pere de Rodes and the castle ruins above was hard work but the views well worth it. Memories of arriving at Figueres station at 6:30 in the morning and walking along the beach past unconcerned nudists linger for other reasons. We also found a small beach at Port Lligat which all ours for at least 20 minutes!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walks are well graded and there are only a couple of strenuous bits, otherwise it is all easy to moderate. You do need lots of water and a hydration pack or two is a real benefit. We enjoyed the selected hotels although have suggested the 1st night would benefit from an upgrade. The half board menus were very good with ability to go "off piste" if you want a wider selection and there is plenty of choice of restaurants in Cadaques where accommodation was room only.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Well we ate locally, used local bars and slept in local hotels so I hope there was some wealth transfer, can't think why not. We travelled to Spain by train (overnight sleeper from Paris) and although our luggage got chauffered, we walked everywhere. We also visited the local museums/galleries en route.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was the first organised walking holiday we have done and we enjoyed it immensely. The detailed guidance provided to ensure we could not lose our way was great. Overall standards were higher than we expected and we felt relaxed and refreshed at the end. We would definitely think seriously about doing another organised walking holiday in the future based on this one.

review 19 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering new places. We enjoyed the wonderful views and variety of places/accommodation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Watch out, the last day is a bit of a killer! Carry plenty of water and as light a backpack as possible. A change of shoes comes in handy too.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed it and only wish the operator offered more walks in the same area

review 2 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Its hard to pick out the best because each walk was so varied and great in its own way but maybe the last one from El Port de la Selva up to the Monastery and then over the top and back down past the little white chapel and into Palau-Saverdera was the most memorable. The scenery and views were spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The Roman and Greek ruins are well worth a visit. If you're looking to stay an extra night anywhere choose Cadaques. Make up some sort of packed lunch for the next day by buying food locally. On a couple of the walks there is nowhere to get lunch otherwise. Walking boots essential as a few of the tracks are a bit rough. Take binoculars if interested in wildlife as there's lots about.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we bought food and drink locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Ranks as the best walking holiday we've had yet. The bar's set high for any other company to beat this!

review 21 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty of the scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It's sunny and can be hot even in early June, so bring a hat, a swimsuit to cool off in the Mediterranean along the way, and sunscreen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very much. We stayed and ate in small, locally run establishments. We were on a walking tour, so our impact on the environment was minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience, full of sights and sounds I will never forget.

review 18 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The truly wild coastline, stunning views, beautiful stone paths, Greek and Roman ruins, Dali's house, ancient monastery, lovely villages AND wetlands - every day something wonderful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend the extra day in Cadaques to visit Dali's house and walk to the lighthouse.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, staying in small friendly hotels and guesthouses; walking is a great low-impact way to appreciate an area, the local plant and animal life, and general environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - loved the combination of historic buildings and villages with great walking and scenery. The route is well-thought out, the walk notes are comprehensive and Steve is an excellent 'host'.

review 25 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Arriving at our final destination knowing we had made it! The walk on Day 3 was hard work but ultimately very rewarding with some spectacular views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We needed sun cream and sun hats on first three days and rain hats and waterproofs day five - so be prepared for both! On day one don't rush to your destination as lovely though the house is there isn't anything to do there once you arrive. If you can, do take a rest day in Cadaques.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly! The walks were really well planned and varied and the countryside wonderful. It really worked for us to have the relatively easy walks on the first couple of days before the challenging one on the third day. The accommodation was different in style each night but of a consistently high standard with friendly helpful people everywhere.

review 13 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great views and lots of variety in scenery and places to stay. Relaxing in a jacuzzi at then end of a day's walking with some excellent wine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In April at least be prepared for all kinds of weather - we had wind, lots of wind! sunshine and rain

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we stayed in family run hotels at a quiet time of year and what could be greener than walking as your main activity

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great if you want to be active but still relaxed. We found the walks just right - challenging but not exhausting with time to wander and enjoy the different places we stayed in.

review 11 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many highlights – during the walks, at the places we stayed, people we met. Difficult to single out any particular item. But, as a keen walker, if I was pushed I would say the landscapes and seascapes on sections of the walks will stay with me most.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t go too quickly – savour the variety. Take time to enjoy your packed lunch in inpsiring surroundings. The walking is not particularly easy in parts, especially in hot and windy conditions. The coast path immediately after leaving Roses is rough in places, very up and down and not recommended for anyone who suffers from vertigo. But you will be rewarded with some spectacular views and a sense of achievement. Take a hat but make sure it won’t easily blow off your head!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes and yes, how could it be otherwise when staying in owner-run accommodation and tourists who merely walk rather than drive. And we travelled by train to Figueres and Barcelona, so feel very smug.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We enjoyed the great variety – the landscapes, natural life, bays, beaches and places we overnighted. It is a very well thought out itinerary, if occasionally quite demanding, especially in certain weather conditions. We did it in the second half of September and I felt we had ideal conditions. The directions provided were clear and comprehensive. Steve and Maria could not have been more helpful. All in all it was a very good experience and I would not hesitate in booking another holiday with this operator, perhaps in another area of Catalonia, though this holiday has given us an incentive to explore other parts of Spain, like Asturias and Galicia.

review 10 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying snorkelling and swimming in the sea along the route. The views from the castle ruins on the final day were breathtaking - well worth the climb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Invest in a cheap snorkelling kit when you're out there. There are several days with opportunities to take a dip. Take the extra day in Cadaques - Dali's house is well worth a visit. The route directions provided are fantastic - no need for a GPS.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the accommodation was mostly in small rural hostels/B&Bs which were all fantastic. This also gives you the chance to try lots of local, traditional food (and wine!).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was more than just a walking holiday as there are plenty of interesting things to do on the way (and Steve has planned the walks to ensure you have time to enjoy the sights). The food and accommodation were excellent. Overall the holiday far exceeded our expectations and we would describe this as a unique and worthwhile walking holiday.

review 2 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in the pool of a residence after a long hot dusty mountain walk

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some rough terrain underfoot

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we spent £300 locally

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable - some of the walks were quite challenging

review 11 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty and variety of the hikes were wonderful, ranging from hiking along the gorgeous Mediterranean, walking through remarkable Roman and Greek ruins, birdwatching in a nature preserve, to climbing a mountain to see Spain's oldest monastery. We also stayed in two lovely family-run casas that served incredible meals.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We thought it was more fun to buy our own picnic lunches than to eat the ones that were provided for us.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very beautiful refreshing trip. We all felt invigorated by it. Steve is a very thoughtful and kind person to work with.

review 4 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning coastline and beautiful water for swimming. The walk from Roses to Cadaques was both the most challenging and memorable, lovely coves to swim and fantastic views along the coastline. You'll visit sites and towns rich in history and culture - Dali's house in Port Lligat and museum in Figueres are well worth a visit if you have time. The food great, fresh and particularly well cooked in the Sant Pere Pescador and Palau Saverdera accomodation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a wide-brimmed hat! First couple of walks are easy and flat. The others are more challenging; more up and down and uneven terrain. We needed our boots and walking poles for these. We went late June and the heat was a little too much for the more difficult walks. We extended the 7 night holiday to two weeks and stayed extra nights in Cadaques, El Port de la Selva and Girona. This worked really well as we wanted a few lazy days. A minor point that in no way spoilt the holiday but if you wanted to prolong your stay in Port de la Selva, would suggest that you have a B&B arrangement rather than half board - although the food in the hotel-linked restaurant was good it restricted us somewhat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The company used locally run accommodation and businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good and successful. Well thought out and planned by Steve who runs the tour operator. Steve was really helpful and approachable and made every effort that our holiday ran smoothly.

review 22 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I couldn't really pinpoint a highlight because everyday brought something new to the holiday either in the terrain or the food we were given. I suppose managing to complete all of the walks gave us a sense of achievement - and relief!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wear good boots, a hat, long trousers and carry plenty of water. Also take frequent restbreaks, it’s not a race. Anyone considering this holiday should be aware that parts of this trail are steep and very close to the edge of cliffs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we ate at small, local restaurants and purchased gifts from small shops. Our impact on the environment was minimal because we walked on narrow paths and carried our rubbish with us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Steve of the tour company was very considerate and had organised the holiday extremely well. All the accommodations were excellent and the owners made us very welcome. The food was very good.

review 18 Jun 2009

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely go for the 7 day if you can, we were disappointed not to have more time in Cadaques.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyable, great food and very comfortable, friendly accommodation. Walking was beautiful and very varied, completely different walks on each day, not too strenuous but enough to feel you've had to put in a bit of effort! Steve was really helpful and the information provided was excellent, leaving you to just enjoy the scenery and not have to worry about finding your way.

review 11 Feb 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Flamingos etc. at Aiguamolls natural park, superb. The views over the bay of Roses seen from the coastal walks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The terrain can be a little unpredictable and uneven in places, make sure you have good walking boots. The route notes were excellent and we didn’t need to use the Garmin.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the accommodation was in small locally owned places with good food sourced locally, giving those people an income especially outside normal tourist months. By keeping to the footpaths the impact on the environment is kept to a minimum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Having done several similar walking trips in the past, I would rate this one very highly. Steve and Maria were excellent.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies