50 independent reviews for Catalonia self guided walking holidays

Reviews for Catalonia self guided walking holidays

SHOW
17
30
3
0
0

review 20 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery, people, breakfast

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was actually more physically challenging than I expected even though I live in the US Rocky Mountains

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the people along the way were outstanding and I'm sure the economy benefited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 18 Nov 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were exciting highlights every day. For example, Walk 1 included Greek/Roman ruins as well as a beautiful beach all to myself!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light. Bring plenty of water on the walks. Do schedule a visit to the Salvador Dali house in Portlligat by Cadaqués. Plan to visit the Dali Thestre Museum in Figueres before or after the trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local people ran the hotels and the farm was owned by a local couple. We used refillable water bottles and the hotels emphasized reuse of towels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, great, I give the trip 4.75 stars. The walking directions are very detailed. Steve, the trip organizer, is very personable and extremely helpful. I subtract a quarter star because the Cap de Creus walk needs an option to travel one-way as it is unrealistically long.

review 7 Nov 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery along the walks was diverse and spectacular, whether walking right along the coast or climbing up to the monastery Sant Pere de Rodes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a few challenging ups and downs. Take poles and don’t forget your water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly walking reduced environmental impacts. Local run hotels and restaurants benefited economies that have been stalled by covid.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Would do again in a heartbeat.

review 17 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Well organised

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiiday.

review 16 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking along the coastline on the morning of day 3 from Roses.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you make use of Steve's gpx files in a suitable navigation app. While the written instructions are comprehensive the app made way finding really easy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the hotels were locally owned and the notes in the walking pack gave excellent guidance to local restaurants every day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, well organised with some nice accomodation

review 15 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walks once we'd left the beach and the meal at Casa Carmeta

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Avoid Port de Selva on a Monday night. Maybe it's ok in season, but out of season there were no restaurants open in the evening and only the Spar to find something to eat

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In as much as coronavirus is going to have a big impact on tourism in the area we were able to support local hotels, restaurants and shops

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed it and the weather was good for walking. On the whole we had blue skies but it was not too hot for walking which it will be later in the year

review 28 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Torrential rain all day in Cadaques, flooded streets! an exceptional occurrence admittedly and did not spoil the holiday. All the walks were varied, interesting and each memorable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

depending on time of year be prepared with suitable clothing

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

i hope so but how can i tell?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent in all respects - great walking, interesting region with attractive small towns, good hotels each with its own character and appeal, wonderful scenery

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Jenny, thank you for taking the time to give some feedback, I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday. In answer to your question regarding “Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?” All our accommodations are family owned, they employ local people and of course those employment opportunities help avoid the displacement and resettlement of local communities, this is the same for the local restaurants. We always encourage our guests to behave in an environmentally responsible manner. We walk on designated paths and make sure no litter is left behind and of course walking is a great way to lower your environmental impact whilst on vacation. As well as the Cap de Creus National Park during your vacation you pass through the Aiguamolls Nature reserve. The Aiguamollls is the second most important wetland area in Catalonia and the support from tourists visiting the visitors centre there is very important in helping preserve this important wild life reserve. Thanks Steve

review 22 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So hard to say as the walks and hotels were so different and we had a wonderful time. I think my favourite walk was the one which started from Rosas and took us along the coast through the pines for the first two thirds, so that we swam twice in two different bays before heading off up the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I really recommend having at least one walking stick, a map holder round the neck and a small cooler bag for the relevant parts of your lunch. Sometimes I wish we had a small flask for a hot drink. Take it slow and enjoy the views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the hotels were run by local people, we ate in local restaurants, bought local produce and walked through the countryside leaving nothing behind.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was perfect for us - just the right amount of walking and challenge, extremely well organised by Steve and Maria so that our luggage was always waiting for us every night, good recommendations for restaurants - even photos of the birds we might see in the nature reserve. It made for a holiday that we all enjoyed immensely and are planning to repeat in a couple of years time - if we can find such good organisation elsewhere.

review 7 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There's a great view round almost every corner

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Follow the route instructions carefully.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most hotels were small family run businesses. This type of holiday suits a low season break.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday is a great introduction to the highlights of this part of the Costa Brava, the details having been honed over a number of years. It has varied itinerary that should hold no issues for those who put on a pair of walking boots fairly regularly. A couple of days had some stiff climbs, that give a sense of accomplishment when completed. I particularly liked the advice given for what to do on the non-walking day, or after the shorter walks. Larger tour operators offer a similar itinerary, but this operator can offer a cheaper deal with absolutely no loss of professional service standards. The holiday is therefore good value for money.

review 6 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Although the whole tour was a wonderfully positive experience, we really enjoyed staying in the towns of Cadaques and El Port de la Selva as well as the hiking between the towns. We also enjoyed meeting Stephen and felt well supported during the tour.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 29 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Accidentally following a wrong trail which led to a more perilous, more insightful and spiritually uplifting hike/climb.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Follow the notes closely

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very exhilirating

review 26 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was a lovely little adventure and just being out in the environment was lovely. The Roman ruins on the first day were great, as was Cadaqués and Dali’s house was ace. I had a number of days were I didn’t want the walk to end!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The walk had a couple of challenging hills, but definitely was doable for someone with an average level of fitness. Definitely worth bringing a hiking pole for the last three days. I went mid March and the weather was ace, and there were still a number of restaurants open.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accomodations were for the most part small businesses or family run. The walking, particularly through the wetlands, gave you a good understanding of the local environment and history of the area, and the changes it had faced over time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. Would definitely recommend and would do another holiday like this with Steve and Maria.

review 14 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views, only achievable by walking, are just breathtaking. Do the additional climb to Castell de Verdera, it’s stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sounds obvious but try to plan your walking to avoid the hottest part of the day. Even in September we had temperatures of over thirty degrees, really uncomfortable where there is no shade.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I loved that we stayed in the smaller local hotels each night, service was great and the rooms were very comfortable, just what you need to set you up for another day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday, can’t recommend this operator highly enough, Maria and Steve were brilliant.

review 19 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was the coastal walk and the beaches. Cadaques was exciting and we wished we were able to stay longer. It was also exciting to have completed the whole walk and we felt a sense of achievement

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is the first time my partner and I have done a walking holiday. I would advise anyone thinking of doing this to be sure you have a rest day after two days walking. We did four days in a row. When we do another similar holiday we would look carefully at the time of the year. My partner found this time too hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that the holiday benefited the local people as we stayed in accomodation run by locals. We both loved the welcome and homely feeling of all the Accomodations and the chance to eat the local food. We also became very aware of the beauty of the region and the necessarity of looking after it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall we enjoyed the holiday. The walk directions were clear ninety eight percent of the time. It was well organised and Maria and Steve were very helpful. Communication was good and everything was well explained. The walk was a challenge and at times we found it hard in the heat, but we took our time and throughly enjoyed the experience.

review 26 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all fantastic, but the bird sanctuary was my favorite. Beautifully management and interpretive signage. Peaceful stroll.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

1) Normally an intrepid traveler? Wondering about whether or not a "tour" is for you? I'd never taken a agent-planned vacation before this, and not having to handle logistics increased the restful quality of the trip by several orders of magnitude; more than I realized it would. 2) American? Add time to the waking estimates. Europeans walk more than we do... so their "easy" could be your "moderate". 3) We did this in late September, and although it wasn't crowded with tourists, we ONLY saw other couples over 60 (Scandinavian, German, British, Dutch, Aussie, French, American) for days on end... Like a weird migratory phenomenon. 4). Normally, we try to explore away from the hotel, but Casa Clara was lovely and the food among the best we had in Catalunya (including that at Ferran/Albert Aria establishments) 5) Steve and Maria couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to the local business support. No sense of impact on the environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Worth it.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing so many beautiful places along the Catalan coast and mountains, from gorgeous beaches to the mountain top monestary, to tiny villages.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking sticks and hiking boots helped on the more strenuous hikes. Speaking a little Spanish enhanced our interactions with people we met on this holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, contributing to the local economy and walking were positive aspects of this holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful holiday with many highlights and memorable experiences.

review 27 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Roses to Cadaques and our free day in Cadaques when we took a boat out to the lighthouse and walked back

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Walking time averages c.5 hours/day. After the first 2 days, it is all up and down but beautiful scenery. The notes on where to go are really good and we did not get lost at all.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 4 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable moment was climbing up to the ruins from Sant Pere de Rodes monastery. The views were breathtaking and worth the extra time and effort to get to the top.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Wear comfortable high top hiking shoes, use trekking poles, pack light, drink lots of water and stop to enjoy the incredible views.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the vacation brought us to many small communities providing the benefits of tourism to that region. I would consider a walking vacation an eco-tourism vacation which helps the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall the vacation was excellent. Every trail was very different from the next providing interesting and beautiful vistas and walks. However I feel that the grading and description assigned to walk 3 and walk 5 were deceptive and should be graded as 3. The paths were not good as described but treacherous and would be impassable if wet, in particular the descent on walk 5 (trekking poles are essential.) Sections of this trail were so rocky it was difficult to discern the trail from the rest of the terrain. However we are fit, trekked cautiously and felt great after conquering these walks. The most frustrating and only negative issue on the entire vacation was the trail route instructions. The directions could use some concise and clearer guidance (I would be happy to provide further detail if requested.) The choice of accommodations were exceptional. We especially loved the personal touches and the quaintness of Mas de Joncar, Casa Clara and Niu de Sol, all in smaller communities. The other establishments that were in larger communities were great too and perfectly located. The breakfasts at most were typical continental breakfast but still very good and fresh and others again were exceptional i.e. Mas de Joncar and Niu de Sol. The staff at all accommodations were very friendly and helpful. Miguel at Mas de Joncar was even able to pack a lunch for us for the next walk - enough to feed us for a few days (many thanks Miguel). I wouldn't change any of the accommodations - we loved them all. In general, a great walk through a very special part of the country. I would highly recommend this vacation.

review 1 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visit to Empuries on walk 1

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bear in mind that museums and some restaurants are closed on Mondays

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in the sense that it took us off the beaten track, relatively speaking

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good; excellent walking routes which were very varied, and very good walking instructions.

review 15 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All the hiking was excellent and a variety of experiences. It was also exciting for the kids to interact with cows and other wildlife.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not expect people to speak English but no worries as the locals are very friendly. Make sure you have provisions for the daily hike - best is local produce - salami, cheese and apples. Adapt to Catalonian time - hearty breakfast and snack during hike and then dinner after 8.30pm

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

One of the great things was that there were so few tourists (not that I do not like tourists) so you felt you had the mountains all to yourself. We would have spent 90 per cent of our funds on local family restaraunts and stores (exception is SPA supermarket). Not sure re conservation but we would not have had a negative impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an adventurous, fun and bonding holiday. It allowed us to have an insight into local people and culture and also some time away from screens and stress. Highly recommended.

review 25 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely seaside towns we walked to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito repellent. I wish I had! We had an issue with the non working air con at one of the inns, so opened a window. Big mistake, as it let in mosquitoes. Later in the trip when we encountered another hotel with non working air con, we called Steve and he resolved the situation. Don't hesitate to call Steve or Maria with any questions or issues you may have.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This holiday definitely helps support local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, a great holiday. The walking was doable...sometimes a bit challenging for us pensioners...but we did it...and the views were often incredible...always lovely. Our dinners were the same, sometimes incredible, always lovely. Get restaurant suggestions from Maria if you are a foodie.

review 6 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very friendly people, good hotels and restaurants, a most interesting bird reserve, wonderful wild flowers and a fine walk, especially the last three sections in the foothills of the Pyrenees. Also some great conversations on Catalan identity, culture and hope-for independence, especially with Miguel in Sant Pere Pescador.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I bought a map, as I always do, but the maps provided with the instructions, with the route marked on them, were good. The instructions themselves were fine, slightly open to discussion at times, but never misleading if you read them correctly. It would have been difficult to get lost other than in really bad weather. We both (my wife and I, either side of 70) wore walking shoes which were fine but overall I would have preferred to have worn my walking boots. As usual with Europe, bring electric plug adaptors and a universal washbasin/bath plug. Upgrade the hotel in Cadaques – the Llane Petit was lovely, with sunny balcony, good breakfast and a charming manager – and take the extra day in Girona which is a delightful city. The advantages of walking in early May were pleasant rather than too hot temperatures (18-23 degrees); stunning wild flowers; fewer crowds. The disadvantage were that the season has only just begun and quite a few restaurants were not yet open; the sea was still cold

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local benefit, yes, as we stayed and ate in local homes, hotels and restaurants, and bought local food for our picnics; environmental impact, reduced I suppose by our walking though our luggage still had to be moved by car; conservation, no support.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4.5, really. Steve and Maria run a delightfully personal company and they were both very friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend their company and may well return ourselves.

review 9 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Cadaques to El Port de la Selva and after to Palau Salverdera.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the extra night in Girona. Wear good boots, bring walking poles. Although the directions were excellent, consider downloading a GPS app such as Cities To Go or cyclometer for reassurance and to see exactly where you are located. We found some walks difficult since we are in our late 60's, fit but have joint problems. There are options to skip a really hard part.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All accommodations were environmentally conscious, excellent and unique.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Varied scenery, excellent accomodation and great food suggested by Maria.

review 7 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Roses to Cadaques - The weather, location, views, bays, and the walk was the most taxing, but not too much, just enough to feel an achievement. Also the pleasure of seeing Cadaques as you come over the top was a great feeling, it was idyllic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To contact directly the tour guide if you have any queries no matter how small - the people are so friendly, helpful, informative and nothing seemed too much trouble. September was a perfect month to walk, even though it was exceptionally warm; places were not overcrowded and most of the restaurants were still open. Ensure you take plenty of water with you

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people i.e. tourism, - staying in local establishments, eating locally and purchasing lunch the next day from local shops. I'm unsure about reducing environmental impact, possibly not, as we were walking over the land, albeit an identified trail; but better than driving!!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Certainly a four star, and would recommend it and the tour company to friends. I will probably use this company again in the future.

review 6 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trails, scenery and meeting other travelers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to get maps before hand. Have a good sense of direction as sometimes the walking instructions were a bit vague, or the sign posts or landmarks gone or unclear, though finding your way with some difficulty was a bit of the fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No more than most trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met other interesting hikers (Europeans call this a walk, for Americans more of a hike. ) Steve and Maria were very available, responsive, flexible and friendly. Scenery was beautiful. Got to see both touristy and not touristy parts of Catalonia. Good mix of accommodations. Good mix of flat and rugged terrain. Only small issue is that the daily walking directions at times were a bit vague and some signposts were missing. Would have been helpful if sections of the walk were described in kilometers rather than minutes of walking. Overall a great trip and we would and likely will book a similar walk again.

review 3 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Between Roses and Cadaques

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring thongs as well as boots

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic

review 26 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great holiday - variety in walks and hotels. Well organised and flexible to meet request to leave early to get train

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask questions eg if you need to shorten trip

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely Miguel at the Agrotourism stay was very passionate about Catalan food and values

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent walk notes and maps We did not get lost. Personal touch as Maria collected us and Steve took us to start of walk at Roses and then to the station at the end. Small company that really practices good customer service and they know the hotel owners and area really well

review 31 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are several things we will will always remember from our trip: the wonderful places we stayed - particularly the rural hotels which were so individual and where we had such a warm welcome -, the sights we saw - from amazing Greek and Roman ruins to a monastery perched on a mountain to a host of interesting birds at a nature reserve, and the stunning scenery as we walked (and swam!) our way along the Bay of Roses and around the Cap de Creus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We added two extra nights at the end of our trip to enjoy Girona at a more leisurely pace and we would recommend doing this. We also appreciated having 2 nights in Cadaques and wished we'd asked to book an extra night in at least 2 other stopover places where the accommodation was so good and the area so interesting we would have liked to get to know them better. It's worth noting that the heat in July can be quite challenging so a day's break in between walks might be a good idea!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Like all tourists really, we no doubt provided a boost to the local economy but perhaps with this holiday we were sometimes in quieter places more off the beaten track where tourism is more of a benefit. And any money we spent was definitely going directly into that economy. Not having a car meant we were not tempted to drive great distances to see places (therefore our trip had less of an environmental impact) and it gave us a better sense of the particular corner of Catalonia we were walking through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. Everything was very well organised and we were delighted both with the walking trails and the accommodation booked for us. We would certainly book such a holiday again.

review 17 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The time spent in Cadaques, a most beautiful town. The mountain walks were spectacular. The weather was wonderful and we found some great restaurants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the walks were almost too challenging for us, although we did enjoy the variety of the walks. I think you need to be extremely fit to manage 2 of the walks. We decided not to walk to Cadaques (the longest walk). It was well organised, our bags were always at the next hotel, the instructions for the walks were mostly very clear. You definitely benefit from good walking boots and walking poles, especially for the latter walks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotels were exceptional. We liked the fact that we could choose our own restaurants, and where necessary take taxis when we felt we needed to. We also made a contribution to the organisation Amics de ses Animals de Cadaques (the cats of Cadaques) and were delighted to meet and talk with the woman in charge of this organisation which neuters 150 cats each year and feeds around 300 cats in the area around Cadaques.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give it 4 1/2 stars! It was in fact one of the best holidays I've ever had, the walks were wonderful and we loved being there in early June when there were few people around!

review 2 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the hike tremendously. We have been on a number of self guided hikes and this one rates highly. The accommodations were good to excellent. Steve did a good job with logistics and we appreciated the transfer to Girona at the end of the hike. The day's ranged from easy and very pleasant to more challenging. Scenery was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had a mix up with what was included/not included. Know the details up front.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we ate lunch and dinner in local restaurants and the accommodations were in smaller local hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. This is our third trip with responsible travel and we are batting 67%. We would strongly suggest having the company send you trail directions beforehand....which was a part of the problem with the previous hike that did not go as well. We asked Steve to do so and were impressed. His directions were detailed and clear

review 23 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every day was different, and we always looked forward to reaching our overnight stop, and to exploring a new place. The little places where we stopped were all very interesting and had lots of character. We also enjoyed the food, especially the fish, and the local wines were excellent. We especially enjoyed the visit to the Dali house, a short walk from Cadaques on the rest day, and the old restored monastery on our last day walking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have the proper walking gear. Good boots and a pole were very useful. As the holiday lasts for 7 days it is easy to get an advance weather forecast so you can prepare. If you want to visit the Dali house it is best to book early, as it is very popular, and tours seem well filled.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, some of the smaller hotels/hostals were able to benefit outside the peak season.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable. A lovely part of the world. Everything went very smoothly, accommodation, baggage transfers etc. Steve and Maria were well organised, and always in the background ready to give support as and when.

review 11 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views were fantastic at times.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Occasionally the walks are steep, both up and down. As they tell you, wear good boots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at small hotels and eating local food benefits local people. Walking is as about environmentally friendly as transportation gets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Never having been on a walking holiday, we did not know what to expect. We really enjoyed the walks, the accommodation was as expected, or better. The tour organizers (Steve and Maria) were very helpful, as were staff at the accommodations. The variety of walking conditions and scenery was well thought out. The holiday more than lived up to our hopes.

review 6 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Excellent walking in great scenery. Some very good restaurants in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to visit the Monastery be aware it is closed on Monday!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Made good use of local businesses

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent walking, high standard accommodation. Very well organised by Steve and Maria. Very good route notes.

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The awesome coastal and inland scenery, the beautifully clear sea and the wildlife combined to make every day really interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly met a lot of very friendly locals, as is the case throughout Spain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A varied, exciting, very well organised holiday with lovely, helpful organisers and hotel owners.

review 10 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Late April proved a perfect time weatherwise, blue skies, and the countryside was ablaze with colour - stunning. The variety of the walks and scenery each day, and arriving in small, quiet villages for the night. Especially appealing was the bird life in the Aiguamolls Natural Park, the long but rewarding walk to Cadaques, the beautiful walk to Port de la Selva through the National Park followed the next day by a challenging climb to the Monastery and the ruins. Good choice of accommodation and great support from Steve and Maria ensured a hassle free experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good walking boots and reasonable level of fitness. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the wonderful scenery, you may not come this way again. Trip notes and explicit directions provided by Steve and Maria are excellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate at restaurants, stayed in local accommodation, purchased food for lunches and walked on well established trails.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We found the walk on the sand along the beach on the first day the least enjoyable part of a fantastic weeks adventure. The variety and diversity of the scenery each day contributed greatly to making this a most memorable experience.

review 24 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the walk along the rocky coast from secluded beach to secluded beach on walk 3, Platja Canyelles to Cadaques. And we both found Salvadore Dahli's house fascinating

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went in February when it was very quiet, if you go at this time of the year make sure you take overtrousers and warm walking gear as it was cold even in bright sunshine.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying in small local guest houses and family run hotels supported the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was a challenge for us as my husband was recovering from a broken leg, but it went better than expected. Steve and Maria were supportive and on some days he rode with them with the luggage but he also managed some of the flatter walks. The places we stayed were comfortable and we especially liked Anna and Miguell's rural accommodation. Seeing nesting storks in the Aiguamolls national park was a highlight too!

review 13 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cadacaue was the loveliest town I have ever seen and the hotel on the beach with the balcony views was equally exquisite

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not bother with extensive research each day unfolds so perfectly that you could not possibly match this attention to detail.. Besides it would spoil all the delight and surprise of adventure travel

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was the best holiday we have taken in many years.

review 5 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many it is hard to choose just one!! Perhaps one dramatic landscape after another, or was it the amazing food, or the super friendly people, or the lovely accommodations?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure your shoes are comfortable...and relax, you're in good hands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly supported local people. Walking would limit environmental impacts but then the organizers were doing a lot of driving!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was wonderful. I greatly enjoyed it. The operator is a great company, they took excellent care of us including catering for unexpected injuries and making last-minute changes as requested/needed.

review 20 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

What I will take home with me is the beauty of the Costa Brava, the variety of terrain that our itinerary covered, and the helpfulness, kindness, and excellent planning of Steve and Maria. From sandy beaches, Roman ruins, and white-washed fishing towns to terraced hillsides, rocky paths, and an ancient monastery and castle, we felt we covered more territory than our 90 km (more or less) journey would suggest. The hotels were also very good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For walking, I would bring sport sandals for the first two days, shoes that slip on/off easily for walking on the beach, bathing suits (or not..,nudity not a concern here), good hiking boots and poles for the remainder of the trip. We needed fewer clothes than anticipated as we washed things out as needed. Rather than purchasing lunches, we just built sandwiches from the breakfast offerings, added some fruit, and brought energy bars from home. Carry lots of water, especially from day three on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Of course! We supported hotels, restaurants, shops, etc., helping local economies. Also, just seeing this area by walking minimized our, so to speak "carbon footprint".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent trip. Though one doesn't cover as much ground as by other means, you do see things more closely, more intimately. We loved it.

review 26 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A really well organised and above all flexible holiday. We were able to do a stunning spanish walking holiday in just 2 days/3 nights - felt as if we'd been away for at least a week.The company tailored the expedition really well for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not especially, although we contributed to the local economy by staying there/buying food/eating out etc. We were given a list of ways to be environmentally friendly on the walks.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 23 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

What a silly question !! The whole hol. Was completely memorable, a feast for the senses...mountain, sea, culture, small local communities, great food and wine, etc. Exciting ?..For my daughter especially, to see close up birds you seldom if ever see in UK...and for me, (octogenarian !) I guess it was realising I could still cope with the challenge of the coastal path to Cadaques, and climbing up the direct route up to Pere de Rodes, such a spectacular monastery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you carry plenty of water for even in early April it was v. hot on some days. One disappointment is if you must visit art museums, this time of year you will find them all closed. Easter was late and I think that is when they reopen after winter. At least paddle the whole 7kms. along that silver sand beach, or better still, swim it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes...the Aiguemolls reserve is keen to have foreign visitors, and they keep their hides in good condition. Buying food and drink in local little shops instead of our usual supermarkets must help, as well as eating in small restaurants and Casas Rurales. Travelling by bike/foot and leaving only footprints preserves their environment too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

ACE ! I have climbed/biked in most parts of the globe, and I have to say that for a short trip, this hol was ideal...and excellently planned/supported by the tour operator. PS 'Can't give it the 5 stars simply because I've spent my life adventuring !!

review 16 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Where do I start? The huge variety of wild flowers whose perfume rolled over us in waves, the character filled small towns where we stayed each evening, the stunning coastline, the quiet climbs in the hills behind the Costa Brava, the fascinating variety of bird life in the wetlands! Every day was different.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We really enjoyed the wild flowers of spring and it was a pleasant walking temperature too but be prepared with a good rain jacket because spring can also be unpredictable. Make sure you do the extra climb to the castle of sant Salvadore on the last day. It is a good idea to do some hill walks before you come so you have a reasonable level of fitness for walking uphill.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly supported small local hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were sorry when it ended. Steve is a friendly, down to earth operator who gave excellent advice. The instructions were very easy to follow. This certainly rates as an outstanding holiday experience.

review 22 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part of this holiday was the little discoveries along the trail - secluded beaches, apple and olive orchards, vineyards, and old ruins.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Autumn is a great time for this as the temperatures are more favorable for the longer walks. Even so carrying a fair bit of water is necessary.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

At a couple of locations, it felt as though this tour is the major client for the local accommodation. I loved visiting the markets, butcher shops, and bakery to put together a lunch for the following day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday was very well organized, and it allowed me to explore towns and landscapes in Catalonia that I never would have discovered on my own.

review 12 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery, it was spectacular, beautiful trails, not many tourists, unspoilt. Food and wine superb. People at guest accomodation were very friendly and helpful and Steve the operator was excellent. His organisation for the trip was perfect, everything went to plan, he was a good communicator and dealt with any problems we had.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with a company that has an english speaking organiser if you don't speak Spanish. The operator was a very well run and i recommend them highly. We did the trek with a 1 year old baby and had no issues. It was an easy trek but that doesn't mean it's flat, read the itinary, it's detailed and is a good guide to the terrain you are walking and how much up and down there is and how long the days are. You don't need to be supper fit but do need to be aware. Wear good, broken in hiking shoes/boots and take some bandaids etc for blisters as you would for any long hike.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, supported many local businesses. Yes, we had a very low impact walk, leaving no rubbish and Steve the operator mentioned on day one to be aware of environmental considerations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Highlight of our 1 month European holiday.

review 26 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved all the walks. Each was unique and special in its own way. The third walk to cadaques was the hardest and most beautiful for us. Many little secluded beaches which in June or July would be perfect for a dip. Was too cold when we went. The last hotel, niu de sol, is very nice. We would stay another night for further walk or just chill out if we didn't already make other plans.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We think walking sticks would be helpful for the third walk. Cadaques s a beautiful place, however it is hyped up with all the visitors making it relatively more expensive. We didn't like the hotel as much although we could imagine that the location offsets everything else of the hotel. Possible consider asking for upgrade (I don't know).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. We love Catalan cuisine so we eat out almost everyday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great way to connect with nature, travel light and eat very well at night. Steve and Maria are very friendly and explain everything properly to give us a good start. It's hard to get lost with their instruction however we just like to take a different turns sometimes to see where we end up. Lovely and memorable Costa Brave!!!

review 10 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful views over blue bays and green slopes under a cloudless sky; the 360 view from the castello on the last day was stupendous!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take it easy on the uphills, enjoy the journey, don't miss Dali's house in Port Lligat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, excellent individual little hotels run by locals, walk through the nature reserve was stunning as was strolling in the surf on day one - a perfect start!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful - well organised, lovely accommodation, plenty of variety - thanks, Steve and Maria!

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is away from all the other tourist trap. We get to see something very few people have the opportunity to see.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip was labelled as "walk" but it turned out to be a strenuous "hike". The tour operator is a Scottish man, I am wondering if there is something " lost in translation”.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We brought some business to the local area we visited. I think the carbon footprint in this trip is very low.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a very nice trip for our family. But it may not be everyone's cup of tea.

review 23 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk from Cadaques to Selva. Lovely walking, great views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn a few words of Catalan. Your efforts will be appreciated and you will be made to feel even more welcome. Remember a lot of places are "tancat dilluns" (closed on Mondays!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate local food (fish, meat and veg and fruit)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pretty good. We enjoyed the mountain sections much more than the coast.

review 24 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We love walking holidays, and this one exceeded any expectations. Steve from the operator organised three wonderful days, each with different experiences in landscape and accommodations. We loved the landscape, the wild native plants (lavender, cistus, cork oaks, etc.), the blue blue Mediterranean, the charming villages we stayed in or near. The instructions for the walks were very clear and easy to follow. Steve was very helpful during our planning process, with suggestions on how to accommodate our interests (such as visiting Dali's house which was close to Cadaques, one of the villages we stayed in).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to walk! Take advantage of proximity to interesting venues (such as visiting Dali's house in Port Lligat, which needs to be prearranged). If possible book an extra day in which you are not walking, so you can explore an area more fully. (We would have enjoyed an extra day in the Cadaques area.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The operator is clearly very committed to supporting conservation and reducing environmental impacts. Our introductory packet included lots of thoughtful suggestions for this kind of behavior. We appreciated the small, in some cases out-of-the-way lodgings offered by local residents, who were very generous and welcoming and took very good care of us. Our first night at Can Mas outside of St Pere Pescador, our hostess did not offer evening meals, and a walk into town after a long day of travel sounded daunting, so Steve arranged for the owners of another updated farmhouse, Mas Jonglar, to come to pick us up, feed us a lovely dinner and then take us back "home".

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was extra extra special and totally memorable.

review 4 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A great way to experience in some detail the varied scenery and villages of the area. We particularly enjoyed the challenge of getting up to the heights of the wonderful Monastery of St Pere and the ruined castle we appreciated the fact that Steve and Maria were always nearby to deal with any issues.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It’s pretty strenuous but just enjoy it, it's well worth it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Businesses in the smaller villages would have benefited from our stays there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Terrific!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy