63 independent reviews for Self guided biking tour in Croatia

Reviews for Self guided biking tour in Croatia

SHOW
18
44
1
0
0

review 8 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The genuine friendliness of the Croatians, coupled with the spectacular scenery, were definite highlights for us. If you're fortunate enough to be in Lumbarda on a Friday, be sure to attend the evening Seafood Festival! Locally-sourced food, wine, liqueurs, crafts and music in an open-air venue provided a memorable experience!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good quality earplugs for sleeping (Dobrovnik and Mjlet were noisy), bug spray, a day-pack, plus a few bungee cords. Pack light if cycling! Some areas are hilly, so being fit is essential. We're a couple in our early 60's - one of us used an e-bike, which did ease the hill climbs. We were able to strap the day pack on the e-bike rack. Be aware of your surroundings when cycling - some roads are narrow; keep right at all times, especially on turns! If you possess basic map-reading skills, scheduling flexibility and a sense of adventure, you'll have a fun trip! To avoid the crowds in popular spots (Dobrovnik/Zadar) you may want to travel from May to mid-June, or September to early October.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To echo the sentiments of others, daytime cycling and evening strolls did not burn any fuel but our own. There was a noticeable absence of garbage cans everywhere (especially at accommodations), which made us a little more conscious of Croatians' concerns with producing less overall waste.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Tomi and the staff (Darko, Jelena, Mario and Ivana) were excellent to deal with. Questions, queries and concerns were answered promptly. Any navigation issues we had when cycling, we just figured out ourselves. One recommendation to. If someone orders an e-bike, send the make and model, so the client can research usage ahead of time. I hope the holiday provider can offer trip merchandise (water bottles, t-shirts, cycling jerseys) so we can have a trip souvenir and help spread the word about their company!

review 5 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the beautiful countryside of Croatia - especially on the islands, and staying in the small ports.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember that Croatian beaches are not the same as British beaches; thay are generally stoney or rocky, so take some rubber swimming 'slippers' with you. Excellent swimming nevertheless.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, most definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Only thing I would say is that it would have been better to have been given some holiday information before we went, so as to have had a better idea of what was going on, and what there was to see. As it was, everything was left until we arrived at Dubrovnik - at 10 PM.

review 12 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery and warmth of the people we met.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for hilly conditions and know that there are virtually no shoulders on the roads in Croatia.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, benefited local hotels and restaurants. Riding a bike is a more environmentally conscious way to travel, but I do not believe it had any impact of the support of conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent in all regards.

review 5 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to choose! The island of Mjlet was beautiful but successfully conquering some of the mountains in Konvale was very satisfying.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go early in the season; it gets hot! Consider adaptations to give you more time on some of the islands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation was very much locally run and we appreciated that. Cycling and using a lot of publicly run ferries must reduce the environmental impact. We would have appreciated more information on aspects of conservation such as the wildlife although locally significant efforts had been made by the local authorities to provide information boards.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable and varied. Friendly, helpful people locally. An introduction to places we might never otherwise have visited. Good quality bikes which were much appreciated.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely seascape views which often were earned by 300m+ climbs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you're in good biking shape. The amount of climbing is probably not for a very casual rider.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at pre-arranged guest houses was a really fun way to stay in parts of these smaller towns we would not have been familiar with. All of our hosts were really welcoming and nice.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A bit pricey, but being able to show up at the next guest house and have our luggage waiting in our room was truly priceless. We felt it was a really adventurous but well planned trip!

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding around the salt lake in Mjlet and wine tasting in the Konavle Valley. Meeting many wonderful local people who were more than willing to chat and make suggestions for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light, as you will need to portage your bike and luggage on and off ferries. Bring a guidebook or research the areas beforehand. The information given by the cycling company was pretty minimal...I was expecting much more. Spend at least 2 nights in each location if you want to get to know a place. Be sure to have a cell phone with local service. The rides are not long but fairly hilly, so be sure to have some conditioning beforehand.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the places we stayed were locally run, generally by generations in the same family. Everyone was very warm and friendly and it was great to talk to the owners about their personal history.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I enjoyed having a bike to get around and all the locations were wonderful, yet all slightly different, so I felt like I got a good sampling of southern Croatia. Early June was a great time to go...late enough for warm (not hot) weather yet early enough to miss most of the summer crowds. Tomi, was always helpful and always answered his phone right away when we called. We had to switch out one bike, which he made happen, and we also got a flat, which he was able to find someone to come and repair. However, I was a little disappointed in the level of information. I was expecting a lot more written information about the different places, such as restaurant recommendations (with descriptions, not just a name), places to visit, and rides to choose from. It also wasn't always clear how we would get from place to place, and we often had to call to confirm the plans. So, the trip would have been improved with more information, clearer plans, email confirmations of pick up times, and better maps with perhaps a variety of ride options instead of just one or two, along with descriptions of each so we could make an informed choice.

review 3 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to ride through the Croation countryside on our own bikes at our own pace, knowing that our luggage was being transported to the next B&B.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Thoroughly recommend this travel company based in Dubrovnik, it is a very professionally run company consisting of 5 excellent staff. The tour was custom made for us and the itinerary was excellent. We bought our own bicycles (we always do this when travelling), but if there had been any mechanical problems, there are no bike shops in Dubrovnik and a professional mechanic visits only twice a year and services all the hire bicycles (or that is what he told us, having met him whilst touring), so that would have been a real problem as we own high end road bikes, and these would not have been able to be fixed locally. You need at least 1 whole day to appreciate Dubrovnik, a 2 hour tour is not long enough.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in B&B's and ate at restaurants, both locally run and owned, that helps local people. We rode our bikes - minimal environmental impact - and supported conservation in payment of National park fees

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful. Croatia is so beautiful! And cycling is a great way to experience it.

review 28 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything Meeting local people and staying in local B&B's were for us the best part. We were looked after in each of them and really enjoyed our stay

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sample Croatia this way rather than stay in a hotel

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The way we were treated and the kindness shown only happens when you show local people your support by using their facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Once again a memorable time was had in Croatia, I will never grow tired of recommending the company we travelled with, Tomi and his staff. They looked after us , kept in regular contact and we really did not have to worry about anything. First Class

review 21 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling around the island of Korcula from the small harbour of Lombarda to the old town of Korcula and all the little harbours in between. The cycle was pleasant and easy and the views were spectacular. Not something we could have experienced as easily had we not been able to cycle and take our time admiring each new scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

While the cycling is never too long or difficult you still need to have a base level of fitness in order to be able to get to all the places on the itinerary without being exhausted when you arrive at each one. We would also definitely recommend that during your trip to Dubrovnik old town that you walk the full length of the walls as every angle is a new view and like nothing we have seen anywhere else.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all the accommodation we stayed in were local run guest houses in particular when we visited Konavle our host was able to show us around their house and the history it had in their family dating back to the 15th century. They also recommended a local family run restaurant to us that was so good we went there twice. Everything about this holiday is catered towards helping local businesses which is a great experience both for us as a travellers and also the businesses themselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best organised holidays I have ever been on. The holiday provider organised everything from our accommodation, transport, luggage transfers and even met us at the ferry ports each morning to help us to load our bikes onto the boats. The holiday was nicely spaced giving us enough time to explore each area without feeling like we were moving from place to place too often. The directions we received for each of our cycling days were spot on and we never got lost! One of the things we particularly loved about this trip was the flexibility it gave us to explore each area how we wished. As we were not part of an organised tour we could choose each day which route option we took and in the case of one day we skipped the cycling and swam instead! I would definitely recommend this as the perfect way to explore Croatia.

review 12 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding down a Croatian country road with my son, grapevines on one side, Cyprus on the other. We had just finished an excellent fish dinner in a restaurant located right beside a rushing creek and the cool from the water was just what we needed after a long bike ride. The moon was bright enough that we didn't need lights and we were both so happy to be alive in that spot at that moment.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Slow down and be all right with not seeing or doing everything. Take the time to get to know your hosts. Study the history of the area; it has a fascinating and complicated past.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed entirely with local people who were helped to stay in their homes with the help of the tourist dollars we brought to them. Some of these homes were centuries old

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous

review 9 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My husband and I took the “Biking Croatia Coast” tour on April 30-May 7 2016. We had an excellent experience from start to finish. The holiday provider was 100% dependable and professional. They are themselves bikers and know the region well from that perspective, and that really helps. We were given good bikes, maps and directions and even tips on where to eat and what else to do. Fortunately we were rather early in the season, which meant that even Dubrovnik was not crowded. All of the accommodations were comfortable, quiet, and convenient. We are 49 and 58 years old, and in fairly good condition and found this trip very doable. We spent two days on Kor?ula island, and did some nice biking even though the weather did not cooperate. On the first day we had a nice swim in the Ulava Pržina, which is shallow and therefore was already tolerably warm. We had beach shoes with us, which was important because most of the beaches in Croatia are pebbly. On the second day it rained, but we biked out to Ra?iš?e just the same. Next we took a ferry to Mljet, where we spent only one night. There is a national park with two “lakes” (actually inlets from the sea with narrow openings) with water of a sparkling turquoise hue that is entirely spellbinding. Unfortunately it rained again later that day and we did not have time to take a second trip to the other side of the island. The bay beneath our guesthouse was so beautiful that we took a short swim despite the very cold temperature of the water that day. Dubrovnik was our next stop, where we spent one day walking around the city and one day on a nearby island named Šipan. We were lucky that there was some cold wind the first day, and this made it possible to enjoy walking on the walls of Dubrovnik almost alone. Šipan island also had lovely biking and views, though the trail up to the highest point, “Veli vrh”, needs some improvement. From the trailhead where we started (which was well marked), the trail soon disappeared altogehter and we simply bushwhacked our way to the top. The top itself is not nicely arranged (rusting telecommunications gear and a concrete bunker that seems to be from WWII), but the view down to Šipanska Luka was spectacular and definitely worth scraping through all the brambles. The other top, Trojica, was less amazing but still lovely, and with a much nicer path and a pretty church on top. The Sveti Duh church is also well worth visiting, especially from the rooftop. The ferry to Šipan was mostly used by locals and very charming instead of touristy. On the morning before we were to depart from Dubrovnik, we undertook an extra trip of our own design, biking all around the edge of the Lapad district of Dubrovnik. Not all of this was bikable (sometimes we had to carry or push the bikes over steps), but most of it was very beautiful. The last two days of the trip were spent in the Konavle valley, which was quite fabulous. The Bokarica guesthouse is itself a worthy attraction, with a delightful collection of agricultural and decorative artefacts. The hosts are a remarkable pair who have rebuilt and designed the interiors with great care and good taste. The first day there we biked the entire length of the valley both on the valley floor (passing the river Ljuta and a monastery) and higher up passing through villages. I got a flat tire on the way back, but we ran into a local fellow who is himself a biking enthusiast and who helped us to replace the inner tube much more quickly than we could have done it ourselves (he also had a car repair shop and compressed air, which helped). The second day we opted to head toward the coast. From Popovi?i we found a trail out to some cliffs and followed that down a spectacular drop to a hidden beach where we took another swim. We then biked on to ?ilipi and after that had to push the bikes over some rougher trails part of the way to Cavtat. Cavtat is itself a bit of a tourist trap, but it is still possible to see both the natural and cultural beauty of the place. We then biked up to Zvekovica and back through the Konavle valley to our guesthouse. We feel that we got an excellent value for our money and would definitely recommend this trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good sunglasses, sunscreen, beach shoes, and rain gear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we left only foot prints (and bike tire prints!) and took only photographs. We did not do anything wasteful. We got to stay with real people in cozy guesthouses, thus avoiding the giant hotels and their industrial-sized tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We feel that we got an excellent value for our money and would definitely recommend this trip.

review 28 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be impossible to narrow it to a specific place or event. The entire trip--from beginning to end-- was one spectacular vista, welcoming new acquaintance, history lesson, great meal, beautiful lodging..... and more!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Build some extra time into the trip. Even if you're coming from within Europe, it's too far to come to rush through it. I added days at the beginning, middle and end, and am so glad I did.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely benefited local people, in that, as a solo traveler, I spent more time at small, local shops and restaurants, rather than the bigger, corporate ones. I felt guilty being met by a vehicle at ferry ports when I could have ridden, but logistically I can see why it is done. All of the lodgings outside of Dubrovnik were actively involved in agrotourism, so I suppose in that respect it fosters conservation, and staying with the Bokarica's in Konavle is supporting the museum that they have built in their home. Ivana's Pension in Dubrovnik is in a 500 year old home, and she is actively involved in historic preservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic time.

review 27 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many great memories of islands in the Adriatic Sea, the lovely ride through vineyards and villages of Konavle, dining with our hosts at Bocarika, the feeling of exhilaration from a fall swim in the Adratic and the connection with antiquity in Dubrovnik.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The holiday providers were very helpful, gave clear directions and were always on-time with transfers. One could have confidence that travels would go well and that they had recommended good cycling routes taking our experience into consideration. The accommodation choosen were each unique and hosts were friendly and helpful in difficult situations. We would recommend travellers to check bicycles before taking off on ones own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation was always with local home stays who provided lovely breakfasts. Our highlight was an"Agro- tourism" stay in beautiful Konavle valley. We booked a dinner with a lovely family in their 1400's stone house. The five course meal was served by the fire and prepared with love with their own wine, olive oil, onions , garlic, greens, apples, cheeses and cured meats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful holiday with a mixture of active exploring by bicycle and relaxing after good rides and explorations.

review 15 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful cycling roads and vistas, along with the extremely personable and friendly hosts at our accommodations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go! And feel free to adjust the routes to suit your interests – that's what we did. We went to two beaches (on Korcula and in Konovale that were not specified). Make sure your bike fits properly and is in proper working order. It was great to have personal service from Tomi, the tour operator owner. Also, enjoyed meeting Mario and Darko.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we loved staying at accommodations of local people. Although this wouldn't improve conservation, we would have loved to have something like a branded water bottle from the touring company, or the opportunity to purchase "souvenir" type cycling merchandise (especially a cool t-shirt like Tomi's cycle planet one).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10 - the route instructions could be a bit more consistent (include elevation, distance, places to stop on all routes) - service was often outstanding... e.g. was able to borrow sunglasses from the tour company owner, and other staff members were able to locate and return lost items to us before we left - the combination of areas toured was great... peninsula, islands, valley, Dubrovnik... loved it all!

review 19 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many memorable moments. The last day cycling from Cavtat was wonderful with long down hill stretches beautiful scenery and wine tasting opportunities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take shoes for swimming from the rocks, which are often sharp or slippery with the occasional sea urchin.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and very well organised by Tomi and his team

review 15 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the rides were memorable for one reason or another, but perhaps the Korcula island part was the best. We also modified our agenda slight in order to spend a full day and night in Dubrovnik which was excellent,

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The trip is pretty fast paced, so don't be afraid to slow it down a little.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we were able to support small local businesses much more so than a typical vacation where you just visit cities. And of course your sightseeing is based on pedal power.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This trip exceeded our expectations in almost every way. The hosts of the B&Bs were excellent. The staff was personable and always timely.

review 12 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking tour of the old city in Dubrovnik was very interesting. All the accommodation was superb, great locations and wonderful hosts. The scenery was superb. A great trip, very well organised by the holiday providers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light, even though luggage is transported it's easier not to have too much!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely benefits local people as all the accommodation is with small family run B&B's, which gave the holiday a more friendly feel. The entry fee to the national park on Mljet Island supports conservation of the park.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent trip. We really enjoyed it.

review 6 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The islands of Croatia and cycling around them.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is very hot in Croatia in August, so take it easy in the heat of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - I thought the local people we dealt with were benefitting from us traveling in Croatia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 7 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our time in the Konavle region was the most memorable because of the beautiful scenery and the lovely people we met.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to book this Croatian holiday. Our Tour representatives were very helpful and reliable, the scenery was wonderful and the experiences unforgettable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most of our accommodation was with small family run guest houses and our main mode of transport was cycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The cycling was on fairly quiet roads although sometimes a bit challenging due to the terrain. The accommodation hosts were mostly lovely and helpful and definitely added to the experience.

review 25 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best part of the holiday was the cycling round the different islands and enjoying the scenery and the lovely friendly people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the islands they all have something different to offer. The suggested itineraries and routes are very good but you can also do your own exploring after all you can't really get lost on an island.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people benefit from visitors in many ways. Cyclists do not pollute the air and they are very quiet and they regularly need to stop and have a drink and a snack and where better than at a local cafe/bar.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent. The team that organized it were very professional and friendly and looked after us very well. We did not have to worry about a thing we felt as though we were on a bespoke holiday so good was the support. We had visited the area when it was Yugoslavia many years ago but this time was very different because the people were so helpful and friendly. And surprisingly everybody that we met spoke English and were very keen to have a chat.

review 6 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The coastal bike rides, albeit hilly, but thanks to our bikes' "Dalmatia gearing" we got over them and the views were definitely worth the effort. Our dinners in Villa Spiza (Split) and Konoba Koraceva Kuca (Konavle) were outstanding - even the chef drove us home!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The one disappointment was our stay in Lumbarda not Korcula, which was 4 miles away. Korcula was one of the main attractions, eg to walk around during the day and have dinner than at Lumbarda. As such, we feel like we missed out on a big part of our trip. In addition, our ferry left from Korcula, not Lumbarda, so logistically, it would have made more sense to stay in Korcula. Secondly, check the Low to High season ferry times. We missed our ferry out of Ston (Propronto) because the schedule changed midnight the day of our ferry and our guesthouse didn't inform us of this change. Lastly, the holiday provider gave dinner and lunch recommendations for some locations, which was very helpful, but not all locations. I would have been helpful to receive recommendations for all locations because we had a bad dining experience in Lumbarda.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

With the exception of the extra transportation to drive us from Lumbarda to Korcula, when we could have simply ridden our bikes, staying in local guesthouses and sampling their locally grown products (jams, olive oils, wines) were nice bonuses to our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Given feedback in #2, on a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is awful and 10 is excellent, I would rate it an 7.5

review 7 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely the Island hopping element - every one was different but equally beautiful

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring insect repellent !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes staying in small pension and getting the opportunity to take to local people added value to the overall experience. A massive thanks has to go to Mario and Darko who made sure that everything went smoothly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - in terms of scenery, the different locations and the people

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having a very reliable travel company in both countries organizing everything

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Choose the month carefully, we found June too hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very definatley use Responsible Travel and the tour company again

review 30 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic rides at the side of the sea or on headlands above it, with stops for a quick beer or a swim in the clearest blue water.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your swimming things on every ride and if the hill is too steep just walk up it - take your time!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - staying at local pensions clearly benefitted the local economy as did dining at family restaurants ("Kornoba"); this was much more interesting and welcoming than faceless hotels

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic!

review 14 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diversity and beauty of the landscape, the warmness of the people, the efficiency of the local agency.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be afraid to be specific about what you want. We found that our tour director was very happy to customise our trip. Cycling in Croatia can be for softies too!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All three. The holiday provider placed us in small guesthouses, recommended local organic restaurants and planned routes that included national parks.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect! The combination of cycling, history, geology, gastronomy and hospitality will be hard to beat. The team worked really hard to make sure we were happy.

review 6 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through the Konavle countryside was beautiful and kayaking on the salt lake on Mljet, Sipan was also lovely...... Being on a bike I really noticed how peaceful it was everywhere we went (except Dubrovnik!). The holiday was very well organised and Marco was always there on time to meet us and saw us on and off of the ferries. All of the hosts were lovely and everyone spoke really good English.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some food with you on your ride, we got caught out a couple of times when we couldn't find anywhere to get food. The tip we found useful from previous reviews was to take bungy straps, beach shoes (rocky shores) and your own tools (some are provided with spare tubes, but quite basic). October was a nice temperature for cycling, (I imagine mid summer would be unbearable) but the rain & cloud came half way through our trip (seems to be quite usual for October) which made it quite chilly for swimming, so maybe September would be better.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, staying in small B&B's was great and using local shops and restaurants. The National Park at Mljet was lovely; I've never seen so many kingfishers in one place before!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic way to enjoy a cycling holiday, as there was no need to get from A to B each day and having a couple of days at each location, you could cycle as much or as little as you like. The level of cycling was just right, some challenging hills, but not too arduous!

review 27 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful landscape, the nice and warm people in Croatia, the sunny weather, the well-chosen cycling routes, the beautiful beaches...

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with one or two friends, or as a couple; you can also meet other people, but I guess it is more enjoyable if you are already 2-4 persons

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I believe so. the organizers were all Croatian, they booked me into hostels led by Croations (some of them good friends of theirs) and recommended local pubs/restaurants to enjoy delicious food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfectly nice

review 17 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed staying at the B&B in the Konavle Valley. The surroundings are beautiful and ideal for bicycling. The hosts of the B&B (Kadja and Mijo) were very hospitable and took time to describe the area's rich hostory and their family's lives their during the past 500 yrs. Very interesting/memorable. I also really enjoyed exploring the island of Kor?ula by bicycle.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would urge other travelers to indicate their preferences as to whether thay would like to stay in a more rural/less populated area vs cities and to indicate how many transfers they would like during the course of their vacation (ex 1 night in Dubrovnik vs 2, how many nights in Orebic). I liked that this tour company is flexible and willing to tailor a trip to a traveler's wishes. I encourage other travellers to take advantage of this.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel like this vacation benefited local people in that all of the lodgings were Croatian owned/run and that the restsurants I dined at were also Croatian.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, I really enjoyed my vacation. Exploring this area by bicycle is ideal given the small number of cars on most roads and the stunning scenery/views along the selected route.

review 11 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling what seemed to be a never ending road going uphill and then arriving at this incredible Castle. Standing high up on a site since antiquity, controlling a route in and out of the country it is a child's dream, with steep, narrow steps, passages, rooms with arrow slits and displays of weaponry, explanations of defenders through the ages. Very inaccessible in the past, and difficult now, so much so, that they are building a lift those less able up to top so that they can also experience the exciting views. Sokol Grad

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A good level of fitness will enable you to enjoy the cycling as the hills are quite steep, but if they are too steep you can do, as I did, push the bike end enjoy the fantastic views, the wayside flowers and butterflies.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying as we did in some actual homes we were obviously paying directly to them. We also ate locally and met hosts who were committed to conserving their environment and developing local services which then give employment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great. Variety of locations, incredible accommodation and meeting people, who were so friendly and helpful.

review 9 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The diversity of bicycle rides and locations we visited was terrific. Every day was different, and all were really enjoyable. The selection of locations included on the tour was well thought out, and gave us opportunities to experience much that Croatia has to offer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be flexible, keep a positive attitude, and don't be shy about asking locals for directions and assistance. There are lots of roads where we rode, and many (most?) intersections don't have signs. We were provided with good maps, which I am normally quite adept at reading. We also had written descriptions of the routes, although they were not always as complete or precise as one might want or expect. However, we managed to get off on wrong roads nearly every day, although this never amounted to ever getting seriously lost. It just added a bit to the adventure of traveling in rural Croatia, and provided opportunities to chat with locals who always were friendly and helpful, even when we could find no mutually understandable language.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. All our lodging was with local B&B's or equivalent, and meals were at local restaurants, keeping money in the local economy. Biking is just about as low impact a mode of travel as you can get.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a truly wonderful time, fell in love with Croatia and Croatians, and would definitely like to return again. This was our first self-guided international biking vacation, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The only negative at all - and it really caught us by surprise because all of our connections and transfers were on time and smoothly handled - happened at the very end of our trip, when the operator apparently forgot to pick us up to take us to the airport to fly home. Our local host adeptly made a few calls on our behalf, and took us to the airport herself, but it was a bit odd and puzzling end to an otherwise flawless vacation.

review 5 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling on the Croatian islands near Dubrovnik, especially Korcula, was perhaps the most memorable, but all the locations and routes were excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely book a trip with Tomi! All of the places we stayed were excellent, the people were friendly, and Tomi's staff is outstanding. Pack light, and bring water shoes and goggles as you never know when you might be swimming (beaches are beautiful, but not sandy). The suggested cycling routes are good, but exploring other routes also worked well as roads were not busy and maps were easy to follow (we generally went farther than the planned routes each day). Tomi is happy to make additional arrangements for before and after the tour, for example, we had an extra night of accommodation, and added kayaking before our departure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We feel our trip definitely benefited local people, as our hosts were locals with small bed and breakfasts, and they steered us towards good local restaurants, etc. Biking is a low environmental impact way to travel, but sadly any traveling comes with environmental impacts. By visiting, we supported the Mljet National Park, but by visiting, we bring impacts as tourists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent, only positives, no disappointments. Everything worked beautifully. We will definitely recommend this trip to all of our friends who are interested in visiting Croatia, a beautiful country.

review 31 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pick out specific highlights as the whole holiday was really great. Cycling around the salt lakes on Mljet, Dubrovnik Old Town, Korcula Island, Sipan - all really beautiful. The last 2 days in the Konavle Rgion were particuLarly lovely, such a peaceful unspoilt valley with a deep history, and brilliant accommodation with the lovely Katya and Miho who shared both their knowledge and their house so generously.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The fact that we went early in the season meant that there were few other tourists, although it did create some minor hiccups related to transports as not all the ferries were running yet. I guess you take your choice. Also, if you go early season it may be a bit chilly in the evenings so pack something warm. It may also rain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Croatia is definitely tying to build its tourist industry so yes, I guess we benefited local people in supporting their accommodation, restaurants etc. Not sure about environmental impact (I guess it was a bike trip so we didn't hire a car?). The national park area on Mljet is a wonder, so I guess by going there and buying the entrance ticket etc we are helping keep this conservation area viable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As I said, it was a great holiday. Not only is Croatia a really lovely, unspoilt and friendly place to visit, but the Viator team were really friendly and helpful and made sure that all the arrangements ran really smoothly. We packed a lot in to 7 days with lots of variety, which made the holiday feel longer than a week, but it never felt rushed. The cycling routes and maps provided were good, and you could easily flex these to suit your own needs.

review 25 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many memorable parts of the trip. As we expected, the Croatian coast was beautiful. we loved being able to bike, stop to jump into the Adriatic and continue on. The unexpected pleasures were the wonderful conversations we had with the locals in our accommodations and local restaurants. Katia's place in Konavale was such a memorable experience for us. We totally trusted Tomi to arrange our trip and every detail was perfect. He put us in the hands of Darko who was such a great resource, was always on time to meet us and get us to the next location. Every detail and stop totally surpassed our expectations. We can't say enough about how wonderful it was to experience Croatia this way...a perfect combination of activity, relaxation, adventure and local contact in a way we couldn't have arranged ourselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take Tomi's advice on where to stay and what to see. Talk to the local people. their history is so rich and fascinating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! We stayed in the homes of people who were living in homes that had been in their families for 500 years! We ate in wonderful, small local restaurants and used local transportation or bikes provided by the agency. We met a young woman who was staying at an American chain hotel with many amenities and as she described how wonderful it was to return to a place with familiar luxuries, multiple pools and private transportation to places of interest. We realized how much we appreciated the opportunity to stay in old family homes and talk to sit in their garden and talk about their long family and cultural history. We came away with such respect for their history and their hard work in a country that had seen too many wars. We are so grateful to have discovered Responsible Travel and to have felt that we did something to support local business

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was absolutely wonderful. Tomi and arranged everything with precision. We loved the places he choose for us to stay and we know our experience was much richer than we could have arranged ourselves using guidebooks. We really enjoyed being places where we ran into few if any Americans. We did truly feel like we had a local experience and will cherish our memories of the people we met.

review 19 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all memorable. The local staff were always cheerful and efficient, despite running a complex operation when new clients were starting their holidays on different days of the week. They were very flexible in changing customers itinaries. All B&B accommodation was good and all owners/staff very helpful. Too many highlights to mention, but talking to people who had survived their war in 1991 was salutary.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Add a few extra days on (as we did) to spend further time in Dubrovnik Old Town. Also take plenty of insect repellent!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Used local agent, local accommodation, ferries and restaurants should help the local economies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience of a country we had not visited.

review 23 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The gorgeous Croatian islands and the great small towns that responsible travel had us visit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust these guys! They know what they are doing - organized and sensitive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hmmmm. i think it was responsible and i think we helped contribute economically. Not sure we contributed environmentally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous.

review 23 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was a wonderful holiday with many memorable moments but sheltering under a small umbrella In a violent thunderstorm with flood water Swirling around our ankles stands out. We cycled back across the valley an hour later Though having been given after non tea Croatian style By a friendly restaurant owner who took pity on us!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with the flow. And be prepared for some Fabulous cycling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in small places with local people. In one memorable place breakfast included cheese, honey, marmalade and bread all made on site by the owner with homemade apple Strudel for afters. Every where we went people knew Tomi and Darko and respected them. And Of course cycling doesn't leave a carbon footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful holiday. We went to places that never see tourists and to popular places but in every place the cycling was brilliant. The bikes were really good quality and fit us both me as a relatively short woman this was fantastic and Very unusual. Darko was a lovely guy and couldn't do enough for us. Jelena took us round Dubrovnik in torrential rain and never lost her smile. Full marks all round.

review 31 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling from Ston to Kobas on quite a challenging ride. Fantastic views and smelling the wild flowers and feeling the wind in your face as you flew down the hills! Finally arriving in the village and swimming in the warm sea while the local restaurant owner prepared our lunch of fresh fish

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Look carefully at restaurant prices- most were very much more expensive than we had expected. No need to take your own helmet. We downloaded map of the area onto an iPhone and it was useful on occasion to have the GPS in addition to the maps provided.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes- cycling is definitely environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely mini break of 4 days (5 nights away). Tomi and all his staff were efficient and friendly and organised a really perfect schedule for our needs.

review 14 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to pick just one, the entire trip was excellent. We especially liked biking along the coast of Korcula, biking among the farms in Konvale, and the historic tour of old town Dubrovnik provided by the tour agency.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We brought our own seats and helmits, which were nice to have as far as comfort on longer bike rides. We did an extended tour (12 days), which was great, got an extra day to explore at each of the locations we visited! We would also recommend trying the house brandy at all of the restuarants you visit...each place had a completely different version of brandy and they were all delicious!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Every place we stayed and ate was a small, privately run establishment that depends upon income from tourists. Also, by doing a bicycle tour and taking ferries, we limited the amount of carbon we released into the atmosphere while still being able to have the freedom to explore at our own pace.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This vacation was excellent. Croatia is a jaw-droppingly beautiful country that is incredibly affordable, with great food and friendly people. Tomi and his team were all exceedingly helpful and friendly and planned an excellent vacation for us. I would highly recommend this vacation to anyone considering a visit to Croatia.

review 20 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We are just home from a fantastic holiday. Tomi the rep in Dubrovnik was very efficient and helpful. Our holiday was totally stress free because he organised everything during our stay. We stayed with lovely families who treated us like friends in their own homes. The breakfasts were delightful especially in Gruda and on Mjlet. Both had homemade marmalade and bread with delicious coffee. The cycling was great fun and the bikes of a good standard. Tomi also organised 2 half days canoeing. One was from Dubrovnik and the other from Hvar. The trip from Hvar was particular good with lunch enroute in proper sea kayaks rather than the plastic ones in Dubrovnik. Our trip with Viator finished in Split and we went on to Mostar and finally back to Dubrovnik. A huge thank you to Tomi and Viator travel. We will definately be using this company again. I have already recommended Responsible Travel to friends and will continue to do so.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we stayed with local people in Gruda, Dubrovnik and on Mljet,

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent experience.

review 29 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery in Croatia and the feeling that the world is truly, a beautiful place

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use your company for one! Things went so well that I have nothing to add

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting different islands and meeting the local people. Staying in accommodation owned by local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It may be best to download some better maps. I found the maps not very good and the translation of the documents about how to get to places difficult to understand.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great, loved meeting the local people and the accommodation was excellent in terms of being part of the community. Tomi at the operator was very flexible when we asked to change our holiday to fit with people that we met for the week who were on the self guided tour. I was glad we could stay in Dubrovnik for the last day rather than visting another island, it was good that we had the flexibility to choose.

review 15 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was memorable. We extended the holiday by adding an extra night at each location. That meant that we had 2 full days to explore sandwiched between the arrival day and the leaving day. It lessened the impact of the travelling which we then really enjoyed. We enjoyed the cycling - some lovely routes on very quiet roads with enough uphill to feel it but not too much!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take swimming shoes as often it is rocky and there are sometimes sea urchins. Some of the weather was gorgeous but we also had some high humidity so using breathable sports clothing really helped. Taking a smart phone with wifi access really helped. We were able to log in every day at the B&B or at a local cafe and keep up to date with the office in Dubrovnik.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel the holiday benefitted local people.. All of the families clearly had a good relationship with Tomi in the main office and all of them were helpful in every possible way, there was a greater connection than if we had just arrived alone. The B&B providers had some income at the shoulders of the season when many other places were quiet. There was also the ability to talk and get to know something about their lives as they provided breakfast (not common in Croatia we understand). The places we stayed at outside of Dubrovnik were able to use their own produce. We had some home produced goats cheese, ham, jam, honey, fruit! Because the transport was arranged and we had cycles we also didn't need to hire a car. We walked and used local buses at times, made easier by all of the helpful families we stayed with.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday that was well organised. We got to see some out of the way places - Konavle in particular was a really beautiful place off the beaten track. We were able to relax from day one without having to concentrate on driving or travel arrangements. We knew that Tomi would sort out any problems and get us to where we needed to go! He also took us to Montenegro and collected us where we spent 2 fascinating days in Kotor.

review 12 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our stay on the island called Mljet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No particular tips needed. You don't need to be a keen cyclist to do a cycling holiday like this, although one or two 10+ miles trips to condition your 'nether regions' plus some padded cycling shorts definitely help!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. Local people definitely benefited .... e.g. pension houses, restaurants, shops, transport services, plus local people employed by Viator

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The area we visited (islands and Croatia mainland around Dubrovnik) was beautiful and provided lots to do. We felt that we packed a lot into the week. An excellent and very memorable holiday - beautiful and interesting locations, good accommodation, friendly people, good food - what more could you want!

review 30 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The islands were beautiful, we stayed in lovely accommodation, mostly right by the sea, and everyone was very friendly. Tomi and his team, were so organised and helpful. The bikes were well serviced and good quality. Probably, the most memorable thing is how aquamarine the sea was, so clear to swim in, and that lovely relaxed feeling of stopping almost anywhere, jumping off the bikes and nipping in for a swim.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay as long as you can, and bring a camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local accommodations were ideal, we met and saw how by staying locally it helped their local business. The Dubrovnik accommodation was like a hidden oasis, only a short 20 minute walk to the old part of the city.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We thought it was excellent value for money, varied, beautiful scenery, perfect bike rides and friendly, knowledgeable guides, came home feeling refreshed but did not want to leave!

review 9 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The great opportunities to cool off from cycling with a refreshing dip in the crystal clear waters of the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't be put off with the distances. You spend a couple of nights in the same place meaning that you cycling as much or as little as you wish.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday is booked through local agents and small guest houses or hotels which supports the local economy. Transport by car is kept to a minimum which helps the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great holiday. Late August was a good time to go because it was the end of the season so places were still open but it was peaceful not busy.

review 7 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming in clear, blue water surrounded by lush, tranquil landscape. Eating fresh fish every day. Delicious wines. Not having to think about the logistics of each day as we could rely on Tomi for all that to be taken care of. The freedom to explore on simple, scenic rides. Relaxed and friendly people. Nada's breakfasts. Swimming in opal waters of the lakes. Good company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A bag and a bungee is enough to transport your daily stuff. July was not too hot as the sea breeze, and 'cycling breeze' keeps you cooler. I wouldn't bother taking own helmet, provided ones are fine.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. No need for car. Spread spending to a variety of islands and establishments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 4 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We said 'WOW' so many times that it is very difficult to choose a particular event. Dubrovnik old town was unbelievably stunning. The views from most of the restaurants that we ate in were exceptional and cycling around and swimming in the lakes on Mjet is an experience that we will remember for a long time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some of the directions were a little difficult to follow. It may be a good idea to try and take some detailed maps with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed the last night in the Konvale countryside in a small but beautiful guest house and ate in a local rural konoba.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent value for money. Very well organised and supported by the local operator with great diversity of locations.

review 6 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The biking itself. Great scenery, fun rides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have the right email address for Tomi, the main guy. I had another email address for him and some emails from me were not responded to very readily.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited locals through spending on hotels, meals, etc. It reduced environmental impact by being a bike trip, i.e. not renting a car. Supported conservation? No, not really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 28 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed most of the holiday, Croatia was so beautiful and everyone very welcoming, accommodation was great, and the cycling fabulous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did not do our homework, and spent more time than we thought we would travelling by car (2 x 2 1/2hr journeys Dubrovnik-Korculla and return), and ferry journeys were longer than we realised. I would also suggest taking some decent maps of the area as those provided were not too great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mostly, accommodation in small local houses. Felt that long distances driving with just 2 of us in the van was not particularly environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great, we loved it. Tomi was very helpful, though a few mis-communications, and at times we felt a bit rushed - this probably due to being confined to ferry timetables. I would have preferred to have missed our day trip to Sipan island and extend the others, simply to avoid so much ferry travelling.

review 27 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the holiday was excellent so it is difficult to pick out one aspect. Cycling in the area around Gruda followed by an excellent meal in a local restaurant was probably the most memorable part of the holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring paniers and handle bar bag as they are not provided

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so as we stayed in small pensions and bed and breakfast accommodation and ate in local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday, we couldn't fault it. It was also excellent value for money.

review 17 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mljet and Split were my favourites. We liked everywhere we went but felt the hoards of tourists in Dubrovnik were difficult to take. Loved our apartment there though which allowed us to get away from them! It's funny the tourists in Split seem to fit into the daily life, but that's not the case in Dubrovnik.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would reduce the number of transfers, and bike more from place to place. Lugging our suitcases and bikes on and off the ferries was very difficult. Clients should receive a detailed outline before they leave for the holiday. I would never have accepted a 3:15am or 4:15am transfers. These are way too difficult. We would have preferred to transfer in the evening rather than such early hours. We didn't receive these times until the day before.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did feel our holiday benefited local people and was not hard on the environment!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a good holiday. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate but we still saw some wonderful places and met such nice Croatians. We loved being met for transfers and we enjoyed most of our accommodations. My travel mate really felt we should have had a patio overlooking the Adriatic. Next time we'd request that.

review 24 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many memorable parts of our self guided biking in Croatia holiday, including how well organised the whole trip was. Tomi Coric from the company Dubrovnik was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. From the first contact via email, to being met by Tomi at the airport at 10.30 at night, and right throughout our time in Croatia, everything ran smoothly and nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation, transfers, suggested itineraries, recommended eating places etc etc were all taken care of. The magnificent scenery on the islands and the mainland was memorable. The friendliness of the people we met throughout the trip was also memorable, and we were made to feel very welcome wherever we stayed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy it! It is a great way to spend a week in beautiful places, meeting lovely people, and knowing everything has been organised for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday benefited local people as we stayed in family-run b and b accommodation, ate at small restaurants and supported small local businesses. Riding bicycles was obviously more environmentally friendly than travelling by car

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We have been spreading the word to friends and family.We shall be looking to at the "responsible travel" website when we plan our next holiday.

review 16 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking to St Mary's monastery at Mljet - it was a bit windy in the middle of the lake. Cycling in the valley around Gurda. Old city of Dubrovnik at night. Great accommodation on the whole holiday. Standing on top of the island of Sipan with a fantastic view of the islands, the clear water and the bridge outside Dubrovnik. Beautiful sunny weather and crystal clear sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your own panniers or rackpack or a bungee cord to strap your belongings to the bike. Go to the Tourist Information shops (or buy in UK) for better maps of the islands which show more possibilities for cycling.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All accommodation was local B&Bs or aprtments and we ate out in the local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. I would recommend the operator.

review 7 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the whole holiday. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful, the scenery was beautiful and the accommodation very clean and comfortable. Everything was smoothly organised by Tomi, who quietly and efficiently organised transfers behind the scenes, leaving us to explore the islands for ourselves. The cycling routes recommended were very good, as were the bikes, beaches, sea and lakes. In a week we saw so many lovely islands and beautiful places in the Dubrovnik area, including Dubrovnik itself, yet came back very relaxed and refreshed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to book.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed in apartments run by local people, often eating produce grown locally eg grapes and goats cheese. In the evenings we ate in local restaurants. Transport was mainly by bicycle and public ferries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 3 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our 1-week Croatian cycle trip was excellent for our family of 4 with 2 young teens. The locations were excellent, and the accommodations (all apartments) were all comfortable, clean and friendly. The bikes were new and well maintained, and the logistical support and info from Tomi was all good. This was an awesome way to enjoy the area and see the cities as well as the quiet countryside. Highly recommend.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure that you have the type of accommodations you want (ie apartment, or B&B, etc).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, lots of contact with local families where we stayed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As above, excellent.

review 15 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many things! But I think top of the list was some of the food that we had in some of the less touristy places we went to and the beautiful clear warm water to swim in.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some sort of shoes to wear in the water. The shoreline is quite rocky and it is much easier if you have some shoes to wear in the water, you will want to swim! Ferry timetables and menus are generally a suggestion, so keep an eye on the ferry stops and be prepared to just go with the flow. Another thing that I hope all travellers have is good travel insurance. We really needed ours when we had a scooter accident on our last day and ended up having to stay in hospital for a 12 days. Our tour operator was a huge help also.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes certainly and they were all so friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The planned part was wonderful and we would really recommend this. The unplanned hospital visit wasn't so great but would have been so much worse if we weren't travelling together, so ideally make sure you take a friend to help out and try to avoid the hospital!

review 24 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a wonderful time. Croatia is a beautiful country, the people were very friendly and helpful and Tomi the tour guide from the tour operator was very professional and well organised. I would definitely recommend his travel agency.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was quite hot in Croatia so make sure you have suitable clothing. I took too much which I could not wear which just meant unnecessary baggage.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed with local people all the time and ate at small local restaurants so I think that local people did benefit. We travelled around the countryside on bicycles so we did little damage to the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic - definitely going back.

review 7 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The combination of wonderful historic cities (Split, Hvar town, Starigrad, Korciula town, Dubrovnik and Cavtat) and beautiful landscapes/isles, above all the national park of Mljet

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you like the above mentionned combination, you like to do cycling sports and like the Mediterranean cuisine, Dalmatia is a must. September is a good season (July and August might be to hot)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Most days we stayed overnight in private apartments. This was part of the excistende of this people. The rooms were clean, the people really friendly and helpful, the breakfast rich.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really wonderful memories, I shall recommend it to our friends. The organisation by of the tour operator and Tomi in Dubrovnik was - it's true - in every point excellent.

review 25 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My jaw dropped at the first view of Dubrovnik but better was to come. The islands were absolutely beautiful i.e. Korcula, Sipan and Mljet. But most of all I loved my experiences with the people of Croatia... they were honest, friendly, approachable and yet not in your face. I could not say enough about how much we enjoyed our experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We booked through Tomi at the tour operator in Dubrovnik. We were on a self-guided cycling holiday. Everything that was promised was delivered and more. I was in frequent e-mail contact with Tomi prior to the holiday and his service was excellent and prompt. His service when I got there and my friend arrived from the USA was above what we expected. I would be delighted to recommend his company to anyone I know who visits Croatia.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely... we ate in local restaurants and our accommodation (booked with the tour operator) were in people's homes and these people were over-accommodating (e.g. allowing us to leave our luggage, staying in the room late in the day, etc.) and they did not expect tips for doing so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have travelled a lot in my life and have actually asked myself why I did not consider Croatia before now... It was wonderful and I will be going back there.

review 25 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mljet in general - swimming in the salt lakes (which the locals think are cold at 20 degrees C), the view over the bay and mountains from the villa. Kayaking through the still bay to the tiny islands off Korcula.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn at least a little Croatian first - most people in Dubrovnik (and your hosts in the villas) will speak basic English but many on the islands won't (Germans and Italians might fare better with this). Nearly all the shops are independent operators so if you're self-catering you'll save alot of pointing and gesturing, by learning how to order salami, ham, cheese and seafood (the staples of the Dalamatian tourist diet) in Croatian. Make sure you're fit enough to do a lot of cycling and you'll be able to see a lot more of the islands, which are the real highlight. Brush up on your map skills as some of the trails aren't well-signposted. Don't go near Dubrovnik old town during the day - it's crammed with cruise ship tourists. It's much better at night when the bars all open and cruise ships move on. If you stay in Lumbarda on Korcula, take a kayak out to some of the uninhabited islands. At some point you should eat at the family restaurant Zure, which serves memorably good seafood, even for a region that excels in it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

In all three locations we stayed with local people in additional buildings that they'd converted into guest apartments. The areas we stayed were a long way from any major hotels and the economy in the region is such that 99% of the items you consume will be from either a local business, particularly restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday overall - somehow restful despite all the cycling because of the lack of stress/bustle often involved in a city break. The trip organiser, Tomi, did a great job arranging the transfers, cycle hire/routes and accommodation and the people, especially on the islands, were welcoming and friendly. Arranging it was easy - we'd booked the flights before booking the holiday, then gave Tomi a couple of preferences and he tailored the trip destinations to suit. Outside of rendezvousing for transfers between the islands, what you do with the rest of the time is up to you. The backdrops are staggering (especially on Mljet) and food excellent - provided you like seafood. Our hosts were all very welcoming and didn't intrude - if you needed something always happy to help. I would say that moving around between the three places made the holiday seem longer, but either Korcula or Mljet are big enough to spend more than a few days.

review 26 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We spent about 8 days in and around Dubrovnik and without doubt the most memorable part was the friendliness of all the people we came into contact with. While the luxury sometimes associated with and expected in European hotels and B&Bs was sometimes lacking, it was more than made up for by the warm welcome from our hosts and their willingness to help.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy! The people in Croatia are friendly and willing to help. Expect to pay less for most things compared to other European countries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We interacted with the locals as much as we could and most of our expenses were paid to locals/local organisations with minimal impact on the environment. Local people benefitted.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had an excellent time in and around Dubrovnik. Ten out ot ten!

review 11 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of things: Travelling in a boat to the first island. The fantastic locations of the apartments on both islands (both within metres of the sea where you could swim), the warm welcome by all our hosts and hostesses and the not-at-all-dry tour of Dubrovnik…the combination of cycling and swimming and the underwater life in the narrow channel on Mljet's salt lake (far more fish than anywhere else we swam).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some off-road cycling. Take a few bike tools of your own if possible. Do not assume that English panniers fit on the racks of all the bikes. Spell out what you need in advance. If you need to save money then cook in your apartments sometimes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The accommodation was all with local families (self-catering apartments) and we cycled or used ferries most of the time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good indeed. Many thanks Tomi.

review 4 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday as a whole was fantastic. The variation in locations and activities made it feel like several mini vacations. Although we were quite active, we also had a lot of relaxation time. Croatia is an absolutely beautiful country where the people are kind and extremely helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We chose to do the cycling tour which was fantastic. I might recommend going a little earlier than the last 2 weeks of June as it was pretty hot.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in private pensions and travelled via ferry and bicycle so impacts on environment were minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would highly recommend this holiday and in particular this operator. Our trip was well coordinated and the location of our apartments was very convenient. The variety and flexibility of the tour was perfect for us.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies