26 independent reviews for Hebrides cruise, Mull, Islay, Luing, Shuna and Jura

Reviews for Hebrides cruise, Mull, Islay, Luing, Shuna and Jura

SHOW
18
5
2
1
0

review 25 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole experience was a highlight! I think the best was the relaxing ambience, which started with the captain (Christophe) and carried through for the entire trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for small spaces and steel staircases (we were on St Hilda). Easy to deal with but certainly need to be prepared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The crew were very aware of making minimal impact on the environment and also in minimising wastage. We were encouraged to support local businesses whenever we landed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Definitely 5 star.

review 21 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole journey was memorable and exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay on deck and relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

absolutely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

top

review 16 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the beautiful islands. First class meals throughout the trip. Careful attention given to special dietary requirements.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not be concerned about transferring from boat to dingy when visiting islands. It is very safe and stable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

People visited distillery, pubs, shops etc. and bought local goods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent. I have passed on your details to several interested friends.

review 28 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the wildlife up close, particularly puffins, razorbills, eagles and dolphins.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for bad weather and be flexible with the route. Yes

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in terms of employment and buying items in local businesses. Also going to see the wildlife supports the various conservation movements.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent from start to finish. Very friendly helpful crew and captain who looked after us very well. The food was brilliant and everything was done in a happy relaxed atmosphere. Our views were constantly being taken into consideration in terms of route and activities.

review 24 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful scenery and excellent food- the last evening meal out on the deck was particularly memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for fickle Scottish weather (but travel light!)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Lovely

review 2 Nov 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A pod of dolphins playing in the wake of the bow was a real high point. But we also experienced some slightly rough sea conditions which was exhilarating made even better because I was not sea sick which had been one of my worries. The crew were friendly and helpful especially in advising what there was to see and do at the stops we made. My fellow passengers were also friendly and good company and I enjoyed their company. I really enjoyed walking from Crinnon to Tayvallich with Chris and being picked up by the boat when we got there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I took too many clothes thinking I would get wet and not be able to get my clothes dry, there are radiators in each cabin so with some organiation I need not have worried. Binoculars are recommended and a waterprof case for your phone if you are going to use it for the camera function. There is an honesty bar with a samll selection of drinks but if you have a favourite tipple do take your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope we supported the local economy but I am not sure if we benefited the environment other than when we were ashore we walked everywhere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it. My husband died 4 years ago and it was the first holiday I have been on fully on my own. My fellow travellers and the crew were all lovely and just being on the beautiful west coast of Scotland in a very individual boat has it's own magic, even though the weather will share all it has from rain and rainbows to wind and sunshine.

review 8 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful scenery and lovely strolls when we landed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have water proofs and read instructions cafefully.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, provided business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good

review 5 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

seeing eagles, being under sail and visiting places by sea

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

don't expect a rigid itinerary as the weather can be very changeable and dictates where you can go

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes, it's a local company run by local people a great opportunity to see wildlife first hand, the crew were very informative about what we did and might see

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

very good, the crew worked really hard and ensured we all had a great time

review 21 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring the islands, seeing the glorious sights and wonderful colour, with absolutely the best group of people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Weather conditions aren’t always ideal, make sure you have warm, practical clothing and a good mossie spray for shore visits.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Bringing money into the islands must help the economy I think. You would also hope that introducing people to the wildlife would make them more aware of the impact of their behaviour.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful holiday, I made new friends, was cared for extremely well by the team on the boat, food was superb, countryside awesome, and the opportunity for outdoor activities was there if you wanted it.

review 12 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going out in the tender seeing the sunrise, otters and a seal

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is a single room with a bigger bed if you don't mind not having your own loo!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

not noticeably

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good - the captain, his "helper" and the cook were all excellent. My only reservation was that, at my age, I did find the bed very narrow and a bit short!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for this review. It was kind of you to take the time to write it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip. I just would like to mention that we are doing our best to support the local communities, shopping locally and employing local people to help us run the business, cleaners, crew (when possible), engineers, etc. We also do our bit to help protecting the environment, recycling rubbish as much as possible and supporting various wildlife trust such as the Shark Trust and The Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust. We are a corporate member of the Shark Trust and have adopted the magnificent basking shark. Our adoption is helping fund vital basking shark research in our cruising area. We are also a corporate partner of the Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust which means we foster environmental awareness and we work to safeguard the future of Scottish seas and cetaceans. We were awarded, following a detailed inspection, The Green Tourism's Silver Award. Our crew are WISE trained, which means they are taught about watching marine wildlife, the wildlife-safe way, in our cruising area. We are also a member of the Marine Conservation Society (MCS), the charity working for 'seas full of life'. We will therefore only be serving fish which are sustainable and approved by the MCS. We also only serve free range chicken and eggs, of course. I hope this helps you see better all that we are doing. We hope to see you again soon.

review 18 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting Fingals Cave, a real treat and the Dolphins. The crew were amazing very pleasant and accommadating

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for basic accommodation although clean and warm the bunk beds have very little room in them to move

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I would say it benefits the local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience, restful but exciting at the same time.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time. Regarding Seahorse II's accommodation: Our small ship is an authentic, traditional vessel, a Norwegian ferry that plyed the rough North Sea and the fjords of Norway. She has been modernised for passenger safety and comfort but, where possible, keeping the traditional "look" and insides so as to reflect the role she once played. Most of her cabins are finished in their original hardwood and the berths have been kept as they originally were so as to keep the passengers safe in a seaway and when sleeping at night. Of course the bathrooms and heating systems have all been updated. We are very pleased that you had a great experience and hope to see you soon again.

review 13 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

FINGAL'S CAVE.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

BE AWARE OF THE SEASON AND HOW THE AMOUNT OF BIRD-LIFE VARIES eg all the puffins have gone by September.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, but (as we had expected) there was not as much wild-life as we would have hoped for. The crew were terrific: very friendly and helpful.

review 11 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We are not 'boating' folk so did not know what to expect. It was an adventure that we all enjoyed with new experiences so difficult to cite 'one' aspect as it was all an enjoyable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do be aware that the itinerary booked and expected is all subject to weather , tide, and local conditions so be prepared for the trip to be very different to that booked in terms of the coverage.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Must have had some positive impact but difficult to quantify.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall an enjoyable new experience for ourselves. There were a few things that 'might' be improved but nothing major and we will give those back to the company directors themselves. They, in the form of Colette and Julie were MOST helpful in our planning and throughout and we appreciated their help and friendly efficiency very much indeed. We will give them a more detailed feedback to be helpful for future but overall a really good experience.

review 11 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on deck in an enchanted cove, staring at the view; the strangers who became friends; and whenever I can't get to sleep in the city or am feeling stressed, I will think of lying in bed on this holiday, gently rocking with the waves, and the gobsmacking brilliance of the stars.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The quarters are confined so bring your good manners and, figuratively and literally, very little baggage. I didn't want to wear waterproof overtrousers and was pleased to discover stylish waterproof overskirts, made by a small business that deserves encouragement. Mine served me well during a blustery trip in the tender. Visit Konrad's photo gallery on Jura, to the left of the landing as you approach. His work is so remarkable you might think the images are heavily manipulated, but they're not.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company is local and there were plenty of occasions to support local business. We travelled only by boat or foot and were able to bask in Nature while making little impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A joyful adventure. Everyone I encountered from the company radiated job satisfaction. Our skillful, charming skipper, Chris, inspired confidence and led us to marvellous places. Kerry was a terrific cook and cheerful company who made light of all the work she did.

review 9 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spending time with my fellow travellers and the crew. Skipper was very patient with landlubbers. Chef produced the most amazing meals throughout the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The journey on this boat gives you an authentic experience of being on a wooden vessel that accomodated sea cadets. If you want to spend time sailing on a small boat which is bringing you close to nature this is the trip for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely reduced environmental impact and supported local communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing experience.

review 25 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire 6 days brilliant. Every aspect whether scenery, wild life, sailing or food was special

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Having suitable weather gear

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local trades people on the islands visited. Certainly raises awareness of environmental issues

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

see Question 1

review 18 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being peaceful at sea with great views of the islands and nice walks/ exploration on 'dry land'. We had a spell of very good Scottish weather with no midges and no mist (early May).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy your quiet time, and the company of your fellow passengers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was a small family company so the benefits would have stayed 'local'. Environmental concepts were respected on board.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable

review 20 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The opportunity to see aspects of the beautiful inner islands from the lochs was quite special. Fabulous sunsets and misty mornings, seals and dolphins, hikes and a little fun fishing were all memorable. The Captain and Chef were so attentve and cordial making our stay so comfortable. Not to mention the new friends we made in our cruise mates.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early and ask questions. Be prepared for changes in weather and follow all the pre-trip instructions. But most of all welcome this unique adventure as a beautiful experience of the best of the Scottish Isles.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the crew is very mindful of protecting the environment and operating to respect conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best ever.

review 25 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on the deck watching the wildlife & scenery

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It’s fantastic - please try it if quiet, beautiful scenery is what you like

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I certainly did. The local people were most friendly & helpful overall

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 3 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking. Having dinner on the deck. Walking along beautiful trails.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a great cross-generational holiday because elderly people can participate as much as they are able and there are activities too for younger people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I really don't know.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A few comments/suggestions: 1) Given that the median age of our group was 80, if this is not an anomaly, I would suggest you seriously consider restructuring the cabins so that the beds are lower with the storage above. It was difficult for our elderly folks to get up and down from the bunks, especially as they needed to go to the toilet in the night. 2) the instructions in some cases were more appropriate for a sailing ship - such as gloves for sails and rain trousers etc.

Read the operator's response here:

All our shopping is done locally before departure and supplementary shopping done during the cruise is done at the various ports of call. All of our waste is taken back to our base port where all waste is separated between recyclable and general waste. We have a very strict “look and leave alone” approach for our holidays, with regards to the wildlife and marine ecosystem. Throughout the trip our “leave only a wake “ policy is reinforced by the skipper and crew who also often discuss with our passengers how marine life is endangered by over fishing and pollution.

review 23 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing all the wild life

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

St Hilda is an old boat and is very slow, going to Islands further out like Sky etc is too long a journey for a 5 day trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Disappointing and expensive for what it was.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Donna, Thank you very much for your feedback. St Hilda is an ex-tall ship. She was built in 1973 specifically for sail training with a crew of 20. We are extremely aware of the pristine waters in which we travel and operate a "leave only a wake" and a "look and leave alone" policy to respect the unique environment and wildlife. Our guests find that their trip offers a fantastic opportunity to observe birds and sea animals in pristine environments, no rubbish is left behind and a contribution is often made to the local economy with purchases from the crew and passengers at each stop en route. We also purchase all the food for the cruise locally before departure. We are proud to keep competitive prices while our vessels undergo constant improvement and routine maintenance to maintain our high standards. All the reviews our company received this season were 5 star reviews.

review 23 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All kinds of weather while on sea. It made me feel very vivid :)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let it go, your luxurious city life. On the boat exists another kind of luxury: the sounds of the sea, a good cuisine, giving a hand while sailing, time to read a book, the birds, jellyfish, seals, dears and otters.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. On a scale of 1 -10: 8,5.

review 21 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Had a fantastic experience onboard St. Hilda. Simon and Louise were perfect hosts and made our trip magical. The food was super and plentiful, the weather caused some changes to be ade to our plan but this did not detract from a marvellous holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to look at changes to the planed trip as weather conditions really affect tge comfort onboard. We had a great time as we all agreed to changes to ensure that we did not face very stormy seas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the context of everything onboard revolved around being conscious of environmental impacts and conservation, recycling etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience.

review 18 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The good views. The food was good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I feel other travellers should be warned that there are steep steps down to the cabins. The trip also involved moving from the boat on to a small tender. I found this quiet difficult.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the food was locally sourced and so benefited the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The hosts were good and the other passengers friendly. The views were wonderful. The food was good. However I was disappointed because we seemed to spend a lot of time at anchor and not much time moving. We did not come close to following our itinerary, although I realise that the weather played a part. I also feel some warning should have been given about the steep stairs to the cabins.

review 29 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sailing trip was amazing and the best of all was meeting Colette and Michael, there where wonderful. Colette is a great chef, breakfast, lunch and dinner was very, very good! Even tea time is good. I am a Cook so i can tell food was exceptional. We fished and Colette prepared delicious macarel, and the most amazing rice. It was an unforgetable experience and hopefully we will do it again. We worked at the boat and Colette and Michael were good teachers, we learned about sails, knots, nature, whisky, scotland of course... Spending time with that beautiful couple was a privilege. Very profesional, pasion ate, and fun. We were very lucky to meet onboard another traveler from Australia, Ian, he brought magic to the trip with his good humor and vibe. I will never forget the views, the seals, the birds, nature is all arround so you feel very conected with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do This trip! Take just the basic, and enjoy every single minute

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic !

review 25 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery and peaceful moorings. The wildlife especially the seals and beautiful shoals of jellyfish floating like alien creatures in a calm sea. The first ever fish caught by one of our party - a splendid mackerel! The delicious food and good company of Michael and Colette. The successful descent into the dinghy of a nervous member of our party - if she can do it with Michael's patient help anyone can. Raising and lowering the anchor - tying knots and rope throwing and all things nautical!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Leave the smart clothes at home along with your mobile (signal so patchy it is frustrating , so unless essential best to forget it)! and settle into a different rhythm. Don't forget sunscreen and insect repellent for on shore - the midges can be fearsome! Read 'Para Handy' by Neil Munro for an insight into the atmosphere of the west highland ports and eccentric characters of the past.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Michael and Colette are committed to protecting the environment and this was obvious - recycling, local shopping etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic experience - not to be missed.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy