9 independent reviews for Tailor made tours of Oman

Reviews for Tailor made tours of Oman

SHOW
1
8
0
0
0

review 30 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting some of the interesting sights as we got inside Oman, the forts, the castles, the desert, wadis and swimming in the sinkhole was a fun highlight for me on a hot day!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take time to visit the country and consider having enough time to see the main sights but give you time to relax at the end of the day in some of the wonderful locations we stayed in. Tour company were excellent and everything ran to plan without a hitch!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially when we were outside Muscat in the desert and Nizwa. The driver was local, we visited a Bedouin family and some of the local villages and souks. The stay in the desert and Nizwa particularly benefited locals and reduced environmental impact in their accommodations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great first time visit to Oman - exceeded my expectations!

review 10 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sunset at Wahiba Sands Al Hamra walking tour Canyoning in Snake Canyon

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great place to travel

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent and tour guide (Abdullah) was really excellent

review 1 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable and the most exciting was being in the desert and being driven very fast through the sand dunes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you can afford it, do stay at the Al Bustan at the beginning and at the end of your trip - it must be one of the most luxurious hotels in the world, with many delightful staff ready to look after your every whim. We felt that the 4 days we spent with the Guide and Driver were sufficient. We wouldn't have wanted it to be any longer. You run out of jokes.................

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday certainly put money into the hands of local people. Also they inproved their English skills. I don't particularly feel that we helped to reduce environmental impacts, but by paying to go and see the turtles we certainly supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Oman is a "must see" country and I would thoroughly recommend everyone to go. Lovely, wonderful, gentle people, so proud of their heritage and a most beautiful country.

review 29 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was fabulous, we loved every part of the itinerary. The best bits were swimming outdoors in the Wadi Bani Khalid and in the Bimmah sinkhole, and also seeing turtles on the beach at night (we were lucky). The scenery is so beautiful throughout the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a torch for the night in the desert and the night walk to see the turtles

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It supported the conservation of the turtles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

review 15 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving through a Wadi with water flowing through it. Driving the sand dunes in the desert. The mountain scenery is great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't use this operator to book your travel, they told me exactly the opposite of what the local company said when I got to Oman, the operator did not pass on the local companies advice to us. Otherwise it is a great place to go. Responsible Travel is a great website, use it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed at places owned and run by local people and contributed to their economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday organised by the local company, our local guide was great which made up for the poor advice we were given by the operator.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback and review on your recent holiday to Oman. We are glad to hear that overall you had a great time in Oman. We are obviously disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with our advice. We recommended what we felt best matched your request/s and requirements from the trip and Iím very sorry that you felt that we gave you wrong advice and information. We will ensure that we fully understand future clients specific needs and continue to work closely with our local agents.

review 21 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The surprise at arriving at the camp in the Wahiba Sands for our night of Wild Camping and instead of finding the little 2-man tent that we had expected we found a luxury tent complete with bathroom, proper beds, carpets, oriental cushions and lanterns which had been set up just for us. This surprise was completed by the addition of a cook and a 'manservant' who looked after us superbly in the middle of the desert and made us feel as if we were in 'Out of Africa'!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take warm clothes for the desert and the mountains. It gets VERY cold at night. Take a lot of small denomination dollars or rial for tips. There seemed to be a never ending stream of people to whom tips should be given. For ladies, if going on a day's camel ride, take cycling shorts with double thick padding!!! Make sure your trip is planned so that you get to the goat market in Nizwa on a Friday morning. It's great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A lot of local people are employed in the places where we stayed. We did not feel that the holiday reduced environmental impact. There is a great deal of 4x4 driving on the dunes, off the main tracks. The holiday included a visit to the Turtle Beach where the giant Green Turtle is protected. This was a fascinating evening.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful holiday in a wonderful country. The organization was first class from the UK tour operator and their partners in Oman were excellent. There were a few long days of driving but these were balanced by days of no-car activity, such as a day's dhow trip with swimming and snorkelling, a day of camel riding, and a half day of hiking. The food everywhere was very, very good.

review 4 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Driving down to Wadi Bani Awf. Awesome. Also the night in the desert where the operator found us a camp where we were completely alone, 8 km through the dunes from the main camp, itself small and remoter than the bigger camps.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Insist that the guide takes some snacks from Nizwa to eat on the way, or a picnic lunch it's a long way to the next eating place. We did this trip in four days. Five would be more relaxed. There is a lovely but very basic alternative to sleeping in Nizwa and that is a local initiative in the village of Misfah. This is for those who want to support local initiative and avoid big hotel chains. Spotlessly clean, proper shared showers and toilets but mattresses on floor in rooms. Stunning rooftop terrace. OM 25 for half board.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Up to a point. I was shocked at the way the turtle viewing is carried out. It is a circus. However, it does seem that turtle numbers are increasing so swings and roundabouts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

About 8 on 10 at least. Excellent Omani guide. Jen from the operator went more than the extra mile to make sure we got what we wanted.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent holiday to Oman. I was however concerned to see that you were unhappy with the turtle watching experience and we have passed your comments onto the Raz Al Jinz Centre. I have personally visited the beach at Raz Al Jinz and found it to be a very well organised turtle watching experience, if a little busy. We will be following up very closely to ensure that the local guides and staff at the Centre are aware of the environmental impact and that they do not disturb the egg laying process in any way. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

review 13 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the night in the desert. The Bedouin tent style accommodation was charming while still comfortable with our own bathroom (open to the skies). The dinner was excellent and the place was very well run. We watched the sun set from the top of a dune well away from anyone else and all we could see was a sea of soft, silky sand. Magic. Later we gazed at the stars from the top of the dune without any light pollution at all. As my son's girlfriend is an astrophysicist she helped us identify all the constellations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Oman is a very well run, sensible, welcoming country with some interesting things to see and amazing scenery. The beaches stretch for miles and are good and clean but not outstandingly beautiful like some Asian beaches. The weather over Christmas and New Year was perfect with blues skies and sun - hot but not too hot. Not 'cheap and cheerful' so not so good for families or backpackers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think that tourism provides an important source of revenue for Oman so in that sense yes. But in a direct sense, probably not.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The operator did an excellent job in organising everything. I can thoroughly recommend them.

review 19 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Desert camp and seeing the turtles were amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a few days on either side to relax and really enjoy the place

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic family adventure with great contrasts.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies