8 independent reviews for Kayaking holiday in Indonesia, Komodo Dragon expedition

Reviews for Kayaking holiday in Indonesia, Komodo Dragon expedition

SHOW
4
3
1
0
0

review 27 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Honestly everything was amazing! Being completely immersed in nature. Monkeys, dolphins, turtles, manta rays, bats and of course Komodo dragons... oh and some spectacular sunsets!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lots of suncream and insect repellent!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We had local guides. Our team were constantly picking up empty water bottles when kayaking,and making sure we left no trace of our campsites when we moved on. Unfortunately some beaches were littered with rubbish... they need more ppl like out your operators to keep the areas clean.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10! Floral was our guide and he was superb!

review 1 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many to choose from: Singing campfire songs with the crew, guide and group. Snorkelling and seeing the sights. Visiting Komodo Island and the dragons

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring plenty of sunscreen as we were out on the sea most the time and camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definately feel it helped the local people and we got to meet some amazing locals and villages including a local school. On some of the beaches around the more built up areas of Bali and Labuan Bajo, there is a lot of plastic waste on the beaches which is a great shame.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This has been the best holiday so far and I would give it a full 10 out of 10. The guide was amazing (Florri), he really made us welcome and knew a lot about the area. He was also very funny and joined in our singing around the campfire. There was also plenty of information provided by all travel groups, so always knew what was going on and allowed me to ask questions

review 28 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sleeping in tents on deserted beaches. Seeing 3 Komodo dragons eating a carcase. The friendliness and helpfulness of everyone

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it!! Brilliant and the food provided on the boat was superb

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Helped to understand the value of mangroves

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pacto were the weak link. I did not like the guide who took me to Mimpi. He wanted to take me to possibly 4 places en route. I selected silver and batik. Then he kept complaining about how far it was! When I had expected a direct drive! He also told me in detail how people did and did not tip! Returning from Mimpi I requested someone else. The hotel said they were coming far too early. They were right. I was st the airport over an hour before check in opened.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks for your comments Janet. I am delighted you loved the Komodo Kayaking part of your trip - it is one of my favourites!! We also appreciate your comments about your short Bali extension. As you understand this isn't part of the main trip however I am sorry the guide wasn't up to scratch for this part of your trip. I will certainly speak to our partners and pass this on. Do give us a shout if you fancy discussing any part of your trip. All the best

review 12 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sleeping under stars on the boat and on the beach, seeing a turtle whilst snorkeling, kayaking across open water and seeing the blow hole of a large mammal ahead of me, the bats, the komodo dragons, the people, jungle trek, the welcome dance, the school children laughing..... everything really a fantastic and special trip

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay for as long as you can!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the guides made a real effort to ensure this

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous

review 11 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday consisted of two parts, the first was sea kayaking around Komodo National park and the second part was trekking in the northern jungle of Sumatra. The main highlights included seeing Komodo Dragons, orangutans, elephant trekking, the scenery the people I meet and the landscapes. All made the holiday excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plenty of insect repellent, gloves for the sea kayaking, long socks for the leaches and time to explore the different cultures.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I felt that the holiday benefited the people that helped with the vacation along with their development with the outside world.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was very good, some minor problems were there but this did not affect the overall enjoyment.

review 20 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Far too many to mention, but I'll have a go: sleeping on deserted beaches, a school of dolphins passing just in front of our kayak, seeing a shark while snorkelling, the sound of two very large komodo dragons running through the undergrowth in our direction, great food and an outstanding local guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Kayaking is hard work if you're a novice and the wind is against you, but the whole trip is well worth the aching arms. Just book it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely, Mattias, our guide, and the crew were local to the area and intent on using the money they earned to better the lives of their families. We also visited a local school to donate books, paper and pens. Any rubbish or waste that was generated was collected to be properly disposed of.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic mix of activity and relaxation, with great company, excellent food and a chance to find out more about a relatively unexplored part of the world.

review 10 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the kayaking, the snorkelling and seeing the Komodo Dragons.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was great but there are only 5 days of actual kayaking on the 10 day trip. Day 1,2,9 and 10 are pretty much free days. The boys on the support boat are great, so friendly and helpful.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, our guide, Michelle ensured this happened.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great, would do it again but needs a few more days kayaking in it!

review 29 Dec 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was fantastic but I guess the best part was kayaking around the beautiful Komodo islands just my husband and myself in one kayak and our guide in another. The water was crystal clear and the reefs were amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light, you need virtually nothing. Make sure your hands are used to rowing as the only problem I had all holiday was developing a huge blister on my right hand on day one making it more difficult to row. If you are female make sure you are not menstruating otherwise you won't be allowed to visit the komodo dragons which would be terribly disappointing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we used local bars and restaurants, local crew and made sure everything we bought with us we also removed. There was however more debris/rubbish in the sea in some areas than I had imagined and although I tried to collect it as I paddled I soon realised it was a lost cause.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant! The weather was perfect, the scenery was stunning, the mix of hard work and relaxation was just right and the crew were wonderful and great fun to be with.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies