16 independent reviews for Borneo holiday, Highlights of Borneo

Reviews for Borneo holiday, Highlights of Borneo

SHOW
6
9
0
1
0

review 1 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had some excellent wildlife sightings particularly of orangutans and pygmy elephants. We consider we were very lucky in what we saw. Being in Danum Valley was special even though many of our best wildlife sightings were away from there. It's a great environment with excellent staff at the Borneo Rainforest Lodge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early to be able to get the accommodation they want at the Borneo Rainforest Lodge as we were not the only people there at the time who were staying for two nights when they really wanted three. Good as Danum Valley is, multiple sites are needed to see as full a range of wildlife as possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism brings much needed money into the country and gives employment. We were told that fish for our meals were sourced from local fishermen and we took part in tree planting by the Abai village with the trees bought from the villagers. Everyone on the tours was focused on minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday well organised by our tour operator.

review 28 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a wild orangutan with a baby swinging through the trees.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend at least a couple of days at Sepilok if you're keen on seeing as much of the orangutans as possible. We stayed 2 nights and were able to to go to 3 feeding sessions and was brilliant to see the orangutans at different times of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we went to a local village for lunch and there were lots of opportunities at Sepilok to donate to local charities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, the tour arrangements made in advance ran exactly to plan. All our transfers were waiting for us at every stage without any hiccups, Our travel advisor was amazing beforehand and listened to everything we asked for. Highly recommend booking through our tour operator.

Read the operator's response here:

Woo-hoo! Always makes us smile thinking of the first time you actually see a wild orang-utan on the move! It was our pleasure to assist you with this adventure and thrilled it delivered everything you were looking for. Now, where's next to explore.....?! Very best wishes

review 15 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's difficult to choose the most memorable or exciting part, but I think the nature spotting boat trips from Abai jungle lodge were the best.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I'd advise other travellers to do your own research and make sure you understand exactly what's involved in your itinerary and that it fits with what you want from your holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the holiday did contribute to benefiting the local community and the natural environment. Of course, there are always negative environmental impacts from flying. But the hotels did seem to take their corporate social responsibility seriously. We also took part in a re-forestation community project and, although this was only a token contribution, I think this kind of activity helps tourists to feel that they have a stake in the future of the rainforest. The fees for visits to conservation projects also helps them to continue their important work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant! Knowledgeable guides and small groups of like-minded people, who were interested in and cared about the natural environment of the place they were visiting.

review 9 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to visit Selingan island and see firsthand how turtles laid their eggs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you give yourself a little time to relax before attempting any sort of adventure excursions. Otherwise it will be very tiring, especially when contending with the jetlag.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did, especially with regard to the sourcing of responsible tour companies and guides and raising awareness of environmental issues in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous. There's really nothing more to say.

review 21 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Orangutans in the wild at Borneo Rainforest Lodge

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for heat, humidity, and bugs

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - lodges were fairly eco-friendly Rehabilitation Centers at Rasa Ria and Sepilok - money went to support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! Eye opening!

review 9 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing wild orangutans, proboscis monkeys and a gibbon along the kinabatagen river. Watching a green turtle lay her eggs on a beautiful beach under the stars and watching turtle hatchlings scrabble out to the sea. Snorkling in the Sulu Sea. In fact it was all memorable and exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take really light weight clothing and plenty of insect repellant. The sand flies are ruthless.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A lot of the local people are employed in tourism in various ways: the guides, the drivers, everyone working in the hotels. So I do feel if tourism didn't exist they would probably be unemployed. A lot of the acccomodation stated the measures they were employing to reduce environmental impact. The awareness of which has probably come from tourism. I was aware that through the tree planting we were helping the local village and also a portion of our holiday payment was given to Orangutan conservation. Plus the souvenirs we bought at Sepilok. So I think in this case the benefits of tourism outweigh the impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great. I loved every minute of it. Borneo is a beautiful country with friendly helpful people. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Borneo's incredible wildlife and diverse landscape. Also the quality of the tourism infrastructure there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a large memory card for your camera and buy a good optical lens!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guides and staff were so friendly and helpful to us that I do believe our expenditure helped the local economy. The local newspapers supporte this view. The holiday was specifically tailored to Eco resorts which also helped.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Once in a life time

review 24 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pinpoint one aspect. Tabin was a fantastic place to go. We were able to see so much wildlife there and our guide was second to none in his knowledge. OTTERS AND A GIANT FLYING SQUIRREL were the best and something we never thought we would ever see!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes on every level, from the tree planting to Sepilok and Turtle island, everything felt right.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best holiday we have ever had, couldn't fault a thing.

review 18 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exciting - The opportunity to see 5 different wild adult orang-utans, 4 of them with their youngsters, during our treks from Borneo Rainforest Lodge in the Danum Valley. Memorable - The friendliness and warmth exhibited by all of the staff wherever we stayed. Service was always delivered with a smile even though it is basically a "no tipping" culture and UK organisations could learn a lot from it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take and use plenty of insect repellent including time spent at the hotels near Kota Kinabalu where sand flies can be a menace. If visiting the Danum Valley leech socks are essential. Make sure that your camera has a large capacity memory card and carry binoculars.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It only really benefited local people by supporting those employed in the tourist industry. Overall Borneo had a well-developed outlook on green issues but our long flights to get there cannot be said to have reduced environmental impacts. By visiting the sites related to viewing wildlife in general and orang-utans in particular we felt that we were encouraging investment in conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent and throughly enjoyable and it enabled us to achieve our key objectives of having numerous opportunities to see orang-utans at comparatively close quarters.

review 7 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Kinbantangan river cruise. Saw so much wildlife - fitted all our expectations about the Borneo jungles.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Selignan is not for everyone. Allowing people to crowd round and take photos of the turtle when laying eggs felt very intrusive. It could be handled a lot more sensitively.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No doubt they need the tourist money at Selingan to help fund ongoing management of the programme. Elsewhere I suppose the guides we had benefitted a little.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great holiday, very memorable. As with all things there are little bits you would change, but definitely glad we did it.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your holiday to Borneo, we are delighted that you had such a good time. We appreciate your comments on the sensitivity of your visit to Selingan Turtle Island. We have spoken to our local agents who are going to follow up with the national parks authority on Selingan and ask them what procedures can be put in place to improve the overall experience at Selingan. We have for some time requested smaller groups for the turtle viewing and recommend that cameras are not to be used on the island. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we will continue to follow this up through our local agents.

review 3 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pigmy elephants in Taiban.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember a raincoat and a flashlight.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported responsible tourism over other less environmentally sensitive industries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good holiday - enjoyed myself - a few things I would change but nothing major.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a female turtle return to the sea at 6:30am on Seligan Island, Sabah.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try and get Remy as your guide from SI Tours. Spend as much time as possible on the east coast viewing the wildlife. Don't take too many clothes. On this trip leech socks were not really necessary. Buy your malarone tablets from Asda, far cheaper than obtaining a prescription.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all three.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A tremendous introduction to the wildlife and conservation efforts of Borneo. The arrangements and guides were first class with everything going to plan like clockwork despite some difficult logistics of moving people round Sabah.

review 2 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Abai jungle lodge - wildlife and village amazing. The guides were brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We saw so much wildlife at the Abai jungle lodge that I would have preferred to have stayed in Sandakan and gone to Sepelok the same day and use the extra day to go and see mount Kinabalu instead.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - especially tree planting at Abai lodge.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday was fantastic suited for the whole family. Great mix of adventure and relaxing.

review 2 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Shangri La hotels were exceptional. Fantastic food and service. Turtle island and river 'safaris' were v good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think about doing the whole Mountain climb rather than just a morning walk. Ensure you book early. Many fellow travellers missed out on things like Turtle Island as it was fully booked. Travel overland back to KK is a bit of a flog.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lots of locals employed in service industries as guides and coaches.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good mix of beach and culture.

review 16 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Elephants and Orangutans along the Kinabatangan River, seeing a Civet during a night walk whilst staying at Abai Jungle Lodge, pulling up on to the beautiful beach at Selingan and watching baby turtles hurry down the beach towards the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only trip that we were disappointed with was the one to Poring Hot Springs. It was not at all as I had imagined. It turned out to be a very busy Lido so I would give it a miss. Take plenty of insect repellent and a very good camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Planting trees along the Kinabatangan River supported the local village and I believe that the lodge that we stayed in employed people from this same village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time. It was just the right mix of adventure and relaxation, we saw so much wildlife and everything ran smoothly.

review 13 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

momerable - seeing elephants - especially one swimming across river leeches meeting wonderful people from all over

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

beware - very hot and humid. not the greatest trip for photographing monkeys and urangatangs in natural settings; even difficult during "shows"

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

took very good care of us. overall a little disappointing compared to other countries

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy