28 independent reviews for Borneo holiday, Highlights of Borneo

Reviews for Borneo holiday, Highlights of Borneo

SHOW
12
15
0
1
0

review 1 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had some excellent wildlife sightings particularly of orangutans and pygmy elephants. We consider we were very lucky in what we saw. Being in Danum Valley was special even though many of our best wildlife sightings were away from there. It's a great environment with excellent staff at the Borneo Rainforest Lodge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book early to be able to get the accommodation they want at the Borneo Rainforest Lodge as we were not the only people there at the time who were staying for two nights when they really wanted three. Good as Danum Valley is, multiple sites are needed to see as full a range of wildlife as possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism brings much needed money into the country and gives employment. We were told that fish for our meals were sourced from local fishermen and we took part in tree planting by the Abai village with the trees bought from the villagers. Everyone on the tours was focused on minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent holiday well organised by our tour operator.

review 28 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a wild orangutan with a baby swinging through the trees.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend at least a couple of days at Sepilok if you're keen on seeing as much of the orangutans as possible. We stayed 2 nights and were able to to go to 3 feeding sessions and was brilliant to see the orangutans at different times of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we went to a local village for lunch and there were lots of opportunities at Sepilok to donate to local charities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, the tour arrangements made in advance ran exactly to plan. All our transfers were waiting for us at every stage without any hiccups, Our travel advisor was amazing beforehand and listened to everything we asked for. Highly recommend booking through our tour operator.

Read the operator's response here:

Woo-hoo! Always makes us smile thinking of the first time you actually see a wild orang-utan on the move! It was our pleasure to assist you with this adventure and thrilled it delivered everything you were looking for. Now, where's next to explore.....?! Very best wishes

review 15 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's difficult to choose the most memorable or exciting part, but I think the nature spotting boat trips from Abai jungle lodge were the best.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I'd advise other travellers to do your own research and make sure you understand exactly what's involved in your itinerary and that it fits with what you want from your holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the holiday did contribute to benefiting the local community and the natural environment. Of course, there are always negative environmental impacts from flying. But the hotels did seem to take their corporate social responsibility seriously. We also took part in a re-forestation community project and, although this was only a token contribution, I think this kind of activity helps tourists to feel that they have a stake in the future of the rainforest. The fees for visits to conservation projects also helps them to continue their important work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant! Knowledgeable guides and small groups of like-minded people, who were interested in and cared about the natural environment of the place they were visiting.

review 9 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to visit Selingan island and see firsthand how turtles laid their eggs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you give yourself a little time to relax before attempting any sort of adventure excursions. Otherwise it will be very tiring, especially when contending with the jetlag.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did, especially with regard to the sourcing of responsible tour companies and guides and raising awareness of environmental issues in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous. There's really nothing more to say.

review 21 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing Orangutans in the wild at Borneo Rainforest Lodge

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for heat, humidity, and bugs

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - lodges were fairly eco-friendly Rehabilitation Centers at Rasa Ria and Sepilok - money went to support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! Eye opening!

review 9 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing wild orangutans, proboscis monkeys and a gibbon along the kinabatagen river. Watching a green turtle lay her eggs on a beautiful beach under the stars and watching turtle hatchlings scrabble out to the sea. Snorkling in the Sulu Sea. In fact it was all memorable and exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take really light weight clothing and plenty of insect repellant. The sand flies are ruthless.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A lot of the local people are employed in tourism in various ways: the guides, the drivers, everyone working in the hotels. So I do feel if tourism didn't exist they would probably be unemployed. A lot of the acccomodation stated the measures they were employing to reduce environmental impact. The awareness of which has probably come from tourism. I was aware that through the tree planting we were helping the local village and also a portion of our holiday payment was given to Orangutan conservation. Plus the souvenirs we bought at Sepilok. So I think in this case the benefits of tourism outweigh the impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great. I loved every minute of it. Borneo is a beautiful country with friendly helpful people. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Borneo's incredible wildlife and diverse landscape. Also the quality of the tourism infrastructure there.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a large memory card for your camera and buy a good optical lens!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guides and staff were so friendly and helpful to us that I do believe our expenditure helped the local economy. The local newspapers supporte this view. The holiday was specifically tailored to Eco resorts which also helped.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10. Once in a life time

review 24 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to pinpoint one aspect. Tabin was a fantastic place to go. We were able to see so much wildlife there and our guide was second to none in his knowledge. OTTERS AND A GIANT FLYING SQUIRREL were the best and something we never thought we would ever see!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes on every level, from the tree planting to Sepilok and Turtle island, everything felt right.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best holiday we have ever had, couldn't fault a thing.

review 22 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing wild orangutans in the rainforest, watching the Green turtle lay her eggs on Seligan Island and swimming and snorkelling with Hawksbill turtles on Landkyan Island. To be honest too much to write here.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure that if you are a vegetarian food booked for you across all airlines are vegetarian, we found that we had veggie food on the first two flights (Etihad) but no food on final flight(Malaysian airlines) this was both ways, despite checking twice with agent as we suspected that this would be the case. Check on your tickets that it clearly says on ALL flights that you have requested a vegetarian meal. Also I would recommend that if you are doing a tailor made holiday then specify that you want to go directly to Sepilok (if this is a choice of your itinerary) and not as we found spent half of the day wasting time hanging around Sandikan, mainly at a hotel, waiting for other groups of tourists to arrive so that the tour operator could then send people off in groups. The market visit at Sandikan is a 20 min visit and 20 mins too long. Also if you have spent time at Kota Kinabalu at the start of your holiday, it might be an idea to fly back from Sandikan/Lahad Datu to Kuala Lumpur and spend a night there rather than return to Kota Kinabalu.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In respect to employment of local guides etc yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic.

review 5 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had many memorable and exciting parts but one of the significant highlights was our trip to an Iban longhouse in Sarawak. We had an excellent guide, Bayan (probably spelled wrong!), who is Iban - his knowledge of the culture, the plants, the animals and birds, etc. was impressive. On the morning of the day we were leaving, we went for a jungle walk and then met the boatmen and travelled in the longboat to a beautiful waterfall. After swimming the plan was to eat a lunch cooked over a fire. We were drowned out within seconds when torrential rain hit. Travelling back downriver to the lodge in the longboat, going as fast as the boatmen could make it go, flying around the curves of the river, soaking wet and with the rain still pouring down, was magical.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely include Sarawak as well as Sabah, be prepared for all types of weather, stay at least a month and enjoy Borneo and its people to the fullest.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This is a hard question to answer. I think that the local people benefited as we contributed to the economy (not to mention had lots of laughs and fun with the Borneans). I'm not sure how we supported conservation - everything we ate was cooked in palm oil and the oil palm plantations are destructive to the environment. We conserved water though. I'm not sure if we reduced environmental impacts but we didn't contribute in any negative way. A big concern for us was the lack of recycling available plus many of the tribes chuck plastics and other debris into the rivers - it is heartbreaking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent! Stef at the operator booked us - she chose a very good cross-section of Borneo for us so we came away with a great overview of Sarawak and Sabah. The various staff members (drivers and guides) of Borneo Adventure were professional, efficient, and ever so friendly and welcoming. We highly recommend this operator and Borneo Adventure. Thanks to one and all for a memorable vacation!

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Richard, Thank you for your review. We work very closely with our local agents in Borneo to ensure they help to educate the local tribes regarding recycling and the disposal of their rubbish. This is an ongoing concern for us and together we closely monitor the situation. It can be frustrating but we feel that we are getting there slowly. Thank you for your comments and we will of course continue to follow up on this.

review 18 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exciting - The opportunity to see 5 different wild adult orang-utans, 4 of them with their youngsters, during our treks from Borneo Rainforest Lodge in the Danum Valley. Memorable - The friendliness and warmth exhibited by all of the staff wherever we stayed. Service was always delivered with a smile even though it is basically a "no tipping" culture and UK organisations could learn a lot from it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take and use plenty of insect repellent including time spent at the hotels near Kota Kinabalu where sand flies can be a menace. If visiting the Danum Valley leech socks are essential. Make sure that your camera has a large capacity memory card and carry binoculars.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It only really benefited local people by supporting those employed in the tourist industry. Overall Borneo had a well-developed outlook on green issues but our long flights to get there cannot be said to have reduced environmental impacts. By visiting the sites related to viewing wildlife in general and orang-utans in particular we felt that we were encouraging investment in conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent and throughly enjoyable and it enabled us to achieve our key objectives of having numerous opportunities to see orang-utans at comparatively close quarters.

review 7 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Kinbantangan river cruise. Saw so much wildlife - fitted all our expectations about the Borneo jungles.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Selignan is not for everyone. Allowing people to crowd round and take photos of the turtle when laying eggs felt very intrusive. It could be handled a lot more sensitively.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No doubt they need the tourist money at Selingan to help fund ongoing management of the programme. Elsewhere I suppose the guides we had benefitted a little.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great holiday, very memorable. As with all things there are little bits you would change, but definitely glad we did it.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your holiday to Borneo, we are delighted that you had such a good time. We appreciate your comments on the sensitivity of your visit to Selingan Turtle Island. We have spoken to our local agents who are going to follow up with the national parks authority on Selingan and ask them what procedures can be put in place to improve the overall experience at Selingan. We have for some time requested smaller groups for the turtle viewing and recommend that cameras are not to be used on the island. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we will continue to follow this up through our local agents.

review 3 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pigmy elephants in Taiban.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember a raincoat and a flashlight.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported responsible tourism over other less environmentally sensitive industries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good holiday - enjoyed myself - a few things I would change but nothing major.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a female turtle return to the sea at 6:30am on Seligan Island, Sabah.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try and get Remy as your guide from SI Tours. Spend as much time as possible on the east coast viewing the wildlife. Don't take too many clothes. On this trip leech socks were not really necessary. Buy your malarone tablets from Asda, far cheaper than obtaining a prescription.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all three.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A tremendous introduction to the wildlife and conservation efforts of Borneo. The arrangements and guides were first class with everything going to plan like clockwork despite some difficult logistics of moving people round Sabah.

review 2 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Abai jungle lodge - wildlife and village amazing. The guides were brilliant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We saw so much wildlife at the Abai jungle lodge that I would have preferred to have stayed in Sandakan and gone to Sepelok the same day and use the extra day to go and see mount Kinabalu instead.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - especially tree planting at Abai lodge.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday was fantastic suited for the whole family. Great mix of adventure and relaxing.

review 2 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Shangri La hotels were exceptional. Fantastic food and service. Turtle island and river 'safaris' were v good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Think about doing the whole Mountain climb rather than just a morning walk. Ensure you book early. Many fellow travellers missed out on things like Turtle Island as it was fully booked. Travel overland back to KK is a bit of a flog.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lots of locals employed in service industries as guides and coaches.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good mix of beach and culture.

review 16 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Elephants and Orangutans along the Kinabatangan River, seeing a Civet during a night walk whilst staying at Abai Jungle Lodge, pulling up on to the beautiful beach at Selingan and watching baby turtles hurry down the beach towards the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only trip that we were disappointed with was the one to Poring Hot Springs. It was not at all as I had imagined. It turned out to be a very busy Lido so I would give it a miss. Take plenty of insect repellent and a very good camera.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Planting trees along the Kinabatangan River supported the local village and I believe that the lodge that we stayed in employed people from this same village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic time. It was just the right mix of adventure and relaxation, we saw so much wildlife and everything ran smoothly.

review 13 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

momerable - seeing elephants - especially one swimming across river leeches meeting wonderful people from all over

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

beware - very hot and humid. not the greatest trip for photographing monkeys and urangatangs in natural settings; even difficult during "shows"

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

took very good care of us. overall a little disappointing compared to other countries

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had so many memorable experiences - difficult to say - but I would say Danum Valley - the lodges were so luxurious and the setting superb - and we saw wild orangutans.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To book aircraft seats in advance - the two seats at the back of the aircraft were such a bonus on a long flight.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Only in terms of the staffing - guides, drivers and hotel staff. Environmentally - there was a lot of duplication of cars/buses used - just two of us in one bus when there were other couples going to the same place and being taken individually as well. However, more people are employed this way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays ever - the places we stayed, the people, the food, the wild life - the total experience was amazing.

review 31 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I can't specify the most memorable part as everyday was a wonderful experience. The organisation was perfect, there were never any delays and even though we used 3 different tour operators whilst doing our tour everything fell into place. The guides and drivers were all very good and couldnt do enough for you. The hotels Shangri La Rasa Ria and Magellan Sutera Harbour were superb. All the accomodation on the tour were as described and even the basic accomodation which we expected was clean. Food throughout was also plentiful and excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who really wants an adventure with a bit of luxury to end the holiday. They were so helpful in planning our trip and kept us informed of any changes they even left a message the day before to say have a wonderful trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the local people really welcomed us and asked that we tell our friends to visit. The conservation work we witnessed was really good and every effort was made to minimise the effect of our presence on the animals and to keep things as natural as possible for the animals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience

review 9 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife both on land and under the sea were exceptional. In most places, the people were also very welcoming and knowldegeable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend more time in Abai and Danum!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 1 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are so many truly memorable parts it is difficult to pick one; Lankayan island is a true paradise and we will never forget snorkelling from the beach with baby black tip reef sharks and then a green turtle, as well as beautiful coral gardens and tropical fish - including Nemo. The sighting of 20 pygmy elephants at Tabin, as well as wild orang-utans, gibbons swinging through the trees above us while we swam in the natural pools and seeing lots of other wonderful wildlife will stay with us forever. Sepilok also memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy leech socks before you go! Best ones are elasticated below and above knee and these stopped the leeches. Other tip is use lot of insect repellent. Also be prepared for a complete assault on your senses as there are so many fabulous experiences.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes in that local guides used and ate local food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely wonderful, with a range of habitats, wildlife and activities. A very well organised holiday that exceeded our expectations and accommodated all our special requests. Very easy holiday for families, with some easy trekking. A magical holiday.

review 16 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife, from the orang-utans at Sepilok to swimming with giant greenback turtles in Pom Pom - amazing and memories that will stick with me for life.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you have a good zoom for your slr camera and take binoculars. Donít worry about too many posh clothes, you need lots of t-shirts you can get dirty too especially for the jungle parts. Leech socks are important but you can buy these at Danum Valley and they are not expensive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Bringing tourism to Borneo is an important income and may reduce the de-forestation from the reliance on palm oil. My holiday definitely contributed income to the various monkey sanctuaries too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday, would recommend and I have friends very much interested in visiting too.

review 9 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Probably the river 'safari' trips.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have leech socks for the danum valley! If you go in the rainy season, be aware that it's not sharp bursts of rain once a day. The rain can and does occur many times during the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - it was explained to us a number of times how the tourist trade in the hotel benefited local people and minimized impacts on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. We can highly recommend the operator and Stef there who dealt with us. She was efficient, friendly, helpful and full of good advice. The holiday was varied and exciting and had much to recommend it. It all worked like clockwork and we had no complaints.

review 12 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely the wildlife of Borneo, we had excellent opportunities to see orangutangs, monkeys and birds up close. Guides were well informed and friendly

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Avoid Poring Hot Springs, really disappointing and quite a run down tourist attraction

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not sure it was any different from any other holiday, I doubt staying at the Rasa Ria was environmentally friendly!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, wouldn't change a thing!

review 8 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As this holiday was our honeymoon, it is very hard to distinguish one more exciting part from another. However, our two day stay in the Abai Jungle Lodge in Sabah was fantastic, just the right mix of nature, relaxation, incredible surroundings, people and atmosphere. Lets not forget to mention that the Rasa Ria resort is exceptional in every way!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay two nights at the Abai Jungle Lodge and seek out the guide/team leader Rizal (he knows his stuff and has eyes like an eagle, you will understand what I mean). Also if you are going to mix up adventure/trekking/climbing etc and a beach/relaxation time, do the beach stuff last!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, all the lodges and staff were very conscious of this and in some cases went way out of their way to make sure we as tourists were directly contributing to the local economy and its involvement in developing the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Incredibly well organised, great value for money and having gone on the advice of the operator had an excellent combination of activities, sights and relaxation.

review 26 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The orangutans swinging through the trees at Sepilok at feeding time. Seeing a pygmy elephant and a wild orang-utan with baby beside the Kinabatangan river. The warmth and friendliness of the knowledgeable guides and the people of Borneo in general.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it, it's an amazing experience. Be prepared for sudden really heavy rainfall and high humidity but it is well worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, all the guides and staff in hotels and lodges are local and very conscious of the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Possibly the best ever. It is a beautiful country with lovely people.

review 7 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to identify - all the wildlife (eg pigmy elephants beside the Kinabatangan river, various different types of monkeys, a close encounter with a wild orangutan); a picnic breakfast beside the Ox Bow Lake with a heron standing on a nearby rock; wandering through the fishing village on the island of Libaran and trying to communicate with the local people; the colours of all the flowers at most of the places where I stayed; being by myself or just two or three other people with the local guide so the opportunity to get to know them as individuals; the general standard of accommodation (far better than in my ignorance I had expected).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have the time and like walking, then just two nights in the Danum valley are not enough

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, as I understood it, there are not too many employment opportunities in Sabah, so tourism is important to them. Some of the more remote places specifically said that they set out to employ local people, although some of the bigger places also attracted students and others from further afield. (Certainly the leaflet produced by SI Tours about their Abai Jungle and Kinabatangan Riverside Lodges suggests that they do a lot both for local people and to minimise their environmental impact).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant - a wonderful experience. I hesitate between four and five stars below, simply because I had a great holiday in Nepal last year which also took some beating!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies