8 independent reviews for French Alps self guided walking holiday

Reviews for French Alps self guided walking holiday

SHOW
1
6
1
0
0

review 17 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a fantastic time staying in Samoens. We are a family with two adults, 14 year old and twelve year old twins, and stayed in the Petite Ourse in the second week of July 17. We could not recommend the experience more highly. The accommodation included double room with ensuite, and four bed bunk room with ensuite including bath. Downstairs was kitchen, and living space, with outdoor deck with table and hot tub. There are beautiful views across the valley from the downstairs windows. We had guided walks on five days, and a rest day on the Wednesday. Bruno was an excellent guide - patient and able to moderate pace and information delivery according to capacity and appetite! Bruno speaks excellent English, and was also happy to speak French to our daughters who are learning French at school. We walked in a group with those staying 'upstairs' in the Grande Ourse, and had a fun time getting to know some very friendly people. The catering was excellent, with full breakfasts, materials for making lunches and snacks for taking walking, cakes on return from walking, and three courses with wines in the evening, beautifully done by Ben and JJ, who also gave enthusiastic and helpful area advice. The walking was amazing at this time of year: alpine meadows, wildflowers, waterfalls, and glacial landscapes, and not too challenging: we ranged between 500m and 970m ascent in a day. We went rafting on the Giffre on our day off, which was also great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Transfer from Geneva airport was easy at around 1 hr by private transfer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday visited stunning landscapes, and walking with Bruno helped increase awareness of the evolution and sensitivity of alpine landscapes. Samoens had many activities for visitors, including several musical events in the square, and fireworks on Bastille day. The Samoens market on Wednesday morning is extensive: we ate out on the Wednesday evening chalet night off, though it would be very easy to source local ingredients at the market and prepare these in-house as an alternative for the Wednesday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 25 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Superb walking country

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plenty of different grades of walking for self-guided tours with very good, detailed maps and instructions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Walks usually incorporated a visit to a refuge or local café for drinks or snacks. Use of local hiking guides and cycling, white-water rafting if needed. Recycling boxes at entrance to chalet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent base to explore the beautiful Haute-Giffre valley. Wonderful chalet staff, Kirsty, Scott and Sally, who are very happy to help plan your day.

review 2 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Varied expertly guided walks through magnificent scenery

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come prepared. Any questions are answered effectively and quickly. Veery flexible staff.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefits local areas. Helps to sponsor nature reserves

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent week, well looked after with good walks.

review 29 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check the room size. Some are very small with low ceilings

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Somewhat

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good.

review 23 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The overall experience was top-notch. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Great accommodation and excellent food and beverages. Great hiking guide as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We stayed Saturday to Wednesday and regret not staying longer. Wonderful hikes and other outdoor activities as well as a market to enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our hiking guide was local but the owners and the rest of the staff are relocated Brits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb

review 20 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking to the frozen lake just outside Samoens.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Restaurant called Les 8 Monts in village of Samoens for Wednesday night (chalet staff night off).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Great food, comfortable chalet, beautiful walks, good company (chalet mates), great guide (Bruno) and lucky with the weather.

review 20 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic walks and great company. The chalet and staff and the food were really good. So close to Geneva.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go for it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 2 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was memorable- the chalet was delightful, food wonderful,and the hosts very helpful and friendly! The walking was outstanding and Bruno,the French guide (with excellent English) was very informative but with a great sense of humour! His knowledge of fauna and flora was impressive. Full marks!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Dont hesitate to use Bruno as your guide - we learned so much from him!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had one car free walking day and stayed fairly local to the chalet on the other days. Washing was kept to a minimum and everything possible was recycled. food was sourced locally where possible. Care was taken to minimise impact on wildlife and flora when out walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic - would love to go again to such a beautiful area and stay in such a great place.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies