27 independent reviews for Croatian coast walking tours, self guided

Reviews for Croatian coast walking tours, self guided

SHOW
10
14
3
0
0

review 29 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to pick out one highlight but the walk around the beautiful lake in Mljet with a swim at the end was certainly a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you go at the end of the season (we went Oct half term) some of the smaller destinations are pretty much shut up for winter so be prepared for that. That being said where this was the case our hosts cooked us fantastic meals. But I guess if you are looking for lots of choices of places to eat and drink you would need to go earlier in the year.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely felt it supported the locals as every place we stayed was run by a local family.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Very well organised with a detailed itinerary given to us on arrival and all pick ups/collections spot on time at every change. The walks were through some beautiful scenery and some stunning views. The accommodation was basic but the hosts were welcoming and friendly and in Gruda and Mljet, where they cooked for us, the food was amazing. A brilliant holiday.

review 8 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed getting out into the countryside on the walks. Since we were towards the end of the season, most of the time we were the only ones on the trails. The area was spectacularly beautiful, so everywhere we went had amazing views. We liked staying in small B&Bs. Each one had an interesting history.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go towards the end of the season as there are fewer tourists. However, be aware that many things start to close and the schedules for boats and ferries change.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in small B&Bs which were run by individual families, so we were benefitting local people. our environmental impact was reduced because we did mostly walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful

review 5 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

all of it was amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

go ahead and do it, such a great time to be had

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

all of the above yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our tour operator are a fantastic company and ensure you are well cared for put together a great itinerary.

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My stay on the island of Mljet - absolutely gorgeous place, plenty of places to walk and swim - when avoiding the heat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want a serious walking holiday choose a time when it is not so hot or be prepared to get up at 5.00am every day to do a short walk!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - loved every second of it. The local contact could not have been more helpful, accommodating of every request I made to change a few of the plans, change ferry times extend my time on the islands change my airport transfer pick up point etc. Absolutely delightful people who went out of their way to support my holiday. Would use this company again and would highly recommend them. Thanks

review 8 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying with Katia and Miho at their guesthouse in Gruda was a truly exceptional experience. We felt as though we were invited guests in their home and not paying travelers. We learned a great deal about local history, their family, and got lots of recommendations about the area. They even drove us to a very special restaurant a few kilometers away so we could sample authentic cuisine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We added on a day trip to Montenegro - driving from Dubrovnik to Kotor. Although the views of the Boka Bay were fabulous, we did not realize that we would be spending so much time in the car and so little time actually being able to walk around Kotor. It was a very pleasant drive, though.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We feel mostly that our holiday benefited local people, especially in Gruda where we were able to eat local vegetables and drink local wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A memorable experience in every way!

review 22 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing parts of Croatia off the beaten tourist routes. The salt water lakes on Mljet Island are stunning. The facility to stop at almost any point on the walk and go for a swim was wonderful. Katje's little museum of Croatian life in the basement of her charming B&B and her enthusiasm for talking about was and unexpected bonus.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry about language, English was spoken widely and by all the B&B owners.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the B&Bs are all family-run and the locations offer the opportunity to eat in family run restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Simply wonderful.

review 14 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dubrovnik City walls

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, eating in local restaurants, supporting the national park

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 27 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was very memorable from the lovely islands, countryside and Old City to the friendly Croatian people. The organisation by the holiday provider was very good and everything went smoothly. Our most memorable part of the holiday was the visit to the islands of Lopud and Mljet. Mljet in particular was very beautiful with great walks up to the islands high point and around the salt lakes. The quality of the food in the restaurants was wonderful. In particular the Koraceva Kuca in Gruda and Peppers in Gruz.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

For walking in the Konavle valley a detailed walking map would be useful (if one exists?). The walking details and map provided were reasonably detailed but we got lost a couple of times on the Coastal walk. However, this was only a minor issue as the friendly and helpful locals quickly sorted things out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the accommodation was in B/B's run by local people and this seemed very appropriate for a walking holiday. More benefit to the local economy than staying in a hotel chain. In addition most of the excellent restaurants used local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We felt the holiday was excellent and provided a wonderful experience of the countryside and islands around Dubrovnik. If you are after a strenuous walking holiday this is not for you but, as an active yet relaxing holiday that allows for some serious exercise in fabulous countryside and on beautiful islands, then this is the one. The addition of a visit to the historic old city of Dubrovnik only adds to the adventure.

review 19 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The two nights at Lovric in Lumbarda were fabulous. We had a spacious room with a lovely view. The breakfasts were great. Lumbarda is a pleasant small town away for the main tourist crowds. Really special. If I went to Croatia again, I'd spend a week here.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Download an app for your phone maps.me. It is a huge help as the directions from our tour operator were not clear and confusing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed at small B&B's and shopped at local supermarkets. The local tour organizer was very good except for the walking directions that were not clear and unreliable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Croatia is an interesting destination and the people were super - very friendly and helpful. We were also very lucky with the weather (October) - to too hot nor cool, very pleasant.

review 10 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Exploring the islands offshore southern Croatia. A welcome break from the tourist hot spot of Dubrovnik.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Check with the local tour operator your itinerary well ahead. We had left some Dubrovnik sight seeing till the last day but reality was the ferry from island Mijet did not arrive back till nearly 6pm. This was despite the literature indicating a free day to explore Dubrovnik.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly contributed to the local economy during our stay. All accommodations were run by local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyed our holiday. Was a good introduction to Croatia and plan to return some day.

review 5 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

exploring the islands near Dubrovnik

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes by using local B&B and going outside of the main tourist areas

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all thoroughly enjoyed this holiday, although I had some issues about the hotel in Dubrovnik

review 6 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The islands of Mljet and Korcula were our favourites. Dubrovnik is beautiful and fascinating but very touristy in early July due to the cruise ships. Best seen outside the summer months.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday is a good mix of locations and landscapes. You can do as much or as little walking as you like. We went in late June/early July and it was already very hot for much walking so probably Spring/Autumn are the best times. The accommodation is good, especially the apartments on Mljet. We upgraded to a hotel in Dubrovnik and stayed in Hotel Lapad which we could recommend.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Interacting with the local people was beneficial to us and we contributed to the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. Our travel were efficient and helpful and all the transfers ran smoothly.

review 5 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Many highlights... Mljet National Park and kayaking on the two salt lakes (kayaks were not included, but was well worth it) staying in Polace, our B&B hosts in the Konavle Valley, hiking up Mt. Szenicica, emerging through a tunnel on the Peljesac Peninsula to a fantastic beautiful, easy ride perched high up over the scenic coast.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you go with our tour operator, know that they are good, but they don't give you lots of information about your trip, and in some cases they let you know the details a day or so in advance. It was day3 out of 11 before we got any paperwork, maps, itineraries confirmed. During our travels, we talked with a few others who booked self-guided trips through this holiday provider and found they had similar experience. In the end, all was good, but if you're a detailed, information-hungry planner, this might not be the outfit for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. All the people we encountered as part of our self-guided tour were Croatians.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good! About 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Tour op to respond to Q2 - 11.07.2017 (2 weeks on 25th July)

review 13 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful countryside. Wonderful people. Amazing city of Dubrovnik. Breaking my arm!!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy the hospitality offered.Follow walk instructions carefully but use your initiative too! Remember that macadam to them is a stony track to us!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our accommodation was all with local people and it was really good to meet true residents of Croatia rather than hotel staff.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good , well organised. The meet and greet, moving us from one area to another was impressive. Staff were delightful. I think that perhaps they need to review some of their walk directions as they were sometimes out of date and sometimes lost something in the translation to English. It would have been good to have an emergency number in view of my accident but once the company had been contacted they were very supportive and helpful.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Mrs. Melville, thank you for your tour review, we really sorry that you have accident and broke your arm during a walk on Lopud island, but as you said we were very helpful supportive in that situation. Regarding emergency number we have it on several different documents that were given to you; we have it on the walking sheet, voucher and several other documents (invoices, correspondence email and company business card) , there says that our cell phone number all our customers can call 24h on day. Especially on the front page of the walking notes are numbers: telephone numbers from the office, emergency cell phone and Croatian rescue service emergency numbers. Thanks.

review 6 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying on the beautiful Island of Mljet and the walks around the lake and up to the highest point. We also enjoyed a day of cycling. The accommodation was outstanding, very friendly hostess, lovely light rooms overlooking the sea, and a private beach area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The first 2 days were disappointing apart from the accommodation. We were rushed to the village of Grude and dropped off very quickly without being giving any information apart from that there was a restaurant nearby. The 'village', just a group of houses, was a long walk away. The walk 'exploring the beautiful Konavle area' was far from beautiful, there was no forest and we barely caught sight of the river. The second walk, we tried to go on, but the instructions were quite unclear and we couldn't find our way and had to give up. We were collected on the 3rd day and rushed to the hotel near the port of Dubrovnik, without even a goodbye, or an idea of what would happen next. The middle section, around Dubrovnik was ok, but Dubrovnik, was ghastly - a beautiful city ruined by tourism. The guide who took us on a morning's tour of the city was excellent though. As we were given no prior details about the Island of Lokrum on the day of the tour, we were not prepared, with swimwear etc. We had wanted to go, and did. However, be warned the 5 minute ferry crossing costs equivalent of 15 euros. The other thing is we found, despite being told we could use euros as well as kunar, this was not the case. Also the prices were much higher than we had been led to believe. A meal costs far more than the 8 suggested. And in Dubrovnik, there is really nowhere to eat that is reasonable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure. The bed and breakfast places we stayed in would of course benefit the local people, and both places were really delightful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed the last 3 days on the island, when we were definitely self-guided. The early part of the holiday didn't feel self-guided as we were at the mercy of transport and limited information. It would have been nice if we could both have had walking instructions, rather than just one of us. The information we were given by staff was very sparse and only given at the last minute, if at all, so we never knew ahead of time what we were doing. The self-guided walking holiday we both did a year ago around Cadaques, was very much better organised and enjoyable.

review 14 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The island of Mijet...it was so beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You might want to book with other unguided tour companies instead as this one was not very organized and directions for the walks were a joke. There directions and maps were impossible to follow. We ended up buying a map instead.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we felt the accommodation was run by local people as was transportation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday was good, not because of our holiday operator but because we were on top of them. For example our itinerary only stated accommodation dates, no pick dates or times so we never had any idea of timing when we were going to island to island. At the beginning I hadn't heard from them as to what time they would be picking us up. I emailed them on the Friday and did not hear from them until the morning of the pick up (Monday) and this was after I had emailed you. They then said they would pick us up at 12:30 pm when their previous email when we had originally booked said pick up was usually between 8:30 and 9:00 am. So we had already checked out of hotel and was waiting for them. When we reminded them of that they emailed back and said yes they could pick up at 9:30 - otherwise we would have missed a half day of walking. This set the tone for the whole trip - we always had to email in advance to see when pick ups etc. Would be happening. I believe that our tour organiser is very unorganized and does everything last minute. Not very comforting when we spent a lot of money to travel that long distance and then feel we don't have a company that plans very well taking care of our trip. There were many other issues along the way but on a positive note the accommodation was always well located and run by very nice people.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ms Jacobs Thank you for your time and feedback that you sent about our hiking tour in Croatia. I'm sorry if our tour have not met your criteria and standards, we are working very hard to provide best services for all our travellers and each constructive comment help us to improve some minor mistakes and have more satisfied clients. We, as the provider of the tour, very often depend of the other subjects and providers that we work with: flights, ferries, traffic jams, hosts and hotel owners' rules about check in and check out time... Our tour is on the islands and coast and sometimes just a small deviation of the schedule can result in a lot of changes in the transfers and logistic that we provide for the self guided tours. Very often our travellers like to change something during a tour too: some of them prefer more time on the islands, some of them on the coast, in Dubrovnik town, ...we do our best to help them, change itineraries, and be very flexible regarding their requirements. We can not let you know in advance few weeks a timetable of the services for each day, that is not possible especially when you run many self guided tours during a day. Our drivers, representatives from the company inform you during a tour about activities for the next day..that information you have in the route notes that you get from us, also we do a briefing during each time when you change the destination about next days activities. Maps and walking directions are something where we have to work on some details, but also we have sent you GPS links to the routes, they are easy to download on your iPad, smartphone, not sure why you have not use them on that way...and use hard copy maps and paper as the backup. Thank you for your comments, we hope to serve you again.

review 5 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

In Dubrovnik we met our driver, Darko, who transported us to Gruda. Along the way we learned about how our hiking trip was arranged and some history of both Croatia and the villages we were to hike from. Arriving in Gruda, we were delighted to find that our accommodations were in a spectacular old villa owned by a charming couple who immediately made us feel welcome. Our first two day hikes took us into the Konavle countryside with great views of valley floor and Adriatic Sea. These two days set the stage for all the following days: whether in Dubrovnik or the islands of Sipan and Mljet, our accommodations were first rate, the hikes all spectacular with easy to follow maps, and recommendations from Darko about restaurants and places of interest along our routes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Clothing should be light weight and comfortable. Layers are best for changing conditions. We hiked in mid-May and brought packable rain jackets that came in handy for both light rain and wind while traveling by ferry to the islands. Everyone of our party of six worn sturdy, lightweight shoes: something like trail-running shoes worked great. At our accommodations, we ofter found local liquors available for our enjoyment. Reciprocally, we always made sure to leave behind some of our own purchases. We found all of the hikes to be reasonable in terms of distance and difficulty, but all six of us are experienced hikers. To take full advantage of the hiking itinerary, people should be in moderately good physical condition.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This was absolutely the reason why we choose this itinerary. Our hosts were all locals of many generations. In Gruda, for instance, our hosts actually maintained a museum in their vast cellar were we learned more than we ever imagine about the Croatian people, their culture and history. We hiked through national parks that reinforced conservation through recycling and care for the local habitat. As in Gruda, our hosts in Dubrovnik and Mlject Island were wonderful people, enthusiastic about visit and the hiking itinerary. Besides Darko, who ferried us to the various locations, our guide for the day hike in Dubrovnik was a local resident and wealth of historical knowledge. Their mastery of the English language was amazing as was the case for all of our hosts at our various accommodations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our experience with Responsible Travel was A++ and we would look first to them when considering other travel whether foreign or domestic. For anyone considering a trip to Croatia, we would highly recommend it. We traveled the entire length of the country by rental call until reaching Dubrovnik. Spectacular countryside and very welcoming people. We couldn't have been more pleased with our hiking trip and all the very interesting people that we came upon as a result.

review 4 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walk on Mljet in the national park up to the top, with stunning views out over lakes, hills and the Adriatic; the best tuna steak ever from the small restaurant in Lapad; the war photography in the Dubrovnik gallery - the list goes on!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This tour operator is great, and one of the things we especially appreciated was their flexibility. So in retrospect we'd have asked for a 'free day' at each of the locations they arranged for our walks, so as to have more time to mooch around and explore.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We especially sought - and enjoyed - staying in small, family-run establishments where we were able to chat, to learn and to socialise. This made it more interesting for us, as opposed to somewhat anonymous hotel-staying, while ensuring our money benefitted local people and the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, and we've already started recommending it to friends and family.

review 15 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to say - each part was very different and we must admit they were all memorable. Mljet is simply gorgeous, and the experience of its salt lake swimming ( utterly private, any place you choose, all along your walks) was wonderful. Konavle was very special for the hospitality of Miho and Katje, their museum, their rocky beach, and stories of a 500-year old family history. Jelena was an excellent tour guide for Dubrovnik - a good historian utterly undaunted by the relentless questions from two old academics like ourselves. Darko and Mario as our drivers were not only punctual and efficient but also provided loads of background information about Croatia. Note- the problems with Sipan directions, noted by many other reviewers, have all been fixed with the substitution of the island Lopud - a fantastic choice which we thoroughly enjoyed, with good walks and excellent sandy beach swimming.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were happy that we brought our walking boots, as much of the ground is rough. We travelled in first week of September and it was plus 30 degrees, so we were grateful to our 50+ sun screen and swimming cossies. We also were glad that we booked an extra week afterwards to visit Split and other islands, including an extra day in Dubrovnik, as the trip just whetted our appetites for more.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday provider really does the bit in reaching out to small family run local bnbs, and particularly in bringing tourists out to the lovely valley of Konavle which is not likely on many tourist wish lists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Top notch. We hope to book with the holiday provider again, through Rosy. We will definitely return to Croatia for another of their walking holidays.

review 30 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our stay on Mjert. A very good B&B on this beautiful island, with Sipan a close second.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We suggest that people combine the two walks on Mjert. We started with the shorter walk that took us on to the top of the hill. From there, we went down the rough track (which was easy to walk) to the village by the sea, where there is very nice cafe, right on the shore. From there, we continued on until we intersected the longer walk, which we joined and completed, including the optional circuit at the 'far end'. A really memorable walk. (I hope this is clear, but I do not have the map so am unable to remember the names. If you need more information, please don't hesitate to email me - johngc66@gmail.com)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We benefited enormously from the local people in all locations, including all of your very helpful and friendly staff, the owners of the places where we stayed and the people in the bars and restaurants. On Mjert, a small group of local men sang lovely songs in the bar beside the sea - the one opposite the first restaurant on the right, approaching from the B&B (great food too). Really memorable singing and a lovely memory.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really wonderful. The not-always-reliable weather forecast did not matter - I suspect making forecasts is especially difficult in this mountainous region. We would like to make some suggestions ( helpful, we hope) about some of the instructions. They should make it easier for UK people to understand: 1 Walk Tusici - Gruda - Radovcici - seas coast: It would be better to replace the word 'Macadam' with 'unmade-up road' and replace 'asphalt' with 'tarmac'. Paragraph 5 of the instructions - beginning with 'Follow macadam road and serpentines...' were impossible for us to understand. We tried three times (taking an hour) and eventually found that we should have just turned right down the main, tarmac road and head for Coral. On the next page, in paragraph 1 starting 'after 80 m.....' it would be helpful to say that one 'rejoins the railroad' - although 'disused rail track' might be a better phrase than 'railroad'. 2 Walk Sipan Island: paragraph 3 beginning 'Continue....'. Instead of '50m', the sign by the road says 500m, which confused us! So we walked on towards the sea, way beyond the church on our left as we thought there must be another church, 450m further on! In the event, it was a very beautiful additional walk so no harm was done. Thank you once again for a very wonderful holiday. You can be sure that we will encourage friends to use your company. Best wishes John and Louise Goss-Custard

review 9 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the diversity of the Croatian countryside - from the coast, to the inland and its islands.Croatia has stunning natural beauty and warm, welcoming people. The transfers from Tomi and his team were very well orchestrated.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring mosquito repellent! Also be prepared to make adjustments to the directions provided. One time we had to divert due to a bull in the field - he looked a bit too ready to charge :)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We very much enjoyed staying with local hosts and having the opportunity to interact with them and learn about Croatia. The hosts provided seasonal fruits for breakfasts, often home-grown as well as home-made jams. The hosts also were helpful in providing tips on where to eat locally and what sights to enjoy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded our expectations! We loved it. The walking was a great way to engage with the countryside and view local life. The days on Mljet was very relaxing.

review 2 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying Croatia its culture, people and its natural beauty.I had an absolute ball and everything went to plan thanks to Tomi and his team.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Gain a detailed understanding of the location to take advantage of opportunities that are available to optimise your stay.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so probably my only contribution is an economic one that provides employment an income.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really great, exceeded my expectations.

review 18 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to mention! We absolutely loved swimming off the nearly-empty beach in turquoise water in one of our days in Konavle, we loved the amazing dinner in a private home that the b&b owner in Konavle organised for us, we loved getting the cable car up over Dubrovnik and watching the sun set and the lights of the city go on, and we loved all three (very different but each fabulous in their own way) b&bs. I think Mijet would have been spectacular, but unfortunately we had a thunderstorm the say we were there (didn't stop us doing a 20km walk though!).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a really fabulous holiday if you want to combine walking with seeing the local area, swimming, or relaxing in beautiful scenery. If you want dawn to dusk walking, this trip is probably not for you, as the suggested routes are generally somewhere between 8 and 12 Km per day (one day we managed 20 by combining two options). The other thing I would suggest is that travelers be aware what they are in for at the end of the season. We traveled from 24th to 31st Oct (the last week that the trip runs I believe) and in Mijet (where we had two nights) there was only one (expensive) restaurant open (though there was a shop and the b&b had a kitchen so we cooked one day), and all of the boats to take you across the lake, the options to rent kayaks, the ability to have lunch in the monastry all of which was on the guide, all of the restaurants... everything was closed. There wasn't a person in sight!! Mijet looked absolutely incredible, and if we were there earlier in the season when all of these things had been options, I think we would happily have spent much longer there. Only other thing to say was that the walking instructions / directions for the Sipan day were truly terrible!! We managed to get to our destination in the end, but there are no distance references (so you dont know if it is 100m or 1000m until the next instruction) and there are references to things like "a wall on your right with olive trees" - do you know how many walls and olive groves there are on the island?! Also not really sure why we went to Sipan! The town at the other end of the island was pretty with nice swimming, but the walk was not very scenic! I would suggest a different island or another day in Mijet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! We absolutely loved the fact that we were in local b&bs rather than big commercial hotels, and the dinner organised by the b&b owner in Konavle was one of our highlights.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous break. I would definitely have given it 4 stars, were it not for the points mentioned in number 2 (around things being closed in Mijet and Sipan being a bit underwhelming!). The operator however was truly fabulous. Absolutely 100% organised and hassle free; driven from a to b every time with an on-time and friendly driver, all tickets sorted in advance, absolutely everything sorted and smooth. Brilliant company, and a great holiday. I wish I could be back there now!

review 16 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was learning from our hostess and guides the impact of the Homeland War. The most exciting was the trip to Mljet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for unsettled weather in early October. Read and study the directions for self-guided walks. At times the directions we had were hard to follow and on more than one occasion wrong.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday benefitted local people by staying in privately run B & Bs. The environment benefitted by walking to see the country, rather that always using motorized transportation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An inspiring holiday from the places visited to the better understanding of Croatian history and the horrible trials of the Balkan wars.

review 25 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our stay on Mljet was fabulous, the accommodation with Nada was in a beautiful spot, right next to the sea and walking through the forest to the salt lakes was glorious. Also the surprise of being taken round Katje and Miho's amazing house and joining them and their friends in the evening.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Two things. Reading up a bit on recent Balkan history could help understand what happened to the country. Secondly, a pair of shoes you can go into the water in, say jelly shoes, would make the rocky beaches more comfortable!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation in the countryside, especially Nada's, used locally sourced food and all the hotels/bed and breakfasts seemed locally owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved it. The walking was relaxed and you could really walk as much or as little as you wanted. By the end of our week, when it was getting quite hot in the afternoon we just sat under an olive tree in the garden, ate a picnic, read a book and watched the yachts go by. Lovely

review 31 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting under the skin of the city by staying at local B&B's. People were so welcoming and helpful. Walking around the Old City walls of Drubrovnik; visiting islands that seem to be in a time warp......

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for very variable weather even if the forecast is good; take waterproof/windproof and something warm as well as the usual shorts and T-shirt. Eating out was about the same as in the UK but generally better value.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly by staying at privately owned apartments and homes and by booking direct with the company owner in Dubrovnik, we felt our money was going directly into local hands. Good use of ferries and local buses avoided the need for a hire car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A well balanced interesting trip with fantastic scenery, history, wonderful people, excellent food and a good mix of countryside and city options.

review 2 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking the walls of Dubrovnik - what a stunning city - and swimming in the lake on Mljet. Almost no litter, nor neon hoardings and not much in the way of posterboards - lovely!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack your boots and swimming togs and get ready to have a great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Croatian economy and people certainly benefited - hard working and impressive people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - we had a wonderful time and are thinking when we can go back.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies