46 independent reviews for Archaeology holiday in Greece

Reviews for Archaeology holiday in Greece

SHOW
27
19
0
0
0

review 2 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a superb week for all sorts of reasons: 1) The variety of activities and sites resulted in a very full and very enjoyable week. Delphi was best of the sites (in our opinion). It's position on the hillside gave us fantastic views of the countryside around. The bike, caves, wine tasting, hike and cooking lessons all added to the experience. 2) The hotels were all excellent in their own way. In Tripoli (5 nights) we had a suite, so plenty of room to relax. In Galaxidi (1 night) we were in a boutique style hotel that did a great breakfast - A real taste of a Greek fishing village. In Athens (1 night) we were in a city hotel just down from the acropolis. 3) The organisation. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were dropped back there, everything went so smoothly. We didn't have to think about what we would do each day, how we would get places - It was all taken care of. 4) The staff. Angelos (our driver for the week) was friendly and informative. Dimitri (who joined us for two days) and the chap who did the cooking class (sorry I forget his name) were also a pleasure to be with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry about the bike or the hike - neither are strenuous. Don't think that you have to pay the extra for the guides. We didn't and didn't feel that we missed out - There was so much information available to read. In fact, it gave us more time on the sites and less in the museums (where the couple we were with who had a guide seemed to spend a lot longer). Remember that the Greeks eat late (lunch after 3pm and dinner after 9pm). If you want / need to eat earlier, make sure your driver knows.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the people from the tour company were locals and they make sure that they use small local companies (the hotels, wine tasting, etc.). So, yes it definitely benefits the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just excellent. This is the second small group tour we have done (the first in Spain two years ago). It is definitely the way to see lots and have the burden of organisation taken off of you. I don't think I could have fitted as much in if I had tried to organise it myself - it certainly would have been more stressful and probably cost more.

review 1 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed biking each day to new archaeological sites and trying to piece together Greek history and culture from this experience. The majority of the biking was on quiet roads and we saw a large variety of places in just six days of biking - from hilly olive groves, to flat orange groves, from wooded areas to riding along the coast, to seeing many archaeological sites and museums as well as natural areas including an excellent cave tour. The Greek people we met were the most authentically friendly people I have ever met on my travels. The restaurant and site recommendations were excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are deathly afraid of dogs, this may not be the trip for you. We did not have any problems with the dogs - no chases and certainly no bites, but they are very common and will bark from behind a fenced area which can be a little frightening if you are not expecting it. This is a great trip if you are interested in the archaeologic sites and history of Greece.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Biking is certainly a great way to see new areas. And we spent money of course on food from grocery stores and restaurants. Some of the hotels could have been better about not washing towels each day. We tried to tell them we didn't want them to do anything in the room but some hotels just can't seem to do that.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent tour.

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Les visites des sites de Mycènes et d'Epidaure.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Nous recommandons d'effectuer ce voyage hors saison car il y a toujours du monde sur tous les sites réputés.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Oui, car les chauffeurs et guides vivent tous dans la région et que les sites sont tout autour du principal hôtel de résidence à Tripoli. Les trajets sont réduits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Nous avons beaucoup apprécié ce circuit dans un tout petit groupe (3). Notre chauffeur guide, Angelo, a été aux petits soins tout au long du voyage ; nous déposant au plus près et nous récupérant quand les visites étaient terminées. Les sites étaient intéressants et peu fréquentés, sauf à Athènes, capitale oblige. Les hôtels étaient bien choisis et de bonne tenue. Le tour à vélo, le cours de cuisine, le pique-nique, les visites du vignoble et de la grotte étaient bien sympathiques pour varier les plaisirs. Circuit très agréable que nous recommandons vivement.

review 1 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exiting part of our holiday was visiting the ancient archaeological sites and learning from the professional guides how they were organised and functioned. Particularly memorable were visits to Delphi and Olympia and the museums. Other highlights included visits to an industrial museum showing how they used to make gunpowder, tanned leather, and ground flour using only the power of water - and a cookery class where yours truly made a Greek salad from locally grown produce. Another memorable event (unfortunately) was storm Zorba, which brought heavy rains, strong winds and chilly temperatures. Unusual for late September. Particular praise to our driver/guide Demetris who was was very professional and looked after us very well. He was a mine of information about Greece and its history. And he arranged to take us to Corinth, which wasn't on the itinerary.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack your walking boots/shoes and be prepared to do a good bit of walking over some steep paths and tracks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotels at Tripoli and Galaxidi provided very spacious accommodation and a friendly atmosphere and benefited the local people running them and the small businesses and restaurants in the area. I speak a little Greek, which was greatly appreciated by the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - it delivered everything we expected and more! Book early to avoid disappointment!

review 24 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

ALL OF IT!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As a couple we were lavishly treated: a very generous-sized hotel apartment in Tripoli with an enormous balcony, and a spacious hotel room in Athens that was nearly as high as it was long. We felt a little bit awkward however when discussing our accommodation with the other two 'single' members of our party, since they reported that their rooms (and beds) were smaller, for which they had to pay a single supplement.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Throughout we were encouraged to interact with the locals and the community: experts enthusiastically giving us insights into their cuisine, their history, their olives, their wines, and their (delicious) orange cake; a monk sincerely welcoming us to his monastery with Turkish, no, I mean, Greek Delight; and the stray dogs and cats benefiting from our doting attention.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall the holiday was brilliant. Well-organised, packed with a variety of activities and sights, and all staff and guides were very friendly, patient, knowledgeable and helpful (especially Michaelis, who was always at our beck and call). We could niggle over our mini-bus being replaced with a saloon car for the last half of the trip and being squashed in the car for a five hour drive. We could moan that there was less time to relax than the schedule/itinerary led us to believe (the afternoon option to go to the coast on the second day was not an option due to the lack of time). But, is there anything we did not enjoy? The answer is ABSOLUTELY NOT. It was an unforgettable holiday, for all the right reasons!

review 26 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the mountains of the Peloponnese, visiting ancient monasteries and seeing all the wonderful wildlife to be found there in the lush and beautiful deciduous forest, this was followed by a wonderful picnic on the banks of the lovely mountain river.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

be prepared for a packed week, there will be so much to do and see visiting many places that are off the tourist trail so bring good sturdy walking boots and insect repellent, I also wore mosquito repellent socks and they were well worth the investment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday definitely benefited local people as we used local guides and bought locally made goods where possible, eating in village taverna's and of course slaking our thirst with Greek beer! As a group we tried to minimise our impact on the environment by not littering and staying to official footpaths when walking round sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very memorable holiday that will remain in the memory for many years, would definitely do something like this again.

review 3 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the ancient site of Delphi

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Good walking boots and possibly a stick.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an excellent holiday - helpful staff, great hotels and good logistics

review 21 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling along the quiet roads to Tegea was a high point.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To be prepared for the amount of walking on steep, rough and uneven ground. To be aware of highly skilled pickpockets in central Athens - my purse was stolen just before I left and another guest at the hotel also had her ID stolen.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Having the hotel based in Tripoli is a definite advantage for the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - very well organised with informative guides who all spoke English very well. Wonderful way to get to know Greek ancient history and culture along with contemporary aspects (cooking class, wine tasting).

review 1 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mystras, Epidaurus Theatre, Olympia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Participants need to be agile and have a moderate level of fitness.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were 8 guests in an 8 seater bus which was two too many. The middle seat of row 2 and 3 provided limited viewing and little seating support. This bus should carry no more than 6 guests. The driver (in our case Dimitris) could do with a microphone so that all guests can hear his conversation with the guests in the front seat. The external guides at an "optional" extra cost were variable in quality. Some appeared to have degree or above qualifications relevant to archeology and were engaging. Others seemed confined to a script and rebutted delving questions. The final guide on a rainy morning at the Athens Acropolis showed very poor judgement in the management of our tour.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Peter, Thank you for your review and your comments. This tour is one of the cheapest tours that you can find despite the fact that we offer high quality services. It's the first time that we hear about our van which has 8 comfortable seats for the passengers. It is the biggest and most spacious 8 seater van in market, suitable for 8 passengers. Of course, in any case that our client need to have more space, we can accommodate the request with an extra charge. We collaborate with the best licensed Archaeology guides. On top of that we we choose the guides who are communicative and use them every time, as they make the whole experience unique. The guide in Athens was a last minute change, due to a sudden illness of the guide that we usually use. Of course we will take into account your comment. Thank you

review 28 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hike up into the mountains to visit the monasteries in the Lousios Gorge.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take good walking shoes, and be reasonably fit. You climb many, many steps, and although the hike to the monasteries is optional, it is very well worth doing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. It was varied. The guides were good. The cycling and the hiking (optional) were both really enjoyable. The museums were fascinating and the archeological sites themselves were truly amazing and very, very interesting. I didn't like the hotel in Tripoli, and find that as a solo traveller, in spite of paying a huge amount extra for a single supplement, one always seems to get palmed off with small rooms while the 'couples' get far bigger and better rooms.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time in our tour and enjoyed the activities, too. We are happy we were able to provide you a pleasant holiday and show you the most important archeological sites of Greece! As for the hotel in Tripoli, Palatino hotel is the best hotel in Tripoli based on the reviews and the comments of the guests so far. The amount of the single supplement payed wasn't huge as it is 125 euros for 7 night accommodation. This extra charge is because of the price per person of a single room is higher than the price per person of a double room. We hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.

review 27 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole thing really. From start to finish I was so well looked after by Dimitri our driver and guide. It literally was a dream holiday, and even four months later, I still think about it everyday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You should have absolutely no concerns whatsoever booking with this company. At every stage of booking I was well looked after and I was completely looked after from pick up from Athens airport to drop off to the same airport. Do it! You will never regret it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people in that any tourism generally helps by injecting some wealth into the economy, but also it very much allowed me to connect to the local people, avoid tourist traps and have real conversations about the situation in Greece. Being based in Tripoli which is not a tourist centre allowed me to experience the Greece that the Greeks live. For example, being in the central piazza as night fell and all the families came out to play, sing, eat, talk and live.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Simply, just wonderful.

review 7 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visits to Ancient Olympia and Delphi. But everything was fascinating so it's hard to name one thing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Remember that inland Peloponnese is mountainous and so nights are cooler than on the coast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it definitely benefited local people as it was locally based, used small family run hotels, and visited many places off the mass tourist routes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent trip, with a full and varied itinerary that enabled us to see as many of the ancient sites as possible in a week.

review 21 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was exciting!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask for the names of the hotels and research where you are going. Read up on the local customs and language a bit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip! We saw a number of major archaeological sites and took part in other activities. Difficult to choose the best day really - they were all excellent. Sparta, Ancient Tegea, Mistras, Olympia, Delphi.... the best thing was doing this trip in a small group led by Greeks who knew the area really well and who were excellent company. We learned a lot about modern Greek life as well as improving our knowledge of ancient Greece.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Right footwear for visiting ancient sites- they are often dusty and the marble floors slippy. It was v hot whilst we were there but rain would also make the sites a footwear challenge so good grippy sensible shoes important.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed for a number of nights at Tripoli - a non tourist town in the heart of the Pelopennese. So money was spent in local hotels, shops restaurants which otherwise would not have had tourist money. Particularly important in Greece at the moment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent! We would book again with the same company and will probably do so for next year's holiday. Teenage daughter also loved it. One of the best family holidays ever.

review 23 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to isolate one part as it was all so memorable. The ruins at Epidaurus were particularly spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come ready for a very special experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We very much appreciated the fact that we stayed away from touristy places and thanks to the local knowledge of our guide Dimitris we felt more in touch with local life, culture and food than is usual with the normal tourist experience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would rate this a 5 star experience. Brilliantly put together in terms of what we saw and when, knowledgeable guides who added to our grasp of Greek history and culture, excellent quality rooms and meals, and superbly organised.

review 15 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the ancient sites - especially Olympia and Delphi. Walking down the gorge past the monasteries. Seeing parts of Greece we might otherwise not have visited - gave us a whole new appreciation of Greece Cooking class was great. Good companionship with others on the trip. Staying 5 nights in the same place - very comfortable room Dimitri was very approachable, helpful and great fun

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take some wet weather gear in case of rain Read about the areas before hand to get the most out of your visits - the itinerary may be flexible if there is something specific you want to see

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fabulous time and would highly recommend it to others

review 13 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a wonderful tour of ancient Greek archaeological sites throughout the Peloponnese and Attica. Everyday was filled with activities of visiting archaeological sites, a cave, mountain monasteries, biking, climbing, and walking around Greece. The entire trip was memorable and I loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is an activity tour so do make sure you bring proper foot gear as there is a lot of walking - which I loved. The tour isn't strenuous but does require ease of mobility.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our travels allowed us to interact with and support the businesses of local establishments such as vineyards, restaurants, hotels, and was done by car and then foot or bike. In all these we were not herded on giant buses and our engagement with folks and the country was respectful and thoughtful. I was pleased with our transportation, our rooms, and the food we had access to - all of which was fresh and locally produced. At one site - for wine tasting - the proprietor picked walnuts from her trees and provided them as a snack, along with cherry juice made from her neighbor's cherry trees.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our trip was excellent and our tour guides absolutely marvelous and they ensured we had a great trip and that all our needs were met. Truly a wonderful trip and when we return to Greece - and we will - I will call our operator to guide us again.

review 23 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering extraordinary 'treasures' that I'd known little about prior to this trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it! it's wonderful!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much! This was a small, personalised tour, in which we got to know a number of 'locals' (including the excellent driver, Dimitris), stayed in accommodation owned by locals, and had many 'off the beaten track', authentically Greek experiences.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Informative. Fun. well organised. I'd consider doing it again - the sights, the walks, the archaeological exposure were fantastic.

review 17 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing all the ancient sites, especially "Agamemnon's tomb" at Mycenae, theatre at Epidaurus, all of Delphi, Olympia, also the Byzantine city of Mystras. Also loved the activities, e.g. cycling, walking in the gorge, visits to cave, winery, and fish dinners at Astros and Galaxidi

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a very small group. In my case I was the only person on the tour although an activity holiday was running in parallel so I got to meet other people. Wear walking shoes or boots with a good grip as some of the paths are slippery or uneven.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, obviously helped local hotels and staff, and the meals used excellent local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great experience. Many thanks to Dimitris for being the perfect guide and good company. A lot of thought was put into making this an exciting and varied holiday.

review 3 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting archaeological sites that I had only read about previously. As I was the only one on this tour, I was given very special attention by my tour guide/driver, Mikhalis and the other guides at the sites.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was very hot. I would probably leave booking it till October.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I did. Always ate at local cafes and visited local shops. The only environmental impact was the use of a car but that was essential considering the distances covered.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The tour operator did everything they could to make my tour memorable, and I heartily thank them.

review 11 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really enjoyed visiting Olympia and Galaxidi. Hotel Ganimede was very memorable!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This seems to be geared more towards families (or at least the week I went). As a young single person, I felt a little out of place and did not have much in common with my group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we supported local businesses and made as little environmental impact as we could.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great! Demitris, Angelo and Mihales were well-prepared and great guides.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Mandy, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. The specific tour is mostly adult oriented, however there are times included different types of participents. Especially if you follow the activity version is it likely there would be children participate in the activity. I am glad that you enjoyed our trip overall. Kind regards, Vasiliki Damoka

review 17 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

the friendly people, the rich and fascinating history and the lovely weather

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

go in april

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

not sure

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Maryam, thank you for leaving a review and mentioning the wonderful travel experiences you had with us. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to clarify that we are a company fully aligned with the policies of Responsible Travel. We are a local company and all our guides and employees are locals. We also choose our cooperators, like restaurants, hotels etc. to be owned by locals as well. According to our Responsible Travel policy we recycle paper and plastic and we also use them as less as possible. Last but not least, we have a reforestation programme for the mountains of Peloponnese in which we offer 1% of each holiday package for the environment. We hope to welcome you soon and create new memories for you and your friends. Sincerely, Vasiliki Damoka

review 1 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Standing in 'Agamemnon's tomb' in Mycenae; seeing the perfectly preserved theatre at Epidauros.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday fits a lot into a few days - both archaelogical sites, and some walking. It is better suited to those wanting intellectual stimulation than those wanting pure relaxation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it used a local travel company, locally run hotels, and trained local guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An enjoyable and efficient way of visiting many major archaeological sites, and also of participating in other activities such as local wine-tasting, all in congenial company.

review 17 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Well I loved it all, from the rural, barely excavated sites to the majestic Parthenon. It was a memorable journey through a fascinating history of a beautiful land, packed with information, legends, funny asides. The specialist guides were brilliant, pointing us to the key features of each site which immediately made them accessible rather than overwhelming. Dimitri- our day to day guide and driver, was fantastic, attentive yet relaxed. The fact that going at the time I did, at the beginning of October, meant that my small group had lots of sites pretty much to ourselves. The weather was unusually warm, we did loads but were unhurried and managed a swim in the sea. I loved that everyone we encountered was genuinely enthusiastic about their heritage, language, food and everything else throughout the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take mosquito/ bug cream- we thought we'd escaped til we did the gorge walk. The most local cafe just around the corner from the hotel in Tripoli- friendly, fast, tasty, filling after a long day site-seeing. The helpful folk at Arcas found me a couple of nights by the sea in Loutraki before the main holiday. I'd recommend it as a wind down from work. I swam in the sea, enjoyed good local seafood, walked up the steep footpath at the back of the town to visit a shrine at the Monastery Saint Patapios and had the most fantastic view all along the coast to Corinth and beyond. The second day I decided to visit the thermal spa. Coming from Bath, a spa town in the west of England, I wanted to compare the experience. I managed to have an excellent massage too- not something you'd be able to arrange in Bath thermal spa at short notice.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel the company took steps to support local people, for example, employing local people as drivers and guides, visiting the wine making family and local bars and cafes. The company offer cycling options for site-seeing which has a low environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This holiday exceeded my expectations, it was well paced. Thanks to everyone involved, including my fellow holiday makers who were great company. Simply one of the best holidays I have ever been on.

review 25 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views, which were spectacular in all places! As an avid history lover every day was exciting for me, astounding museums at each location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring plenty of water as some places as expected are very hot, also some places have steep hills to climb up for the best views so bringing the most suitable shoes for such tasks would be helpful. For the real history lovers as it is not included in the tour a visit to the National Archaeological Museum in Athens is a must as all the major finds in most locations visited are located in that museum if you want to see the real finds and not replicas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Extremely enjoyable, very educational, drivers/guides are very knowledgeable and kind, give you your own space when needed and do their very best to help everyone on the trip! The locations visited are beyond beautiful!

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing and learning about ancient Olympia. It is a beautiful archaeological site. The expert guide (Joanna) provided by the tour was exceptional. We were fortunate in that the day we were there we saw the lighting of the Olympic Torch for the Brazil games. This was certainly a chance in a life time--a most memorable one.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask for the guide/driver, Dimitri Giotis. He is excellent in every way--intelligent and amusing. Go in mid to late April; the weather was perfect, and wildflowers grow in and among the ruins.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Since we were stationed in Tripoli which is centrally located to many of the sites we saw, you go each day in a small van or car. Therefore there are no large buses involved. One does not have to pack you bag each night to move to another hotel which is great for the more mature traveler. The hotel in Tripoli, the Palatino was very nicely appointed. We were given a suite with a separate bedroom, kitchen and balcony--very comfortable. The breakfast buffet each morning was excellent with many choices.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give this tour the highest rating. My husband and I felt totally taken care of, with never a worry. The price was about half of what one would pay for a similar tour with a USA-based company.

review 20 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved traveling with the guides--they treated us like family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 12 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to name one, the ancient Greek sights, Delphi and Olympia were incredible but also the activities such as hiking to the monasteries and seeing the countryside was really interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We paid the extra for the guides at the main sights, they were very good and really bought the places alive.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we really thought it benefited the local people, we were not staying in a very touristy area to begin with.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a fantastic holiday, the tour guides were wonderful, the itinerary is really good, you see Ancient sights as well as activities such as hiking to monastires, wine tasting and cycling which means you see more of Greece.

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Delphi is extraordinary, as expected. Olympia is a real surprise - much richer than just athletics. Mycenae is beautiful and moving. Lousios Gorge fascinating. Athens much pleasanter than expected - evens the Acropolis crowds were bearable. The Museums are a very high standard, and what they contain is of the highest!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the professional guides - 3 out of 4 were excellent and enriched the experience enormously.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all three to some extent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lovely experience - Dimitri, the leader, worked really hard, but with a light touch, to make everything go smoothly and cheerfully, and we were met with friendliness and a welcome everywhere. Quite a bit of travelling, but if the company is okay.....

review 4 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to say, as the whole holiday was brilliant. For me, I would probably just go for the trip to Mycenae, as it had been a long-held wish to go there, and it didn't disappoint! For my partner, it was the visit to Ancient Olympia - she loved the whole atmosphere of seeing where the first games were actually held. And the night in Galaxidi was wonderfully relaxing after the busy schedule of visiting the archaeological sites.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To be aware that this is not generally a relaxing holiday, as, in order to get to the number of sites we visited, we had to get up relatively early in the mornings. This was fine with us, but might not be for some (as I've already said, there are some relaxing times, such as at Galaxidi). You need to have a basic level of fitness, as the holiday involves a fair amount of walking. We also did a hike along the Lousios Gorge, and while I understand this is optional, it is really enjoyable and you get to see some ancient monasteries, so I would really recommend doing this. You need to be open to getting on with others, as the groups on the holiday can be small - there were only four of us on our holiday, which was great (though groups can be bigger than this). We felt it was also worth paying the extra for the professional guides at the different sites - they definitely enhanced the experience of visiting the sites.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely benefits local Greeks, as the local operator is a Greek company, employing Greek people as their escorts/guides. This was great, as our escort also spoke excellent English - it was very helpful having someone who spoke fluent Greek taking us round! He was also able to answer our questions later that might not have occurred to us when at a particular site, and gave us an insight into what was happening in Greece economically, socially etc, which was very interesting. As for reducing environmental impacts, because for the first part of the holiday we were based in one place and travelled there and back each day, this meant we weren't travelling long distances to different hotels every day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Both my partner and I felt it was one of the very best holidays we've been on. Because of the small size of the group, we felt we got personal attention from our escort/guide, who was brilliant - he was extremely helpful and accommodating. The hotels we stayed in were great (except possibly the one in Athens - great location but not brilliant room, but I heard from others they felt similarly about another hotel in Athens, so maybe that's par for the course!). We also arranged an extra few days at the end of the holiday, staying an extra night in Athens - we did an afternoon trip to Cape Sounio and the Temple of Poseidon, which was wonderful - and a few nights on the island of Hydra. The holiday provider arranged all this for us - the hotel on Hydra was fantastic - so we were extremely happy with everything they did for us.

review 10 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling out of Tripoli to the archaeological museum and nearby archaeological site at Mantinea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a good camera with a large memory card and a good pair of shoes/trainers

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The main beneficiaries of this holiday would be the local hoteliers and tavern owners. The cycling trip is the only activity which would help minimise carbon emissions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was about the best holiday I have ever been on; with excellent licensed guides informing us of the archaeology in the historical Peloponnese and in Athens. I enjoyed very much hiking through the Lousios Gorge and bike ride out of Tripoli to the archaeological museum and nearby archaeological site at Mantinea. What also made this holiday special was that we did some of the activities with the participants on the sport/activity holiday also carried out by the holiday provider which was great fun. The hotels were very good. My aim on going on this holiday was to learn and view Peloponnese archaeology and historic sites, especially the Oracle at Delphi, Ancient Olympia and the Acropolis in Athens and I was very happy to achieve these objectives.

review 27 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to say. All of it was very good.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is really advice for the tour operator, rather than for future travellers: There is lots of unmet tourist potential in Tripoli. The archeological museum could be better advertised; there is a wonderful walk up the hill to Saints Theodores, and this could be better signposted and a map issued - and in general an informative map of Tripoli would be a good idea. St. George's Park could go on it. Bike hire as an option for a spare afternoon could be better advertised. Perhaps it's time Tripoli got a tourism strategy and a tourist office. There is plenty of potential in the surrounding area. A few other things: The hotel in Tripoli was very good; friendly staff; nice balcony - although someone needs to do something about the noisy pack of dogs outside: and parts of the town could do with being tidied up. A really interesting cookery lesson. Elsewhere: Hotel Paulus does an amazing breakfast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was all organised by local people. We're not sure about the environmental impact, as there was lots of driving: but that's simply because there is so little public transport, which isn't the locals' fault. And at least the minibus was full.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good. Easily lived up to expectations.

review 5 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the hike to the monastery in the cliff, which took us through the woods and over beautiful rivers. We even encountered horses on the path. The views from the monastery were breathtaking. After the hike we had a picnic by the river which was a great reward. I also really enjoyed the cave, which was fascinating. The wine tasting experience was charming. The cooking class and group dinner afterward was also really nice. Our night stay at the seaside village was another great highlight. The museums were really great. The visit to the Oracles of Delphi was amazing. Seeing the Parthenon lit up at night was awe inspiring. It was an overall amazing holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure to have comfortable shoes and a hat to protect you from the sun. A light backpack is also a good idea to carry a jacket, umbrella, and water.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was a small group of eight so we toured in a mini van instead of a huge bus, which is better for the environment. I feel that our holiday benefited local people. We stayed at hotels owned by locals, not large corporations. We visited a winery that is owned by a local family and we were able to purchase some of their wine. The tour company is owned by locals, and employs locals including our wonderful driver and the guides that accompanied us at the various sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful holiday. Because we were a small group our guide was able to make sure we were well cared for. I highly recommend this trip.

review 8 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one moment out of so many memorable ones but the walk through the river valley past old and new monasteries (Moni Agiou Ioanni Prodromou) was wonderful. All the guides were knowledgeable and humorous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe it was beneficial economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, well organised, informative and great fun. Wonderful memories of our visit to the Peloponesse.

review 26 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The archaeology activity holiday was a fabulous trip! We were enthralled by the rugged beauty of the hills, mountains and valleys of the Peloponnese and the ancient sites and monuments we visited. The ruins of Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, and the byzantine city of Mystras with its fortified castle were among the many highlights of our journey. The most memorable part of the holiday was our hike along the Lousios gorge that ended with a wonderful picnic among the ruins of Gortys, an ancient healing centre. Along the way, we visited a 10th century byzantine monastery built right into the mountainside, which gave "living rough" a whole new meaning. Our tour guides were a treasure trove of information on the history of the sites we visited, and we can't thank our drivers, Pavlos and Demetrius, enough for their kindness, local knowledge and hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Our trip was at Easter time, so it's a good idea to bring warm clothing since the temperatures can dip down, particularly during the early morning and the evening at that time of year.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday benefited local people because of the breadth of activities we participated in, and the employment related to those activities. Dining out at the local restaurants was a great experience in terms of the quality of the meals and local wines, and the warm welcome we received. The reforestation project supported by the operator was described to us when we drove through the Mount Menalo area devastated by fires in 2007.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would rate the archaeology activity holiday overall as among the best holidays we've had in Europe. It was one of our dreams to be able to visit the remains of the ancient civilizations of Greece, and this tour enabled us to see Greece's greatest ancient sites. Thank you for the opportunity to share our experiences. Ellen and Ryan Taylor

review 26 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The principal ancient Greek sites, i.e., Mycenae, Epidaurus, Olympia, Delphi and the Acropolis, were remarkable, interesting and positively memorable. The people we interacted with throughout our holiday, including Christos and his father, the drivers, the specialized tour guides, the hotel staff, and restaurant and shopkeepers were extremely warm and friendly. The topography was interesting and diverse.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be open to experiencing these sites in a way that may differ from your expectations based on what you have read or heard. Be prepared for a fair amount of walking. Try to spend at least one additional day in Athens.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The hotel we stayed at in Tripoli (i.e., for most of the tour) is family-owned (and very well-operated and amenitized), and our base was such that we ate at local restaurants. Our drivers and tour guides were also local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, it was a great holiday that reinforced our interest in and enthusiasm about Greek history and archaeology, and left a very positive impression about Greek hospitality.

review 20 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Although I chose this holiday as it offered opportunities to visit the most important archaeological sites of the region,especially for me, Mycenae, it is, surprisingly,not those wonderful sites that impressed my memory. The most memorable moments were unexpected. Our driver / guide took us up into the mountains to one of his favourite sites, ancient Orchomenos, where we stood in the lonely excavated theatre, just the five of us, with the majestic hills as the most perfect backdrop. Timeless!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This was a most enjoyably active holiday with plenty of great walks. Remember that the ancient Greeks were fit and lived on the top of hills! bring comfortable footwear and enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so, although it is hard, as a tourist to make that assessment. Our drivers, guides etc were all very local.The company seemed to be a small, actively independent provider making use of enthusiastic and interested local resources. Tripoli is not the most exciting town for a base, as a tourist,but the hotel was friendly and our flexible driver guides kept us busy with interesting local knowledge of places to go and things to do.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I enjoyed it very much. We were a small group which I think is an advantage. I got to explore the places I had wished to see. If I have one minor criticism, it is that I would have liked longer in Mycenae. However, our driver / guides added so much more, taking us to fascinating and out of the way places where we had sites and museums to ourselves. And,of course there was the picnic in the spa of Asclepius at ancient Gortys! Yes, it was fun as well as informative. (4 stars because the 5 star wording is OTT!)

review 8 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many highlights, but Mystras stands out. I felt like I was walking through Minas Tirith!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy a thoroughly fascinating and beautiful country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes; small local businesses were used.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful holiday: friendly staff; excellent accommodation; knowledgeable and friendly tour guides; and an excellent, extremely interesting itinerary.

review 12 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Christos and his professional and friendly approach to showing us his part of the world - the Peloponnese. We will have lasting memories of the wonderful ancient sites, beautiful villages and towns, fantastic food and the friendly people of this diverse and attractive region

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely stay at the one central hotel while touting different locations of the Peloponnese. We would highly recommend the Palatino in Tripoli, which is immaculately clean, has large rooms and best of all has very professional and warm service. Also, take the bicycle option for a couple of days to just relax and take in the beautiful scenery.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at a family run hotel inTripoli felt more like we were supporting local people than other popular towns and also we ate at local restaurants. We will donate to a tree conservation fund to re-Forrest areas burnt out after large fires.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have already highly recommended this trip to other friends as it offers so much variety through truly stunning areas of Greece. We will continue to let people know about this tour and how fantastic it is.

review 17 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed all of it! Exciting to see the original running track at Olympia, Mystras was spectacular, and the Acropolis Museum is amazing - both the building and the contents.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some long mornings visiting sites; but there is time in the afternoon/evenings to relax. Recommend at least an extra day in Athens as there is lots to see.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a hotel run by a local family, ate in local restaurants and were driven/escorted by local people and had local guides at the sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent; the standard of the hotels was high and everyone we met was friendly and keen to promote Greece and interest us in Greek archaeololgy, history and heritage.

review 5 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking on tracks that were not tourist tracks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with it. You can read up on everything Greek but nothing beats spending time and talking with people from the area, which this holiday, and the package the oeprator put together, allowed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is always difficult to gauge these impacts but at every opportunity you felt you were contributing something.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

100%.

review 5 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to Olympia. Even the vegetation was beautiful and the local guide (Saskia) was wonderful- well-informed, warm and interesting. Of course, throughout, our two overall guides (Christos, who runs Arkas Travel, and Pavlos [sp.?]) were what made the whole week special. Both made every possible effort to ensure our week was rewarding. And both were intelligent and interesting people, with whom we had long, stimulating conversations. These enabled us to feel we were really gaining some insights into the country and the people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring plenty of water (and, perhaps, a hat).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 4 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Chrstos and everyone he works with were incredibly accommodating. I think there may be more than one Christos, given everything he does. The guides he arranged for us at the Acropolis, Delphi, Olympia, and the Tomb of Agamemnon were excellent, and all of the arrangements came off without a hitch. The cumulative effect of seeing these historic sites was very affecting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Christos arranges bicycle tours as well as the archeological tour we booked, so you might consider arranging to get a bicycle from him during your stay in Tripolis in order to get around there, more easily and perhaps see some of the surrounding countryside in your free time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in small hotels, used local guides, and drove in a small, fuel-efficient vehicle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent in every way. I wouldn't hesitate to do another tour with Chrisos and his crew.

review 10 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the ancient theatre at Epidaurus in addition to the splendour of Ancient Olympia. The itinerary was well constructed; not too much squeezed in and the Tour Leader, Christos, and the archaeological site guides were very well informed about Greek history. The Peloponnese Peninsula contains a wealth of interesting locations but the tour doesn't seek to visit all of them, that would be too exhausting!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Some pre-reading about the places to be visited would be worthwhile; they are listed on the website. Christos and the two guides he uses are so knowledgeable that you need to concentrate in order to absorb the information. If you are a stranger to Greece you will soon discover that the Greeks eat their evening meals at 9pm or later and lunch is sometimes a mid-afternoon affair. Don't underestimate how tired you may become after a day's visiting archaeological sites; Christos realises this so there is sufficient free time built in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, notwithstanding the monetary benefit to restaurant owners, hoteliers,museums and shops, the operator makes a sizeable contribution to a re-forestation project designed to mitigate the effects of a series of disastrous forest fires a few years ago. Clients are invited to contribute to this also, which we were pleased to do.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Our group consisted just of my wife and I so we got personal service from Christos, the Company Operations Director, for the the whole week. The hotel we stayed in was very comfortable, the staff most attentive and the general atmosphere most congenial. The economic situation in Greece overall is challenging but the Greek people we met were stoical about this. In respect of our own stay everything possible was done to make it as comfortable as possible and the programme was kept flexible to allow for weather changes and other circumstances. This included a departure from the hotel in Tripoli at 6.00am on the final day so that we could visit the Parthenon in Athens before going to the airport to fly home.

review 12 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Like all the best holidays, there's too many to list them all here. It would include: The group and our guide, Christos, and the people at the hotel we stayed in. Everything was so well-organised, we never had to think about it. Driving through the mountains to the different sites, and the conversations we had about Greece along the way.The local archaeological guides chosen were all really informative and engaging and funny. Olympia was wonderful, both the site and museum. Nemea - especially seeing the tunnel to the stadium, and tasting the wine. Sparta - especially as we were the only ones at the site. Can't wait to go back and see what more they find over the next year or so. Seeing the Acropolis museum, and then going up to the Acropolis (definitely the order to do it in). The Greek food, especially what we got in the hotel. Being able to stay in one spot for a whole week was lovely, really appreciated being able to do that. And staying in a town that wasn't too overrun by tourists. The weather The 23rd Sept parade and fireworks and dancing in Tripolis that we were lucky enough to be there for. The trek through the mountains to see the two monasteries and the secret school, ending with lunch by the river. Overall, the best thing was how flexible and friendly Christos was and how much time we had to really take in each site that we'd all booked the trip to see.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read up about the places, and take a good sunblock. Ignore any panic stories about travelling in Greece because of the euro crisis - it was all very safe there even when they had protests on in Athens. In total I was in Greece for three and a half weeks, and even when I wasn't in the group tour, I felt safe enough to walk around on my own. Really just book the trip and enjoy it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well, it's a local company, and Christos, our guide, made an effort to explain the principles of responsible travel and how they work to those principles. They also make a real effort to arrange the trip around any local events that might be happening. Apparently there's always something - for us there was a parade and fireworks in Tripolis. Another group was lucky enough to be there when the 2012 Olympic flame was being lit in Olympia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. One of my favourite holidays - I'd loved the Peloponnese when I went once as a child and it all lived up to my rose-tinted memories of the place. Two of us in the group had studied Classics which was our reason for going, and we weren't disappointed by the archaeological guides who took us round or the amount of time we had to explore for ourselves. As a company they were great at making sure we were taken care of and a great holiday.

review 4 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is extremely hard to define one "most exciting" part of our Classical Tour holiday. The whole trip was fantastic. We were most impressed with the extremely personalised and friendly service that we received. Based in Tripolis, the tour combined the major archaeological sites in the Pelopnnese along with visits to other locations of interest which gave us an appreciation of both the ancient and modern environment. The guides we had at the sites were excellent and our tour leader just great. The tour was quite simply more than we could have imagined!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go prepared to make the most of the opportunity available to you and I am sure you will have a fantastic time!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, the tour was very locally focused staying in a modern family-run hotel, with food and beverages locally sourced and time allowed to get to know and shop in Tripolis the town in which we were based. In addition, a percentage of our tour fee is being used to support the reforestation of the local area, which has been ravaged by forest fires in the last few years.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a wonderful holiday, which I rate very highly and I have already recommended it to friends and family. It had a perfect balance of activity and free time and there was nothing we would have changed.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies