8 independent reviews for Walking holiday in Montenegro

Reviews for Walking holiday in Montenegro

SHOW
7
1
0
0
0

review 15 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to choose amongst so many extraordinary locations but visit to waterfall and canyon in Gusinje was extraordinary... also staying in cabins surrounded by vast jagged mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for unpredictable weather, so not all mountain peaks may be accessible and itinerary may change. Maybe don't travel with Wizz - we experienced long delays returning from Podgorica and apparently this is usual. Pack for a range of temperatures - can get cold in the mountains in June, but stiflingly hot in the capital.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people - we stayed and ate at local independent places, and our guide was very aware of protecting the natural environment. Quite a lot of driving involved which presumably is not great impact on environment, but not sure how it could have been done otherwise. But overall, it felt low impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a wonderful time, loved the country, felt well looked after and saw incredibly beautiful places. I would definitely recommend the experience.

review 14 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the mountains, speaking with local people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for rain!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 27 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Montenegro has stunning scenery, mountains almost everywhere you look. Hiking through mountains in different parts of the country including some not frequented by large number of tourists was a memorable experience. Our guide Bojana was a great example of the friendly, helpful people we met throughout our trip. She was massively knowledgeable, always with an alternative if the elements conspired.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Have a good level fitness, pack the right equipment and have fun!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we stayed in small local hotels/accommodation and used local restaurants. We visited local people living in Cartons (seasonal accommodation in the mountains) and enjoyed their hospitality. We felt that the places chosen to stay in, eat in and visit were carefully considered to benefit local economies and minimise environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience that will live long in the memory.

review 11 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 17 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery especially the views from the peaks over 2000 metres.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for challenging hiking but relax and enjoy it. Bojana, our guide, was committed to doing everything possible to ensure we had a great trip. She gave good advice about the local food and wine. (don't expect to lose weight on this trip!). We visited areas away from the usual tourist routes and met interesting locals doing their daily work. If you don't like Turkish coffee bring your own. Montenegrin wine generally good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most of our food and wine was locally produced and cooked.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 5 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Activity Holiday: Two days walking, one day wine tasting and one day kayaking (1 week) plus add on (3 nights) of two days walking and one day white water rafting. Walnut Valley walk was our favourite in the first week and white water rafting was our favourite in the add on

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not a holiday for the couch potato. The holiday is reasonably active. We are in our mid and late 50's and fit in the sense that we walk quite a bit. The age group on the holiday varied from 15 to 59.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. If there are any costs for additional elements to the holiday, all of the money goes to the person/people providing them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Not quite reborn!!!! but up there with the best holiday we have ever been on...

review 10 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The view from the top of Mt Rumija.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Other members of the group may not be very fit. Whilst Emma and Ben will do their best to accommodate the range of abilities the walking can be very frustrating and definitions of a 5/6 hour hike seem to vary. In general not for the super fit! Having said that there are some lovely walks, a chance to see and sample the local culture and the incredibly diverse flora and fauna. Plus abundant opportunities to swim! Definitely a great hol if you want some relaxed walking, leisurely lunches, to nature spot and to experience the traditional Montenegran way of life. Worth a trip to the more commercial coast for the contrast.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the locals. Emma and Ben made a real effort to make sure they worked closely with the community, providing employment and ensuring local produce was purchased wherever possible. Supported conservation by showing the locals how tourists value the nature and landscape.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday. Amazing place and lovely people!

review 9 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Every single day had really memorable moments. Top 5 (but it could have been a top 20) - Standing under a waterfall in a stunning rocky glade on the first day's walk - Amazing lunch of totally home grown and home cooked delicacies at Tanya's - Paddling our kayaks over serene Lake Skadar to a nunnery and a monastery - Hilarious games in the evenings with our new mates over several bottles of local rose and the odd pivo! - Helping to get a singalong going in the restaurant with a local guy's guitar

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy it all and leave everything to Ben and Emma who lay on brilliantly planned days out. My wife and I had planned a walking holiday with some biking, probably spending quite a lot of time on our own In reality, the walks we did, whilst constantly interesting and full of surprises, were not hugely challenging and (in very hot weather) that suited us perfectly as we invariably ended up somewhere very nice for lunch! And so much for being on our own - we shared the villa with two families with children from 8 to 12. Great kids who were happy to try anything and in many ways that lively group made the holiday even better. Not sure its worth bothering going to the coast. Lake Skadar region has all you need for a week, especially with knowledgeable and well connected guides like Ben and Emma. The food might not have been so enjoyable if we didn't like fish!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! Everything seemed to be locally caught, grown and cooked. Mio's one man restaurant being an example, he gets up at dawn to catch the carp, despite having badly sprained his ankle, fries them up for you and serves them with a delicious home made soup and salad and a large glass of his really excellent home produced wine. We indeed felt that we were welcome regular customers at one restaurant in Virpazar village, not least when the waiters offer to drive you home to the villa at the end of the evening! Thanks for that also to Ben and Emma, because the locals seem to welcome everyone who holidays with them and of course the business they bring to the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Gotta be five stars for all the above reasons, still glowing from it ten days later!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy