23 independent reviews for Transylvania holiday accommodation

Reviews for Transylvania holiday accommodation

SHOW
2
21
0
0
0

review 2 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The meals together with the guests, the morning tours and the set up of the room.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Must experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The room could have been better managed, the chimney steam had trash in it, the toilet flush wasn't working. The room became too hot.

review 5 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The locale was wonderful - very peaceful and a beautiful peek into a different way of life.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The guesthouse plans daily outings on a set schedule - check the schedule before you book to be sure not to miss out on specific activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guesthouse is located in a very rural area, and most if not all food is sourced locally from the residents in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great!

review 4 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The peace and tranquillity of this beautiful valley was stunning. All the staff and guides - particularly Gabo - were friendly and knowledgeable, and did their utmost to make us feel comfortable and at home.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The bedrooms and dining rooms were kept at a very cosy level but outside it was so cold that the water pipes to one bedroom froze. Make sure to take warm clothing and boots for outdoors, as the temperature dropped to -20C one night!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We felt that we were enabling local people to find employment in a sustainable and direct way, by sharing their skills and knowledge.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just fantastic, we would like to return to appreciate this special place at another time of year, probably spring or autumn. A small disappointment was that we did not set eyes on wildlife such as bears and wolves, although we saw much evidence of their presence in the snow.

review 17 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was the perfect 'get away from it all' trip where you really felt like you were stepping back in time. The location, nature and wildlife were stunning and I particularly enjoyed meeting many different people staying at both the guesthouses. It made for some interesting conversations at mealtimes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are making your own way to either location from the airport to the station, make sure you use an authorised Taxi company. Some drivers are not adverse to turning the meter away from view and adding extras. Also, if you are joining the guided walks, make sure you bring good footwear , binoculars and a few snacks as there is a small village shop which may not be open when you return hungry!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the holiday benefited local people in the remote villages as they could interact with tourists ; some locals were employed by the guesthouses and many made the effort to practice their English. Travellers also brought a small amount of trade to the village shops. The small museum which was set up in the village of Zalanpatak was of particular interest to travellers who were keen to learn more about the history and customs of local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As it was very remote, it was quite time consuming to reach the guesthouses but once you were there you could forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I travelled alone and this was not a problem as I was able to join the organised trips each day and meet new people. I would definitely recommend seeing the real Transylvania.

review 9 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were impressed by the beauty of Romania. It was really opened up for us by the excellent guides at the guesthouse, who showed us places and things we would never have found on our own.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The thing we found most difficult was the heat at night as there was not air conditioning and our room in the eaves of an old house became very warm.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Tourism in Romania is an important source of revenue, in particular for restoration of heritage buildings. It helped us to gain a greater understanding of the Romanian people and culture.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Despite a few mishaps with bad Romanian roads, we thoroughly enjoyed out holiday and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning about this fascinating part of Europe

review 3 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many things that it is difficult to pick one! The people Edň, Renŕta, Marika, Margit, Izolda, Piri and Csaba, the tours to Volcanic Crater Lake. On the summit of Mount Csomad, VISCRI (Deutschweisskirch, Szaszfeheregyhaza) we went to a fortified church which is on UNESCO'S World Heritage List, SIGHISOARAq (Schaessburg, Segesvar) the only Renaissance place to have been lived in continuously. BRAN (Toerzburg, Toercsvar) to see Castle Bran which was used in Bram Stokers Dracula story as his castle. Although this is totally untrue the castle was definitely worth seeing and very beautiful. RASNOV (Rosenburg, Rozsnyo) to see the fort. This was built by peasants as a place of retreat in times of invasion. BRASOV (Kronstadt, Brasso) Round the old parts of the city and saw the Church of Mary, (AKA The Black Madonna) also known as the Black Church. PREJMER ( Tartlau, Prazsmar) Here we visited the fortified fort and the Church within. The Land of the SZEKLERS (Székely). The eastern Carpathians is the traditional home of the Szekler people, closely related to the Magyars who speak a distinctive Hungarian accent and cherish a special historical identity. The GORGE and CAVE of the Pied Piper, The Almas cave in the gorge of the Vargyas river. All these tours and also visiting local crafts with our very knowledgeable guides Siri Istvŕn Attilla Ernest The traditional food and estate wine, the quietness of Miklosvar, dinner with the other guests. Ideal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only tip would be check train times from Bucharest and use only official taxis

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As this was a UNESCO world heritage area we knew conservation area was paramount. We paid the local crafts people directly for their goods and the guesthouse brings employment to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic would definitely recommend and hope to return

review 10 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is difficult, as from the moment we were greeted at the airport every moment was memorable. Every day was filled with new experiences and sights. Walking through meadows filled with wild flowers long since gone from British fields, seeing farming practices from a by gone age, storks on the chimney pots, cows walking down the street on their way home from the meadows, and of course... the Bears! Just so amazing. The country side was spectacular as we travelled with our guide to see Saxon fortified churches, castles, and forts. The beautiful forests where we picked mushrooms to have for lunch, the mountains we drove through, the far reaching vistas of well cared for land truly awe inspiring. The wonderful guest house we stayed at where the staff could not have been more helpful. Meals taken under the vines or the candle lit cellar, were of local produce and regional dishes. Sharing experiences with other guests from all over the world was so interesting. Watching the evening procession of the cows returning from their meadows down the street in front of the guest house, they calmly walked off into their own barns their owners waiting for them was truly wonderful. This was such a brilliant experience in every way and I intend to return.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advantage of the trips on offer and the suggestions of Renate the manager who is exceptional. Hiring a car would give you more independence, though the roads in the countryside are not all tarmac! Be warned! Get out and about and see as much as you can of the beautiful countryside and customs.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

When we met the count he told us how many people he was employing in the guest houses. They were locals from the village or neighbouring villages. So that has to be a positive outcome, also he is encouraging a revival of traditional crafts and skills to stock in his craft shop.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

In every way it exceeded my expectations, the beauty of the environment, the quality of the accommodation, the standard of service, the tremendous bio diversity of flora and fauna. To escape from the madness and chaos of post referendum UK to the beautiful peace and quiet of the estate was heaven! I shall definitely return. Thank you Responsible Travel for giving me the opportunity to have such a grand time.

review 26 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on the back of a horse drawn cart big taken higher up in the beautiful forest clad Hills surrounding Zalanpatak in Transylvania. The spring Alpine flowers were just beginning to come into bloom and it was a perfect opportunity for our guide to prepare an open fire BBQ picnic!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a car. Once you have slowed down for your first horse drawn cart you will quickly immerse yourself into driving Romanian style. With so much to see from amazing volcanic lakes to Saxon fortified villages a car is essential to get the most out of your time there.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most certainly, all our food was locally sourced and prepared and the staff were all locally recruited. From providing a few impulsive lifts to local hitch hikers and having the privilege of visiting the amazing Ibbi who runs an orphanage in Targu Mures we felt our holiday made a small difference.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

With 4 sons and a large mountain dog usually in tow this was the first holiday for my wife and I, abroad, on our own for 32 years. We had an amazing time and will be returning. It was the perfect place to do more, see more and talk more. Hopefully won’t be 32 years until the next holiday together!

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The unspoiled nature (except for the large amount of litter especially in and around rivers), the poverty of the people, although they seem happy (a lesson we should learn in our consumer society).Although we did not see any large carnivores directly, we found lots of signs and tracks, something which is unimaginable in Central Europe.We saw a Lesser Spotted Eagle quite close, a memorable sight.And last but not least the superb dinners in the wine cellar with open fire and an excellent local red wine and pleasant discussions with interesting people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Best date for the holiday is May/June, then the meadows are full of wild flowers and wildlife is at point of culmination.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people are employed at the guest houses and one feels that the operator knows about the importance of high biodiversity and unspoiled nature for the success of tourism in this region.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An unforgettable holiday in a remote region of Europe, far away from mass tourism.

review 14 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all brilliant. Fantastic staff, extremely well looked after. The tour guides were great, the scenery amazing and the chance to see crafts being maintained was lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Extremely hot in August, so you don't need to pack much! Take insect repellent. If you book all inclusive, you really don't need to take any money, but you are able to buy gifts in the towns and if you visit the watermill, leather worker or wood carver, you can buy lovely quality, handmade items.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. It highlighted a very different way of life and we bought from the crafts people we visited, not the tourist locations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to experience a different, relaxed way of life. We took our 20 month son and they catered for him brilliantly - cot, high chair, his own little bowl and plate as well as having a sand pit and swing - but he was just as interested in seeing the horses, cows, chickens and ducks. The local villagers also made us very welcome.

review 14 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing a bear!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would recommend the full board for convenience all the guides very knowledgeable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant!

review 2 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to volcanic lake with fall colors and naturalist guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Layered clothes, be prepared for great food. If older or unsteady on feet bring walking sticks. There was a family there while we were there and the children appeared to enjoy the as much as the adults!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the food was purchased from local village and the staff was employed from that village. The vegetables were grown in their garden and plowed using horse. Refuse was recycled and composted. Lights were led and candles and fire place were used in evening. Rooms were heated with wood and steam.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give it a 10. It is an experience that we will remember always and fondly. We have even invited members of the staff to visit us in the USA.

review 6 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was memorable about this holiday. The itinerary provided offered an excellent opportunity to experience the beautiful countryside, towns, nature and lovely people of this area of Transylvania. The accommodation was comfortable, homely and very traditional. I did notice a lack of garlic nailed above my bedroom door though - was I to be the sacrifice if one was needed?? The food was delicious and as a vegetarian I was very well catered for. The guides were great, very knowledgeable and very nice company to boot - so thank you especially to Monika, Elod and Csaba for giving me a lovely holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to learn some Hungarian - very difficult but it's appreciated if you try! Have a walk around the villages, especially on a Sunday afternoon when there’s lots of locals sitting on the seats outside their homes to say 'Hello' to. Don't try to resist the potato bread - resistance is futile....

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I stayed in both Miklosvar and Zalanpatak and in both places locals were employed. These accommodations have used local craftsman to both restore, furnish and decorate in a traditional way. Local food was cooked wherever possible. The nature guides sought to give us a try appreciation of this unique environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

How soon can I go back??

review 14 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

More than what we actually saw, it was more to do with experiencing the laid back way of life, and being able to totally disconnect. We especially enjoyed the evening meals with the rest of the holiday makers, who certainly were not run of the mill tourists. They made for fascinating conversations.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The food was very nice but basic and with no choices. That may not be to everybody's taste. Be sure to pack mosquito repellant!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most of the staff were locals so it did benefit the community. I'm not convinced however that sufficient funds are put towards the restoration work. Given the low labour costs in that part of Romania I would have expected more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday exceeded our expectations, the accommodation was good, as was the food, and the staff were wonderful.

review 15 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying at Zalanpatak - such a lovely place, peaceful & remote. Superb wild flowers like nothing I've ever seen before.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Can't think of anything, we were so well looked after by Monika and her colleagues!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, loved Transylvania and would like to go back.

review 22 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing brown bears at twilight in the Transylvanian Forest stands out, but the whole atmosphere of the estate is remarkable. We felt like house-guests rather than people staying in a hotel. They really couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Look into flights to Cluj or Timisoara rather than Bucharest - the train to Brasov is painfully slow.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the community seemed very involved with the Estate and proud to have us visiting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was one of the best holidays I've ever had.

review 23 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting first Miklósvár and than Zalánpatak gave us first a good insight to the historical heritage of the region, than in Zalánpatak we could merge into the peace of nature, feel as if liberated from the bonds of time. It was also ideal to our three dynamic kids, who experienced a very different lifestyle from the one they live in a modern metropolis; they enjoyed plenty of freedom in nature, and unlike at home nobody felt short of television, video or computer games, although there was none of these. Most memorable are the people we met, and the settings and circumstances we met them. Around the festive table with delicious homely food and good wine, some wood lit in the fireplace in the evenings we met new people from different parts of the world, and we got involved in interesting and pleasant talks, sometimes card- and boardgames. Our guides were very good, and the blacksmith in Miklósvár showed his craft to our boys in real life situation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get ready to leave behind television, and all kinds of electrical noise-pollution (in Miklósvár there is internet access though); Slow down, and relax; you will not get bored but refreshed without the usual nonstop bombardment of information - open yourselves to nature and to meet new people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It hopefully supported the local community through the work opportunity (cooking and guiding). Not sure I felt that we minimised our impact on the environment compared to a conventional holiday (mainly because we travelled by car on the frequent excursions)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good and an excellent immersion into the Székely rich culture and traditions.

review 9 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Transylvania completed exceeded our expectations as a holiday destination. The friendliness of the local people was unique, everywhere we went we were warmly welcomed and the enthusiasm to share their way of life was inspiring. It was a privilege to have an insight into the sustainable and organic way of life of these communities. The staff, especially Kothci, Monica and Garbor at Miklosvar and Zalanpatak should be commended on their knowledge and appreciation of this beautiful area, we were treated to some memorable experiences (yes Garbor - the trip to the church graveyard for bearwatching at night!). With 3 children (ages 8,10,12) its often difficult to find something for everyone but this trip delivered for both adults and children alike.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Expect an experience which you are not likely to experience from other holidays. Get to know the guides and get to know the culture and history of Transylvania.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. All the gorgeous food was lovely prepared using local ingredients. To eat vegetables from the onsite garden and drink wine from the region was a treat, everything was home-made even the yoghurt. All the staff were local people and the tours were to local tradesman, the flour mill, the charcoal makers, the shepherds, the farrier, the woodcarvers and the weavers. There were no packaged products or plastic bottles and waste was put back into the animals or compost.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing, highly recommended, family friendly and a unique experience.

review 5 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the most wonderful people :)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hire a 4x4 to get around in there are so many places to go and see but the roads are the worst I've EVER experienced!!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely. The locals all worked where we stayed and we bought some local carpentry products from a family that had been in the business for 15 generations!!!! Wonderful :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an unmissable experience and would love to go back with the children and a 4x4 ;) in some years time.

review 20 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning country. Great wildlife, saw some new species of birds. Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. Loved the rustic feel of the guest house we were staying in. Just a great place to stay to get away from it all. The silence at night was something I had forgotten existed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring your mosquito repellent if going in summer/autumn. Check your train ticket to ensure you were given ticket for the correct train time. We asked for 8.30 ticket to Brashov - were given ticket for 7.30 and had to pay more then to get the 8.30. Also worth getting 1st class ticket on the train.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I think so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10. Exceeded my expectations.

review 19 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

To stay in an authentic Transylvanian village and to experience their way of life first hand. Peasant farming with mobile phones! The countryside is beautiful, not corrupted by chemicals and intensive farming methods, it supports an amazing array of wildlife, both fauna and flora. Go before the inevitable change. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - an enjoyable holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay away from Luton airport and cheap flight airlines, the organisation at Luton on returning was appalling - sultry go-slow immigration staff and disgraceful organisation of large numbers gave an embarrassing first look of the UK. It took an hour to get through border control! Booking on-line was a hindrance; we arrived to find the 'on-line' checked in passengers took longer to process than those who checked-in at the airport. Taxis in Bucharest - there are some good ones but ENSURE you agree the price before you get into the cab - metered or not, we were subject of a dirty little con - one which failed because of our assertiveness, but beware.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. This holiday provided both work and an extra income that must be welcomed by the local people who are not well off in our terms. This holiday has a lot lower impact on the environment than a lot we have been on. Trips were taken by local transport - genuine working horse-drawn carts- and the food was sourced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Once at the estate excellent.

review 13 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire experience was an absolute blast. The kindness of the staff - the peaceful location - the delicious food - the interesting history of the place- the wonderful antique furniture - the eccentric fellow travellers.... If you are after a different kind of holiday where you can both relax and have a few adventures this is it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A week stay is the perfect time to relax and take part in the great excursions available. The offer is varied and you can do both natural and cultural tours. Dont rush though. Its a place to stay a bit longer to absorb its unique atmosphere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. Misklovar is a poor village and local people find work on the estate and local shops also benefit of the odd tourist. It was also really interesting to visit local dying professions and learn from blacksmiths, textile weavers and furniture makers. A beautiful corner of the world.Regarding the environment many excursions are by horse cart so indeed less CO2 than a car...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding. We decided to go there for our honeymoon and we had some funny reactions from friends before leaving home (the silly odd Dracula comment). After being there I can only recommend it. The communal dinners in the cellar are without doubt a highlight. Good wine, candles, fireplace on and a lots of intelligent conversations with interesting guests. Its like attending a different dinner party each night!

review 20 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sledging down the volcano rim to the frozen lake below!!! Finding bear tracks in the snow on the way to the cave of hibernating bats, seeing natural ice stalagmites.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come prepared to really relax, this is a totally genuine, unforced environment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The entire approach is focused on a local economy, employing staff, utilizing produce, conserving architecture and sympathetically restoring and using it. The small size of groups minimised any impact on the habitats, a sensible use of resources evident in all approaches.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, we will certainly be going back, at perhaps a different time of year. The snow added a fantastic dimension, but we could certainly see how fine weather would make the whole environment so enjoyable in a different way.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies