14 independent reviews for Morocco holiday, Marrakech to the Sahara

Reviews for Morocco holiday, Marrakech to the Sahara

SHOW
4
7
3
0
0

review 22 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to the desert was an adventure that everyone should experience once in their lifetime. The stay in SKhoura was idealic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware of how far you will need to travel to get to the desert and be prepared for the vastness and the basic facilities

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, but we did feel that the trip to the Koran Libary and Potteries were more about donating money than for our pleasure

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday was first class, the booking agent understood our requirements and delivered. Highly recommended

review 22 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

4X4 travel through remarkable scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Lower expectations about the camel ride from Zagora to Tellougui. Be prepared for very long travel days in the vehicle and marginal bathroom facilities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were happy to support the ceramic cooperative at Tamegroute and the weaving cooperative at Tazenahkt.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good. The food at both tented camps was very impressive, given the circumstances. We felt the camel ride to Tellougui was a bit twee and touristy, and too much in town; children in Zagora were actually throwing stones at us, and the chamellieres did nothing more than walk along and talk on their cellphones. The camp at Tellougui was so close to the road one could hear traffic--hardly a wilderness experience. Other than the food and reception at the camp, we'd rate the first day a 'fair' at best. The second day at Erg Lihoudi and Erg Ch'Gagga was a vast improvement.

review 18 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the three day desert tour. Trekking through the oasis on the slightly comical, docile camels was really good, with the wonderful backdrop of the mud-walled kasbah village and the date palm trees. Once we arrived at our "glamping" site we were treated to delicious freshly-cooked tagine and then left to relax under the stars. The next day we moved on to the proper desert for off-road driving across the dunes and another night in a camp. Watching the sunrise from the top of the golden sand dunes was as atmospheric as we hoped. In hindsight, early September is probably unwise for a Sahara trip in terms of the climate - our local guide thought we were mad to want to have lunch out in the dunes rather than at a comfy hotel, and although it was a thirsty, sweaty two hours we had no regrets - all part of the Bedouin experience!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is worth extending your stay with a few more days in Marrakech - we enjoyed being able to take our time wandering around the Medina and also having free time to spend in the riad (we stayed at Les Trois Mages which has beautiful rooms, a rooftop pool, great food and charming staff). I downloaded an app called Hip Marrakech which had a really useful GPS map of the Medina as well as some good restaurant suggestions. Don't be afraid to walk everywhere: the hassle from local "guides" is annoying but mostly non-threatening and the city is best explored on foot. Our main (and seemingly obvious) tip for the desert trip is to stock up on about five times as much water as you think you will need...although the tour description said bottled water was included with meals, we found this wasn't always the case, plus we simply underestimated the effect of the intense heat even when most of the day was spent in a car.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think it benefited local people as we put a fair bit of money into the local economy by eating and shopping at the markets. I can't say that the environmental impact was particularly good as we spent several days driving in a 4x4. There was noticeable litter in the desert which presumably comes from tourists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing! Marrakech was fascinating and we loved the nightlife in Djemaa el-Fna square. We had great guides at every stage of the holiday and learned a lot about the Moroccan culture. All the organisation from the holiday provider went very smoothly and I would use them again.

review 20 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visit to the local pottery where every thing was made traditionally starting from making clay from the mud was really interesting. The adobe villages and the palmerie were also fascinating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When you change your currency try to get as much small notes and coins so you have money available for tips and for going to the toilet.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. All local people were employed and local food provided. There was also lots of opportunity to buy local products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was luxurious and well organised. We had lots of privacy and personal service. Our main driver was very knowledgeable about the area as is a qualified guide and he was very attentive to our needs. He made our long road trip a pleasure. All of the people who received us at the accommodations, lunch stops and activities were all very welcoming friendly and efficient

review 13 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting on a high dune in the Ch'Gagga desert at sunset without anyone else around apart from my husband and then later that evening stargazing at a sky with no light pollution.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do some background reading on the history of Islam (if you have a very shallow knowledge like we did) and then take advantange of the time you have with your guide to really understand the culture and history of this wonderful country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we met many local people through our guide and in the Riads that we stayed in. We did alot of driving, 1200 kilometers in 4 days, but at least our vehicule was not spewing out nasty fumes which unfortuantely was very noticeable in Marrakech.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A lot of driving, but some beautiful roads through the Atlas mountains and worth it when we got to the desert and it was deserted!! Merzouga and the dunes at Erg Chebbiare probably easier to get to but many more tourists because you don't need a 4x4 to get there. We loved the fact that for one night we experienced what real silence is really like.

review 23 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The reliability of all of our arrangements in advance...so well organized. Two sets of people meeting up in Morocco from diverse parts of the world..friends for over 40 years! And it went without a hitch!..Australia and UK.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do your research...don't just go with the famous names holiday companies...we met real guides...real people who helped to make it a special holiday!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely..we stayed in lovely places and met many local people. We felt more at ease in a less formal environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent...great places to stay, lovely people...we talked with our guides..we were not just talked to! We were out of our comfort zone when we arranged it for us to share with old friends...who had flown half way across the world...but we were not disappointed! We are all over 60...no problem with the holiday we booked..we would use you again

review 17 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the overnight in the Sahara Desert as well as the hike in the Atlas Mountains

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for tipping - you need to tip everyone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 18 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The trip to the Sahara was amazing - we marvelled at the fantastic stars and the contrasts the country offer.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay in the desert if you can - a bucket list must - wash facilities are basic but there were camp showers (rough and ready with cold showers and water buckets to flush to loos). Camp beds with clean sheets and were well fed with freshly cooked local food. We felt safe (as a couple)and were well looked after. Unable to charge things but used the 4x4 to charge the phone - perhaps would take a solar charger next time. Not sure we did as well as we might have re: haggling but paid what we felt happy with and after all, there is alot of poverty in this country and we have so much.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tipped and bought food and items from locals, by travelling further south we are more aware of the country and its historical and cultural significance, as well as the poverty some still live in. Unable to comment on how much of the price of the holiday reached the locals who looked after us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing - so glad we went

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery in the Sahara is spectacular. Marrakech is an incredibly bustling city and the guided walks in the High Atlas are fantastic too (they can be a bit hard in the summer heat).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would go at a less hot time of the year as walking in the desert in summer is impractical.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I certainly believe it benefitted the local community. This was confirmed by our guides and by the Camel Drover.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great if a trifle hot. The scenery was beautiful and varied as was the accommodation. Marrakech Riad was charming whereas the first Guest House was quite basic. All the people we met were very helpful with the exception of the snake charmers in Jemaa El Fna - be wary of them.

review 17 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in the remote High Atlas with our son so he could appreciate how much different the lifestyle is in some parts of the world. He held a baby goat that was born an hour earlier during the daily trip to the high pastures.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to ask for changes to an itinerary on the website. It was a wonderful surprise to find that even our little family group of 3 could ask for a tailor made holiday at affordable prices.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, especially in the High Atlas. We stayed in small gites and had local guides and mule man/chef. With tourism down in Morocco this year we felt appreciated and were very well taken care of by the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful time as a family. Will definitely come back to Responsible Travel for the next holiday in a region with which we are unfamiliar. Maybe Burma...

review 1 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visits to the Kasbahs and local cooking class

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for lots of driving and circuitous roads

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To some extent

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Quite enjoyable... and culturally informative; increased understanding of the country's topography

review 5 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's difficult to choose what was the most memorable part of our holiday: wandering through the colorful and lively souks of Marrakech with our experienced guide? Enjoying the secluded and refined atmosphere of the Riad Ksar Anika? riding a dromedary at sunset? Or listening to Berber music around the fire in the moonlit desert?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Everything is very well organized, no need to worry about anything, during the desert trip the driver, the cameleer, the cook and the guides will take care of everything (like frequent flat tyres) and spoil you completely. The tour operator suggested bringing nibbles or dried fruit on the excursion, but the meals were so large and delicious (even in the desert camp!) that we took our nibbles back home to Italy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Very good value!

review 7 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were several good pieces including the hospitality of the Riad landlord, and the warmth and friendliness of the desert tour driver/guide. Most memorable was seeing the beautiful scenery along the Marrakech/Zagora route, and sleeping outdoors in the desert under a moonlit sky.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Probably best to book a desert trip when the temperature is not 40 - 45 C !

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Bought items, and tipped quite a lot!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good. Worst part was when my driver didn't meet me at the airport upon arrival, and I had to take a taxi at my own cost to the Riad. Then when I got to the drop-off point, I was abandoned with having to seek my way to the Riad (which was difficult to find).

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are really happy to learn that you had a good holiday in Morocco. We were, of course, extremely sorry to hear about your arrival transfer, which we learned about from our Morocco office on the day. The flight you (and another couple) were on coincided with the arrival of a flight from Mecca and, due to the large amount of people on the flight and meeting the flight, the terminal building was closed to all other people. Naturally this was not ideal but our representative at the airport informed our Morocco duty office to advise that he and the drivers were waiting outside in the car park. The other couple on the flight called the emergency number and were able to very quickly rendezvous with their driver. Had you travelled with our driver he would have made sure that you got to the riad and would have made arrangements for someone to assist with your luggage. We are really sorry that these circumstances intervened at the start of your holiday but we are glad that you were happy with all other arrangements and had a good holiday.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies