8 independent reviews for Island hopping holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Island hopping holiday in Croatia

SHOW
2
6
0
0
0

review 2 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We stayed in Dubrovnik, korchula, Brac & Split-Dalmatia- each place was very special and memorable in very different ways.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was a very busy holiday & we felt that we could have Stayed longer in each destination so pack carefully! Hotel more- Dubrovnik- was absolutely beautiful- fantastic views located next to the sea. The restaurants are great had the best fish dish ever here. Hotel korchula - here we paid for a balcony overlooking the sea thinking that we would see beautiful sunsets but the balcony was so tiny you couldnít get a chair on it- so donít bother with a balcony! Room was small, no lift in this hotel but a young gentleman was very helpful in carrying our bags. The entrance to the hotel and the G&T lounge and restaurant areas are fabulous almost from another grand past era. Fantastic breakfast. Hotel Bol- very contemporary and modern- beautiful boutique hotel. Hotel palace varos- beautiful room. Breakfast here was extremely varied here in a weird but interesting way- sometimes coleslaw, mixed vegetables always eggs. Staff everywhere we stayed were welcoming and helpful

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to have drinks and meals out in local bars and restaurants so I suppose this benefitted local people.The smaller family run restaurants often only a few tables served excellent fish dishes everywhere we ate. Everything fresh from the fish and food markets in the morning. Go to the Homeland museum in Dubrovnik itís harrowing but gives insight into how the local population suffered during the bombing of this great city

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - a fabulous way of holidaying and we will definitely return in the future.

review 12 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting the chance to see so many different parts of Croatia, it was all beautiful and so different. We wouldn't have known where to start if we'd booked it direct, by ourselves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The travel agent spent time understanding what we wanted and then suggested an itinerary which suited us perfectly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Each hotel was different and individual, the locals were incredible friendly and helpful. It as good to get away from the 'resort' style hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful, it was incredibly relaxing and everything worked like clockwork, all the ferry trips, transfers to different hotels etc was all seamless, so we could just relax and know that we didn't have to worry about where we going next.

review 31 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part was watching Dolphins in a glassy smooth sea in the early evening sun. This was an excursion from Porec recommended by our hotel in Motovun. Magic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not everywhere takes credit cards. Be prepared to use some cash. We used Transferwise cards in ATMs which gave a good exchange rate. Euros are accepted in many places. A good second language to have is German as they are the main visitors!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday wasn't particularly eco-friendly, mostly because of what we ourselves had asked for I think. Tourism is now a big thing in Croatia and the local people don't really need more visitors to be honest. While out there, we talked about more ecological travelling and one of the things we are going to try to do in future is use the train to visit Europe rather than fly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was well organised by Andy and Dawn of the tour operator, and their Croatian partner. Rab island and town was a great choice for us and the Ariana Hotel is superb. It was a good compromise between getting to see the country and relaxing. The week went very quickly!

review 7 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting the old cities and also the caves by boat

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Save, eating out was quite pricey!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9/10

review 30 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sea water was crystal clear and lovely to swim in.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

None really; it's all very familiar holiday wise, don't expect a different culture or anything.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No idea about that; Croatia is highly geared for tourists, but relatively tastefully executed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My holiday was very well planned and meticulously organised, all the links in the chain held firm. It gave me a taste of Croatia and next time I may well stray away from the tourist trail a bit more. I enjoyed it and felt relaxed and welcome.

review 20 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the well preserved old towns and the kind people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go to some of the remoter islands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9

review 25 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beauty and tranquility of the lakes at Mljet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The contrast between the tranquility of Mljet and charm of Korcula with the buzz if Hvar made an excellent itinerary for our first visit. In Hvar the hotel was busy and noisy and we would possibly recommend a self catering apartment instead away from the main square if you're hoping for a restful nights sleep. We cycled around the lakes at Mljet, and it was a good way to see more of the park than we could have covered by foot. If you want to walk around the city walls of Dubrovnik old town its best done in the late afternoon once the cruise ships have departed.Visit Krka Park on a day trip from Trogir, the waterfalls are amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.It was a good way to get to see some of the coastline, islands and old towns of Croatia.

review 20 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea kayaking in Dubrovnik, rafting and zip wire in Omis, and motorboat trip from Hvar.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

There is something for everyone in this holiday - history and culture, variety and lots of adreneline filled activities for our sons aged 16, 15 and 11.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely helped support the local economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies