35 independent reviews for Croatia self drive holiday

Reviews for Croatia self drive holiday

SHOW
11
24
0
0
0

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get to ports early if traveling with a car to the islands by ferry

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes local employment. Hotels energy conscious. Plenty of litter bins. Croatia was very clean. Evidence of recycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great adventure

review 21 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a driving holiday through Croatia - with a couple of days relaxation at the end. The whole holiday was enjoyable, Croatia is a beautiful country. Each part had its own merits, so hard to pinpoint one particular aspect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I think we went at the right time of the year. At the start of June, not too crowded and the weather was fab. I understand that in July and August, it could be a different story with hotter weather and more people. I understand that Dubrovnik in particular can get manic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were bed and breakfast at all our hotels - so were eating in local restaurants each night. All of our excursions whilst there were done direct with the supplier.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brillant - highly recommend Croatia

review 27 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting a wide range of places and meeting many locals who spoke fluent English and as a consequence learning much about this interesting country. Particularly since it suffered a lot in the 1990's

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Arrange your destinations to allow ample time at each stop, allow 2 nights so that a full day is available for exploration. Must visits are the National parks, Trogir and Dubrovnik, but the last will be very busy with tourists now that cruise liners arrive daily in the spring and summer months. Also take time to go up country into the hills away from the crowds. Driving is relatively easy but watch for poorly marked pedestrian crossings and mad scooter riders in built up areas. Take plenty of the local currency as euros are not popular and credit cards are welcome in limited places. Discuss the itinerary you plan with RT they are extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Croatian economy relies heavily on tourism; as a result the environment does take a bit of a battering; the locals are keen to identify the importance of conservation but struggle with the amount of tourists visiting their country. UNESCO have expressed concern about the impact on their sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday much enhanced by the organisation of RT, resulting in a lot achieved in the 2 weeks.

review 26 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery/views along the coast road (No. 8), waterfalls in Plitvice National park and Krka National park. Trogir and Kor?ula old towns. Amazing walk along the old castle walls at Ston. Brillant sea kayaking booked with Outdoor Croatia around Sipan and Lopud islands.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy a map (recommend one named "Kroatien" German author - mostly blue cover with white islands) and use the A-roads. Everything is easily signposted the roads are in excellent condition have beautiful views and minimal traffic. We only used the motorway to get out of Zagreb which was very conjested (plus you have to pay tolls!) Try to use the No. 25 from Plitvice (Korenica) to Karlobag nice drive and specatular as you come over the last mountain and see the sea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I did, we used local hotels, visited National Parks and only had the hire car when necessary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic - want to return ASAP!!!!

review 17 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning beauty of Croatia - crystal clear water, heaps to see and do. We loved going to four different places (Split, Hvar, Mljet, Dubrovnik) for a few days at each, it felt like four holidays in one. Everything had been arranged perfectly and went smoothly and we really felt like we got a feel for the country.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do what we did and keep on the move - don't spend a whole holiday in one place, we loved the contrast between the islands and the mainland.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it, seriously considering going back....

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Planning with the help of Andy was really easy. Everything went to plan and it is so difficult to pin point the best day of a fabulous 14 days as each was so well received. Driving in the country was easy, the roads are well signposted and ensures a more relaxing way of travelling. I do believe though that to end our holiday with an extended 5 day stay in Dubrovnik was the most memorable way to end the trip, The hotel was extremely nice with fabulous views of blue seas, overlooking Lokrum and the old city

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay for longer in Dubrovnik, don't worry about the road system (its better that the UK), the people there are friendly and the food in most cases is fresh and tasty. Drive from Zagreb to Dubrovnik and visit Korcula, Split, Zadar, Hvar and Lokrum. In all - enjoy the Croatian experience, you cannot but not enjoy the country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The people of Croatia depend on tourism and we feel that we have supported them and the longevity of their beautiful towns and cities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fab, thank you to Andy for all the assistance given to make this a memorable holiday. Well done all.

review 19 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful scenery wherever you looked.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get an automatic - it really helps on the winding mountain roads.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe that all the hotels we stayed in were local/family owned establishments. One of the hotels promoted energy conservation and agro-tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had an amazing time exploring the islands and mainland. Easy driving. Good food. Lovely people.

review 25 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The seascapes, the palace at Split in which our hotel was situated and the Mestrvic gallery in Split.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make use of the local transport to explore destinations more widely. We took buses on Hvar to Stari Grad and Jelsa, and hired bikes on Korsula, and took a water taxi from Split to Trogir.Ivan Mestrovic's house and gallery in Split was wonderful.We hired a guide for a one & half hour tour of the palace in Split which cost about 35 for two of us, but was well worth the money.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out in restaurants each day took local transport hired bikes and bought wine directly from a producer. We hired a guide in Split.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The travel arrangements worked like clockwork. The hotel Korsal was especially comfortable.The 'park view' apartment allocated to us at the apart hotel Pharia was horrible . There were no trees ,grass or flowers in view. Instead,it was on the ground floor and the bedroom looked out onto the steps down from the road and our living are and balcony looked onto a flagged area outside reception. Your customers ought to know that in this context 'park' has a different meaning from what we would expect in England. We contacted the local agents to tell them and they negociated for us to have two free breakfasts but since we wanted to self cater this was not terribly useful. In fact we paid 20 per night for an upgrade to an appt on the second floor with a sea view which was excellent.

review 5 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Unspoiled coastal towns with clean beaches and water, friendly and welcoming people, good food and drink and wall-to-wall sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prices for food and drinks increase the closer you get to Dubrovnik but there are small towns along the way where you can get much more for your money.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Organised via a Croatian agency and so most hotels and services were supplied by Croatians rather than chains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great towns and cities to simply wander or just watch the world go past.

review 1 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A day in Dubrovnik: Walked the walls, had a drink by the harbour, took the ferry to Lokrum Island, swam off the rocks & explored there, ferry back, dinner at Lady Pi Pi's, great food & view.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get a Dubrovnik card, really good value for money. If you're driving, get gps working on your mobile. The one with the car had us driving through a vineyard & was giving us directions to get back on the road.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people as tourism is the main source of jobs. We used public transport for the majority of the holiday, which was generally good

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, especially swimming in the lovely clear sea.

review 31 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able to swim in so many different places

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't go to recommended beaches. Don't eat macaroni in Istria

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Quite frankly we never even consider such questions

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My best memories will be of the lakes at Plitvice National Park. They are unique and I felt like I'd entered a land that time forgot. It looked like there should have been dinosaurs wandering around.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a travel kettle with you as the rooms didn't have tea and coffee making facilities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All tourism brings money into the local economy but in this case the hotels were all small independent ones instead of big chains so the money we brought in should stay local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! There were many little touches that made this holiday seem more luxurious than other road trips we have taken. It felt as if the tour operator had personally chosen the best rooms for us. We wouldn't have been able to do that if we'd booked on the hotels ourselves.

review 14 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Of all the cities in Croatia that we visited (we did not go to Zagreb), Old Town Zadar had the best mix of atmosphere, culture and cuisine. The Sea Organ's haunting song and the party atmosphere at sunset really made the holiday feeling.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take Croatian Kunas, not Euros. Some hotels will accept Euros, but shops, restaurants and tourist attractions are prohibited by law from accepting Euros. Istra, and the north of Croatia, is less busy and significantly less expensive that Dubrovnik. Plitvice is not suitable for wheelchair users or people with reduced mobility.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly, other than the income from tourism is helping Croatia recover from the Balkans conflict. The popularity of Dubrovnik has priced locals out of living in the Old Town, and the proliferation of pavement restaurants hampers day-to-day life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyed it. Great people, lovely country (especially northern Croatia), fascinating architecture and fabulous food. Our thanks to Andy & Dawn for making all the arrangements.

review 24 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful coastline, clear waters, great snorkelling. The hotels were all quite different, but all good. Hotel mediteran in Zadar is not flashy, but it is clean and I think the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in. Our children voted it best breakfast in Croatia.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get to Plitvic and Krka as early as possible. Watch where you park in Zadar. Our car was towed as were a lot of other tourist cars. Fairly easy to get it back but a big hassle!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported local tourism industy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good, well organised. Everything went to plan.

review 7 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Plitvice National Park and Korcula

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We did a self drive of Croatia which was booked through the holiday provider. They were great !!! small operation and fantastic service. If you are up for an active holiday I highly recommend slotting a bike /sail trip in as well. We did 5 days of self drive the 7 days of Bike/ Sail with Islandhopping.com then another 5 self drive. great combo.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted local people yes definitely. All the accomodation booking were with small local businesses, they all seemed to demonstrate "good housekeeping" as far os environmental practice was concerned. Not too sure about conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 we loved it thanks !!

review 23 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were numerous memorable moments, Croatia is an incredibly diverse and interesting country. The overall welcome was warm and friendly, the people have great national pride and an inherent need to present themselves and their environment as being safe, beautiful, incredibly clean and welcoming to visitors from any part of the world. Discovering the coastal towns from Jezera down to Dubrovnik has been a particular highlight, particularly Primosten and Brela to name but two. Equally walking around the interior national park at Plitvice and being able to truly immerse yourself in the splendour of the spectacular waterfalls and lakes was an absolute privilege. It is very rare you are able to access such beautiful places so intimately. My favourite discovery of all was the little sleepy town of Vrboska on the island of Hvar. Colloquially known as "Little Venice" as a result of the presence of several small bridges over the water, this small town is a hidden gem sitting at the end of a beautiful cove awaiting discovery by those fortunate enough to find it.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

My overriding advice would be to eat at the local Konobas rather than the larger restaurants; they serve locally produced, freshly cooked foods and are always accommodating. As a vegetarian, it can be problematic to find menus that explicitly list vegetarian meals, however if you mention to the waiter that you don't eat meat or fish etc, they will go out of their way to bring you something to please you, and it will. Go off the beaten track, explore, explore, explore. We discovered so many beautiful places by simply turning down side streets from the main roads, parking the car and following our instincts. The roads are very well laid out, generally in good condition and usually sign posted pretty well. Do a little bit of research prior to visiting each location and decide exactly what you want to see to ensure you don't miss anything out. This way you always tick the important things off the list and also have time to find new places. Check the weather forecasts and be prepared with clothing layers at the beginning/end of the holiday season, we were inadequately prepared for some of the cooler/rainier days.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We made sure our footprint was minimal and we spread our consumer spending around to what appeared to be locally owned businesses. I would say that the itinerary and accommodation was planned that way overall and that worked very well.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate this holiday extremely well overall. A couple of the hotels were of a lower standard which was unfortunate, however the efficient organisation, excellent, diverse itinerary, and clear instructions and information compensated to some degree. I would most definitely recommend your company's services to others (and have already), as the organisation and facilitation of our travels was completely flawless. It was all executed with simple, smooth efficiency which enabled us to enjoy everything to the max, and have a relaxing yet adventurous experience.

review 21 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The welcome and the friendliness of everyone we met. The scenery is stunning as is the food and wine. Everywhere we stayed was perfect - Trogir and Mali Ston especially as were the hill towns of Istria.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Driving is easy - keep off the motorways if possible to see the best of the countryside. Make sure you get to Plitvice early to avoid crowds and stay until closing the evening light is beautiful. Don't opt to stay in Split - Trogir is the perfect spot - a lovely boat trip to Split for the day and back to quieter Trogir for a meal in the evening. When travelling south from Hvar, and to avoid the Neum strip give yourself plenty of time for the ferry at Sucaraj as there can be long queues, then it's a short drive to Ploce for the ferry to Trpanj and a beautiful drive down the peninsula to Ston - not to be missed. Dubrovnik - if possible opt to stay within walking distance from the old city. It gives you the best options for early morning and evening walks which avoid the cruise ship crowds. It was nice to stroll back to the hotel rather than look for bus or taxi if staying north of the city..

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the trip certainly benefited local people as we only stayed and ate in small establishments. Our souvenir purchases were done at roadside stalls - honey, truffle oil, fig jam and fig cake. Dubrovnik was quite expensive, but it is catering for a different type of tourist. We did however manage to find smaller off the cruise-ship trail place to eat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely perfect. Well organized and with no hitches. Car hire was easy and the hotels were very well chosen. We would certainly recommend this to anyone.

review 26 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to say which was the most exciting part as it was all very good from the start. Andy had put together a very good package to start the holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To give Andy all the details and requests that you require and the details about your any physical problems that you have. My wife had a stroke some years ago, and he made every effort to ensure that she could manage at the hotels. All the hotels were able to give us rooms to assist her.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Croatian people are so kind and helpful beyond are expectations and the whole country is so clean

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have travelled to a lot of the world over the last 30 years and I would put this holiday at the top of them all

review 2 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to single in on any one thing, there were so many highlights - Croatia is such a beautiful country, I genuinely loved every stop on our itinerary. Running out of Diesel on the way to Motovun was certainly memorable, not for the right reasons. The helpful vertically challenging shortcuts that our "possessed" satnav sent us on in the oversized hire-car were also stunning and memorable, although I will also be happy not to repeat! Possibly my favourite moment was during the first evening on Mljet - having arrived at about 11, we had had a lazy day, catching up on a bit of reading, swimming in the sea, eating and drinking, and it wasn't until early evening that I finally took the trail down into the natural park - and it really took my breath away - the sun catching in the lush green forest and glowing opalescent turquoise water - quite literally a piece of heaven on earth.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Read the literature and go over the local maps that the holiday providers send you - they really have done their homework. In my usual haste, I often hadn't, so for example, arriving in Trogir, where parking is a nightmare and there was no vehicular access to the hotel, overshooting the suggested municipal car-park meant that we wasted about an hour then trying to extricate ourselves from the wrong side of the port! Similarly, not reading the arrangements for Motovun, after earlier running out of diesel, this also lead to a stressful extraction and culminated in us carrying our heavy luggage more than a kilometre up the steep cobbled street (and having a severe sense of humour failure!) when there was really no need. With regards running out of diesel, also note that hire cars are not provided with a full tank of fuel - dur! For our hirecar, we were given a "significant upgrade" (clearly the only vehicle on site in Pula) - however this was a large, unwieldy estate/people carrier - Because you will often be tackling small, windy and busy locations, I would recommend a smaller vehicle. However our hire car rep at Pula is totally forgiven, and was the unsung hero of our holiday, coming to rescue us within an hour of running out of fuel, charging a diminutive amount that could barely have been worth his while. He also gave us the satnav at no cost - which is essential if you plan to visit Zagreb. With regards the number of stops on our trip, we did end up having ~ 3 one night stopovers, which probably isn't advisable. It was terrible having to leave the absolutely gorgeous hotel in Motovun after just one brief evening - and would have been nice to have had more time in Istria - but what to leave out? If I was forced to change my itinerary, perhaps the only omission might be Zagreb - a beautiful, but not outstanding capital city - slightly oppressive in 39 degrees heat - and a lot of traffic. We also had 3 nights in Dubrovnik, mainly due to my request to have an extra day to make a day-trip to Mostar - in fact, after all the travelling, the last thing I wanted to do at that stage was visit another country/site, and in fact an extra day on Mljet would have been divine. My advice overall would be to visit and enjoy Croatia. Amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, although I don't think we claim having a big fat diesel vehicle for 8 days was particularly environmentally friendly - but it was fun, and I don't think we could have packed as much in if we travelled on public transport. We stayed in small, family-run hotels and ate exclusively Croatian and local where possible - we found that food and drink was wholesome, unpretentious and affordable, and the local wines were excellent. Tourism is clearly so important to the Croatians, and the younger generation have clearly had customer service drummed into them, so I did feel our money mattered. Environmental impact is questionable, as we were tourists after all, but by behaving responsibly, supporting the excellent Croatian National park system (which in itself regulates human impacts in wilderness areas), and using public transport wherever possible, I think we managed to minimise our footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The holiday provider were attentive and responsive when listening to my many requests and putting together my package (always slightly problematic as a single Dad with two older teens)- and even got my ferry tickets printed out and sent to our first hotel when my printer went into meltdown just before we were due to depart! Croatia offers an incredible diversity of landscapes and historical sites, all within attainable distances, and I loved every single place we visited. Great food and drink, inexpensive, wildlife and thrills as necessary, and contrary to what many of the guidebooks said, we found the majority of Croatians to be warm, big hearted and helpful (notable exception - the almost hysterically rude guy in the ticket office in Plitvice National park - but you also need those for holiday memories). I would go back tomorrow.

review 13 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Several,including Plitvice Lakes National Park which is simply stunning, but Krka Park is also not to be missed. The drive to Hvar Town on the island of Hvar is similarly stunning. Many beautiful old towns. We liked the smaller towns like Stari Grad as well as magnificant Dubrovnick.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a GPS, you'll need it. Navigating to some locations would be a real challenge without, sometimes because parking is tricky. Our Tom Tom did a perfect job of guiding us to our destinations. Hotel Zagreb in Dubrovnick for example has very limited parking and would be difficult to find. If staying in old towns like Hvar, follow the advice of contacting the hotel for assistance. They are very willing to help.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the accomodations were smaller establishments with local staffing, although in some cases I am unsure of their ownership. The economy in Croatia is not very strong and young people in particular have a difficult time. The government could do much more to improve infrastructure and encourage things like recycling. Politics aside, conditions seem to be slowly improving and there is evidence of EU participation in a number of projects. Overall, the highways and even minor roadways are in excellent condition.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable.

review 27 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Probably the National Parks with all the waterfalls, unlike anything we have seen before. Mali Ston was stunning and would have warranted two night's stay.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We asked for a connecting flight up to Zagreb to avoid using two airports in this country. On reflection it might have been better to fly from the UK to one of the many airports in Europe (eg Munich) which have flights to Zagreb. The apartment Maro and Baro via nije pressa is great and in a superb position in Dubrovnik old town. The small group tour to Montengro was with 19 people crammed onto a small, though nice, bus

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. The holiday provider gave a superb personal service and clearly with detailed knowledge of the country.

review 16 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Plitvice lakes & waterfalls - a beautiful national park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Visit and stay at Mali Ston if driving from Zadar to Dubrovnik.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really - apart from supporting the local trade

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - great country, great scenery, everyone we met was friendly and very helpful

review 12 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walled towns of Dubrovnik, Zadir, Trogir; the Sea organ, Cres Island, Istra in general and overall the unexpected beauty and sites of Croatia and its helpful people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try the local food and wine - don't 'eat tourist fare'. Drink Croatian water its wonderful. Don't rush from one destination to another - give yourself at least a couple of nights at each location. Allow time crossing borders particularly from Bosnia (make sure you have plenty of water to drink whilst waiting).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Outside the main cities people seemed generally pleased to see and talk to visitors and relate local customs and learn about your country - this mutual exchange fosters good relations

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A relaxing, interesting and in some ways an educational experience which was great fun and very enjoyable. The good weather also helped

review 11 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being up on a ridge during a Bora wind blast. Difficult to stand up. Makes you appreciate why some of the islands lack vegetation on the windward side. Aside from that,the Plitvice Lakes exceeded our expectations to a considerable degree. Made all the more impressive by reason of it raining lightly for the two days we were there, which resulted in a lot of flowing water and I adding to the effect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't stay on the mainland; make sure you take some ferries to the offshore islands. Then travel the length of the island to catch a ferry to the next island or back to the mainland. Car and passenger ferry fares are quite cheap.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Paid our park and other entry fees as needed, so I guess we did some good. And our everyday spending helped the local economy as we went.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very enjoyable, and better able to appreciate the efforts Croatia has made to recover from the war.

review 24 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking through the Plitvice Lakes National Park. Breathtaking views from the hilltop hotel in Motovun. The pleasure of car driving through the beautiful inland countryside of Slovenia and Croatia on relatively empty but well maintained roads.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do consider a fly drive in the interior of these two countries.The arrangements for using a car between Slovenia and Croatia work OK. 2-3 day stops in Ljubjianca, Motovun, Plitvice and Trojir gave us a holiday that balanced relaxation with interest. Selected Hotels were well placed and not flashy. Warm welcome, English spoken everywhere, and great inexpensive food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Certainly 4 Star. Some more precise info could have helped a bit e.g garage limitations of City Centre Hotel in Ljubjiana; how exactly to get access to get up to Motovun hill top Hotel: wrong info on how to access Concordia Hotel in Trogir, and rather vague arrangements about Trogir airport car drop off. BUT these points dont alter an overall excellently chosen set of locations with all the important bits happening as planned. Thank you. (MIMIC Inn Plitvice particularly friendly)

review 22 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The visit to Plitvisc lakes and falls were absolutely spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Driving on the open roads is simple and easy. Through the towns can a little more nerve racking. Having a couple of nights in each place helped keep the pace realistic. Be prepared for limited ability for laundry other than the hotel services. Having 3 nights in Trogir was a little more than needed and would have been better 3 nights based in or nearer to Split as this was where most sights were.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely as we dealt with local people often.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall it was a very interesting experience and well worth it. Croatia is a beautiful country with plenty of natural sights. Being just before the tourist season had its benefits with things being less busy. Just a few times things were not yet open.

review 16 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everyday was memorable

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Drive yourself

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Was happy to spend

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Your company was fantastic. Everything falling into place . Pick up, hotels, car arrangements , the whole works. Will recommend you to all my friends . Well done.

review 26 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Each hotel was different i.e. no chain hotels but clean and comfortable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9 out of 10 ( rain for a few days cost one point!)

review 4 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

the scenery especially the mountains and walled cities at the coast, also the wide variety of hotels

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do you own research and decide were you want to go and work with the help of responsible travel how you can achieve what you want from your holiday

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we were staying in small locally owned hotels and eat in local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

very highly and everything was expertly organised

review 23 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The entire holiday was wonderful, more than we had imagined. Croatia is a very beautiful country. Every town/city we visited was a picture postcard. One of our memorable events was taking the ferry from Trogir to the small island of Drvenik Veli. After walking in the sun for 1 hour to a fish restaurant we came to the end of the road and a small building which turned out to be a private residence. We had walked in the wrong direction. The owner of the home turned out to be a journalist from Germany. We had a great visit with her, swam in the Adriatic at her private beach and then she drove us to the restaurant that would have been a 2 hour walk in the sun. It was a great afternoon, wonderful food and interesting company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to visit the smaller islands on day trips. Learn about the history of each place through walking tours. Relax and enjoy the coast and swimming in the Adriatic. The island of Mljet is definitely worth a visit.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We talked to many local people and bought their goods, such as fresh figs, sugared almonds and homemade Grappa. We also went to Konoba restaurants wherever we could to support family businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We highly recommend this type of holiday to anyone travelling to Croatia. Driving is easy. Don't hesitate to do it. It is breath taking to drive along the coast.

review 21 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The ability to drive throughout the country see what we wanted to see and the secure knowledge that we would have a decent hotel to stay in each night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a great type of vacation for those who do not want to be locked into a tour. You can explore and visit the sights you want and best of all you can see some really great country.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did as we stayed at local owned hotels. ate at traditional restaurants, drank lot's of coffee at local coffee bars and we were able to converse in their language and many of the locals could converse in ours.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was truly memorable, and we highly recommend this company to book your trip. You were willing to shorten it for us as we could only be away for 10 days not 14 days. You looked at what we wanted and the sights we wanted to visit.

review 22 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking along Dubrovnik walls & spectacular views. Enjoying Plitvice waterfalls - spent hrs walking every path.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Beware Hvar town is nightclub land - seeing the town is a must but think a stay at Starigrad town would have been better.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Can see Croatia has benefitted from tourism. Cost of walking Dubrovnik walls high but apparently needed for conservation but would think good revenue brought in by cruise ship guests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great mixture of inland walking & coast. Had bad experience with trip to Mostar so cannot recommend that.

review 2 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Croatia,a great place

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

try to do less travelling ( leave out Split??)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No comment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 28 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the locals seeing amazing landscapes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

None really.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the croatian people need as many tourists as they can.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

excellent The only down fall was the bad accomodation at Plitvice National Park. The place was not very friendly and over charged for simple and bad meals I am only mentioning this so you dont send other people there. Beds not made no light by bed no glasses in rooms and very grummpy staff.

review 14 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip down the coast of Croatia (from Zagreb to Dubrovnik) was absolutely beautiful ... all the old Roman ruins and towns. The people were so friendly and helpful and the food was delicious.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light! Only one B&B that we stayed at had an elevator. As well, 'toiletries' consisted of a thin bar of soap so bring your own shampoo, conditioner, etc., etc., etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose our trip benefited the local people because their whole economy is based on tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies