18 independent reviews for Northern Lights family holiday, tailor made

Reviews for Northern Lights family holiday, tailor made

SHOW
13
5
0
0
0

review 11 Apr 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Fantastic scenery, the most perfect winter wonderland. And the unique accommodation at both hotels, marvellous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry about feeling cold in the arctic conditions. The cold weather gear supplied is really good.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Good employment opportunities for young people in Finland.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fabulous, we loved it.

review 6 Mar 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the northern lights, the beauty of Lapland.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate, it is worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure. I hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding.

review 22 Feb 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many wonderful moments and experiences its impossible to pick the most memorable. I think that the highlight for me was the snowmobile safari to the reindeer farm. Driving the snowmobile through the forest and zooming across the frozen lake with my son on the back was an experience I will never forget, such a buzz! We were then treated with the chance to spend time with the herds of reindeer, my 2 boys loved being in the paddocks with them wandering all around them and hearing the information and stories from the farmers. Another magical night was the horse drawn sleigh safari. It was our first night in Ranua and after a very early start we were all pretty tired but soon perked up when the Finnish guide appeared with his lovey horse pulling the sleigh for us all to snuggle into. It was such a relaxing and peaceful way to travel and we gazed at the stars as we went into the forest. Once away from the street lights we could see the Northern lights appearing above the tree line. We stopped in the forest for a fire and coffee and time to gaze at the sky and wonder about the magic of the universe, such a very special night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I definitely overpacked! It is a tricky one to call as I had read that the temperature can be as low as -20 in February and we were lucky as it was generally between 0 and -5 when we were there. I packed for -20 with several layers, extra body warmers and loads of hand warmers and foot warmers which we didn't need. I also packed snow boots for my 2 boys but the ones provided by the resort were so much better I needn't have bothered. The apartment had a drying cupboard which was the best thing ever and meant that when my kids rolled around in the snow in their clothes when we arrived I could just put them in the drying cupboard and they were not only dry but also lovely and warm ready for the next adventure. My 2 boys are autistic and have ADHD and for us to have a successful holiday we need to have a planned itinerary that I can explain to them in advance so that they know what is happening and we can work through anything that they are worried or anxious about beforehand. I spent the time to create an outline of the activities that we wanted when we booked the holiday and asked the contact at the Aurora zone to check it with the resort etc. When we arrived I was given our itinerary and the activities were all there, but some were on a different day and in a different order. I was annoyed that I had not been told this in advance as it meant I had to re-brief my boys. Usually this is not a huge problem for people but for families with neurodiverse children it can be huge trigger for meltdowns, especially when the children have already had to deal with a 3:30am alarm call, airports, flight, coach journey etc Once I had time to calm us all down a bit and have a look at the itinerary it had obviously been carefully thought out by the resort team and worked brilliantly! I guess my tips to other travellers is to be aware that you might not know which activities you will be doing on which day until you get there but to trust the resort team! Also, on this note, one of my boys has a limited range of "acceptable foods". The restaurant offered a menu of 3 choices each night, none of which were in this range, but were happy to make nuggets and chips or sausage and chips (and they were the best chips ever!!). Also we had a night at the arctic fox igloos and the chef there kindly made him a plain pork chop and chips!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It most definitely benefitted the local people by giving them an income during the winter months. The guide who took us into his brothers forest on the horse drawn sleigh safari has developed his service over the years from short sleigh rides in the wildlife park to these night safaris because of the Northern lights tourists. He told us that he has 9 daughters and he sometimes brings his eldest with him on the trips so that she can see him at work and also experience chatting with the tourists and interacting with people from different countries and cultures. The reindeer farmers were also very positive about the income they can get during the winter months by opening their farm to visitors.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was probably the best family holiday we have been on. Our boys are 13 and 11 which felt like the perfect age, still young enough to enjoy the pure joy of running into the deep snow, sledging around the resort and visiting the animals in the wildlife park but old enough to appreciate how lucky they were to see the Northern lights and be out in the Boreal Forest. They were old enough to participate in all of the activities, even snow shoeing and I think we will all treasure the memories for the rest of our lives.

review 4 Jan 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Dog-sledding

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book activities in advance as they may be fully booked when you arrive

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous experience

review 30 Mar 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it particularly the huskie dog sleigh rides

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just take warm thermal underwear and tea bags the rest is all there

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes particularly following the recent pandemic

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely 5 star. Fab family holiday and the period of 4/5 days was perfect

review 5 Mar 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the Northern Lights

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The husky ride is fantastic

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The staff were great, the cabins are lovely and the food was delicious.

review 24 Feb 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our trips which were pre planned- the husky dog experience was the best.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít really need more than 4 days - Listen to the guides about what to wear for each experience you book. Take heat pads for feet and hands.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes from economic point of view we paid a lot of money for the holiday and spent money while we were there. I hoped the resort did everything they could to help with environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - it was expensive but the services provided were good.

review 12 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The morning we spent with the reindeer herder. We sat around the fire and he talked about his family's history as Sami reindeer herders. The kids loved the trip on the snowmobile across the frozen lake to go ice fishing. The New Year's Eve dinner, plus fireworks over the lake was also amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you follow the advice about layers. Take two layers of thermals and two layers of wool jumpers for each person. Buy hand warmers to pop in the children's gloves and boots.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Money went straight to the reindeer herder.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding - perfect. An amazing family experience we will all remember for the rest of our lives.

review 22 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole searching for Santa experience was truly magical for our 5 year old (and us!!)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for some early starts with the activities and we wishes we had done 4 nights instead of 3!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hard to say but lots of local people worked at the wonderful resort making it extra friendly and special

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely unbelievably magical - amazing accommodation and restaurant area that was suitable for adults and children alike - might have been because we were a few days before Xmas but it never felt overly busy there). Staff were friendly and helpful too!

review 4 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reindeer herding and the fantastic northern lights display we were lucky enough to see on our last night.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Spend longer on the trip - an extra day or two would have allowed a slightly less hectic pace and some more time for exploring, using the equipment or relaxing in the sauna. My 6 year old was quite tired, but kept going because it was all so exciting.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the visit to a genuine, local reindeer herd was a highlight, and we learned about the local culture.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - we were so sad to have to come home!

review 22 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's difficult to give just one as there were so many exciting moments: the reindeer trip, the snow shoe walks and the cross-country skiing on the beautiful frozen lake were all highlights, as was the pristine snow in such an unspoilt location.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The clothing provided is so good that You really don't need to bring much of your own outerwear. The food is excellent and plentiful, but we still found it useful to have a few snacks available for the children after some of the more energetic activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel clearly thought about sustainability and appeared to be using local suppliers. On the other hand, snowmobiles seem inherently bad for the environment and, while essential for local people such as the reindeer herder to do their work, our 2h snowmobile trip with other travellers seemed like a frivolous burning of fossil fuels, even though it was fun!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely excellent: really well organised, friendly and knowledgeable guides, great accommodation and food. Lived up to all our high expectations.

review 19 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was simply amazing but the Husky safari was my very favourite.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take hand and toe warmers if you are travelling in winter.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic!

review 29 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Husky safari & trip to see Santa

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for lack of daylight

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Quite eco-friendly

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved the activities, & guides very good. Struggled with sleep (combination of tiny bed & polar night adjustment).

review 27 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Really enjoy searching for the northern lights, enjoyed the time on the Fells, dog sledding was a fun experience, small group experience was welcomed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book through a tour company that includes all aspects of the trip from airport transportation to the hotel to tours. There was a problem with the original hotel not being ready for customers but we were taken care of with a new location and same tours without a problem or lapse in our trip momentum.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

MAT was extremely helpful with all questions, generous of his time to teach the group planetary patterns in the sky above us, helped everyone how to better take photos of the night sky. Hopefully you hired him to be a steady staff person for he is great with your customers. Sorry for such a delay in responding to your questionnaire. Let me know if you want a few photos from my trip in December 2017

review 26 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Husky sledding was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have young children (my daughter is 3 and a half), donít hesitate booking. I was concerned she would be too young but she thoroughly enjoyed playing in the snow and all the excursions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people in terms of employment maybe...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing - we all loved it. Great accommodation, activities and restaurant.

review 24 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved all the activities. I think the huskies would be voted top by most of the party. But just the experience of being surrounded by a beautiful snowy trees and scenery and for small (and larger) children, the constant availability of sledges and slopes and lovely deep snow is magical. Just being able to go in to the zoo every day we were there and see those animals and birds once more was also special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for an ambivalent relationship with your snowsuit and other protective clothing, gloves, helmets etc. Taking them on and off takes time and they feel clumsy and uncomfortable at times - know that you will grow to LOVE them once you realise you can only enjoy the snow and the adventurous activities if you are wearing them. 10 mins without those layers will convince you. This can be a tough lesson for small children initially.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly seemed that many of the employees at Ranua were local and they were using local people such as reindeer and horse farmers to provide activities. We were impressed that we were taken to what appeared to be a local supermarket not one which belongs to an international chain. Lots of local food and drink on offer.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very special holiday. My Australian son in law and granddaughter (aged 6) had never touched snow before. I wanted to share a special experience with them and my daughter and it was certainly that. It worked for us all whatever age or stage. Its a relaxed and welcoming place where you feel they are taking care of you but they are also providing challenging and memorable activities and sharing their own experience and passion for the landscape and its wildlife. The standard of accommodation and food is high.

review 13 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Snowmobiling! What a fantastic day. The tour was informal, fun and adventurous. What more can you ask for. The setting couldn't have been better.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack suitable clothing. Although the warm outer gear is perfect for tours, it is a little cumbersome for just popping to dinner. So good winter gear to go from the cabin to the main lodge. Also, we travelled with a 10 month old baby, so take a sling. The staff were fantastic and loaned us a cart with a reindeer skin, blankets and pillows to transport our baby from the cabin to the lodge. This was great! But if you wanted to go a bit further afield, the sling was important because it keeps the baby a lot warmer. Don't overpack. In the winter you don't really need to change your clothes that often and there isn't a great deal of storage in the cabins. We had too much stuff and didn't use most of it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the staff were local and I felt they were connected and dedicated to the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! What a fantastic place to stay. I would not hesitate in recommending the accommodation used. The staff went above and beyond - no request was too difficult. From the collection to departure, each touchpoint was dealt with a smile and solution.

review 29 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved all of it - the food, accommodation, tour guides and the northern lights were spectacular. The trip was very well organised and everything came together nicely. We travel a lot and this trip did not disappoint.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a hairdryer as there was not one in our room. We might have been able to borrow one - we didn't ask.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy