12 independent reviews for Self guided walking holiday in Andalucia, Spain

Reviews for Self guided walking holiday in Andalucia, Spain

SHOW
1
10
1
0
0

review 22 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking was excellent with a good selection of routes some easy and some a bit harder.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go its a nice part of the country and the people are friendly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As we spent money in the region it benefited local people and supported conservation. Environmental impact is more difficult as a car is essential but as stated previously we walked a lot. Most of the walks required a car to the start point but from there you were on your own. No food or drink was available on all but one of the walks so it was carry what you wanted and bring out the detritus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent very quiet and peaceful. The service and food at the property was very good

review 19 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Amazing walks in the Natural Park, and the friendly welcome from Ilaria and Derek. The Barranco de Osa walk was spectacular. We went in March and it was perfect for walking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a place to go walking, and /or relax by the fire with a book and a glass of wine. You really are away from it all.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we were encouraged to go to local restaurants for lunch, and they buy everything in the local town. The hotel is off grid and uses solar hot water and electricity, along with wood and pellet stoves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really good break with lovely people.

review 4 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't go in January unless you have to. We had to.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'm not sure, really. Presumably spending our money in the local economy benefits local people. We had to fly and then hire a car, so I'm not sure that we benefited the environment. We certainly appreciated the environment of the sierras we visited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. A wonderful place to get away to. Marvellous scenery, good walking country, a nice place to stay, welcoming hosts, good food, etc.. We'd like to go back if we can - during a warmer month, and in the hope of not getting quite so much rain. I would give it four and a half stars. It's not the best holiday we've ever been on, but it was better than four stars.

review 29 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mountain walks and mountain biking. 2. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation? Not particularly, except in the usual local spending. 3. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall? A good holiday - nice hotel in good location for walks; really friendly, welcoming and always helpful; food always fine but with a bit more elan and local accent could make the holiday truly memorable.

review 24 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many! We didn't see another soul on the 3 main hikes that we did and getting to the top of Cerro del Buitre and seeing all the mountains around us was amazing. The only real noise was the sound of the snow melting and falling off the trees below us. As the hotel is in the middle of nowhere we went to bed every night with the blinds open so we got to wake up to the sun rising over the olive groves around us - beautiful!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want to be able to get away from it all this the place for you. The hotel owners, Derek and Ilaria speak perfect English but none of the other locals do so it would help if you have some basic Spanish or take a phrase book with you! Everyone was very friendly and helpful though and the old man in the local supermarket even used Google Translate to help us work out what we were trying to ask for!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely - Ilaria uses fresh local produce to prepare all the meals, from her own garden wherever possible. They also link up with other local businesses to offer horse riding and adventure activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exactly what we needed! Ilaria and Derek do everything they can to make sure every guest has all the information they need to do the things they want with their holiday.

review 16 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is a wonderful place to stay for a holiday. Its location is amazing, many walks are possible in the beautiful countryside and Ilaria and Derek are lovely hosts. They are so welcoming and nothing (including my special diet!) was too much trouble. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and can give you excellent advice on where to go.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A car is essential but from Almeria or Malaga airports the drive is straightforward.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Ilaria and Derek are committed to green issues and run their business accordingly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant! We definitely hope to return!

review 7 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stunning views from mountain trails still knee-deep in snow. Wading streams knee-deep in snow-melt which would normally be a stroll across stepping stones. Meant we had to turn back midway on some walks, but that let us enjoy views we'd missed on the way up. Griffon vultures circling just outside our bedroom window above a spectacular valley.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If hiring a car, consider upgrading to a high wheelbase vehicle, the roads into the mountains are a bit hairy in winter. Bring a book-light, in case Derek and Ilaria haven't got round to my suggestion of improving lighting for reading in the lounge. (A lovely space otherwise, with its log fire and sunset views over the Sierra).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The latter two certainly, with a lovely stove/water heater fuelled by sustainable waste wood, and PV panels used wherever possible instead of gas-fuelled generator. The hotel would have provided local employment when being built. Not sure whether it generates much in its day to day running. Locally sourced food helps the local economy. Majority of our fellow guests were Spanish, so it's meeting a need for the resident population, not just tourists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very relaxing week, despite the strenuous days described above. Comfort and excellent cooking, friendly and ever-helpful hosts.

review 21 May 2013

“Booking through Responsible travel I visited the Castril area of Andalusian Spain in April. I whished to walk and look for unusual plants of the area. My stay at was most enjoyable with excellent accommodation and food at a reasonable cost. I was pointed to the best walking areas and had a very pleasant time.“

review 27 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking in the local national parks was great; good weather and lovely scenery. Watching the vultures practising landing on a rocky outcrop was great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The packed lunches and dinners at the hotel are excellent. November was a good time for walking in the mountains - sun every day but pleasantly cool. The maps of the area are a bit vague with very few paths marked. The hotel-supplied walking directions were fine although an altimeter would help as a lot of the waypoints were height based.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel is very green and the owners have reduced their environmental impact as far as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Ilaria and Derek are great hosts and made us very welcome.

review 4 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Beautiful views all around and close to two mountain ranges where we did some wonderful self guided walks. Ilaria was a welcoming host, who was full of advice about the local area. She speaks English very well, having lived in the UK for 10 years. The hotel has large bedrooms, an honesty bar and a living room, with a large selection of books and DVDs.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The hotel is quite remote-which is great if you want a peaceful holiday- but you definitely need to hire a car. Also, the nearest restaurants are 15 minutes drive away, so half board is a good idea. Ilaria feeds you very well! The 3 course meal is only 15 euros, which is fantastic value. The hotel is about 1500m above sea level, so outside the high season, it is quite cool first thing in the morning and late afternoon, so pack accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel generates its own electricity- solar panels and burning wood pellets that are a by product of sawmills. Recycling of waste is encouraged. A number of local people are employed to help with cleaning, cooking and serving meals during busy times.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was everything we had hoped it would be. Lovely hotel, great walks, peace and quiet and the opportunity to discover a remote and unspoiled part of Spain. We have travelled quite extensively, but so far, have rarely returned anywhere. However, we are already talking about returning, to experience it at a different time of the year.

review 16 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I had a lovely few days. There are a lot of opportunties for walks and bike rides. The hotel is decorated is a high standard and is a beautiful place to stay - the pictures don't really do the building or the location justice! The food was great and the owners are very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. I think the highlight was a beautifil hike in the Cazola National Park where I didn't see anyone else all day!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I arrived by public transport and the owners were very helpful will dropping me off for walks and visits, however, I think that there is so much to explore in the area I would definitely recommend hiring a car.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel is completeing off-grid so definitely reduced enironmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! Excellent combination of relaxation and opportunities to get out hiking or biking.

review 27 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sitting with a cold beer watching the sun set over the mountains on the beautiful terrace.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come in The spring or in September October ...the walking will be more easy than in high summer

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the produce used for the meals was sourced locally and local people are employed to help out.....the operator also has high environmental awareness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved the oeprator and will come back to see the flowers in May or June. An excellent holiday.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy