2 independent reviews for Jambay Lakhang festival holiday in Bhutan

Reviews for Jambay Lakhang festival holiday in Bhutan

SHOW
0
2
0
0
0

review 5 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Nature Culture and the guide. The views where amazing, the Buddhism was introduced in a very appropriate way and the guide was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for inconvenience while traveling in Bhutan outside Paro and Thimphu area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. I really don't know where the big money went to by the Kingdom. The few things I bought helped those I bought from.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday. The group, the guide, the nature and culture where overwhelming.

review 13 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Note: we did a package of three tours provided under the banner of this operature -- (a) Bhutan, Land of the Thunder Dragon (Jambay lakhang festival); (b) Nepal - Chitwan National Park; (c) Nepal - Kathmandu Valley .............. - ‘Safari’ on the back of an elephant - Chitwan - Viewing the Tiger’s Nest Monastery - near Paro, Bhutan - Postcard view after view after view throughout Bhutan

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Much of the Kathmandu Valley tour -- particularly the time spent in the city itself -- was wasteful. The day allocated to touring the city boiled down to 2-¼ hours of guided visiting of two religious sites. We had a particularly ineffectual guide for those 2 hours ... and it was (according to the itinerary) left to us to find our own way or hire a private guide to see other sights such as the Monkey temple, Durbar Square, Thamel district, etc. Our impression was that Kathmandu is a dump, with little interest except, perhaps, a few hours of meandering in Durbar Square and the fascinating nearby streets, plus a half-hour at each of the three major religious sites. The (supposed/advertised) five days for this tour could probably be pruned to three. Chitwan was a bit disappointing in terms of wildlife viewing. Seeing two sleeping rhinos was as good as it got. Otherwise, it was just a few deer and monkeys.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Clearly the local tour company in Bhutan was prospering and growing because of its connection with this operator. With the exception of our stay at the Radisson Kathmandu Hotel, our money was obviously going into local operations. We were certainly given the opportunity to patronize local crafts persons. In general, we were led to understand and believe in Bhutan’s approach to development, including the commitment to preserve the forests and other natural and cultural resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The Nepal legs were somewhat disappointing, particularly the Kathmandu Valley one, which was very poor value-for-money. Bhutan was superb: certainly one of the most wonderful countries we’ve ever been in, and the tour provided was top-notch. Star ratings - separate for the three tours: Bhutan: 4-star ... Chitwan: 2-star ... Kathmandu Valley: 1-star.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent adventures. We are pleased to read that you had a fabulous time in Bhutan and that your experience exceeded expectations, but are naturally disappointed that your Nepal Adventures did not reflect the same. We regret that you did not see much wildlife in Chitwan, and understand that this would be deceiving. Your city tour experience raises concerns and we are sending a senior staff member to Kathmandu to make alterations that may be required to improve our travellers' experience. You will be happy to know that the Radisson Hotel in Kathmandu is owned and employs only Nepalese.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies