10 independent reviews for Mongolia adventure holiday

Reviews for Mongolia adventure holiday

SHOW
7
3
0
0
0

review 18 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going over the sand dunes and staying in gers or in tents in what seemed to be in the middle of nowhere and then a herd of goats and sheep comes along.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To be prepared for camping or for the whole group to sleep in a ger sometimes even sleeping on the sleeping mats on the floor.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The fact that we slept in local gers helped the locals financially

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was very well organized and it was the best way to experience Mongolia

review 19 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The space and serenity of Mongolia. And watching sunrise and sunset caily in front of your eyes

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be mentally prepared for the long road trip. Someone in our group claimed to suffer car sickness and become a pain during the journey

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely supported the locals in terms of staying in the gers or giving jobs to the locals and teaching them english.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

8 out of 10.

review 27 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The amazing landscapes were very memorable as were the Mongolian people and their culture. The wild camp sites were a huge highlight of the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Mongolia can be a challenging country to really travel around and experience but the operator made the journey as easy, comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They are up front and honest about everything regarding this overland camping journey. Don't hesitate to contact Jess if you have any concerns or are unsure about what to expect. The trip info provided is excellent. The small max group sizes also made the operator stand out from other tour operators.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people definitely benefited through employment and training. The operator certainly aims to support local people and this ethos shines through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing. Trip of a life time.

review 23 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in family Ger Camps, especially the night that started with trying in Dellchs (the national coat/dress) and ended in a singsong, with songs from Mongolia, Ireland and Oz.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for the hard Ger beds and as a person who needs to be Gluten free, bring your own stock of bread & snacks.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the above - Jess is passionate about working at people and their communities level rather than using big business run camps, leading to more & More real contact with the people of the country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic, with excellent local interaction with the families who owned the Ger Camps, fab views and an idea of the vastness of the country/ steppes.

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There was not one part of the holiday that stood out: the entire trip - all 23 days - made it amazing! The landscapes, the animals, the people, the small group we were travelling with: it all was just right and made for a mind-blowing holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Come with an open mind and be flexible. Not everything goes according to plan, which is okay if you're open for it, as it provides you with new opportunities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes -without a doubt. Only Mongol products were bought, Ger-camps were camps run by Mongolians, all employees are Mongolian. Camping spots were chosen in collaboration with rangers, and real efforts were made for waste reduction and cleanup. There was even a waste-clean up run!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very satisfied with this holiday

review 20 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Impossible to answer - there were so many highlights: the vast landscapes, the variety of landscapes, the sunsets, the wilderness hikes, the wildflowers, the feeling of isolation, the fantastic campsites sourced by the team, the unexpected encounters with locals, sighting of birds and animals, just being immersed in the world of Mongolian herders and watching it unfold, the camaraderie and friendship of the team (trip advisors and drivers) and our fellow travellers, experiencing the day-to-day lives of Mongolians - travelling on their long, dusty, bumpy roads; showering in town showers; shopping in local markets; and eating their food (yes, even the mutton!).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be open to whatever happens (and not tied to an itinerary), prepared to go without a shower every day, be happy to wash your clothes in a stream or wherever you can (certainly without a washing machine), be happy to enjoy what's happening right in front of you - the scenery, the changing landscapes, the passing flocks of sheep and goats, herds of horses, yaks and cattle - and not worrying about what time it is or what's happening on-line. You need to be comfortable going to the toilet behind a sand-dune or a tree, you need to care for the environment by responsibly disposing of toilet paper, drinking the local water (it's clean and safe) and you need to accept and enjoy the accommodation for what it is - not for what you might expect 'back home'. If you can do all that, you will be rewarded with amazing scenery and experiences, places and people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Jess and the team practice what they preach. Shopping for food and other supplies is done locally, at markets and in small shops, spread amongst different suppliers. The small group size (four guests on our trip) meant that we had little impact when we arrived at an isolated camp-site or in a small community. We stayed with local families, sometimes ate in local restaurants, bought ice-creams in tiny shops in isolated communities - all payments going directly to local people. Good quality water was collected from wells and springs so as we could replenish our water bottles (no mountains of empty plastic bottles on this trip), and the team made it easy for us to act responsibly with toilet paper and waste, leaving no trace on the landscape. The operator also supports local environmental and social initiatives, both financially and practically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our holiday in Mongolia was outstanding. We've been lucky to travel lots - to many different countries, many different styles of travel - and this was by far the best we have experienced. Jess, Turuu, and the whole team are committed to offering a real taste of Mongolia, in a responsible and environmentally-friendly way that benefits local people and communities. This holiday was my 60th birthday celebration and gift to myself. It exceeded my expectations on every count.

review 20 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything. We had an excellent group. The tour leader and drivers were wonderful. We felt like a group of friends enjoying the vast expanses of Mongolia with lots of positive energy. We were well taken care of - the company, the food, the blend of travel and time to just enjoy were all perfect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go with the flow. Have no particular expectations and be delighted with Mongolia and the holiday company.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. From shopping in little shops that gave some money to the local areas, picking up rubbish and leaving no garbage of our own behind anywhere. Also the holiday operator supports some very valuable projects for Mongolia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10. I have been an independent traveller for more than 40 years, but would have wanted nothing different on this trip.

review 10 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most meaningful moments were interacting with locals and the land in an authentic way. We stayed with our driver's friends, learned first hand on the herder's way of life,camped off the beaten path, washed in streams, made dung fires, identifyed birds and plants.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Set realistic expectations. Mongolia is a beautiful but harsh environment. Be prepared to enjoy the moments as they come... Versus holding on to western standards.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The travel company works directly with locals to support their income. All trip assistants are women whom get to practice their English. Any add on tours support charity organizations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Authentic. Poignant. Challenging but very genuine.

review 3 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying with families rather than at ger camps and being able to interact with them during their regular routines. The scenery. Driving from place to place rather than flying to see the country and take advantage of ad hoc opportunities like shear shearing, horse mane cutting and Nadam horse race practice.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for rough roads. I've traveled all over the world and Mongolia does win the prize for the most consistent bumpy roads. That's part of the experience, though. If you truly want to see the real Mongolia you need to drive from place to place. Eternal Landscapes fully delivered on what was promised - the real Mongolia with no contrived experiences. They also took better care of their vehicles than some of the other companies.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed with local families who could use the extra income. EL hires local drivers and guides and pays them fair wages. Groceries were purchased from local stores and we were given the opportunity to visit local markets and buy local products. El also supports Mongolians through support of various projects throughout the country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The operator delivered on what was promised. They are knowledgeable and experienced. I feel I experienced most of the various Mongolian climatic areas, from the desert to the mountains and northern lakes. We experienced local food and traditions and were able to build relationships with the local people. Staying at tourist ger camps would not have allowed us to do this. EL is flexible and will adjust the holiday to meet the various needs of their clients.

review 5 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the local Mongolian people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To prepare physically more for the trip as the trekking was quite challenging.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. It had a good mix of tourist activities with more non-touristy things.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies