8 independent reviews for Sicily history tour, Italy

Reviews for Sicily history tour, Italy

SHOW
0
4
3
0
1

review 12 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Warm clothes to go to Etna

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic apart from the accommodation. The accommodation was a letter down.

review 24 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Unfortunately the most memorable part was the awfulness of our guide. On the positive side, Sicily is very beautiful if a little run down. Reminded me a lot of the Balkans

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be organised with luggage. Very much on the move and mostly staying in one place each night.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not hugely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Too much really for the allocated time

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Eva, Firstly, thank you for your comments. You should have received direct correspondence from us related to your concerns about the leader on your trip. We have explained what went wrong and how on this occasion the leader fell far below our normal high standards. This is not the norm and the leader in question is receiving further training before leading a trip again. We apologise that the leader did not represent our company in the way you or we were anticipating and for the disappointment you felt as a result. Whilst we are aware that we cannot change your experience, we do hope you feel that we have taken the appropriate action to ensure that this situation does not recur and that we have taken your feedback seriously. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are operated at our normal high standard.

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The locations of the temples at Agrigento and Selinunte were truly spectacular. Entering the Cathedral at Monreale made everyone go "wow!"

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

When visiting Etna make sure you have adequate warm/ waterproof clothing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was an extremely comprehensive tour of Sicily. Though the tour was busy the earliest start time was 8.30 so you did feel that the morning was not too much of a rush. Our guide gave us free time in most locations and this gave us time as individuals to explore the areas that we were particularly interested in. We had the choice to eat separately or with the group and we did both.

review 22 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Archaeological sites

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take your swimmers

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very much exceeded our expectations. Good value for money.

review 16 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the Zingaro Reserve, making our way to Erice and back down Valderice.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn a bit of Italian, especially for food items - makes it just that bit easier and more enjoyable! (Makes the locals happy too).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the locals economy-wise!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to see most of the Greek temples in Sicily, standing in some, on fallen blocks, massive

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

with this group? The guides were totally unknowledge-able, utterly ignorant the tour leader knew the geography: that's it, that's all

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well, we spent a few Euro's! Whether the locals got any? moot. As to the latter 2: not really

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good itinerary, but now I will get some books from the Library.

review 6 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The scenery is stunning. Our favourite day was walking on the coast in the Zingaro Nature Reserve. The tour of Agrigento was absolutely excellent all because of our guide, Giovanna who told us so much, so succinctly and in an interesting fashion.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! Some long days but interesting sightseeing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local hotels, local guides and local shops so we hope it benefitted Sicilians. Our guide was dedicated to improving the environment and educating children about how to care for wildlife and nature.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very good introduction to Sicily.

review 2 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was an overview of Sicily which we thought was well paced. Very good guide, (Salvo) enthusiastic about his country and very knowledgeable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a busy schedule, but one that is perfectly manageable.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guide was conservation minded. I am not sure how you could have involved local people more. It is not a developing country where home stays are more common. Is there any 'agritourism' venue in Sicily which could accommodate a group of 10+?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. In terms of short 'adventure' holidays it was one of the best we have been on.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies