10 independent reviews for Kumano Kodo trail self guided walking holiday, Japan

Reviews for Kumano Kodo trail self guided walking holiday, Japan

SHOW
5
4
1
0
0

review 1 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Specific moments on the trail, especially at the approach to Hongu, our ryokan and experience at Chikatsuyu.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would not book this holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really. The local people have no doubt been hosting travelers on the Kumono Kodo for centuries. The environmental benefits of this company are not perceptible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was good, with a few problems that I already conveyed to the tour operator. My main issue is that it was poor value - it was way overpriced. I was partly sold on the tour as a sustainable holiday and I now think that is pretty much just greenwashing for profit.

Read the operator's response here:

We appreciate your sharing your thoughts about our tour and we're grateful that you mention special moments at the grand shrine at Hongu and in Chikatsuyu. With the growing popularity of the Kumano Kodo trail among overseas visitors, it is now easy to forget how the route had fallen into obscurity in past decades. We remain proud of the small part we have played in reviving interest in in the trail and in the new life it has brought to the area. Our presence in the village of Chikatsuyu demonstrates that we are closely involved with the local community and aim to generate economic activity and job opportunities through tourism in a sustainable and ecological way. In terms of pricing, we are always working to increase the perceived value of our tours. Arrangements for every one of our trip are made on an individual basis and tailored to clients' particular requirements. But we will certainly take on board your comments; we are always striving to improve our products and services.

review 21 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking the Kumano Kodo, staying in inns along the way; 2 days at Koyasan.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring hiking poles for the Kumano Kodo. Pay attention to times and distances and avoid being on the trail after dark.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying at local inns would seem to benefit the local economies. Not sure about the rest.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great.

review 31 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the interesting people from different nationalities and backgrounds along the journey.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Plan your downtime. After a long day hiking, you will be tired in a small village with no external sources of entertainment. Bring a book, cards, or better yet, engage with the people around you. Other travellers or your host(s).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We supported the economy and left no trace on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic experience. The Kumano Kodo is a hidden treasure. My wife and I were alone on the trail almost the entire time. We rarely came across other travellers but when we did we had great conversations and connected with people from across the globe. The beauty of this pilgrimage is hard to explain in words or pictures. You have to live it. The group provided us with documentation that was superior. We never felt lost or unsure of our next destination along the path. Top notch service as well. We dropped by the local office and were treated with smiles coffee! :)

review 30 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking in the typhoon- Amazing. All the accommodations and food were really top notch as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To just make sure to enjoy themselves and immerse themselves in the experience.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent Holiday!!

review 23 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The walking was great. Staying in local accommodation was superb and we enjoyed the local food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I think walking sticks are useful

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to the first but not sure about the others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 11 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Standout moments were walking into the shrine at Hongu and feeling that we were part of a flow of visitors spanning centuries; having our first 'onsen' bath (followed by many more!); and learning how to debone a fish with chopsticks, without breaking the skin. This will become a party game.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You will need a walking stick/hiking pole. And your luggage can rejoin you every night if you want.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - all the accommodation seemed to be run by local people, and we used public transport to reach the start of the walk and depart from the end-point.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We enjoyed it a lot and would recommend it to others.

review 31 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The phenomenal trek through unspoilt forests - despite the swelter of heat and humidity - and the occasional splendid view from the top!!! And superb, astonishing accommodation, beyond what we imagined it would be. A perfect combination.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You need to be a strong walker! But it is definitely worth the effort. Learn a bit of Japanese if you can.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by the local accommodation we were allocated.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best. The holiday of a lifetime.

review 22 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The friendliness and welcome feeling Japan gives

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do your research

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

9.5%

review 22 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying in small guesthouses in small towns was very memorable and pushed me outside of my comfort zone in a good way, to experience a bit more of the culture.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! This was a great trip. Although I would book early if you want to be able to stay in the locations where the walks usually end. Because of our late booking we often had to make our way to another town for the night (although I give them credit for finding us place just a few weeks ahead of time).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, there was definitely a small amount of impact I feel. A well developed trail but very clean and easy. All lodging was with small family run place and felt local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a great trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a walking holiday on their own time. We did find that we were slower than the anticipated times when walking, but suspect that some of that was because we took our time when we knew we had a short day. Make sure that you are ready for a lot of uphill walking Koguchi to Nachi-san.

review 24 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of it was good. The highlight might have been the first sight of the Golden Temple in Kyoto, or the first proper Japanese meal.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As it is primarily a walking holiday through woods, I would recommend one takes good walking boots and a stick.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mainly staying staying in small, traditional hotels (ryokan) must be good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. All the arrangements worked perfectly.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies