8 independent reviews for Luxury trekking holiday in the Atlas Mountains

Reviews for Luxury trekking holiday in the Atlas Mountains

SHOW
2
6
0
0
0

review 23 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Beautiful scenery, great hospitality and it worked with a family including two teenagers and two less than fit parents, even if we resorted to using the mule a couple of times!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! Having a personal guide allowed us to enjoy at our pace and do routes that the guide felt would work for us - hard work but doable. Bring your own water bottles and good hats.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much engaged in the local community, not only through the financial contribution from but also through everyone we dealt with on the ground coming from the local villages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Family really enjoyed it. Hard work at times, great food, great people, stunning valleys and mountains - peaceful.

review 15 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stay at the Kasbah du Toubkalh was amazing, what a relaxing place, and the views are quite incredible. Sitting and having dinner by candlelight and chatting with other guests was so lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take books with ankle support and don't be ashamed to use walking boots. Also take the opportunity to go alcohol free to really benefit from the mountain air and refresh body and mind.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, both trekking lodges employ locals and I definitely got a sense of how much of an influence and benefit the lodges provided to the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant, the trekking was perfect, just on the right side of hardship (challenging but not too much), the scenery was spectacular and the lodges were great, cosy and comforting after long walks.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Maria for your kind feedback, we are delighted you had such a fantastic time on our Trekking in Style trip

review 22 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying at the Kasbah with its high quality everything, and then trekking across the pass to the Trekking Lodge and seeing the marked difference in the village there compared to Imlil.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do the trek and stay to the kodge. Make sure you read all the detailed info about what to expect as it was very helpful. Respect the no alcohol tradition of the area.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we think that there was benefit to the local people with us employing them to assist us, guiding etc. Could see that Imlil was benefitting from tourism, but the rubbish reduction overall in the valleys, except Imlil itself, was not evident.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We were not met on arrival at Marrakech airport and after waiting an hour or so, had to ring one of the emergency numbers. Possibly the oversight was due to Eid. This was a disconcerting start but the Kasbah apologised for the oversight and upgraded our accommodation – which was a nice touch. However, from then on, things were really well organised and very satisfying. The guide was very polite and careful to walk at our pace and not to hurry us at any time and certainly we would not have coped without a guide. However, we felt that he was difficult to engage in any conversation and offered little information unless asked specially and then didn't expand on his short answers. We were unsure whether that was a language problem, shyness or boredom with a couple of old folk, as he spend much time speaking with the muleteers and with the lady of the houses we visited without ever telling us what they were talking about. Overall, we are very glad we did the holiday and it was very memorable.

Read the operator's response here:

In response to question 3: We have a rubbish clearance system but it is far from perfect and in fact today (24 sept 2017) Mike McHugo met with the governor of the region who said he/the Moroccan authorities would get involved to help – something we have been trying to achieve since we started the village association in 1997 so hopefully we will see further progress. The quantity of food is almost always more than our guests can eat – it is in many ways a part of Moroccan/Arabic culture “a guest is a gift from god” But rest assured the food does not get wasted. And in response to question 4: We are sorry you experienced a transport problem during Eid. We always make sure clients are fully advised of the contact details of the Kasbah transport and who they should ring in the event of a driver being delayed

review 22 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trekking from Imlil to the Azzedin valley and back, and the amazing "picnic" feasts served on both days.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The Kasbah and the Trekking lodge are not "luxury" in conventional sense. They are appropriate to location but maybe slightly on pricey side, esp the lodge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Lots of locals get employment, including the mulateers. The 5% added tax has brought visible benefit to the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. If the accommodation costs were a little lower would say 10/10. The staff were friendly and helpful and we got such a good insight into Berber life.

review 20 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hiking with our local guide Abdel who is a very gentle and intelligent person to spend time with.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Respect the rich culture of the Berber people and enjoy the freshness of being in the High Atlas mountains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As we didn't bring anything to the area that we left behind, drank only freshwater from the tap, gave a polite little "tip" to everyone who assisted us, we surely reduced environmental impacts and benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A true experience together with local people.

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking in the High Atlas Mountains and learning about the local people from our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a good pair of boots and a big appetite (the size of the meals are amazing).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Kasbah deserves top marks in all three areas. At first we only wanted a guide for our daily treks (there is also a mule and cook who joints you at lunch time) as we normally only have a light meal during the day, but we realised that this was all part of increasing the local employment. Within the Kasbah efforts are made to reduce their environmental impact, apart from water usage, however, there was surplus water available in the area. During our walks we spoke to our guide about the rubbish that was around the villages and he informed us that the Kasbah sponsored rubbish collection. We picked up some plastic bags on the trail and the guide joined in. Morocco is going to ban plastic bags so this problem should reduce in the future.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful holiday, the staff, guide, locals and countryside were great.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much Colin, we are pleased you had such a lovely stay and we were happy to be able to help arrange it for you.

review 5 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning location and great service from all staff involved

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Need to have a head for heights and average or above fitness

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent Only comments and this is personal view is that it may have been nice to have more activities at the lodge itself like cooking classes or yoga

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Shireen, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the views so much. In regards for having to have ahead for heights, it is true that for the Trek to our remote trekking lodge in the Azzaden valley, people need to be reasonable walkers as you start the day at the Kasbah du Toubkal 1,800 metres and go over a col at 2,200 metres before descending to our trekking lodge at 1,800 metres. So the gain in altitude is 400 metres but this is doable by the great majority of people of average fitness who have done some walking. Some of our clients take a longer walk in as they view the direct route as too short/easy. Each of our walking tours (they are mainly private trips) tailored to your requirements and the difficulty of the trekking can be changed to some extent according to your abilities and also how many hours walking a day you want. If you only stay at the Kasbah du Toubkal obviously it is not necessary to go over any cols and easier day or half treks can be arranged. We are always happy to tailor the level of difficulty can be discussed and tailored to our visitors wishes. We do have a room suitable for yoga and yoga equipment for those guests wishing to practice yoga whilst staying at the Kasbah du Toubkal. We also have regular Yoga retreats run throughout the year. Also, we offer cooking with a local Berber family and this is arranged at reception on request. Perhaps next time you come you can enjoy these. Thank you again from everyone at Kasbah du Toubkal

review 21 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lunch we were served on our trek to the Trekking Lodge was truly special. A bed (with pillows) was made up in the shade and we were encouraged to remove our boots and have a nap while lunch was being prepared. The food was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The rooms in the Kasbah and the Lodge have a fridge - so if you like to have a cool beer - bring some with you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - our trek alone involved a guide, a muleteer, two cooks (lunch) and a cook at the lodge.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies