9 independent reviews for Uganda wildlife and activity holiday

Reviews for Uganda wildlife and activity holiday

SHOW
7
2
0
0
0

review 31 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Holiday? No this trip was definitely an adventure and we loved every minute of it. From the first contact I made with Responsible Travel it was smooth sailing all the way as they pointed me to the operator in Uganda and Jackson. It was a pleasure to deal with him and eventually meet him on two occasions while in Uganda. What a wonderful trip he and his team had ready for us. We spent 15 marvelous days with the incredible Leticia Nalumansi our guide. A great ambassador for her fellow guides and indeed for her country Uganda. Leticia made everyday memorable for us but I suppose the highlight would have to be spending time with the great Silverback Gorilla and his family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We were well prepared and had ourselves in good physical condition for this adventure. A good degree of fitness is required if you are to get the best from this trip but it is not necessary to be a marathon athlete either!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we felt we had made a little bit of a contribution to many local community run organisations that we came in contact with on our travels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An incredible experience! We both loved every minute of it so would give it the top rating possible. Hats off to: Responsible Travel, the operator and Jackson. The brilliant Leticia and the many other guides and people we came in contact with on our ADVENTURE in Uganda.

review 22 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

this tour is memorable on all 15 days. the top was to meet the gorillas, this was Really amazing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I really hope so

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Gorgeous. fantastic amazing. Thank you to organaized it for us

review 2 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trekking the Mountain Gorillas at Rhusaga/Bwindi, trekking the Chimpanzees at Kibale, White water rafting at Jinja, a dawn game drive in QENP and much ,much more

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do take a good camera, mobile phones just won't capture the magnificence of animals and surroundings. Do read every review you can find so you are aware of what to pack and the suggested tips for guides etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I know that I helped the conservation of the animals with the permit and entry fees paid. I did my best to personally help some of the very poor families in the Bwindi area by using my very generous Turkish airlines baggage allowance to take some decent quality clothing and trainer shoes that I no longer wanted to donate (with the help of our tour guide) to those who would appreciate them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 11 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The primates, especially the Gorillas...amazing and a bit humbling.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure that if you are booking to visit the non-habituated Chimpanzees at Kibale you know that there is a high likelihood you won't find the group. If you want to spend an hour with the Chimps you need to book the habituated group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. All of the parks we visited (especially Bwindi and Kibale) made it clear that our (controlled) presence was significantly benefiting the local community as well as wildlife conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

From start to finish our safari with our tour operator (introduced via Responsible Travel in the UK...thanks Rosy) was brilliant. Jackson was extremely efficient and attentive during the planning and confirmation/ payment process and answered our questions promptly and helpfully. We chose the tour operator because I believed they offered the best value and quality of service compared to the other operators we looked at. Jackson even visited us 'on tour' and saw us off from the airport. We had read very good reports of Alex as our guide, and because he is a bird expert and I enjoy watching and photographing them, we requested Alex be assigned to us. We thoroughly enjoyed Alex's company and expertise. He didn't overwhelm us given we were touring together for 11 days and knew when to offer advice and guidance. He is clearly well respected amongst his peers and knew everyone throughout, the short-cuts, and how to get the best for us out of the tour. Uganda is an amazing country with the most wonderful and welcoming people, They really believe that tourists (to see the Gorillas for example) are helping the local communities as well as the conservation of the wildlife. Uganda is in my limited experience the number 1 destination for primates, birds and scenery but don't expect a big game everywhere 'Serengeti' experience (although we didn't visit Murchison Falls). The vehicle was comfortable and clean (a Hiace) and the accommodation selected was excellent everywhere...some mid-price and some high end. The food was brilliant and plentiful. We travelled in late Jan/ early Feb. and saw very little rain. There were very few if any insects. Water was provided in the vehicle throughout. The roads are unmade beyond 150km of Kampala so journeys are a bit bouncy but Alex mitigated this as far as he could. We would completely recommend Uganda, and the services of our tour operator. We plan to return next year with our daughters and will be using the same operator again.

review 13 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to pick out one thing. I enjoyed every part of being on or near the Nile. It is such a magnet for wildlife and Murchison Falls is breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a busy itinerary. I wish in some ways there could have been one down day, but I do not know what I would have cut out. Travels should be aware that they are responsible for paying tips for guides at parks. On small group trips in other countries we had done that through a group fund. I had trouble having the right amount of cash for tips.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The operator that conducts the trips for Responsible Travel uses a lot of community based organizations. Most were very good and in that way I felt I was benefiting local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. There are a few things thatís Responsible Travel could do better in explaining how they local partner company works. That said, the variety in Uganda is tremendous and the people were very friendly. My guide picked out things to show me based on my interests and that was special.

review 30 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole trip was marvellous. The white water rafting very memorable, safari drives and river trips great but if I have to choose the most memorable thing it would of course be the gorilla trekking followed closely by the chimpanzee trekking. A wonderful holiday and well looked after by Alex our driver and guide.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a torch, sometimes dim lighting in lodges, and a few power cuts. Also helpful when walking to and from accommodation to eating areas at dusk and in the dark.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think it benefited the local people who worked in the lodges and the national parks. Many places we stayed in reduced food waste by serving a set meal and they also used solar power to light the lodges.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Unforgettable.

review 7 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The mountain gorrilas - great trek into the mountains spending over an hour with the gorillas. The scenery was stunning which topped off the experience. Great opportunity for photography. The river trip in Queen Elizabeth Park was amazing , saw elephants playing in the lake. Everyday offered someone new and exciting so the list could go on.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If travelling from UK , take sterling and some dollars. When arriving get shillings , not many places take dollars. Also you will get a better price if paying for goods in shillings. Better to leave tips in shillings. If you have space in your luggage take clothes which can be given away. Children's clothes would be very much appreciated. Buy some sweets to hand out to the kids along the way - make sure it is a big bag as the kids ensure everything is shared out equally.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A large proportion of the cost is on Game Park entry and Permits - so this money goes to the Ugandan Wildlife Association. All of the areas we visited rely heavily on tourism which provides jobs for local communities. Tourism has definitely lifted the standard of living for communities and drawn attention to these areas , attracting projects to help with education and health.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent holiday , better than i had expected.

review 14 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wildlife is simply amazing to see. Particularly finding the gorillas after hours of hike is so rewarding. Definitely worth all the sweat and muscle pain.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

With Jackson and his team we always felt in good hands. Things were organized perfectly and the team is very knowledgeable and helpful. Bring insect repellent (though it's not as bad as we had thought beforehand), a torch and travel sickness pills (in case you get sick easily - the roads are 'African style'). Vegetarian options available everywhere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Many of the tours employed local guides who knew the area really well. We stopped to buy food on local markets along the way. Several of the lodges were solar powered or only provided electricity when necessary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was the perfect trip: great places, great people, good value for money. We couldn't have wished for anything more.

review 9 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Unfortunately there are just too many great memories to pick from this trip, as every day rewarded you with something amazing. Despite the +1600km we covered, each mile was worth it to provide all the opportunities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The roads are extremely bumpy, which makes each journey long in time, but not necessarily in distance. Therefore, you need to be a good passenger, which also applies to the road rules the drivers adopt. A good torch and Travel Johns are essential recommendations when camping.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe the National Park entry fees will support local communities to continue to build and strengthen the area(s).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was a once in a life time experience which has created many lasting memories.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies