10 independent reviews for 10 day Cuba tour, small group

Reviews for 10 day Cuba tour, small group

SHOW
9
1
0
0
0

review 17 Jul 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many amazing memories on this tour. Every single day had a unique standout experience. Vinales was particularly beautiful and relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book an extra day or two. Havana is such a vibrant and unique city you will want to explore a lot after the tour ends.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our holiday definitely benefited local people particularly staff in the casa particulares, restaurants, bars and cafes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 Absolutely amazing. It was the best holiday we've been onup to this point. Cuba is a unique country in an ever standardised world. It is a must for any adventurous soul and the tour we went on enabled us to really experience the local life and soul of the country. The operator organised a fantastic tour from the amazing casas to incredible tours and activities. Our guide Carlito could not have done more for us, was genuinely engaging and a pleasure to share our time with. We'd do this tour again tomorrow.

review 2 Mar 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had a wonderful group of 6 solo women travellers of varying ages and from all over the English speaking world. Six is the perfect number.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are from USA, make sure that the cash US dollars that you bring with you are new and crisp as it's hard to exchange them otherwise.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. I wish we could have visited more local artists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 24 Feb 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trinidad - both the central and well known part of thetown, but also wandering away from the centre in to other parts to see how life is lived. Must also mention seeing humming birds - absolutely magical!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is not a luxury holiday, but accommodation in the 'casa particulares' was clean, comfortable and friendly in each place we stayed. It is worth remembering how hard people have to work to provide what they do! You can do as many or as few of the optional extars as you like. Each stopping point is different and worth spending time just looking around.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that much of the cost of the holiday did end up with local people and will benefit them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent holiday provided you go with the right expectations. Be flexible!

review 13 Feb 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cuba is an amazing country, so everything was memorable! But unloved Havana old town, could wander the streets for hours, and Trinidad was pretty special too. I think in those two places you have the perfect mix of people and culture. Whilst there is much beauty in places like Vinales, thatís really not what going to cuba was about for me

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn some Spanish (it opens doors when you show willing), chill and go with the flow. Donít be afraid to look in places that look dodgy, itís really safe. Even the hustlers are pretty polite and not very persistent. Think about water purification tablets or UV filters etc as stops you having to worry about finding water. Get your head round the money situation which seems pretty fluid. Get a SIM card on day 1 unless you wanna be off grid

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Kind of, donít think I made it worse, the place is quite an environmental catastrophe already! Def felt I was giving back to the real people of Cuba though

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was brilliant, the local company and tour guide (Jorge) were excellent. Great itinerary, although long car day from Tinidad to Vinales

review 18 Jan 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The full day in Trinidad, with a hike in the morning and beach in the afternoon. More relaxed than most other days

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't expect luxury and keep an open mind. Find out beforehand which items are appropriate to bring as gifts

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I feel my trip benefited locals because we stayed at home stays, ate mostly at privately run restaurants, and tipped whenever appropriate. I am less sure about a reduction in environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our guide was superb, and group dynamics was great. The relatively short trip showed us many aspects of Cuban life, history, and current challenges

review 23 Nov 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Habana Vieja .. loud.. noisy.. music.. people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Comfortable shoes you do a lot of walking .., Take snacks sweets etc if you like them as itís impossible to buy any there. Be wary of friendly hustlers they usually want something in return ( iE eat at my restaurant t, want to buy cigars? Rum? Need a car? Taxi? )

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes by staying at local casas particulars we helped the middle Cuban economyÖbut did little for the poorest .. cienfuego was abit of a boring place but was near the Che museum so probably why we stopped there

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very interesting tour with a varied group of nationalities and ages .. our guide Carlos was very good and would tell us all we wanted to know ( and some we didnít) about Cuban life .. the bus was comfortable ( 26 seater for 11 people) and Cowboy the drive got us to places safelyÖ I would like to return sometime and do the other half of cuba

review 7 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really liked Trinidad and the trips we did around there to one of the national parks and the lovely beach in Ancon.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just enjoy it! It is nice not having to worry about booking accommodation or transportation and just enjoying going around with a cool guide - ours was called Manolo Avila and we can highly recommend him!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed with the locals at casas particulares.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great trip and really fun guide!

review 8 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lots of wonderful items here - snorkeling the Bay of Pigs, Fusterville, poking around Trinidad and Havana, biking Vinales, spotting the national bird (Cuban trogan) at Las Terrazas, and the Buena Vista Social Club! The Che memorial was very touching.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Trust the tour operator. They are awesome, honest and full of ideas. My guide (Pedro) was very well-informed. Bring a mosquito net if you are going to Vinales or traveling during the rainy season. Otherwise, the bugs were not bad in February. Make sure to make time to experience the immense amount of art, music and great architecture.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our trip definitely economically benefitted local people, as we stayed in their homes (converted to small pensiones or casas particulares) and ate in their palavars (small restaurants, often with live music). Because we lived with the locals, perhaps our impact was less than at a big hotel. And we went birdwatching and by doing so, supported the existence of habitat for the birds to live in. Las Terrazas is a testament to how the environment can be restored to decent semi-natural condition after clearcutting and by visiting it (and eating in the local vegetarian restaurant), we supported this fine and sustainable approach to re-inhabiting and revitalizing a human-ruined environment. But let's be clear - tourism almost always takes more from than it gives to a local environment. We burned fossil fuels, drank bottled water, ate their food and used their water for our showers. In that sense, we were "just tourists."

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Cuba has a rich art, music and architectural history that must be seen and heard to really appreciate. The country is a fascinating experiment in living differently from what global capitalism prescribes, with some definite benefits. Of course, because it is not a democracy, there are some downsides as well. Both these factors make Cuba a socially unique place to experience. With the onset of private business licenses, some of that uniqueness will surely dissipate. This and Cuba's ever-present history in all its tragic (slavery days) and revolutionary complexities made a visit to Cuba absolutely absorbing. Plus it has warm, friendly and diverse people and some stunning natural vistas and places (Vinales, most especially). I've travelled fairly extensively in my life so far (more than 50 countries) and yet Cuba struck me as a one-of-a-kind place. It was easy to travel in, too, so I could focus on what I was seeing, hearing and learning. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would return in a heartbeat.

review 5 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming by the waterfall we hiked to.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure to sip water all throughout the day and wear sunscreen. Also go to La Cuenca restaurant in ViŮales.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We definitely helped local people by bringing them business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was wonderful and our guide, Lidier, was super caring.

review 12 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing the different cities unfold. Watching the people do "normal" things. The resources they have are very different than those in the US, so it was interesting to see how they go about their lives. It was nice having a guide and visiting the different cities, I would have read up on what to do in the cities before I left, that way when we got there, I could work with our tour guide to do some different activities. I did have a tour book, but there are so many great ideas on the internet as well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring snacks from your country. The stores don't sell snacks like you may be used to, and with the heat and humidity, it's nice to have some "salty snacks". I brought a lot of snacks, (protein bars, trail mix, gummy bears,slim jims, peanut butter and jelly). I was able to share with my group and they were very appreciative. Everyone commented that they needed more "salt". Buy the 5 gallon water jugs when you see them and keep refilling your water bottle, you will be amazed at how much water you drink! You don't have to have meals with the group, but it was nice because you knew the food was going to be "safe" and sometimes like when we were in Vinales we had amazing views at a place that you wouldn't find on your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we went to area's were we supported the local folks in their environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful trip. Definitely print out the options, so when you get to a town, or you can work with your local guide on some of the options that are available.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy