34 independent reviews for Umbria cooking holiday, Italy

Reviews for Umbria cooking holiday, Italy

SHOW
26
8
0
0
0

review 18 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We were impressed with the exquisite restoration of the Duomo in Orvieto and enjoyed visiting Civita di Bagnoregio.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare to relax, enjoy wonderful food, learn some new kitchen skills and enjoy local wineries and amazing hill towns.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. All meals were prepared with local meat, fish, fruits and vegetables. We cooked with olive oil pressed on site. Drivers to local villages were locals well educated in the history of the area and the historic architects and artists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was an excellent experience. Marina was helpful to all guests who had unexpected travel delays and/or special needs. Accommodations were comfortable, spacious and quiet. Our cooking classes were fun and the results were very tasty.

review 12 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very difficult to say - everything was so great. For me, combining food with travel is the ultimate experience but our hosts and fellow travelers made the trip exceptional.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would highly recommend this for solo travelers who like to cook and meet new people from all over the world.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, we had local drivers, spent time at local wineries and fantastic restaurants, spent time and money in towns and shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exceptional. Iíve traveled a lot and this was one of the best times Iíve ever had on a holiday.

review 9 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to point to one thing! The house and guest rooms are really spacious and beautiful - all rooms en-suite and private. Fabulous scenery. The cooking classes and trips to the winery and local sights were amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít hesitate! Jean-Luca and Marina are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed meeting other like minded people. The pace was perfect and well thought out - the food we prepared and ate at the farm was fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the food was freshly prepared and supporting local producers - the winery we went to was a smaller family producer and the restaurants that were booked were all excellent and supported local producers too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We read all the reviews and had a high expectation that was totally exceeded! We learnt so much in the kitchen and look forward to sharing with our friends and families.

review 8 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything! I loved the whole trip. The house and setting are spectacular, the itinerary is well thought out. The cooking classes were exceptional. Marina is the most wonderful host you could wish for. It is heaven here.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it! If you love to cook and eat and drink well with likeminded people then this is for you.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited multiple towns and unesco sights when here. We had lunches and bought gifts visited monuments etc so supported these towns

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

11/10 just super

review 29 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I have so many wonderful things to say about the holiday, it is hard to find the most memorable. The hosts Marina, Gianluca and Sophia were lovely - so welcoming and could not do more to make us feel at home. They were incredibly accommodating of the different dietary requirements of the group and Marina always greeted us warmly and gave us excellent advice about the local area. The villa is beautiful with wonderful views of the Italian countryside, particularly from the pool, which was very clean and refreshing after a day of sightseeing or cooking. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. There is no air conditioning, but even in August it was not needed with cooler nights and a fan if required. The food was probably the highlight of the week with absolutely delicious meals every time. I have travelled a lot and can safely say I have not eaten such great quality food so consistently every day on any other trip. The produce was all local, fresh and delicious with fantastic local wine recommended by the hosts that was free flowing. The holiday was also very well paced with a nice mix of cookery sessions and days out. The cookery sessions were more observational than practical, but there were opportunities to get involved and it worked very well for our group. The local towns visited were all beautiful and a great opportunity to get to know Umbria better.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I cannot recommend this holiday highly enough - it was really wonderful. Bring mosquito repellent!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The food is all locally sourced if not grown on the farm itself. Trips to local towns support business and Marina was always happy to make recommendations about local restaurants and produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful holiday - the perfect mix of relaxation in stunning Umbrian countryside, developing my cooking skills and exploring historic local towns. The food and wine all week was exceptional.

review 26 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Itís hard to answer this when every day was incredible. Highlights would have to be the idyllic setting of the farmhouse, the food, the wine, the people. The excursions were all good but Montepleciano was a very special place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Simply: do it! If anything, it would have been wonderful to do 7-10 nights!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, absolutely. Most of the food is home-grown or local, as are the wines. The products in the farmhouse are also sustainable and itís run on a holistic experience and its own fruit and vegetables.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was one of the best holidays Iíve ever booked. Having done a fair few trips to Italy - including another cooking holiday - this is the perfect mix of activities, excursions and rest / downtime. The weather, the silence, the food, the wine, and the pool were ultimate highlights. Marina, GianLuca, Sophia and their two dogs are lovely people and they were very welcoming. The cooking classes were perfect if you want to learn how to make simple and tasty Italian dishes local to Umbria. Do not expect to be involved beginning to end with the process so if youíre expecting super hard graft in the kitchen where youíre expected to do everything from scratch, this wonít be the cookery course for you. It was perfect for my lifestyle as someone seeking ways to put things together simply and quickly. Belissimia!

review 4 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was just absolutely fantastic! Marina and Gianluca are such warm and welcoming hosts and looked after us very well. It really was a great combination of activities, excursions and down time. The setting is really stunning and the spectacular views of the Umbrian hills from our al fresco dining table will stay with me for a long time. A highlight for me was the trip to the winery where we were treated to a delicious meal with wine pairings for each course, overlooking the beautiful countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whatever your expectations are, I am sure the reality will exceed them. You don't need much - just a bit of enthusiasm and a willingness to participate and learn about the area. In our group, we had 2 couple and 2 solo travellers and it worked really well so I would definitely recommend this for a single person or a pair.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we went on excursions into the local towns, dined in local restaurants and were given the opportunity to explore the sights and interact with the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

As per all of the above, I really loved the holiday and am so pleased I got to spend a week in this gorgeous environment. I would 100% recommend it (although possibly not during an extreme heatwave!).

review 4 Jul 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hands on cooking with Gianluca and using the local ingredients was so interesting and I learnt a lot. The B&B is in a great location, very peaceful and you can enjoy the beautiful surroundings. There's olive groves all around and you can watch the swallows and you might spot deer. Marina and Gianluca are brilliant hosts, so kind and thoughtful to accommodate your needs. I felt very looked after.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a book to take time to relax and enjoy the swimming pool. Don't diet until afterwards, there's so much delicious pasta, cheese and wine to indulge in.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We took trips to local towns and villages to sightsee, buy products from local shops, cafes and restaurants. Local ingredients were used in all of the cooking and meals provided.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I love cooking and food and this trip was beyond my expectations. You will get a real experience of the food and culture of Umbria from this holiday.

review 12 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our hostess was an excellent tour guide and took such great care of us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book the whole week minimum.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most excellent!!!

review 31 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The food is fabulous as is the location and owners.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes There is only local food as well as locally based employees. They are very concerned with sustainability.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful

review 12 Jan 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many it's hard to choose just one! Cooking lessons we're great! I loved all of the small towns we were able to visit and the hosts are spectacular!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack lightly. Just a carry on would do. This makes it easier to navigate the trains to get to the locale

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star ?????

review 3 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The local team's dedication.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Let it all in the hands of the local team and relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very nice.

review 17 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely couple, Marina and Gianlucca who run this place and the lovely people I met there. Plus how to improve my pasta making, courtesy of Gianlucca's lessons.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Marina's English is immaculate so don't worry if you don't speak italian, but in the smaller towns and bars it helps if you have a bit of the language. Don't expect to find wifi everywhere; make sure your phone has plenty of data!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Every food provider we visited was organic, produce was sourced locally and Marina knew and showed off her immediate area and the wider region for all needs, from e-bike rental to walks to saffron producers. No money that i could see left the region at all!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I wanted to get away from it all, relax, meet new people and do new things. Four ticks!

review 25 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The different activities and excursions

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Read the operator's response here:

grazie, Asma

review 29 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It would be hard to pick out one amongst the memorable parts of the trip. The whole package was full of interesting elements from the cooking to the trips out to stunning hilltop towns. The food was, as always in Italy, such a pleasure to enjoy along with the excellent wines.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advantage of a couple of days in Rome on the way. It is only two hours away by train.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally, took local transport and supported local events, so yes, we hope that we benefitted the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great idea for a holiday made possible by Marinaís continual attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she and her husband deserve their success.

review 12 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were so many memorable parts, it is had to choose which one to describe. However, we were taken to a local winery which was down a dirt road and on the top of a hill with magnificent views of the green farmland around it. We had a tour around the wine making area including a view of the beautiful french oak barrels. We were accompanied on the tour by the friendly dog that lived there. We then had lunch outside which included wines matched to each of the courses. The owner of the winery led the wine tasting. All this happened on a beautiful warm and sunny day. It was perfect.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday is suited to people who like to be active, who enjoy good food and wine, good company and want to get away from the cities. As there are no televisions in the rooms, it is a good idea to bring a book to read, especially if you are traveling alone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

During the week I was there we supported a local winery, a number of local restaurants and small towns along with the local cab driver, Food was provided either from the kitchen garden or from local shop keepers and was organic where possible. The farm has solar electricity, refines and recycles its waste water and has two large underground tanks for collecting rain water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a perfect holiday for me, It was restful but not too restful, provided great food, great site seeing, great company and the best hosts you could ever meet.

review 29 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The wonderful hospitality that Marina gave us, and the unbelievable meals that Gianluca prepared, some with our help. It is really impossible to pick one thing. The whole week was absolutely wonderful. I feel like I have a new home to visit in Italy! The landscape was beautiful, and the accommodations were all I could have hoped for. Very large room, with windows I could open onto a beautiful, quiet landscape. I also really enjoyed the towns we visited.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Because I signed up for the Cooking Holiday, all meals were included. I recommend doing this. Even if you are not much of a cook, Gianluca will take good care of you, and everything served will be great.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We visited several local producers: a winemaker, a cheesemaker, and a shop in Orvieto that does their own saffron. The olive oil that is served at the farm is produced by the owners, everything was organic.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Close to perfect!!! Only the weather was a bit uncooperative, definitely cool & rainy for May. The Umbrian landscape is so beautiful, and Marina & Gianluca will do everything in their power to make your visit one of the best weeks of your life. I have a hectic everyday life, and it was so wonderful to feel taken care of.

review 20 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Learning to cook lots of new dishes, amazing food, and meeting likeminded people from the USA and Europe. Such a fun yet relaxing trip.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If youíre coming early in the season, pack plenty of warm clothing and maybe a raincoat! Travelling by train in Italy is really easy. Their trains are vast, clean and cheap.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Marina and Gianluca run their organic farmstead in a sustainable way. All the local trips supported local businesses. The visit to the organic vineyard was interesting and we noted that they planted broad beans as a companion crop, to enrich the soil. All of the produce we cooked with was either from their farm or sourced locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Had a truly amazing time, in spite of the variable weather.

review 26 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our stay at Podere le Olle was wonderful and definitely exceeded our expectations. Marina and Gianluca, our hosts, were professional, thoughtful and generous with their time and expertise. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the cooking classes, delicious meals, the excellent tours of nearby villages and towns, the spacious and comfortable rooms and the beautiful rural setting in Umbria. Podere le Olle is a truly memorable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are travelling by local train, travel with the minimum amount of luggage and be prepared to disembark at all of the stops as quickly as possible. From our experience, there is absolutely no assistance on the train. We are extremely grateful to Gianluca for his kind assistance when we departed.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Much of the fresh food that we prepared and ate was from the garden at Podere le Olle and the owners sourced excellent local wine and other foods from nearby farms and villages. And we noticed that they sorted and recycled all of the garbage which definitely reduced the environmental impact of the B&B. We also toured local towns and villages which clearly benefits local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding

review 24 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My hosts were the most delightful people and made me feel so welcome and at home. When you travel alone this is particularly appreciated. The place as a relaxed elegance about it and many of the visitors had been there before. The meals were beautiful and the cooking lessons had the right balance of watching and participating. The visits to the local towns were relaxed and each place chosen was memorable. I really can't praise this place enough - one of the best holiday weeks I have had.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do the cooking lessons. Even if you consider yourself a good cook it will expand your skills. The produce used is fresh from the garden and only the best is used. It is thoroughly enjoyable and such a lovely way to meet other people

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was a very local experience and the people working there were part of the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. 5 stars is not enough! I will return when I can.

review 16 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The hospitality was first class. Also having swallows nesting next to the bedroom window.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Turn up and enjoy a very relaxed and interesting week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the ethos is locally orientated and things were kept simple to reduce environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Met all our expectations.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to meet the two of you. We enjoyed your company as well. Hope to see you back sometimes. And let us know how you did with your cooking back at home. Marina & Gianluca

review 20 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location and the kindest of attention shown. The service was so personalized which distinguishes this trip from many others I have had.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Keep a healthy, open mind which will allow you to explore without boundaries.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Much care was taken to ensure there is limited impact on the environment. This was impressive and inspirational.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 25 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to name.. the agriturismo's wonderful setting in beautiful countryside, visits to Orvieto, Montepulciano and other charming local towns accompanied by Marina, cooking classes with Gianluca, the meals we had sitting all together outside with other interesting guests - to name the highlights.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It gets very hot, already in June. There are not many shaded areas when sitting outside. If you come by car, the sign for the agriturismo is just at the entrance of the village of Faiolo, on the right, when coming from Fabro (not so easy to see). Note that the rooms do not have TV, WIFI, fridge or safe. Not a problem for us. There is a WIFI area close to reception (indoors and outdoors). There is a large fridge with water, wine, beer and soft drinks where you can help yourself and note what you have taken. Cooking classes are mainly watching the chef prepare the meal with occasional help from guests in chopping vegetables, preparing pasta etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Local ingredients were used for cooking. Locally produced wines and their own virgin olive oil. We were able to visit and buy from local producers and artisans.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most enjoyable. We were made to feel very welcome and Marina was an excellent host and guide during the visits. Our room was simple but perfectly comfortable.

Read the operator's response here:

thank you Ben & friends, we had such fun with the four of you! Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we appreciate it a lot. Hope you are very successfull with your pasta machine. ciao from Umbria

review 9 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are a number of memorable things - the house and it's very peaceful location, Marina and Gianlucca's hospitality; perhaps extra special were the cooking lessons in their superb kitchen followed by some excellent meals with great company. The standard of accommodation here is excellent, our room was large and very well appointed with lovely views down the valley. The surroundings include some extensive woodland with some beautiful places to walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not the easiest place to get to but that's part of the attraction; The accommodation is in a tranquil, rural area away from the main tourist trail. Not essential if you are on an inclusive week like we were but otherwise a car would be very useful. The cooking lessons are included in the holiday but are also available individually; it's great fun but don't be put off - you actually help Gianlucca prepare a meal and learn loads at the same time. July and August are quite hot but in late September when we were there the early mornings and evenings cooled down quite significantly - not cold but you need trousers and certainly a warm top to wear.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Much of the produce used here, including the olive oil and many of the vegetables are grown on their land. Marina told me about 85% of their power comes from solar energy on site. A lot of their waste is recycled and composted. Definitely a green place. They also employ local staff for household maintenance. Marina has an excellent knowledge of the area and can direct you to local businesses. For example we visited a wine estate and a cheese producer who supplies mainly local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Marina and Gianlucca are excellent hosts, extremely helpful and friendly. The accommodation is modern inside, very well appointed and in a superb location. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here. (I'll give this a 5 star - the descriptions don't quite match but I wouldn't mark them down for anything.)

Read the operator's response here:

Grazie mille, Kevin. We enjoyed having you, it was lovely.

review 26 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to say which was the best bit of this glorious holiday I could start with the warm welcome from Marina and the delicious food. I could go onto the wonderful tuition in Italian cuisine by Gianlucca or I could mention the fabulous house or the super rooms, or the lovely swimming pool with a view. The attention to detail in making our holiday memorable ... Just the whole thing was idyllic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it. You will love it. Investigate travel options as it isn't too close to an airport but Marina the co-owner is very helpful on that front.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely - all the food was locally sourced and we visited many local establishments such as a vineyard and vegetable grower.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Refreshing, interesting, relaxing and fun throughout. I am trying to find another time to go back there.

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Relaxing in the sun and reading a book with a glass of wine by the pool. Great surrounding and fantastic value. To be honest if we had stayed in a hotel we would have spent twice as much. The cooking was great and we helped out with different parts such as frying courgette flowers in rice flour a delicacy and making ravioli Civitŗ di Bagnoregio and orvietto where my best trips

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It not serious very relaxed so if your a master-chef you will find it tame. Great for a mixed ability couple and you dont have to join in its very in-formal. The couple are really lovely and very accommodating, perfect hosts. I would chat your vacation through with Marina - one email and you will understand how easy this is

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yep the dogs followed all the guests on there walks so it benefited them. Of course it benefited local people as well as we went to vist many with wine tasting and a Saffron farm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays I have ever had. My partner and I really loved this. We spent 3 days in Rome train down to the farm house and a couple in Florence after. Flew back the Gatwick from Pisa. So all we did was book 2 flights for less than £200 between us. A 3 day hotel in Rome and 2 days in Pisa. a doddle I rate this as a great holiday - most seem to add a couple of days front or back in a city to get the best of both worlds. Tops x

review 20 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed the well friendly atmosphere created by Marina and Gianluca at their farmhouse. The cooking was fun and well balanced with other activities and visits to interesting places in the wider area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy yourselves!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We were introduced to specialist producers of local products such as wine and saffron-growers. The food we ate was largely produced on the farm or from the local area, and was delicious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was relaxing and varied. We enjoyed the company of the other guests and the welcoming environment of the farm. Marina and Gianluca are very well organised and did everything they could to make our stay memorable.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks Penny, we enjoyed having you and David

review 17 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The cooking classes were fabulous came back with a lot of good ideas. The visit to a local vineyard for a spot of tasting and informal lunch was lovely . They were brilliant hosts and could not have been kinder or more attentive. Gianluca's food is of a very high standard. This is foodie heaven.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Being in the middle of the country there is not much to do in the evenings. Take some cards or a few games . If like me you like a early morning cup of tea in bed , take a travel kettle.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is holiday is run by a local couple on their own organic smallholding. As far as possible food is sourced from their own vegetable garden or local farmers and the vine from local vineyards. The hosts will take you on lots of trips to local sights where you will eat in local resturants specialising in local cuisine. shopping opportunities are available if that is your thing and Marina will let you know what local stuff is available.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent . The cooking and trips made this a really exciting holiday but with plenty of time to relax.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you, Annette for your lovely review.

review 11 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I spent 5 days here in November 2014, doing a cooking course and being taken sightseeing in the local area. I had been incredibly busy in the run up to the holiday and it was wonderful to spend time in such a peaceful location, with everything organised for me. I really enjoyed the cooking course, as well as the meals prepared, accompanied by the local wine. There are some lovely towns to visit in the region with beautiful churches. They were excellent hosts who made me feel welcome and were very helpful, for example in sending me train times and other useful information before I arrived, as well as going out of their way to find a station from where there were trains running back to Rome for my return, as a last minute strike was called on that day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Would be a great place to go cycling - bring a bike!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in a small way. We visited a local vineyard and a saffron producer, and a lot of the food we ate was local produce (very local in some cases, grown in the back garden).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed it. There's plenty to see in the area. The rooms are comfortable. The cookery course was fun and we made tasty but not too fiddly food, so what you learn you can put to use when you return home.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Nicola, thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. We are very grateful for it. Hope to see you again and meet your husband too. ciao, ciao

review 7 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Umbrian cooking experience was amazing! It was wonderful cooking under the guidance of our in house chefs. The colours, freshness and taste added to this fantastic experience. Gianluca was very patient and actively involved us in preparing and cooking the Italian dishes which we then enjoyed eating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This holiday is a MUST if you enjoy cooking! Even if you are amateurs, like ourselves, you will enjoy it too. Its a great break away in the countryside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our hosts have their own vegetable patch and their produce was used for the cooking classes. They also bought fresh produce from a local vegetable farmer and took us to buy saffron at a saffron field. We benefitted the locals by buying souvenirs in the various villages we were taken to.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic experience! The countryside was absolutely beautiful. The house and guest rooms were lovely. The swimming pool was an added bonus. We loved the two friendly dogs and the touring of the countryside with Marina. They were the perfect hosts! They always catered for our every need and went out of their way to make sure that our stay was an enjoyable one. We would not hesitate to book this holiday again!

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Jo & Mo, thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed every single moment we spent with you. It was a memorable week. Kindest regards from Umbria. ciao, ciao

review 23 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The location is stunning, Marina and Gianluca make you feel welcome, and they work exceedingly hard to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. We came to learn cookery, but Marina ensures you know about so much more. I can't wait to try some of the recipes we have been taught.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you leave the diet at the doorstep, the food and wine are beautiful. Be prepared to relax, it is a quiet countryside location, with no tv and limited wifi.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We travelled to small villages and enjoyed a wine tasting evening show casing new local wines. Recycling in rooms, and composting of leftovers. All local produce used on the farm, and all their own vegetables from the garden, and olive oil produced there too. Solar panels for power.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful break, the weather was perfect, and when cold at night there was always a welcoming fire. Feel relaxed and would love to return, would recommend to friends. Big thank you to Marina and Gianluca, we loved your company, and have built a wonderful place for people to visit.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Joanne, thanks for your generous review and for taking the time to write it. We still want to thank you for your visit. We loved the time we spent with you and Louise, it has been a great pleasure to meet you both. Greetings from Umbria

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

In short: This Cooking Holiday is fabulous. The venue is stunning and the couple who run it are really delightful: genuine and welcoming. The places visited are wonderful. We could not have made it more perfect a holiday if we had designed in detail it ourselves!(& we tend to be quite 'picky'!)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You may need to hire a car to get here OR travel by train. I would go for the latter option, as Marina will arrange collection from the local station anyway and you will not need a car for the time spent on the Cookery Holiday! That said, if you just want to come here for the accommodation only - then I would recommend a car because you WILL need it (or a bike & a very fit body) to get to all the places you really MUST see!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! All of the places visited are within an easy 'day trip' or very short drive from the Agriturismo, thus any money spent on lunch etc is kept within a small geographical radius of Montegabbione. All the producers/suppliers used were very local indeed (veg from their own plot, Turkey from a neighbours farm, wine from the local vines etc) They appear to use environmentally sensitive products and recycling practices. They use solar powered energy to some degree too I think. They run their Olive production on an Organic basis and they are environmentally aware generally anyway.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was amazing. One of the best holidays I have ever had (& I am old...so have had a few!) I can honestly not praise this trip enough. It was FABULOUS. I have already recommended it to friends and family and have no hesitation in recommending it to everyone who enjoys good food and wine, good company and great scenery. It gets a gold star "10 out of 10" from both me and my husband. We would go back 'in the blink of an eye'...For the reasons why - see long winded review on trip advisor!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for visiting us in the first place, and for taking the time to write your kind review. We also had a great time during your stay, and enjoyed your company very much. We are so pleased we met you, and strongly hope to see you again soon!

review 21 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to chose just one most memorable part of what was a very special week filled with many memorable moments, that will always be cherished

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Great choice for solo travellers, the warmth and hospitality with such a relaxed an informal approach makes for a great combination! Don't miss Orvieto...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most definitely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Read the operator's response here:

grazie, Yvonne. We are happy to read your kind words, and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

review 1 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The overall experience was memorable. The location is great and Marina and Jeancarlo are excellent hosts, they make you feel at home since the begining. When you realize you are relaxed, feeling energetic and sleeping like a baby after an excellent meal with nice wine and company.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It is a wonderful place to relax and re-energize! Wake up in the morning with birds singing, take a nice coffee and enjoy the day either with a cooking class or visiting a nearby medieval town. Meet the other guests and get to know different people. It is an excellent place to stay and read a book, enjoy a meal with good conversation, walk to the nearest village and see people, learn history, taste good food and wine. Come with the will to enjoy the simple things in life.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it did. It was delightful to see Jeancarlo produce restaurant class dishes with what he collected in the vegetable garden of his property. The possibility to visit local farmers and wineries and to learn about their activities, understanding the work involved in their day to day life was very pleasant. Recycling, using local products in a creative way, enjoying the company of Marina and Jeancarlo and other guests, is a reminder that quality of life is not about what you have but how you use it disturbing as little as possible the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday and it exceeded my expectations, I recommend to anyone who likes to cook and enjoys good company.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Sylvia, thank you for your very kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday, we did as well. We are looking forward to seeing you back.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy