21 independent reviews for Croatia island family activity holiday for teenagers

Reviews for Croatia island family activity holiday for teenagers

SHOW
16
5
0
0
0

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going downhill on the bike ride, learning to SUP Board and watching the kids try new things and succeed.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Sun hats

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Picking up litter from the ocean when kayaking. Seeing and experiencing different local restaurants. I also enjoyed cultural information during the excursions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Staff are very knowledgable, helpful and professional. Daniel was very helpful when Dave needed to go to the doctor. All additional guides were friendly, safety aware and helpful, which made the experience very positive.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting like minded people and all the activity leaders. Particularly enjoyed the optional tour, called the Shepherd's Walk.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to get stuck in to get as much out of the holiday as possible.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The leaders highlighted the history of the island and local customs. We were encouraged to drink tap water to reduce plastic wastage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Daniel was outstanding as a team leader. Russell's enthusiasm for the country was excellent and they were both amazing with the children. Thank you to Tine for looking after us on the cycling and SUP boards and Tonko at the climbing and Ete for her superb organisation and Ana at the wonderful accommodation and her top tips for our second week.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Trying new activities and ones done previously and doing them in a larger group. Tour Leaders really made our holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make the most of each opportunity with the excellent help and support. You will all achieve and conquer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel it benefited local people and environmental issues were mentioned and made you think.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Daniel really did get to know all of the children and understood their individual personalities. He is very caring and great fun, keep doing what you are doing it works. Ettie was also amazing, great conversations had during our time together and you never know, one day we may just move to beautiful Brac, here is hoping.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing for Anna and Eddie, SUP boarding for Amelia, mountain biking for Andy, SUP and kayaks for Michelle

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Join in and you'll get more from it. Good for Multi age group.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We spent money locally. Maybe more transparent information and visible idea of where money can be spent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Staff were all fab.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The boat trip

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask about ages and genders of other families to book onto like minded groups

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Daniel and Etti were amazing, knowledgable, cheerful and completely calm. Our boat captain was very good and very familiar with coast and its history.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling and rock climbing

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring waterproof sun cream, UV protected t-shirts and water shoes

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Everything was brilliant and all the staff members were great. Especially Daniel.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the cycling and seeing more of Brac island. The boys loved the SUP boarding.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Not sure.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We spent time in town and ate in local restaurants, we were looked after so well by local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have really enjoyed the whole week - thank you. Ana was great and welcoming, spoke English well & clearly very attentive to the accommodation to make sure all was good for us. Daniel was also absolutely brilliant. Communicating well and in good humour always. He carefully explained and guided all activities. We felt completely safe and in good hands.

review 26 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities were great, our favourite was a hike in the evening from the highest point on Brac island to a shepherds village for a traditional meal. This was not included in the main holiday but was the highlight for us. Otherwise, kids loved the SUPs and parents, the mountain biking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You do need some moderate fitness to be able to do all the activities, and I wouldn't recommend it for families with non-active kids. That said, there was the option for some of the activities, particularly the bike riding, to join the support (party?) van if the hills and heat got too much. You will definitely benefit from water shoes as the beaches are all pebbles, which get hot, and there are some sharp stones in the water, all the locals wear them. You can buy them at local shops for 50 - 80 Kuna if you don't have them already.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, because the operator are helping their local partner on Brac to educate young people on environmental issues, such as recycling etc. We all supported the local businesses buying food and drink and beach essentials.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - kids said it was the best holiday ever, they made new friends, as did we. Very keen to do a similar holiday next year with the operator. The tour guides, Daniel and Russell and their colleagues were great, and helped make it a fantastic holiday.

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Rock climbing and SUP board paddling.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Daniel and office staff were superb, both were excellent at getting the kids involved in activities.

review 20 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The company of other people and sea kayaking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 25 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Pizza party night and rocking climbing were our favourite moments.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try everything

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did visit some off the beaten track places

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Our guide Daniel was awesome! 5 stars! Helpful and funny. The other guides were also helpful, especially the climbing guides who were encouraging. And we love the photos!

review 3 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Daniel and Mario who were outstanding tour guides. Also mountain climbing was great!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Fantastic for families with teenagers. Bring some supplies for the accommodation.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think local people benefited. We had a lovely day out on the boat. We didn’t need to hire a car, as we used bikes to explore.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The tour operator staff/main reps Mario and Daniel were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they were great company. The activities were all very fun and well organised. Sorry if you were traumatised by Jess super talent performance – the look on Mario’s face was priceless!

review 22 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing and shepherds walk & dinner

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

“Just do it” Make sure your travel plans / flight times get you to the ‘welcome dinner’, its a great way to meet the other families and guides

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It supports the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good value for money and very enjoyable holiday! Ado was very welcoming and thoughtful. Daniel is a star of the show. He made every event exciting, interesting and fun! Local knowledge was excellent. Mario was great with the youngsters.

review 14 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday was very memorable for us as a family, we all loved the area, the activities and the apartment - our other two families on our group were really nice and we were well looked after.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget your wet shoes although you can buy these almost everywhere. I would also check when you book how large your group will be, for the majority of the holiday, and for the activities as well. On some days we were linked to a larger group which meant that some of the activities took a little bit longer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do think so, the groups who organised the activities would have benefitted from our bookings / also the restaurants as well, and local drivers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would give our holiday a 4 - we all really enjoyed it and fell in love with Croatia, such an amazing place - we'd all love to go again.

review 12 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Three family members say rock climbing, and one says paddle boarding was there highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it benefited local people. We also liked the fact that you provide bikes to move around and that using cars/transport is unessesary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Daniel and Mario are not just guides or representatives, they are extremely given to the job and have great instinct with peoples abilities and kids needs. They give more than just ‘the activity’. They are knowledgeable and happy to share the information. Above all they have a great sense of humour. Etti and everyone else from the office were just kind, professional and always ready to help. Lucy on sea kayaking was also very kind and helpful. Thank you all for a great week.

review 30 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was memorable. For me the most exciting part was maybe the visit to Vidova gora and Sheppard’s Village for lamb supper, but also the friendliness of the staff and Croatian people in general.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

“Just do it!” as Daniel would say! The company lives up to their name. It is the best way to enjoy lots of activities, see the country & keep the kids occupied.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly did. It used local agencies and we’ve visited local families to see their way of life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous! Some of the most enjoyable weeks we have had on holiday – helped of course by the other guests and the staff!

review 23 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Most memorable part were cycling, climbing and canoeing.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don’t be nervous & go for it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, mostly through trade.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Lovely quiet location and the very best guide & team.

review 1 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Mountain biking down with breathtaking views of the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The standard of the activities and organisation is absolutely brilliant, unbeatable. The accommodation was less phenomenal (fine, but just not exemplary).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did - there were four or five people we met at the agency, all of whom were Croatian.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 30 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

1. Meeting great likeminded people 2. All activities were superb and pitched correctly for teenagers & parents 3. Scenery & local people

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to participate fully.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited locally – for all the other benefits it is impossible to be sure as they are hidden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Second holiday with the tour operator so knew what to expect and they didn’t disappoint! Many everlasting, fun and exciting memories created!

review 2 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Jumping into the freezing source water after a bike ride in intense heat! That was an amazing feeling. And also the canyoning, rafting and really all the activities were fantastic. We had a wonderful holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! You need to be averagely fit, and able to stand fairly intense heat if you go in the summer. It's a great holiday for families, especially with teenagers.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly, the hotel we stayed in was occupied only by our group while we were there. Our guides Barisha and Maria were wonderful, attentive and available at all hours to help us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! We hope to come again and do it all over!

review 2 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The people, the food, the island! We felt at home with the staff of the wonderful Illyrian Resort; Ivan, Maira, Maya, Nino, Maida, and the owners, a wonderful couple. This is a fantastic family owned business that provides the nicest and most soothing atmosphere to relax and enjoy with your family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is an excellent holiday destination for families who want to avoid noisy, big resort type of holidays. The island of Brac is absolutely gorgeous, the people are wonderful, particularly all the staff at the Illyrian Resort. They all made us feel like family. The area is not crowded although it relies on tourism.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, the hotel is managed by a wonderful family, all of whom are from Croatia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies