2 independent reviews for Seychelles island hopping cruise

Reviews for Seychelles island hopping cruise

SHOW
0
1
1
0
0

review 31 Dec 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The last day when we finally got to do some decent snorkelling. All previous days were seriously affected by heavy rain, heavy seas and intermittent high winds. We were told that this was as a result of the cyclone in Madagascar. Whilst this was beyond the control of the captain, Sea Star does not have good stability and suffers from excessive rolling which makes it difficult to move about and quit hazardous transferring to and from the ship's dinghy.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't bother planning your holiday on historic weather conditions in the Seychelles as this has been thrown completely by climate change. Thus if you book a holiday of this nature in the high season, you could be disappointed, having paid more than you would have done in a low season.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Overall, we were disappointed because we lost out on snorkelling opportunities because of weather and overall deterioration of increased sea temperatures which has bleached the coral and affected the amazingly variety of fish we experienced the last time we had an island hopping/snorkelling holiday in the same area in 2002

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Maurice, thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry to hear about the problems you had with the unseasonal weather, though December and January are usually the wettest months in the Seychelles. I am surprised to hear you don't feel that your visit would have benefitted local people or supported conservation. The conservation fee you paid goes directly to helping conservation in the places you visit, such as Aride Island and Vallee de Mai Nature Reserve. The vessel is locally owned and operated, and most if not all of the crew are from the Seychelles, so you would have been supporting employment and the local economy too. I am sorry to hear about the Coral Bleaching. I know that there was a bleaching event in 2016 and that Nature Seychelles are now 'farming' coral to help with restoration of the reefs. Best wishes Powell Ettinger

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scenery

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies