25 independent reviews for Vis Island activity holiday in Croatia

Reviews for Vis Island activity holiday in Croatia

SHOW
19
6
0
0
0

review 6 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Discovering the beauty of Vis and enjoying the wonderful hospitality of Maja, Matko and family. As I had been traveling through Croatia for almost three weeks it was relaxing to have a home base from which to explore the island. There are beautiful beaches nearby and the crystal clear blue of the Adriatic Sea made swimming every day a must. I really enjoyed biking on the island, except for close to the town of Vis there are few cars on the roads and once I understood that drivers are courteous and accommodating to visitors on bikes I felt very comfortable riding anywhere. Beginning the day with yoga in the pine forest with Maja was perfect. The kayak trip to Ruda Bay was memorable and I walked down to this beach twice more as it was always empty and quiet. The meals were wonderful, fresh and healthy and at my request almost always vegan. Matko and Maja are excellent chefs and are sure to provide you with delicious lunches and dinners. Zora always had coffee ready for us in the morning and she made us her special apple tart desert one evening. Marina had her hands full with the beautiful girls, Dora and Manuela but was always very kind and helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You will feel as comfortable as being at home so relax and take advantage of Matko's suggestions on which activities are best suited to the days weather and sea conditions. You can do as much or as little as you like.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. I believe that most of the food is grown on the island and the delicious wine was made on Vis. Matko grows and produces his own olive oil from trees in his orchard. The simple lifestyle of the residents of Vis reduces environmental impacts, of course and most of the island remains wild and in it's natural state. Vis could be a model for conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Simply excellent! I could easily have stayed a month on Vis and the wonderful, energetic Maja and Matko and family really made this week a standout! Mahalo to all of you.

review 29 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The island of Vis itself. The place and people and accomodation and food were all excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You are never too old to enjoy this holiday. They cater for everybody.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We put money into their economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely brilliant. Matko and Mia and team can not do enough for you. Great company. We will be back.

review 24 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going for a sunset walk around the cliffs from diamond beach to silver beach and watching the sunset.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring snacks and all toiletries you need as the house is in a remote location. As an activity for one day Matko drove me into Vis where i could get all the supplies I needed. Make sure you carry cash as lots of places dont accept card payment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. My activities were ecofriendly (kayaking, walking, swimming). Having a family host you means plenty of fresh authentic foods (you will be fed well!!) and hospitality and local know how without the environmental impact of mass tourism. Your money goes straight to the locals and bypasses the marketing/sales/advertising traps.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Perfect for me. Matko (the host) and the activity guide Maja (also an avid yogi) are lovely, helpful and attentive. I liked the balance between self selected activites before lunch and free time before and after dinner. The food was authentic, delicious home meals and they cater to every dietary requirement with pleasure. (I am lactose intollerant, the other group staying before me were a combination of celliac and vegans!)Be aware there is lots of free time (after lunch and dinner) to organise your own activities (visiting the beautiful nearby beaches, walking etc) but Matko and Maja can also assist you in booking a boat ride, military tour etc outside of their facilities.

review 14 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The girls 12 and 15 loved the climbing - Matko was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advantage of the host’s knowledge and enjoy the activities on offer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved the kayaking, hiking, bike riding, scuba diving. The food was delicious and the local restaurants were also great. It was a wonderful way to discover Viz. The hosts really made us feel at home. It was a wonderful holiday.

review 10 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 7 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Spending so much time in or on the sea, and seeing so many beautiful beaches.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You’ll be in the sea everyday. Choose the private boat tour for the day-off activity.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, benefitted local people/economy. Minimal use of car/transport once we’d arrived.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent!

review 18 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being on a beautiful island - eating local home cooked food & having all activities planned for you - sheer bliss!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We had a day or two to relax before the week which worked well to enjoy the most of the week. You need cash on Vis Island, aqua shoes are a good idea & mozzie repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local food & drink was sourced, tourism is a big money spinner for Croatians so benefits in terms of economy. Didn’t get to see or hear anything about environment or conservation - would have been nice to know more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really great week as a single Mum with 2 teenage kids it worked really well. We enjoyed the activities and the thought & effort in hosting and the delicious food.

review 16 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had the most amazing holiday in Vis. Viktorija and her team made sure that everything was smooth. We were totally immersed in the Croatian culture. The activities were very well organised and we had fantastic group leaders. The food was amazing and wholesome. We had a truly fantastic time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just let Viktorija and her team look after you and you will have an amazing time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The food was locally sourced and the island was so unspoilt.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A brilliant holiday in an amazing unspoilt island.

review 12 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The home cooking of Matko and his family! Delicious!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

On arrival in split, the water taxi is a great way of getting to the town.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it was a family run business and we ate local produce, home cooked

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

For the short time we were there, we were really able to relax. We were treated like one of the family, it was such a welcoming and warm environment. We made new friends and did not want to leave!

review 11 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We are a family of five (with two teenagers and a young adult) from Scotland and travelled to Croatia at the start of July 2019. Every minute of our holiday to Vis was memorable. From swimming and snorkelling in the warm, azure sea to cycling and sea kayaking, we enjoyed it all. The island boat trip and tour of former military installations were highlights. Our middle daughter's favourite activity was a gentle hike to the island's highest point with stunning views in all directions. Our son just loved snorkelling every day, spying all the little fishes in the shallows near the beach. Our family meal times were another highlight. Matko and his family went out of their way to prepare fresh, plentiful dishes we would all enjoy. Our preferences were always taken into account. As well as the food, our eldest daughter particularly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and visiting Vis Town. Mum tried yoga for the first time and was converted! Mind you, one-to-one instruction in a shady grove with the sound of the sea nearby is a far cry from a sweaty gym in Scotland!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Others have said this too, but travel light. We took hand luggage only and had more than enough with us for the week we were away. The holiday is very relaxed so you won't need much more than shorts, swimwear and t-shirts and maybe one smarter outfit for the evening at a restaurant. If you are visiting in summer take mosquito repellent and plenty of sun block, especially if you intend to kayak. A small rucksack, hat and water bottle are essential too. While we took part in a number of activities there was plenty of down-time too. Embrace this - slow down, lie on the beach, read a book, play cards, talk. We felt rested and relaxed after our week away in Vis.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is important for the local island economy and since we were hosted by a family from Vis, we feel our holiday did benefit local people. Our meals were prepared using a lot of fresh local ingredients including fish, fruit and vegetables. We drank local wine and even the olive oil and vinegar was made by our host Matko, from olives grown on the island! The island of Vis is not yet over-developed. Our accommodation was traditional - simple and comfortable with everything we needed. While we did rely of the car for some of the activities, we certainly used a car far less than we would have done at home. The island of Vis relies on rain water collection for much of its fresh water. Coming from Scotland, we don't generally have to consider water conservation but we felt it was important for us and our children to understand the need to preserve water and to adapt our habits slightly. We took shorter showers and were mindful not to leave the tap running when we were brushing our teeth for example.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Matko, Marina and Mia couldn't have done more to make our holiday enjoyable and memorable. The island was beautiful. Its history intriguing, nature and wildlife diverse. Our holiday had something for us all. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer......

review 25 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wow! What a fantastic holiday! We have so many great memories that it is impossible to pinpoint a single, standout experience – we were bowled over by the beauty of the island and the incredibly generous hospitality of Matko and his family, which really makes this holiday unique, and we certainly came back feeling completely relaxed and that we had laughed a lot and made new friends. Matko and his wife Marina and mother Zora immediately made us feel like part of the family in their lovely converted fisherman’s stone house which originally belonged to Matko’s grandfather. A highlight for me was definitely meeting Matko and Marina’s 7-month-old twins, Dora and Manuela, who are adorable! The morning yoga in the forest with the inspirational and unflappable Maja was a perfect start to the day, and we found that the sea kayaking, cycling and hiking expeditions provided a perfect mix of relaxation, sightseeing and adventure. The authentic Croatian dishes conjured up by the family three times a day were really delicious – no one goes hungry! - as were the local, free-flowing organic wine and Croatian beer. And Matko’s barbecuing skills are second to none! There are two stunning beaches with just a handful of people on them only a few minutes’ walk from the house through the pine trees. We particularly enjoyed snorkelling from Diamond Beach in the late afternoon where we discovered a surprising diversity of fish and sea life around the rocks, followed by sundowner drinks at the beach bar, then a short walk home to be greeted by Roza the family golden retriever and a fabulous evening meal sharing the day’s adventures and jokes with Matko. We will definitely be going back as much to see the family as the beautiful island.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Enjoy the chilled vibe. You are in safe and experienced hands, so go with the flow! There may be days when the weather conditions are not suitable for kayaking, for example, so you might opt for a bike ride or hike instead, and while Matko and Maja will always make recommendations, they are eager for you to get the most out of your day, and so want to hear your suggestions and requests too. Some level of fitness helps, although this is not meant to be a competitive holiday, and no one will judge you for having to get off your bike and push it up the hill or for taking a refreshment break in the shade, or if you prefer to lie on the beach or discover hiking trails and new places for yourselves in your own time. Matko and Maja are really good at judging what would work best for you and can set the pace accordingly. On a practical level, we found the beach shoes we purchased at Split market to be invaluable on the rocky beaches and pebbles when getting out of the sea. You can certainly travel light (it’s particularly handy that the family provide bath and beach towels), and you can get away with dressing very casually especially if you opt for full board as you will generally be dining as a family.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The unspoilt beauty of Vis Island with its crystal-clear waters, secret coves, diverse wildlife, stunningly beautiful towns and rugged hills are such a tranquil treat in this era of mass-tourism. Ssshhhhhh, don’t tell anyone!  Matko’s local knowledge meant that he was able to recommend a wonderful, family-run restaurant which we dined at on our day off, and which we would not have discovered on our own. Staying at Matko’s meant that we ate fresh, local produce and drank organically produced wine – all delicious. Apart from the excellent military tour and a visit to Vis Town and Komiza, we got around under our own steam, whether by foot, bicycle or kayak. The two beautiful local beaches are only a few minutes’ walk away, and we kayaked to hidden coves with Maja (who has the patience of a saint when the paddling gets all out of whack), so there is no need to hire a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is an amazing holiday, partly because of the perfect mix of relaxation and activities to be enjoyed on this beautiful island, but particularly due to Matko being the consummate host, and the family and Maja being so welcoming and accommodating. Thanks again, we’ll be back!

review 5 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole week was excellent. Matko and Maja and Matko's family were all so welcoming that we felt like we were guests at a friend's house. The yoga in the mornings was a really nice way to start the day and the activities during the day -whether kayaking to the Green Cave or cycling to Komiza or cycling the back roads were great. Sometimes Maja led the activity sometimes it was Matko, sometimes it was both. Matko took us on a tour of the island's military history which was really interesting. The nearby Srebrna Beach is beautiful and a wonderful place to cool off after a bike ride or a hike. It's a short walk from Matko's. But in the end, it's the people - Matko, Maja, and the rest of Matko's family - that made this holiday really stand out.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It seemed really helpful to treat our stay as if we were staying with friends - friends who know the area and are themselves very active. It may be obvious to most travellers, but we deferred to Matko's advice about weather and conditions and his suggestions as to whether the day might be better suited to biking or hiking or kayaking. Matko and Maja want their guests to have a good time, so being clear about your abilities and limits will help them do that. That said, it's an activity holiday, and having a little bit of a sense of adventure will probably make it more enjoyable; it's a good opportunity to push your limits a bit if you want. But if you just want to hang at the beach and read a book, neither Matko nor Maja will pressure you to do otherwise and Srebrna Beach would be excellent for that. Other than that the obvious things other people have mentioned: travel light but bring water shoes for rocky beaches, sunscreen, and mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, for most of the activities, we were mostly self-propelled. There was some car support, but with the exception of the military tour, we were mostly on foot or on bikes or kayaks. Most of our 'tourist dollars' went to Matko and his family and Maja, or to local restaurants that Matko had recommended.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. We loved our holiday week and heartily recommend this holiday option on beautiful Vis Island. Matko's advice on what to do was perfect and we think he is very good at assessing guests' abilities and wants regarding activities. The food was very very good - both the meals we ate at Matko's (he's a trained chef!), and at the restaurants that Matko recommended.

review 4 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was sensational. Matko is a genius host - he and his family made us feel very welcome. We liked the ongoing choice to be active or to relax and unwind.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light because you only need the essentials like sun cream & mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This holiday is all about local produce & local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Sensational

review 12 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved the beaches within walking distance as well as the boat ride around the island to see the spectacular scenery. Matko took us on a remarkable military tour. I thought I had no interest in this but he made it quite fascinating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take advantage of yoga in the morning. Maja was really good. She had a very relaxing voice and her exercises were good for even for this beginner. They really try hard to accommodate your food preferences so be sure to tell them. I can’t help but wonder how different our food would have been if we were not there with the more vocal vegan although most of our meals were wonderful and we appreciated all the vegetables. So many places focus on the protein and skimp on the veggies. The guided bike rides were geared to the rider with the least skill. They had great mountain bikes but the rides were on pavement. Don’t be afraid to let Matko and Maja know that you want something more challenging. This was a relaxed approach to an active holiday. Other than yoga, there was one guided activity which would be either morning or afternoon depending on the weather. The rest of the time you are free to enjoy the nearby beaches on your own.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the food served was local. Matko served home made olive oil and wine. We did happen to kayak to a lovely beach on international beach clean up day(purely by accident) but we got to meet locals and help pick up trash on the beach.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was wonderful and relaxing. Breakfast was served 9:30 to 10 to accommodate yoga but we had many days when it was too damp to do yoga in the woods. It would have been nice to have an earlier breakfast on those days so we could start our activities earlier. We did some wonderful kayaking but the trips felt like they were cut short so we could return for the wonderful large lunch. We would have liked to take a packed lunch so we could spend more time where we kayaked to as well as the possibility of kayaking further.

review 26 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We really enjoyed the holiday and loved all the activities. Even the cycling for me, which I was so terrible at! The boys (14-year-olds) loved all the things they did. My husband, my mother & I enjoyed yoga every morning, as well as kayaking, walking, cycling, snorkelling and the boat trip. We had a packed full of enjoyable week!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We went for half board, which suited us well (even though, the food was excellent at the house!), and enabled us to explore Vis a couple of evenings. Just to note that the company's half board is not the same as our usual understanding of half board. We hadn't realised that before we got there, so there was a bit of confusion on our part at the beginning. Their half board provides us with breakfast and lunch everyday (even on the boat trip day!), but just half of the week's dinner. You can pick the days of when you want to eat out. The host, Matko, is happy to give you recommendations about restaurants, if you don't want to make the decision yourself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Most of the produce they used was from the island, and the activities they offer are environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Matko and the team looked after us well, and it was a lovely house to stay in (off the beaten track). The island of Vis is so beautiful, with plenty of snorkelling and swimming opportunities. We loved the fact, the whole trip was so flexible and catered to our needs. We all had a great time!

review 13 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It’s hard to say, as we had a most thoroughly enjoyable ten days staying with Matko, Maja and Matko’s mother Zora. (Matko’s wife was in Split, awaiting the birth of their twins.) Possibly the most memorable might be whizzing off almost as soon as we arrived to watch the last cricket match of the season of the Sir William Hoste Cricket Club! Later in our time we had a delicious Octopus Peka (cooked for hours over and under hot charcoals) at Roki’s next door to the club, and enjoyed seeing round their winery. We loved our boat trip with Dino, visiting Vis town and Komiza and Mount Hum, and various trips to local ‘konoba’s’ for drinks in the sunshine enjoying the lovely views. I liked walking to the local beaches. All the local ones seemed to be stone slabs but on our boat trip we spotted some sandier ones, possibly only really accessible by boat. Daily early morning yoga in the pine forest with the lovely Maja was certainly memorable and so most definitely were the delicious meals cooked for us by Zora! And the barbecues done by Matko after the (delightful) vegan guests had left!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a lovely holiday! We came towards the end of September and it was hot by day but we were very glad of a jumper at night. Bring a supply of teabags if your favourite brew is not fruity teas. If you wanted to self cater - we did not - you would need to check how easy this might be. We started off in rooms downstairs and there was a fairly basic kitchen, when we moved to far nicer rooms upstairs there was a sink and a kettle but not much else. Matko and his family are so friendly and helpful so do let them know if there is anything you need or would like to do. I am sure they would always help if they could.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As far as one could tell, almost totally. Everyone involved is local or from Split and the food all home cooked. There is no need to hire a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We loved it all. Thank you Matko and co!

review 23 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to choose any one, as we had many memorable experiences. We enjoyed the boat trip down the coast, as the views were gorgeous; the sites were interesting; and the swimming stops were fun. Yoga in the woods in the morning, with a terrific instructor, was memorable. So, too, was the opportunity to walk to the beach to swim each day, and to be able to bike from the apartment, on a variety of routes. We also remember with fondness the home-cooked meals and the chance to interact with family and staff.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for a relaxing week, with the opportunity to choose your own activities and schedule. We recommend the kayak trip to an isolated cove for swimming; the boat trip; yoga; biking; and hiking at least part of the trail to the highest point on the Island. We opted for "full board" and really enjoyed the home-cooked meals.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed with a local family, who bought from local merchants and used local guides. We visited several protected sites, such as the "Blue Cave," where our fees help in maintaining the site.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. It was a wonderful, relaxing week. The Island is quiet and beautiful. We chose activities we really enjoy, such as yoga, swimming, biking, boating. The food was delicious (and was vegetarian, at our request). The family and staff were attentive and were just a pleasure to be with. Thank you.

review 9 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Taking a boat trip round the island to some wonderful beaches and the Green Cave. We enjoy swimming a lot so this was a real highlight as we would not have seen these beaches otherwise.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Others have said it here already. Travel light as ts a very relaxed holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we ate local produce and drank local wines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful holiday. The beach location was perfect. Matko and his family were very welcoming. Maia was really helpful in planning activities every day.

review 7 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The holiday was utterly delightful. I received a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts Matko and Marina, who made me feel like part of the family, providing wonderful home cooked food, and equally wonderful company. Together with Mia, who carried out the activities, I was introduced to the beautiful island of Vis. I was surprised to find yoga was the most enjoyable regular activity I completed. Mia possesses a calm and peaceful persona, and I thoroughly enjoyed morning yoga in the forest as well as the other activities we completed together.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a hat. Bring shoes for the beach as it is all pebbles. Suncream, Aftersun, etc. Just enjoy the slow pace Vis offers. Take time to explore the little streets and alleys. Go on the boat trip with Dino, see the blue caves, swim in the bays.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so .. I ate fresh local produce, and bought items made locally when in the two towns on the island.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was one of the loveliest holidays I have been on. I booked last minute unsure what to expect. The village is stunning, the sea is blue and sparkling, the hosts fabulous. I felt very welcome, and equally very sad to leave. I would highly recommend this operator, and Matko is secretly very dry and funny.

review 26 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything. It is not possible to single out one bit. Beautiful beaches, Crystal clear sea, fantastic views, wonderfully peaceful, excellent hosts, great accommodation, fun and interesting activities, and lots and lots of really well cooked home food. It was all great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't take too many clothes, you'll only take them home again, unworn!! And trust in Matko, he's got everything under control, so you can relax and enjoy your holiday.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think it did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10

review 10 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Impossible to pick out one highlight, it was a blissful week with a perfect balance of activities and relaxation. Matko and family made us feel part of their lives and did everything to fit the activities and set the pace around what worked best for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You can totally relax knowing everything is arranged and safe. Recommend aqua shoes or similar as the beautiful beach is rocky and you will want to enjoy the clear blue sea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes supported local, small scale tourist business which encourages enjoyment of the natural beauty of the island with a minimal environmental footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Highly recommended for families of all ages and small groups who want to really get to know Vis and it’s people and enjoy a perfect balance of cycling, kayaking, walking, yoga at a flexible pace with plenty of time to relax. Delicious home cooked food.

review 30 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We stayed for 2.5 weeks on the Island Vis. The beautiful beaches (pebble and sandy beaches), the excellent restaurants away from Vis and Komiza (the 2 main towns on the Island), fantastic shades of crystal clear blue sea. Our hosts, Matko, Mariane, Maya, Dino and Matko's mother were delightful and made us feel very much at home. My sons, aged 9 and 6 years enjoyed the boat rides with Dino and kayaking with Maya. The family was very accommodating and prepared breakfast, lunches and dinners that my sons would enjoy, that was very kind.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A mosquito repellent is a must for the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the breakfast, lunches and dinners were prepared using local products, thereby avoiding imported goods and thus reducing carbon footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, thoroughly enjoyable.

review 26 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The food cooked by our host and kayaking, as well as the trecking to Stiniva beach. Daily yoga lessons were a highlight of our day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Exlpore the island and try the local produce as much as you can. Make sure you get info on local restaurants before venturing out. Don't bring your car to the island - you will not need it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our food was locally suplied. We did not bring our car to the island

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The activities and food were excellent. The accomodation was clean and ok but could use improvement. The internet was very slow.

review 23 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For us the most memorable part of the holiday was that we were treated like friends rather than paying guests, showing us the culture, history, sights and wildlife of the Island. We were able to do as much or as little as we wanted with or without a member of the team, all of whom do their upmost to make your holiday one to remember.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to get as fit as you can to get the most out of the activities on offer. Pack casual clothes and insect repellent.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the team are local, the food is either grown by Matko on his allotment or sourced locally and used to produce local dishes. The wine is also locally produced and like the food is organic. They are openly concerned about their environment and actively promote its improvement and preservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, it was fun, informative, active but relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble for Matko and his team and they made sure our week with them was exactly how we wanted it to be.

Read the operator's response here:

It's been a perfect week! Alison and Mike are more than a regular guests, more like friends! I'm gratefull to had them with us!

review 20 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of our holiday was because it was so full of variety, with so many great but very different memories. Kayaking to small islands and into a stunning cave, pierced by a single beam of sunlight. Beautiful beaches and coves, snorkelling in crystal clear water. Relaxing and hanging out in the old town. Hiking over hills and delving into a nuclear fallout shelter! And fabulous food!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Matko and his team are very relaxed and happy for you to do whatever you want. You can use their help or explore alone. They are very good at judging how much you want or need them to be helping or accompanying you. Don't be shy to just say what you want even if it is to be alone or veg out on the beach. You don't have to rock climb a mountain and then freedive to 50 metres, every day! ;-)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were very pleased to be at a place owned and run by local people and everything we did supported local business. The food was all very good, very healthy and locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A fantastic, varied holiday that we both enjoyed very much. Matko made everything we wanted to do very easy. Activities were available and they were all great, with as much or as little support and involvement as you want, from Matko and his team. The food was excellent, including some of the best fish I have ever had.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies