10 independent reviews for Montenegro multi activity mountain holiday, all ages

Reviews for Montenegro multi activity mountain holiday, all ages

SHOW
6
4
0
0
0

review 16 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

i) Stan and his wife's hospitality and getting things organised. ii) Being able to walk into the Durmitor National Park to the Black Lakes from the door of Montenegro Mountain camp. iii) Sailing in Kotor Bay with Natasa and Ilija iv) When around Žabljak the feeling that you are in a different country and not a nebulous "Euro-feel".

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Seeing the Tara gorge by foot and rafting was great, but seeing the plains by horseback was also good, My advise though is that if you have not been horse riding before only book a half day to make sure you are comfortable with it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as all the activities were organised with local organisations. Montenegro is a beautiful country and tourism is only just developing so do not expect it to be as "slick" as things you might do in Croatia (which is more expensive).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great and that's very much down to the attentiveness of Stan our host.

review 14 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the activities arranged by our tour operator were amazing especially the canyoning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If travelling to Dubrovnik during the summer expect to have to pay for a taxi to take you to an alternative location to criss the border into Montenegro.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because Stan used local people to deliver the activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. The counrty is stunning, the activities were brilliant Stan his wife and their eam were amazing and were the difference between making the holiday good to great.

review 29 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I enjoyed it all! Wild swimming, rafting, the zip wire, being on top of mountains, sharing food & wine back at base, the company.....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider flights direct to Montenegro or incorporating a day or two near Dubrovnik to help avoid border crossings becoming an issue.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Montenegrins who own the company, the local organisations running activities, cafes/restaurants and berry sellers benefit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and would recommend these excellent hosts who endeavour to accommodate all tastes & wishes.

review 26 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The breathtaking scenery. Something different on every tour. From horse riding through the grassy plains with mountain landscape to rafting down (or taking the zip wire over) the Tara Canyon. Climbing to the top of Savin Kuk (with the help of a ski lift)in the morning followed by a swim in the low lying turquoise lake in the afternoon. Amazing part of the world!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If possible, fly into Podgorica or Tivat to avoid the Croatian border crossing which gets very busy in July & August resulting in long delays by car. We flew to Dubrovnik (we had our second week here) but got a taxi to the border and crossed by foot due to avoid these delays. Our transfer was waiting on the Montenegrin side and all went smoothly but we were apprehensive about this beforehand with kids in tow. The weather is fairly unpredictable and changeable so pack accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Organised activities are all run by local people and often include lunch at a local restaurant. Fees paid at National Parks help with the upkeep of these areas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! The activities and accommodation were great and didn't disappoint but what made the whole experience relaxing and hassle free was the personal, friendly service from Stan and Gorka. They are the perfect hosts and we felt like part of the family. There always seemed to be some delicious food on offer and a smile on everyone's face :-)

review 5 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable was the natural meadows. To look at the beautiful flowers waving in the breeze with the butterflies and bees buzzing almost brought me to tears. It was like going back in time. The most exciting was the white water rafting. Great fun and lovely to do this activity with people from all over the planet.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want total adrenalin with danger, it is not for you. If you want to sit around doing nothing and chilling, it's not for you. If you want to do some activities lead by a lovely guy who was born in London but who's parents are from Montenegro and you will be pushed, then get on and do it. Stan is very knowledgeable and cannot do enough for you. He organised everything from being picked up at the airport to organizing a taxi if you want to go for a meal. I am 63 and my wife 59. We don't want to sit on a beach or look at another museum. This was 5 days of heaven that seemed like 2 weeks. Expect aching legs from walking and a sore bum from cycling, but it is worth it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Stan used local people for the activities and as he has a history from the area, was able to direct us to local facilities. When we saw children on the side of the road selling wild strawberries and raspberries that they had taken the time to find, he encouraged us to buy from them as they were poor farmers. He is very proud of his heritage and was keen to preserve the unique environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. Initially we thought it a bit expensive, but when you consider the activities included, the amount of meals provided, the great accommodation, the amount of time Stan gave to us to ensure we were enjoying ourselves and the very cheap cost of the food and drink we bought, it was excellent value. If you love to walk, cycle, swim and push yourself a bit, then this is for you.

review 25 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Reaching the top of Bubatov Kuk mountain! It was a tough climb on a hot day, but the view was fabulous and well worth it! The Durmitor region is breathtakingly beautiful and well worth a visit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have sturdy hiking boots for walking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, absolutely. Our hosts were keen for us to use the services of the local community and helped us to arrange extra activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! We all really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have had more time (we only had a short week) to do the canyoning. Our teenage boys really enjoyed themselves and there were plenty of activities to keep them busy. We enjoyed hanging out with the other families at the camp and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Stan and Goca are excellent hosts and Goca is a fabulous cook! Every afternoon we were treated to something delicious when we got back to camp. Stan is very knowledgeable about the local area and was really helpful in making sure that we got the most out of our stay. Our hosts really went out of their way to provide us with as much information as possible and to help us with onward travel arrangements. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Stan also helped us to arrange extra activities (e.g. horse-riding at a local farm) and we also sampled local fare from a traditional restaurant. This holiday is highly recommended, especially families who enjoy activities and keeping busy but still want to have a bit of time to relax. Very good idea to combine a trip to Montenegro's mountains with some time on the coast. Thank you Stan and Goca.

review 27 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Tie between horse riding and rafting? Durmitor was a lovely place to go horse riding for the first time. We went through areas which would have been difficult to drive, walk or cycle through, so this was a great way to see parts of the national park which I didn't otherwise experience. (And we were accompanied by the guide's adorable dog.) Rafting was also great fun, and being at the bottom of the Tara valley really drove home the majesty of the place.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it now!! Stan was concerned that our trip might have been better if we'd come in the summer instead of the autumn, but he need not have worried. The golden fields, turquoise streams and variegated amber mountains were well worth the extra layers and occasional rain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Every activity which wasn't led by Stan was led by local families or small businesses, and Stan hired local people for cleaning and maintaining the apartments. We cooked some of our meals, but Stan also took us to some small cafés and restaurants in the area. Stan was conscious of the fact that we were staying in a small village, and asked us to be considerate with water use.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very highly. It helps that the holiday was in the most beautiful place I have visited. However, the trip was also incredible value (both the standard included activities, and the airport transfer which we arranged separately), and we could not have wished for a better host. I am very impressed with Stan for pulling off this logistical feat of a holiday, organising our transfers and activities seamlessly, while making us feel like his only and most special guests. Signs of hospitality ranged from making us hot chocolate after a bike ride, to answering my relentless questions about Yugoslav history and the Monetengrin language. Stan literally went the extra 50 miles for us when, on the way from Cetinje, he offered to take us on a diversion to Ostrog. Nor did he complain when he had to wait 3 hours for us when our plane was delayed, treating us instead to a quick stop in Kotor! We felt more like we were crashing with a friend and hanging out with friends of friends, than guests in a foreign country :)
xxxxx

Read the operator's response here:

We would like to say a massive thanks to Roulin and her friend Jaixi for being such great guests! They we're real troopers and managed to complete our adventure tour even though it was not the best weather! As I kept mentioning, the weather in the mountains can change and become unsettled and extreme overnight, especially in the months of autumn. However neither the rain, wind or cold could deter the girls from enjoying all the activities. Jaixi loved the Rafting and Tara River whilst Roulin particularly enjoyed her day of Horse Riding, across the plains of Durmitor. We hope they return someday!

review 6 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I really loved the horse riding. And also all the activities in the package.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If they go on October they should Take good equipment for outdoor activities. Especially boots for trekking, a nice anorak and inside warm clothes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local people there are being helped especially the schools with activities and they are very good as persons and excellent as professionals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

If you want to do outdoor activities it is very nice because of the values for money and because in 5 days I made more than five activities! And Stan, leader of the group makes your stay very pleasant.

review 24 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best part of our holiday was the exposure we had to so many different walking routes and activities right on our doorstep. We experienced so many different things from ziplining across a large canyon to trekking through valleys and swimming in the black lakes.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We would tip other travellers not to be afraid to try their own walking and cycling routes on their days off from normal activities. Everything is very well signposted and you can take short or long trips that are outside the scope of the set activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I feel that the holiday benefited the local community in the sense that it brought tourism to the area. It is also good to utilise the national parks on offer to show that they are worthwhile spending time and money on whilst always teaching people about nature as a whole.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We would rate our holiday very highly. We reommend Stan completely as a host, he was fantastic from the very start both as a tour guide and his hosting abililities around the apartments. We were welcomed in with opened arms and he was always available to help. He in fact makes the holiday as all of the activities are built up over the knowledge he has gained from living in the country for so many years . We would love to come back one day and we would happily recommend this holiday to friends and family.

review 8 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best thing I did on my holiday was Canyoning in the Nevidio Canyon in Durmitor. My first time Canyoning and it was spectacular, the scenery was beautiful, it was challenging and exhilarating passing over the rocks, between the passes and into the pools. Our guide was extremely professional, really made us feel safe but at the same time made it fun!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be sure to bring appropriate clothing and footwear and enough of it if your planning to do the outdoor activities! There is so much to do and see in the region if you are the outdoors type.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday definitely benefited the area, I stayed near Zabljak which is still a growing town.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

My holiday was fantastic, mostly thanks to my host Stan of holiday provider. He provided excellent service, information and suggestions all the while being flexible to my plans and arranging all my activities for me. A true gentlemen who will do everything he can to make your experience the best it can be.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies