14 independent reviews for Montenegro activity holiday, adrenaline adventure

Reviews for Montenegro activity holiday, adrenaline adventure

SHOW
13
1
0
0
0

review 27 Oct 2018

We had such a brilliant time on this trip, genuinely one of the best holidays I've ever had. Stan was the perfect host from start to finish-he had everything organised for us in advance, he was welcoming, friendly, helpful and has excellent local knowledge. He even drove us into town on several occasions for shopping/ dinner and helped us arrange taxis. I cannot praise him enough for the excellent job he is doing with his tours. The activities were great fun and very varied, and the guides that Stan uses are safe, professional and very good at what they do. The accommodation was lovely and had everything we needed. There was also a nice outdoor area for relaxing with great views of the mountains. There are a great selection of reasonably priced restaurants in the town and I thought the food was fantastic. I would definitely do a holiday with this company again and would strongly recommend it to anyone else!

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Although we enjoyed the whole thing from stepping foot off the aeroplane at Dubrovnik, Canyoning was the major highlight for us. We also had the opportunity to eat some amazing food, drink some tasty beer and see some spectacular sights!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely pack plenty of warm clothing! The weather on the mountain can be hit and miss. We also brought a couple of travel games - was a nice thing to do in the evening over a beer

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Stan uses local guides and recommends local restaurants. In addition, the locals pride themselves on the fact that most of their food is from their own country

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic holiday and a great experience. This was a combination of fun activities, beautiful landscape and friendly hosts and guides. We would definitely come back and hope that Stan launches the ideas he mentioned while we were there as it would be a great opportunity to go again.

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We have to split that question. The most memorable part was the fantastic scenery, the most exciting was the either the horse riding, canyoning or quad biking. Depends who you ask.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stan and Gorca put on a fantastic trip but make sure you have a good choice of boots and clothing

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did. Not sure how any trip like this involving aeroplanes cars and minibuses to move people around could possibly reduce environmental impacts however.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Great hosts and well organised. They managed to cater for a family with very awkward dietary requirements.

review 27 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All parts of the holiday were brilliant, but as a family of 5 we all liked different things. We all loved the zip wiring across the Tara Canyon and rafting as we saw stunning scenery in a thrilling way!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring some warm clothes, the evenings can be chilly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Stan encouraged us to support the small local farmers by buying berries and honey from them. The environmental impact of our stay seemed minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Stan and Goca were a brilliant team in organising, welcoming, preparing and leading us on our days activities and their children were so welcoming to our three children making the whole experience so much easier. The accommodation was perfect for us and nothing was too much trouble. When our arrival was delayed by a day, Stan did everything he could to ensure we didn't miss out on anything, he didn't make a big deal out of it at all. This is the perfect family holiday if you are keen to experience Montenegro, have a go at some physically activities including some with a bit of a buzz and have a chance to chill out. I highly recommend!! Thank you Stan and Goca for making this such a great experience for us all

review 19 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I liked the white water rafting and my 17 year old loved the canyoning. My daughter loved the horse riding. We all loved stand hospitality and his wifeís delicious food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Definitely take advantage of the tours as itís a beautiful place

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we went to local shops and the trips were provided by local companies

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A very different holiday with an excellent host who made the holiday so easy. It was brilliant.

review 9 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Certainly canyoning, but all the activities were run seamlessly by some great people and we had fabulous time overall

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Prepare for all sorts of weather. We had to use the bin bags for waterproofs when we got cough while cycling in the mountains. Buy wild strawberries from the street vendors

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the activities were run by local people - they were all very knowledgeable and passionate about their country which was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 stars! Stanko & Goca were so hospitable, friendly, helpful and flexible. They made a great experience, an unforgettable one. Thank you both

review 7 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities we did were all pretty memorable. The scenery is beautiful and the canyoning was a highlight for my husband and our two older children. However, the most memorable part was to be welcomed by our hosts Stan and Gotza as if we were family, hearing their stories about the region and feeling like we were a part of the real Montenegro. It wasn't 5* luxury but the experience gave us so much more.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure to pack rain jackets and a warm jumper as the weather in the mountains can turn very quickly!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did benefit local people as a lot of the activities we did (zip wiring, rafting and canyoning) were organised by local companies. The operator also seems to employ locals for their building needs etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous and interesting. Everything was very well organised. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming, and helped us get a flavour of the real Montenegro from telling us more about the history of the place to cooking local meals. The nature is absolutely stunning in some places. We all felt a sense of achievement once we got home from our various activities and plumped in our lounge chairs to read a book or relax. We highly recommend it!

review 12 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most exciting part of our travel was the canyoning! The walk is 1.5 km and there are jumps up to 10 metres high. Local guides (who are also search rescuers) help you with the canyoning and also make pictures. All equipment are provided. Really outstanding experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just go for it and be prepared for a lot of physical activity. Also bring different kind of clothes because the weather and temperature changes quickly on the mountains.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because the activities were all organised by locals. We ate food from the local area and on the last night we were taken to a national restaurant for dinner.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We stayed for 5 nights and did activities everyday except the day of arrival. We did our activities in the day and usually had the rest of the day (4pm onwards) to ourselves. The places we went to were beautiful and you will find a wide variety of sceneries all located very close to each other. We'd recommend it to families, couples and groups of friends looking for a unique holiday full of adventure and fun. Stan (our host) was very accommodating and picked us up/dropped us off from the airport. He can provide suggestions for activities according to your preferences.

review 11 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being with our children doing new and exciting activities together, despite their 7 yr age gap. Paragliding was pretty awesome too! (3 children; two 17yr olds and one 10yr old)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! It was fabulous. Stan and Goca are fantastic hosts and Goca makes the best pies in Montenegro!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was good to support the local families selling fruit and to use local guides and shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!! The flexibility of the itinerary and Stan and Goca's care and enthusiasm were fabulous, as well as their willingness to share local knowledge and history.Jen, Bertie, Katharine, Fizzy and Henry.

review 2 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Climbing up babintuk mountain.. but so many others came close....canyoning and swimming in glacial lakes. Beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This is a must do trip for anyone looking for physical and mental challenge and beautiful scenery coupled with fantastic hosts, company and food.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes where trips needed expert guides they were all locals and we stopped at local villagers market stalls for supplies and treats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The best ever....and ive travelled alot!

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's difficult to pick out one particular highlight because it was all fantastic. From wild swimming to rafting to cycling and trekking - an amazing experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring appropriate clothing and bags of energy!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - Stan is very supportive of local farms and businesses and also encouraged us to use them. He explained a lot about nature conservation and is passionate about preserving the natural beauty and character of the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding. We made some great family memories here. The Durmitor region is stunning and totally unspoiled. The camp is perfectly located, but what was most impressive was the hospitality provided by Stan and Goca - genuinely lovely people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The range of activities is great and there are plenty of other options to choose from. It was a full-on few days but Goca's amazing cooking kept us well fuelled! We'll be back!

review 9 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We've just returned from a one week family holiday in Zabljak. Stan and Gorska were fantastic hosts and the other two families staying there were great company. The accommodation is comfortable, homely and spacious. There was a great range of well-planned activities, all pretty close to our camp - hiking, white water rafting, swimming, 850m zip line across the Tara valley, biking, canyoning and horse riding. We would love to have tried the paragliding too but ran out of time! Great local food and good atmosphere in the nearby town. Being up in the mountains it was warm but not too hot (cooler in the evenings) which was ideal as the activities are quite strenuous.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 18 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Stan is a fantastic camp director! We cannot recommend this experience highly enough. Stan went out of his way to provide us with challenging and exciting activities each day in Durmitor National Park with skilled local guides. We arrived a day late due to an airline delay so Stan included our missed activities on the last day of our stay. Instead of leaving in the morning, we spent time on another mountain peak, ate a delicious traditional meal and departed late in the day. Stan also re-arranged the activities based on the current mountain weather, saving our hike up Bobatov Kuk for a beautiful sunny day so we would have the best views.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Stan is warm and personable and very committed to providing a memorable experience. He also went above and beyond to schedule sailing and sightseeing for us at the beach after our official 6 days was over in the National Park.

review 30 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The canyoning was the best! Mickey was a great tour leader and it was an adventure that I had not had before. Be brave and go for it on the jumps!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by using local tour guides, I know that we were feeding the local economy. I would suggest providing guests with large jugs of water instead and asking guests to bring refillable water bottles so as not to use so many small water bottles for daily lunch trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great! It was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. It was a week of being in nature, which is what I had hoped for, but also provided mornings and evenings to relax and read a book.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies