17 independent reviews for Learn to scuba dive in the Red Sea

Reviews for Learn to scuba dive in the Red Sea

SHOW
12
5
0
0
0

review 17 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Wonderful to return to diving after 30 years

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Busy times are October and April, due to school holidays.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very conscientious about diving etiquette, use of less toxic sunscreens, and use of less single use plastics.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent experience, beautiful diving, and great staff.

review 25 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The feeling of belonging, of being part at the accommodation, AND all the diving

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't over think it, just do it

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Best ever, most relaxing and fantastic.

review 13 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were many memorable moments but the standout for me was our first open water dive. It was my first experience in the Red Sea and the corals and sea life were stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared for a very relaxing time in a fabulous environment a world away from life in the UK.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The dive centre had a strong local feel from the indigenous team and use of local produce, and also an environmental conscience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was fabulous and a great experience for me and my three active children.

review 3 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The most memorable part I guess was having the best dive-buddy a man could ask for (she was very calm and relaxed- perfect for my personality), and chilling out with the blind cat "Lady"; she was adorable!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Hmmmm......I would say not to come expecting some ritzy pent-house type suite where you have every amenity you can possibly imagine. The place is really nice, clean, environmentally-responsible, provides everything you'll need, and if you happen to be lucky enough to spend time with the family that owns the place, you'll likely want to go back. I felt like an extension of the family while I was there, and all of the staff went out of their way to make my stay there very warm, welcoming, and best of all-relaxing, oh-so-relaxing! I think they were secretly putting Lotus flowers in my food because I really considered not leaving. Also, anti-litter laws have not really been established so there is a bit of trash around the city in general (none in the resort though) but you get used to it quickly. There are a lot of cats and dogs roaming freely on the streets but are mostly friendly and it was pet-heaven for me.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

If I spend money in a country I visit, then it benefits the locals. I did my best to adhere and contribute to environmental sustainability (except for the times I forgot and used plastics bags- force of habit) which I don't find to be difficult, but it does require a little extra awareness that can be attained by maintaining more consideration for the environment in the little things.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This might be the best vacation I've had. I can't say enough good things about this place: The family, the friends of family, the dive instructor, my dive buddy (DB), the blind cat, the goats down the street, the terrible imported wine at the liquor store ;), the free upgrade to Sea-View, the great food with an amazing chef, the perpetual sea-breeze, how cheap everything was (at least after coming from holiday in Iceland)......just a wonderful time. Looking forward to continuing my dive training/excursions there.

review 5 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The incredibly relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the resort. Made to feel like part of the family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just be aware of the FO advice for travelling to this area and then, as we did, notice that the experience is pretty much the opposite of what you're supposed to expect . . you think you'll have to be somewhat wary / on edge of potential problems and then find nothing other than a wonderfully friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. There is a lot of plastic / litter around in Egypt but the operator and many locals are fighting really hard to put things right and certainly have an excellent environmental / conservation ethos.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best holidays I've had. Went for a week for our youngest son to learn to dive and we're now planning to go back next year with the whole family. Can't wait!

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My final dive - I really could do it!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go with the flow - its very laid back

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - it's a family run business and all the staff were local. Diverge were doing their best to recycle and clean up the beaches of plastics.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent - if you want a friendly open hearted place to stay and learn to dive then I couldn't recommend it more highly.

review 17 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Learning to dive in such a beautiful place is the obvious answer but it was the overwhelming friendliness of everybody that we met. The whole team made sure that we had the most amazing experience and we were treated as if we were part of their family.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not hesitate to book this holiday! The people are fantastic, the place is beautiful and the more relaxed nature of the area due to its more remote location made for a far more relaxing holiday than you would have at other resorts in the region

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The whole operation was centred around local people and the local economy. We were actively encouraged to reduce our environmental impact and respect the environment which we were lucky enough to see

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An exceptional holiday that will live in the memory for many years to come. We will be returning to the area, staying and diving with the same people before too long.

Read the operator's response here:

We are so happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us and it was pure joy to have you and Hannah join us. Thank you so much for all your positive feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

review 1 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Everything was fantastic but the most memorable part was the diving. We went diving every day and saw lots of coral and fish. Staying with this operator was also very relaxing. They looked after us wonderfully, everything we wanted was provided and nothing was too much trouble.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it! You won't regret it.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the local people were employed by Dive Urge and they actively recycle anything they can.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was fantastic. Can't wait to go again.

review 28 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For me as a ecently widowed -70 year old. The most exciting part was trying for the first time a difficult and active adventure type holiday. Starting as a novice I went solo to Dahab in Egypt into a Dive School and enrolled into the Padi Scuba Open Water Dive course. This involved 10 dives (mainly two per day plus rest days)to pass the waterside part of the course,starting with confined water dives and moving onto - open water dives. Having confirmation of passing,on my 9 night stay I was able to enjoy two more rest / relaxation dives before I came home. Determined to do more diving anbd progress onto other skills.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Preparation - The thought on Scuba had been with me for some years . I now prepared thoroughly by reseaching the Dive School offered by Responsible Travel . More info on Scuba in general and most importantly realising there is a set of 6 comprehensive learning / exam papers , gave myself time to complete as e-learning / distance learning - before I flew into Dahab. This meant I could wholly concentrate on the actual diving process and between dives with no book work to do , was able to fully relax and enjoy the experience - Dahab and Egypt

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

These principals are 100% fundamentalm to the Anglo/ Egyptian management at Dahab and are reflected in their staff relationships - Bedoin connections , care for the local environment - use wherever practical of local resources.The " care principles "are shown/ demonstrated to their guests, who are fully encouraged to participate and follow while in Dahab and to support when returning back to UK.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Five Stars as described below . Yes for me it was a revalatory experience - Not only am I already planning a return to Dahab to further my Scuba skills, additionally I have now booked two other adventure / active solo holidays for September 2012. I hope to remain fit enough to explore yet more -different/ active holiday experiences from the Responsible Travel /Eco sites area and to widen my knowledge of the World . other peoples and their culture .

review 6 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Scuba diving was awesome. Wonderfully friendly and helpful team. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Ahmed was a great instructor and we all loved the diving. I thought I would be too scared but it was very relaxed and Ahmed and Kimberley gave us lots of confidence. 2. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment? Lots of local people and family working for the operator. 3. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall? Excellent, A fantastic balance of activity and relaxation.

review 8 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting my dive certificate and riding a camel into the mountains for New Year's Eve.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No specific tips, apart from relax!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The recycling and the information about how to minimse impact were all good and clear. It was clear that it was more than just tokenism - that the staff are committed to environmental issues. The vast majority of the staff - who were all fabulous - were local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. The team is very relaxed and welcoming, but still efficient. They are fun to be around and care about the guests. The hotel itself is in a lovely setting, and despite my initial uselessness at diving, they didn't give up on me - were very encouraging and Ahmed was an excellent and patient instructor as well as fun to spend time with. Thanks to everyone!

review 10 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Definitely the diving!!! I LOVED learning to dive in the Red Sea and the staff at the dive centre couldn't have been better. I also went on a Bedouin Mountain dinner which was amazing... lying under the stars was unforgettable!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book a trip to Dahab and stay at the dive centre if you want to dive - or even of you just want to have a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location. The staff, accommodation and food were all fantastic and I would recommend staying there to anyone.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. I chose to stay at the dive centre because of their attitude towards responsible travel and they did not disappoint! There were recycling bins around the centre, advice on how to reduce the impact of your actions and the dive instructors were clear about their expectations when we were in the water. Also, most of the staff at the centre were Egyptian which meant that you were learning about a new culture first hand, from the people who live there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I LOVED my trip to Dahab and I'll definitely be going back. I just want to thank everyone who helped make it one of the best trips of my life.

review 16 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being amongst the fish and the coral every day - unbelievable colour and variety.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy it. The dive centre will sort everything out for you! The staff and management are all extremely friendly, helpful and flexible, yet not at all pushy (no-one tried to pressure us into going on excursions or to book additional dives, for example). Our instructor was very knowledgeable and patient, and tailored the dives to our particular needs and interests, also taking into account tides and local weather conditions etc. Having said that, given that we only had a week in Dahab, I was glad we'd done the theory and confined water dives in advance. Doing 2 dives a day when you are still learning was tiring enough and we felt rather sorry for some of our fellow guests having to pore over their manuals and dive tables every evening whilst we were able to relax.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Plenty of locals employed as instructors, cooks, waiters, drivers etc. Guests are certainly encouraged not to waste water, electricity etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A really excellent week. Good diving, good food, and good weather. We both (middle-aged mother and teenage daughter) had a wonderful time and the relaxing atmosphere of the dive centre enabled us to remain good 'buddies' both above and below water for the whole week (no mean feat!).

review 18 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The spectacular location and amazing waters for diving, friendly and knowledgable staff.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware that dehydration and Egypt belly is potentailly a big issue so come prepared.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Lots of locals involved in the business and a green approach by the operator

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

All in all a great holiday and I rate the overall experience very high. I would have liked to have been offered more cultural experiences / activties is only critism.

review 21 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Leaning to dive with the operator.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

See the reef even if it is with a snorkel.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Difficult to say. The operator as a company were proactive in minimising impacts on the environment. Sadly, the same could not be said for the locals. The level of rubbish, particularly plastic was the worst I have seen on my travels for many years and does not make a good impression when you arrive. Thankfully the sea front and the reef are considerably cleaner.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a fantastic place to stay and they were very accommodating. My diving instructor was excellent and managed to get me to advance open water level within a week.

review 31 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The reef and fish were amazing and the dive instruction was perfectly tailored for our needs. As it was just the 2 of us and one instructor we saw far more than we would have done in a larger group.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you are looking for a relaxing, small scale, friendly place with excellent dive and snorkel sites on the doorstep and excellent instriuctors and guides this is the place for you!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 5 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Some of the best scuba diving in the region but what really made it for us was the people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Learn some of the local phrases - it helps massively when bargain hunting (!) and we got the impression locals appreciated the fact that we were trying. Dahab seems to be split into two very distinct sectors, with one end being very relaxed and the other being more "commercially centered" towards tourists. An ideal mix really as you can choose whether you want the quiet chilled out area or the more vibrant area! Best of both worlds!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. All of the people we came into contact with were from the local area so there was a direct benefit to them. The tour operator were also clearly taking their environmental responsibilities seriously giving us an opportunity to reduce our impact on the environment - even simple things like how often the room was cleaned or the sheets / towels changed has an impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Relaxing, fun and good value.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies