9 independent reviews for Romania holiday, Discover Romania

Reviews for Romania holiday, Discover Romania

SHOW
6
2
1
0
0

review 3 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is hard to pick out one particular highlight. The whole experience was amazing. Much of the scenery is pristine. The rural areas are a step back in time. Our hosts were unbelievably welcoming, even if we did not share a common language. Their homes were a step back in time. We had milk fresh from the cow and food fresh from the garden. We even hand milked a cow. The wooden churches and painted monasteries are beautiful. The "Merry Cemetery" was unique. The communism museum was sobering. Our whole trip revolved around our guide Ben. He was everything and more that you could ask for in a guide. He was keen for us to see as much as we could of Romania and Romanian life whilst we were with him and we felt lucky to be in his company. He was always looking for little additional things for us to do, including meeting some charcoal makers and some mobile bee keepers! He also introduced us to Romanian spirits fresh from the locals (!) as well as to other local food specialities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready to immerse yourself into rural Romanian life. Go with an open mind and be ready for some spectacular experiences. Go soon!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Indeed we did. The nature of this trip puts you right in to rural Romania. You stay with locals in their guest houses, eat locally sourced food with much of it home grown. You put back in to the economy by buying from local producers and eating in local restaurants. Staying with hosts in their traditional rural homes helps to sustain a way of life so removed from your normal experience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We have been lucky enough to travel quite extensively and this ranks as one of our very best holidays!

review 12 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Three things stand out : a) the beauty of the countryside and the fascinating towns ,villages and churches; b) our wonderful guide, Ben; c) meeting local people. In just over a week we visited 5 homes, for meals, overnight stays, and cups of coffee. Two of these were unscheduled, arranged by Ben. We felt we'd begun to get to know the country from the inside.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

May is an excellent month to visit - not too hot, and the countryside, especially the magnificent beech forests, are at their best. Also, be aware of your own limitations and don't try to pack too much in (especially if you're elderly, like us). It's very easy to be distracted (and our guide was very accomodating when we suggested fitting extra things in) but that was usually at the cost of missing out on time somewhere else, or getting exhausted.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think one of the best ways of benefiting local people is to encourage them to believe in themselves - sharing their traditions, using their local buildings, skills, eating their food, etc. The hotels/ guest houses we stayed in were all locally owned and run, and we ate in similar restaurants. Our guide was very careful about environmental issues (re-using plastic water-bottles, etc). All little things, and I don't suppose we contributed a huge amount economically, but encouraging this kind of tourism in Romania (or anywhere else) is a good thing in the long term.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our Company director, Laura Vesa, made a point of coming to meet us and keeping in close touch with us throughout our travels, and our guide made an effort to accomodate all our needs. We stayed in delightful locations, met lovely people, and left feeling we'd made friends. It was certainly one the best holiday I have ever had, and I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone with an interest in Romanian culture, history or nature.

review 21 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All very interesting and memorable. We particularly enjoyed walking in Piatra Craiului National Park; visiting the painted monasteries and attending a free concert given by Brasov Opera. Travelling on the sleeper train to Bucharest was an experience!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Travel light and learn some basic Romanian if you are going to visit more remote areas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. We stayed in local hotels, guesthouses and a village stay. I assume the entry fees to galleries, museums and monasteries contributed towards their upkeep.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent introduction to Romania, it's history and culture.

review 28 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We went for the castles and culture, but it's the people that made our trip, especially our amazing guide Ben. We also loved the accommodation choices - the library in Richis was a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We found the train trip back from Suceava to Bucharest a long journey and there's no first class option for more comfortable seats. I'd be tempted to fly, given the choice. However, the unfolding scenery was the upside.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were delighted at the local accommodation which is hopefully allowing the restoration and commercial use of some of the wonderful Saxon buildings in Transylvannia. Our tour company was also actively seeking new ventures to support.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 6 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Staying at casa Ana and experiencing a traditional Christmas was amazing. Siebel was snow covered and delightful and the walk up to the monastery on Christmas Day through the forest was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Consider the route carefully as there is so much more to offer than the churches. The nature is outstanding.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes and no. We were a large group so hired a minibus but the drivers (especially Alex from Sibiu) were great to meet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

First rate.

review 31 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting the 96 year old local Lutheran guide in the fortified church and then the meal in the village.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get a guide - this is a country with a rich and complex history and culture. You will miss most of that if you are not helped.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the meal in the village and the donations to the church were direct contributions to the local people/community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We came not knowing what to expect but a rich history and culture set in great natural beauty was revealed to us.

review 18 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

So many, but probably amongst the highest the beautiful panoramic views of rolling hills and valleys in Maramures, staying with local people, marvelling at the painted monasteries, and visiting the Brown bear sanctuary.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be aware of the high temperatures in August, eg. 32 C and the gravel and potholey roads in the more remote areas.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In some cases. Particularly the families who opened their homes for Bed and breakfast. Some local crafts at sites of high tourists attractions, and entrance fee to the Bear sanctuary helped to support their work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent. Our tour operator, Laura Vesa, did a wonderful job in designing a trip that suited our needs and interests. She was in regular contact with our guide keeping tabs on our progress and well being. Our guide was superb. A mine of information, adding extras items he thought we'd like, and was great company too.

review 28 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Got plenty of good photos. Probably the most memorable time was falling off a milking stool onto a yard covered in cow sh.t! Good guide who was adaptable to our wants

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If going in May or earlier take warm clothing for evening & night

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good. Romanians are very friendly and the countryside is lovely. 4.5 stars awarded.

Read the operator's response here:

Comments appreciated - in future we will give much clearer indication of possible need for warm clothing in May and we hope that our travellers will encourage others to visit Romania. It was a real pleasure to show them the country.

review 2 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For me the painted monastery - Voronet and the Saxon fortified church - Prejmer

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Yourselves need to make clear the number of meals included, no problem for us as we sorted it out amicably ourselves A little personal research on the areas to be visited will enhance your stay

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Business is business and I would like to think we contributed to the local ecenomy

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really enjoyable and the people we met were most welcoming and the company's owner very helpful

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies