49 independent reviews for Croatia holiday, activity week

Reviews for Croatia holiday, activity week

SHOW
32
17
0
0
0

review 28 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting an incredible 80 year old adventurer, who taught us all the joy and importance of enjoying every minute of life!!Morning yoga in the waterside amphitheatre was certainly my relaxation highlight but difficult to pick only one activity. Certainly the amazing meals would be worth coming back for!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A reasonable level of fitness will probably mean you’ll get the most out of what is on offer, although all activities are tailored to the group and there is no pressure to participate if you’d like a morning or an afternoon (or a day!!) off.Most beaches are stony so do bring water shoes!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes- all foods were purchased as locally as possible (and if course we drank local wines!) and every effort was made to link us in with local business when we were out and about. Both Xania and Craig were passionate about preserving both the local environment and community on Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent- loads to do but no pressure if you’d like a sleep-in or an afternoon off! Absolutely amazing food- will definitely open your eyes to the world of plant based meals!!!

review 16 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?


review 15 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There are lots of enjoyably times to remember from this holiday but probably the main one for me is swimming several times each day in the warm clear waters ten minutes walk from the base in in Rukavac.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Join in the activities, have a go but do as much or as little as you want. I liked the informal shorts and tee shirts environment.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local restaurants when not eating at the base and I think the overall ethos of the holiday is quite environmentally sensitive. OK we fly to get there but then you can use the airport shuttle to get to the port and the ferry to get to Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I really enjoyed it - definitely what is says on the tin " relaxingly active"

review 31 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Morning yoga overlooking the sea, kayaking to stunning coves for hours of snorkeling and exploring an abandoned submarine cave were all great experiences

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

No need to pack towels, take camelback water carriers for cycling and enough cash as lots of the restaurants don't take cards

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yep, we ate locally all the time and spent most our days under our own steam... cycling and kayaking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing! Craig and Xania are so inspirational and couldn't have been more accommodating. Xania is an exceptional cook, so our hungry children were well supplied with cakes to keep them going until our fabulous evening meal. That we could take the kayks and paddle boards out on our own during free time was great. All in all a fun-filled, active holiday with something for everyone

review 29 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved the kayaking as a group. We kayaked 4 out of 5 of the activity days, visiting different coast lines each time. We swapped between double and single kayaks, picnicked on beaches and tried paddle boarding along the way. Seeing Vis from this beautiful angle was inspiring.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Arrive with an open mind and be prepared to have a go at everything. I managed a hilly bike ride with gentle coaxing along the way and surprised myself. You don't need to dress up, so no need to take anything fancy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely. The bread and fruit were delivered every day, we frequented local restaurants on four our of seven nights, our activities involved kayaking, cycling and yoga using our own steam to travel with little impact on the environment. Xania and Craig provided vegan meals that were filling and extremely tasty. Since I've returned I'm looking at reducing packaging, eating more plant-based meals and cycling to work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I feel this holiday has had more of an impact on me than most other holidays I've been on. I was thoroughly impressed by Craig and Xania's philosophy and outlook on living life and sharing their home with others. I came back feeling fit and healthy and I look forward to retuning with family members to share the experience with them.

review 7 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

even on the day off, the whole family wanted to be out and about on kayaks, feeling confident and relaxed enough to explore the coast a bit.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

this is the perfectly balanced week of activity and relaxation, bring lots of books, be prepared to learn new skills and meet fascinating new people, be well fed and rested and generally feel like you had a month's holiday, when in reality it was just a week.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, environmental impact of the guest house and food was small. Travel around the island was usually on wheels or waves. Craig and Xania recommend local businesses and buy locally-sources goods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It's been voted our best ever family holiday.

review 1 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Easy access to water based activities in the warm and clear seas around Vis. Starting the day with yoga, on flat rocks overlooking the sea. And jumping in after the session. Social dinners with delicious food. We are not vegetarian but all loved the food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Get up for the yoga and make the most of the day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope we benefitted local people by eating out 3 nights and having the odd drink in local bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic holiday, where we were looked after excellently by Craig and Xania. Beautiful island.

review 16 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

For me this holiday does 'exactly what is says on the tin'. I returned home feeling fit and relaxed. Being a veggie that tries to be vegan, the home prepared food was outstanding. I loved all the activities and the opportunity to challenge myself.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring lightweight long sleeved tops to help with sun protection.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Craig and Xania clearly care about the island and the community. Food and wine are locally sourced. A lot of thought and effort goes into protecting the environment and keeping waste to a minimum. They actively help clean the local beaches of the depressing plastic waste that gets washed up. I loved all the glass containers that are used, washed and reused for food storage. Even the picnic lunches were packaged in reusable bags.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous fun filled 'relaxingly active holiday'. Vis is a beautiful, unspoiled island. I fully intend to go back.

review 8 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved all the activities in the sunshine and the Island of Vis was beautiful. Slacklining and jumping off caves were 2 particular highlights for our sporty teenagers.... plus the delicious daily cake

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Whilst the activities are optional be prepared to have a go - you may be surprised how many hills you can climb on a bike...or how far you can paddle a kayak...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely - we didn't need to hire a car. We mainly travelled by ferry, bike , foot or kayak. The vegetarian food was locally sourced and delicious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We all had a super trip

review 23 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking in the incredibly clear blue waters of south Vis, and cycling to Komiza bay. The meals were also really delicious and the best we have had on holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Buy swimming shoes before you go, as most beaches are pebbles. Spend a couple of nights in Vis town or Split before/ after the holiday to explore more of what Croatia and Vis have to offer. Pack lots of swimming gear!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our hosts used local suppliers for food and other services, and promoted use of local businesses. We also travelled under our own steam most of the time (kayaks, bicycles, walking).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Wish we could have stayed for 2 weeks!

review 23 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There’s no way to pick just one. Our hosts Craig and Xania were absolutely incredible. Every day’s itinerary was spectacular from sunup to sundown. I think the highlight would’ve been living outside my comfort zone and kayaking and biking and doing yoga on a cliff just really pushing my limits every day.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just come prepared to have the time of your life. And don’t let the active part of the vacation put you off because you’re totally capable of doing anything at your own pace. This is also a trip for people who like to meet other people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 our of 10

review 11 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I loved kayaking into the cave and jumping off the cliffs! And the food and wine was wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a more well balanced vacation. Active and relaxing, and flexible to have plenty of down time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack light. It was pretty warm already there in June.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. I think most activities benefited local restaurants, etc. I think it definitely supported conservation by eating at the house many meals and not on the go (less packaging, etc.). Being on the island also demonstrated that trash can impact small local beaches in such a beautiful place.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Definitely 5 stars! I'm not walking away saying "I wish there was this or we did that"

review 29 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There's were two, slacklining over the water in Submarine Cave and also freewheeling in to Komiza after cycling uphill for an hour.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pack mosquito repellent, bit cream and antihist ermine tablets if you are prone to insect bites. You'll need some extra cash for eating out on a couple of occasions.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it benefited local people, all the food we ate was fresh and locally sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was excellent and you could do as much or little as you wanted without any pressure. Xania and Craig were fantastic hosts and guides...truly inspiring people. The food was amazing and they were able to cater for me being Vegan. I'll be booking a trip to their place in Austria and I'm looking forward to trying even more new things.

review 16 Jun 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Vis, your fantastic hospitality, excellent organisation and guiding of activities was superb – you could even say it was relaxingly active. We appreciated the balance you managed to accommodate the preferences and abilities of the whole group - in going at the speed of group when all together, or Mountain Biking flat out when I just cycled with Craig. We also appreciated you both being so considerate of sea kayaking with Helen, who was 16 weeks pregnant, in a 2 person kayak at certain times. When the group of 8 wanted to do a mixture of activities, all requests were considered with you suggesting ideas and routes that would work for everyone and facilitated by dropping some people off in different locations. You resolved our minor room issue within an hour of us reporting it, the room was lovely. The food provided for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was delicious. The variety of cooking of vegetarian and vegan meals was eye opening and highlighted some new food approaches we will take when we cook at home. Vis is a lovely Island and we would recommend the holiday. I still need to buy that slackline!

review 2 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Paddle boarding on the sea, slack lining in the most beautiful leafy location while listening to the noisy cicadas and the food!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for a particularly irritating type of Mosquito!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a beautiful place on a stunning unspoilt Island with some gorgeous pebbly beaches a short walk away. The activities were great but not for the faint hearted...one trip was a 12km (though beautifully scenic) Kayaking trip! The food cooked by Xania was very good, full of flavour using fragrant herbs and spices. The local restaurants are pricey but good mostly.

review 26 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Craig and Xania's warm hospitality, the natural beauty of Vis island and the awesome Adriatic.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Try to participate in all of the activities on offer.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The most fantastic week I have spent with my teenage son

review 15 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Swimming and kayaking in picturesque bays with turquoise seas.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax when relax time is offered! Take plenty of local currency cash to Vis - many places don't take credit cards.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local restaurants, and it was a low environmental impact holiday.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superbly organised, great food and company, and amazingly active!

review 11 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Coming from a stressful job in the U.K. the best bit for me was the yoga by the sea. I have never done yoga but it was taught very well so I could follow along with ease. It was so relaxing and jumping into the sea afterwards was refreshing and truly revitalising!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I would advise them to take more spending money than I did! You need enough money to eat out atleast 4 or 5 times so take lots!!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I don't think it had any negative impact at all, they seem to fit in well to the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I thought this was an excellent holiday for a solo traveller as I was. All the activities were geared around the ability of the individual, i am a fitness freak and have found it frustrating in previous holidays when you have to go at the pace of the slowest person, this holiday I was free to go as fast as I wanted and do extra if requerid! The scenery was beautiful, the people were all friendly and fun, and the food.....OMG the vegetarian food cooked by the hosts was some of the BEST I have ever tasted, absolutely delicious. Accommodation was very nice and spacious and clean. Bikes to ride were in excellent condition, kayaks all in good working order!! All in all, amazing.

review 11 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling 11 miles on the island of Vis up and downhillbin 38 degrees

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do this week holiday. It'll sort you out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

You can change your life around in six short days. Their formula of a challenging yet supportive programme of exercise, more than enough chill time, on demand if need be, the beautiful beaches and scenery of Vis and outstanding, 5 star vegetarian cooking is an all round winner. Great for solos and couples alike. Do it.

review 4 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was also nice to meet new people in an environment that quickly builds bonds.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

With the amount of things you get to do it also works out pretty cost effective too, if you were to book each thing individually it would work out about the same without having the continuity.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I couldn't recommend highly this enough. Craig and Xania made me feel extremely welcome and the itinerary they set out works perfectly. My trip was excellent thank you.

review 10 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Getting to know the island and discovering hidden places on bikes + kayaks. It's a beautiful place and this holiday really immerses you in the local area.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay a night in Split before, air bnb are the cheapest I found and v close to the old town / centre. Don't bother taking any towels, the beach sarongs provided are sufficient. Water socks advisable for pebble beaches. The vegetarian food is delicious, most of the guests were not vegetarian and loved it so be open minded - you can get your meat/fish fix on dine-out evenings.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, they use as much locally grown organic food (and soap) as possible, are solar powered, recycle and promote this ethos through everything they do. You explore the island by bike and kayak so all self powered and truly beautiful and they make all efforts to avoid the increasing speed boat traffic.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best activity weeks I have been on. I'm sad to be home but have wonderful memories. I travelled solo but hope to return with friends some time.

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We loved everything! Exhilarating activities, delicious food, a fantastic location and wonderful hosts!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Craig and Zania tailor the holiday to suit your abilities but being reasonably fit certainly enables you to access more!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! This was a really eco friendly holiday and we felt like a part of the local community on Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was truly wonderful! It will be hard to top this experience. We felt that it catered really well for a mixed age group and differing ability levels. Relaxingly active is a perfect description!

review 13 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all great - beautiful island, good food, tasty wine, lots of sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It was good to spend a night in Split before going to Vis to get to see it properly. Take bug repellent as there seem to be quite a few bitting things...although I never actually saw what they were. You don't need to take a beach towel as sarongs provided. You will eat very well so no need to take extra snacks!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Xania and Craig have a very good relationship with the locals and point you in the direction of restaurants and local producers. As you mainly walk/ kayak/ cycle around it doesn't feel like you're having a detrimental impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good. Especially as I was a single traveller. There is lots to keep you occupied, plus time to yourself.

review 5 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I discovered paddle boarding and I love it! The crystal clear waters, the sunshine, the food...I could go on. But it is Craig and Xania, the owners and hosts, who really make it. They are not only "relaxingly active" but also "relaxingly organised" and just lovely people.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I went on my own it is by far the best holiday I have done as a solo traveller.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the holiday gives you the chance to eat out at lovely local restaurants and I also went on a boat trip with a local man who had just set up in business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Great - I'll be looking at their place in Austria for the winter.

review 7 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The stunning scenery - simply breathtaking. We loved the home cooked food - every mouthful was packed with flavour and was delicious. Our hosts were exceptional - very professional, warm, accommodating and knowledgeable. The yoga overlooking the beach was fantastic and we loved the kayak along the coast - and the delicious picnic and chocolate brownies topped off a perfect day!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just do it! You won't regret it. Follow Craig & Xania's advice for what to do and where do eat out. Their expert knowledge was really appreciated. Rent a scooter on your "Yoda" day or explore the island's flora and fauna on foot, and ask about a military tour of the island - it was fascinating.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate locally produced organic fruit, vegetables, eggs, honey and wine etc every day. We recycled everything we could and minimized the plastic we used. We drank tap water (infused with fresh fruit and herbs - yum!) every day. The showers were heated using solar water heaters. We cycled, kayaked, walked and used mostly "no engine required" power for our trip! It was a very low carbon holiday and we were delighted with everything.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

5 star. Most rewarding and fun holiday experience ever. We'll definitely be back!

review 25 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's impossible to single out any one thing as everything was great, but I loved the overall change of pace - starting the day with some yoga by the sea (optional) followed by a relaxed breakfast, then the day's activity and returning to home-baked cake and a siesta afterwards. "Relaxingly active" does sum it up perfectly! Then either a lovely home-cooked evening meal or a trip to a restaurant.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As others have mentioned, gloves can be good when kayaking (I used old mountain biking gloves) and remember not to grip the paddles too tight! I also found a Camelbak or similar hydration pack very useful on the bike rides & walk. The Croatian Airlines shuttle bus from the airport is great, costing about 1/10th of a taxi and getting you there almost as fast. Also, if your timings allow it get the catamaran between Split/Vis (from the Krilo/Kapetan Luka ticket booth at Split port) - it was only 1 kuna more than the standard ferry (55 kuna rather than 54) but is an hour quicker!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in several ways, from eating at local restaurants to the fact that Craig & Xania use local produce for the meals, including local wine and craft beer! We paid for a great boat trip with a local operator on our day off, and although some days' activities involved journeys in the land rover this was kept to a minimum, and we got around a lot by kayak, bike and on foot.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Absolutely fantastic - I was travelling alone but Craig & Xania (and Ela, their current assistant) made me 100% comfortable and the 3 other couples on the trip were all lovely and very friendly. Craig & Xania give you free access to all the communal areas of their lovely home, and do everything they can to ensure everyone is happy - for example, one couple loved kayaking so did it on every activity day, while others of us chose to cycle/walk. The group can decide what they want to do (with suggestions from Craig/Xania) and there's no obligation to stick with the group if you fancy doing something different!

review 29 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There wasn't really just one - Xania and Craig definitely challenged us with the biking and kayaking. I think we all felt quite proud of what we did manage to do! We got an insight into Vis, Croatia that we otherwise would not have gotten in a traditional hotel. It is the most magnificent island we have ever been to and we hope to go back soon!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

In order to enjoy it properly, it would help to be physically fitter than we are! We were not really prepared for 5-6 full days of biking, kayaking, climbing, yoga - sometimes all in one day.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Xania cooked just about everything from scratch - all locally bought food. There was very little waste.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Definitely 4 stars. As a family, we would have liked a bit more R&R and creature comforts for the siesta time in particular. The food was absolutely delicious; the location perfect and our hosts felt more like friends!

review 3 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to pick just one! From snorkelling in crystal clear waters, beautiful beaches to relax on, morning yoga by the sea, and white water kayaking around coves, to the amazing weather and incredible scenery, and delicious food.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

P20 sun cream! Boat shoes or similar and my cycling gloves proved useful while kayaking. Craig and Xania are extremely knowledgeable about the local area, which proved especially useful in finding the best restaurants and quiet beach spots for time off.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it's clear that Xania and Craig are part of the community, they create wonderful home cooked meals with local produce and I ate at a number of restaurants owned by locals, overall the trip felt very positive and not at all 'touristy'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic! I worried beforehand about being a solo traveller but needn't have - Craig and Xania were wonderful hosts, and very accommodating. Great mix and choice of fun activities, and still plenty of time to relax. Such a memorable experience - I have already recommended to a number of friends.

review 3 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Having never undertaken an activity holiday (and both in our sixties) being encouraged and guided by 2 consummate professionals gave us a chance to try things never done before. The kayaking by Craig was a really enjoyable experience and one we would now wish to repeat,. The thrill in coming down the 5km steep hill into Komiza was memorable, as was the exhortation from Xania - "just keep pedaling you can do it"! We eat loads of veggies but never knew vegetarian food could be so varied or so good - Xania is a fantastic cook.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you don't take regular exercise be prepared to push yourself a little - but there is no pressure to do so and Craig and Xania are well able to gauge what you can and can't do. They don't make you feel inadequate if you don't try or complete all the activities. Some more tourisy and waterfrontt restaurants are not good value and it's worth checking out reviews before you decide where to eat out. Craig and Xania also ensure arrangements are made where necessary for you to eat out.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely as you eat out a lot and use a range of local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An amazing experience and it has given us an incentive to consider how we become fitter, eat more vegetarian dishes and how invigorating it is to try new things. Never too late to try!

review 9 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking anlong the cost with not a human soul in sight (apart from our group), having dinner with Xania and Craig and snorkeling which was like a documentary from David Attenborough.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a foldable chair for Split airport (or be prepared to sit on the floor in the departure lounge), be careful on the roads when cycling (no crash barriers).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably, we drank refrigerated tap water so didn't waste any plastic bottles. We went to local restaurants owned by Croatians. We stayed in a small house not a large hotel that spoils the countryside.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fabulous if you're into activity holidays that are not too crowded.

review 28 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking and cycling around lovely Vis, early morning yoga by the sea, Xania's cooking, playing picigin!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Give yourself time to spend a few nights in Split before or after your week on Vis. It's a beautiful place with lots going on.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - Craig and Xania support local businesses and are very much part of the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A excellent week - Craig and Xania work extremely hard to give their guests a memorable holiday.

review 17 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is difficult to choose just one thing...the hospitality was outstanding, Vis is absolutely beautiful, and our hosts were wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you have flexibility with your dates, let Craig and Xania group you with people of similar interests (e.g. I traveled with my 18 year old son and another family was on holiday with this company with 3 kids around the same age.)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday gave me an appreciation for a country and a way of living that was new to me. Each day we explored the island by kayak or bicycle. Xania and Craig introduced us to some great restaurants and people on the island and I was pleased to support the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, superb, outstanding.

review 12 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The kayak trip (11 km) around the south side of the island was stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax. Craig and Xania have everything handled. Great recommendations for activities and places to eat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Totally relaxing yet delightfully active with superb hosts. My wife and I have never experienced any vacation quite like this one. We had total control over what we wanted to do and when we wanted to do it. The difference is that Craig and Xania provide everything when and where you need it. My biggest worry was how long my afternoon nap was going to be. Food was off the chart delicious for every meal. I will recommend this vacation to all my friends.

review 1 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

There were several memorable parts: early morning yoga followed by a refreshing swim in the sea before breakfast was a fantastic way to start the day. The kayak tour around the bay of Vis town then on to the submarine cave was spectacular and also the mountain bike trip to Komiza where I surprised myself being able to (being fit enough!) cycle back up the hill from Komiza.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The only tip I would give is that the restaurants in the bay of Rukavac do not take credit cards so we were unable to pay our restaurant bill the first night. Many places on Vis didn't take cards so you'll need to keep getting cash out. You also definitely need water shoes as the beaches are mostly pebble. We used very high factor 50 'once' sunscreen on our upper bodies and none of us burnt.....you are exposed to the sun for many hours!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we drunk locally produced wines exclusively and supported local restaurants and bars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was absolutely fabulous. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I love an active holiday with just enough time out to chill and read a book and chat to other guests.

review 12 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The magnificent landscape, the genuine hospitality of Craig and Xania (and the dog Zora.) The afternoon cakes were the highlight, the daily activities in the Kajak or on the Bikes (-:

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it, you will not regret it. Enjoy the activities.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great relaxing time and would do it again (in fact we will do it again!)

review 24 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Too many to reduce to one. The hospitality was great and loved the food. Enjoyed the kayaking and swimming in clear blue water and discovering little bays and beaches. All in all a fantastic holiday with great balance of activity and relaxation.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

June for the last few years has been hotter than July and August so it proved a bit hot for walking. Up to 36 degrees!! Bring shoes to wear in water when swimming to help avoid sea urchins.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as some meals were in local restaurants and the hosts bought local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic and would love to return some day.

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Island of Vis is stunning. We enjoyed cycling and sea kayaking, snorkeling and swimming in the beautiful clear sea. Difficult to pick a highlight, but the 7km cycle run down into Komiza was stunning. Our hosts Craig and Xania know the island and its really well and were able to direct us to local restaurants, the best beaches and advise on activities to suit the weather conditions.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Just book it! Too good to miss.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - Xania cooks with local fresh ingredients, which was wonderful. We were advised where to eat and the lack of commercialization on meant we felt we were contributing to the local economy in a positive way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have not enjoyed a break so much in a long time and I would totally recommend this operator to anyone. I could not fault any part of it.

review 15 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is a great blend of outdoor activities and relaxation on a breath-taking island. Craig & Xania are fantastic coaches who enabled me to build up confidence in the sports while enjoying the views. Not to mention the delicious, yummy food! Most of all, I found myself again in the midst of nature and the wonderful companions I've met on the trip. Thank you very much Craig & Xania. You are fabulous, keep it up!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I only booked it two days before the trip as I was so busy. However, it turned out superb. My tip? Go with the flow and be surprised with more than you bargained for! PS: There is no single supplement charge and this is one of the reason I chose them as they are fair to people like us!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. I managed to make friends with the local community through dinners out. The locals were most friendly and we shared such great laughs. The recycling and environmental-friendly practices are well and alive too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10.

review 21 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to pick one as it was all so fantastic but kayaking around the unspoiled island and stopping off at deserted beaches to have our picnic lunch was fantastic... but hiking and biking through the unspoiled landscape of Vis was also unique... it's not often you can go somewhere so beautiful and not be overwhelmed by tourists which is definitely not the case on Vis.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate to book... as a solo traveller I had the usual worries but this holiday was absolutely perfect with the right mix of activity and relaxation. The great location/accommodation topped off by amazing home cooked vegetarian food (locally sourced ingredients and wine) and the perfect atmosphere to enjoy it all. Bring shoes to wear at the beach as the beaches are stony...

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Xania and Craig are actively involved in the Island community and support local enterprises. Xania cooks based on what is locally available and all wines come from local vineyards. Apart from a few trips in the landrover (minimal) all activities are either on foot by bike or by kayak and they actively encourage people to respect the environment and not damage the unspoiled ecosystem.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, would encourage everyone to go!! I will definitely be returning.

review 22 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking down to the beach through forests that smelt of pine and fennel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay in Split for a night to explore the town, and don't bother with taking a taxi from the airport to the town as the bus goes from straight outside the terminal to the ferry.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - most of the food we ate was grown in the island itself. Also the tour operator is very low key, personable and friendly - the opposite of a large hotel chain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Exactly as it is described....it is an activity holiday in a small friendly hotel with amazing food, but be prepared for long mountain bike rides!

review 23 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The beautiful warm clear sea and all the different beaches within walking distance of the house. Most memorable was also yoga early in the morning on the rocks by the sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate local food and used the restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a wonderful week for lots of reasons, slightly out of our comfort zone being in a group and be guided. Xania did an excellent job. The activities provided enough of a challenge without being daunting. The food was delicious. Looking back now, I realise how much of a holiday it was being gently guided and going with the flow and taking part.

review 2 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

As soon as I arrived the atmosphere was very friendly. Xania & Craig make you feel welcome and like it's your home too. Great holiday for a mixture of activity and relaxation and the pace you want. Little details I'd never thought of made it even more special.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Stay as long as you can as there is plenty to do. One week was too short.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Xania and Craig were aware of many local places for food, extra activities and to buy local products but didn't pressure you to feel obliged to buy anything....the local food was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday. Beautiful location, always something to do...if you wanted to, friendly hosts that thought of everything and were very easy going to make sure you enjoyed your holiday. Highly recommended.

review 5 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had an awesome week out there. Loved the place, loved the accommodation, loved the food, loved the activity, loved the feeling of really getting away from it all. Craig and Xania were brilliant hosts

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

What you get out of this holiday will depend on what you put in. If you are enthusiastic and happy to give things a go, you'll have a great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. We ate local produce either at our hosts home or in local restaurants staffed by people from Vis. There was fairly little motorised travel. The emphasis is on moving around under your own power.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 9 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It is very difficult to pick out one thing. The Island, the food, the company, the kayaking, the relaxed afternoons of swimming and resting, the biking, the cake, the morning yoga, the jumping.....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't pack a raincoat if you go in July. Make the most of the opportunities on offer. Try the jump from the top of the submarine cave (we didn't and have regretted it ever since). Join in all the games. Eat all the cake. Bear in mind that two adults on one scooter won't make it up all the hills.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Craig and Xania are really good at recommending local places to eat and drink and shop. Seeing the Island by bike and kayak is a very low-impact way of getting the best from Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Cannot recommend it highly enough. If you like to be active and get out and about this is the holiday for you. The island is stunning and has so much to offer, while still feeling like you are getting away from it all. We were a bit worried the holiday may be more geared towards families but we had a wonderful time. Xania and Craig have created something unique, a warm friendly environment in a great location with something different everyday. We were sad to leave and have talked about going back ever since.

review 19 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sea Kayaking.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4/5 would have benefited to have the rest day on the wednesday as normal, people were tired on the wed and thursday.

review 15 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Great to have really patient kayaking tuition as a kayaking novice. It was wonderful to kayak, swim and snorkel in such crystal clear waters. Vis Island is staggeringly beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

I took a pair of cycling gloves with me which made the paddling much easier on the hands. Also you can buy swimming shoes very easily and cheaply in Split and on Vis so you don't need to purchase them before you go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was really impressed that Craig and Xania are 'walking the walk' and not just talking it - they don't have a tumble dryer for example and use local produce for the fantastic meals they produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

This is a great holiday for adults (single or in couples) who want to have some exercise and be gently challenged as well as relax and do nothing. In my experience holidays are usually either full on activity wise or completely lazy and this one has just the right mixture of both.

review 13 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Ooh, that's quite a hard question to start with. I think maybe it was realising that I could manage the 11kilometre kayak that I thought would be beyond my abilities.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring a mosquito plug with you, they're nippy little blighters!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As far as I could tell, all the food we ate in the house was bought locally and our hosts actively encouraged us to eat at restaurants run by local people - one of which has it's own organic wines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I would rate the holiday very highly, I ended up relaxed and invigorated and had accomplished rides and paddles I didn't think I would be able to manage. Both Craig and Xania were supportive in all our activities.

review 20 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Kayaking into the empty little coves on our second kayak tour and the fact that I was finally able to kayak in a (more or less) straight line! Xania's cooking is superb and the bike ride down to Komiza was very very pretty. It was exactly the kind of holiday I wanted: good amount of physical activity (not boot camp) and the afternoons to lounge, read and eat very well.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The website seems to suggest that this holiday is very family focused. While I have already recommended it to friends with kids, I would HIGHLY recommend it to folks without children in the May, June and September time periods when the kids are back at school and the island is quiet. Hanging out in the living room and the terrace listening to the radio after a morning of activity was very relaxing indeed. There were only four guests when we were there but our dinners were really lovely both in terms of the delicious food and great conversations. If you have enough friends that are game for hiking, kayaking and biking...it's a great place to get away.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Xania and Craig are clearly very integrated into the Vis community and were great at suggesting dining options and gifts that would benefit the locals and were more authentic in feel. I also very much enjoyed the unexpected pleasure of watching a game of Vis Cricket (not a joke!) which Craig helped get off it's feet.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I had a lovely time! Exactly what I was looking for - cozy environment, pretty nature, fun activities, excellent food and the space and time to just relax. Relaxingly active is a very representative slogan indeed I am not at my fittest but I was able to move at my pace and in a way where I felt challenged but not pressured in anyway!

review 11 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The activities and relaxing nature, warm welcome and excellent food

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take appropriate clothing as suggested

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the food and wine was local, water was solar powered

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed ourselves the company was excellent the accommodation was very comfortable, the activates were well organized and although we had never used a kayak before the instruction was there to make it easy and enjoyable. Highly recommended

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies