2 independent reviews for Tailor made Spanish Courses in Picos de Europa National Park

Reviews for Tailor made Spanish Courses in Picos de Europa National Park

SHOW
1
0
0
1
0

review 10 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Sharing a beer looking over a stunning bay at the end of a Camino walk

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Beautiful area so stay a bit longer!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local course ,staying at a small, friendly non English speaking hotel, using local restaurants. What's not to like?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 14 Jul 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The afternoon of caving.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you want extreme sports as advertised you are on the wrong holiday. There was no white water rafting (as the water level is too low after the end of May) even though it was confirmed by email that it would be one of our activities. If you want spanish classes that they adapt to your level this is also the wrong holiday for you. There was only 2 of us but the lessons were not adapted at all to suit our level.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very disappointing.

Read the operator's response here:

Hola Jo, Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy all elements of your holiday with us. As we explained to you in person, there were very specific circumstances why we could not white water raft during your stay. This had nothing to do with the time of year, but with the tragic accident that had happened on 4th July (only two days before your course started) in that stretch of river. We're not sure whether you fully appreciate what something like that can mean for a small community like ours. Maybe we didn't explain well enough. We’re glad to know you enjoyed the caving and we hope you enjoyed the other activities too. We felt we were able to accommodate your needs and health limitations well (for example by changing activities with very little notice or allowing you to swap days, even outside the dates of the course). We pride ourselves on delivering student-centred lessons for all students who come to study with us, so reading that you did not find the level appropriate we wish you had mentioned this during your classes - we could have very easily adapted the lessons to find something that you felt was more suitable for the two of you. We are a small local language school in a rural area where every student who stays with us brings benefits to the local community. Over the many years we have been running our courses we have welcomed countless students who could feel and appreciate the positive impact their holidays had for local people, so it is truly a shame that you were not able to see this. Wishing you and Aurélien all the best, Ana.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy