39 independent reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling holiday, Spain

Reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling holiday, Spain

SHOW
5
31
3
0
0

review 19 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Traveling with our friends.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Leave your expectations at home.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I will rate it ok.

review 22 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Loved the fact that this worked so well for my husband and I - he's a serious recreational cyclist and I'm an avid cyclist but more casual in my approach. We're '50 something's' and found this all very enjoyable. Varied terrain, lots of farm animals and birds, medieval villages, cathedrals, the Brava Coast, differing crops, the Pyrennes. It's all quite something!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry too much about stuff that could happen! It's all quite safe and very enjoyable really. Take rain gear - booties and helmet cover even as they don't take up much space and will keep you comfortable if it showers. Be in reasonable shape. It says it's easy, and it is if you're able to manage differing terrains and keep at a good pace so you can stop and enjoy the sights and still have time to relax back at the lovely accommodation. We took our own bike seats and were glad to have them. Maybe the seats on the bikes provided are good but we didn't take a chance on that.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Stayed at places that used local foods and services. Took trains to and from Figueres and Girona, and rode everywhere all week. We actually felt sorry for tourist using cars as we figured they could only see and experience a fraction of what we were seeing and experiencing on our own steam and up close on double and single tracks/trails and farm roads. This is the way we increasingly like to see new places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb! Both accommodations were comfortable, the breakfasts were great and we actually enjoyed 5 out of the 7 dinners in the dining room of our hosts.

review 1 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

What a fantastic holiday! Cycling each day down a new route, through vineyards, small hamlets, to the beach! A holiday quite different to anything we had both been on before. The freedom to explore and see such beautiful scenery made this holiday unforgettable. We travelled in late June so the weather was also lovely!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't forget to bring your camera! With all the beautiful scenery and wildlife you won't want to miss an opportunity. Take lots of food and water. You can be cycling for quite some time before coming across any shops, so take a blanket and find somewhere comfortable to stop and have a picnic.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

How a holiday should be - the chance to experience the local culture, buy local produce and explore the landscape

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, really relaxing and wouldn't have had this experience booking by ourselves.

review 22 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The quality of the first hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you can cycle off road on very rough ground.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was well organised.

review 16 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We took a self-guided bike tour through the Empordá region of Spain through Catalan Adventures. There were many memorable moments: views of the Mediterranean from the Cap de Creus Park, hike to San Pere de Rodes, amazing Greek and Roman ruins, Castle at Perelada, delicious food at every turn, nifty Romanesque churches at seemingly every cross-road….I could go on. We also loved the back roads which gave us insights into the local farm economy, irrigation practices, and took us through so many interesting small towns.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

This trip is very well-designed and gets to many wonderful places you will not want to skip. That said, if you can add a bit more to your daily rides on one or two days, it is well-worth it to take a day to hike up to the Monastery at San Pere de Rodes and on into Cap de Creus park (if you have the legs for it). The views are stunning and the hike isn't particularly hard. Having your own GPS with maps could be handy if you decide to venture off the (careful and excellent) instruction. We got lost several times when we decided to wing it, but always had a great time.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip seemed quite embedded in the local economy as both of the lodgings were small and locally-owned, and both procured food, wine, etc from local cooperatives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Loved it! It was the perfect 25th wedding trip.

review 25 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The small town of Palau Saverdera was beautiful and perfectly quiet. It was a few kilometers from the ocean and a great step off point for all of the daily rides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring your appetites, the food is absolutely amazing.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Pretty much every purchase was local, so we definitely felt that we contributed economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10 out of 10, it was a great experience, exactly what I was looking for.

review 30 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The contrasting spectacular scenery and cycling through the Aiguamolls National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go ahead and book, you will not be disappointed. Stay and extra day in the beautiful City of Girona

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, staying in places which were not on the usual tourist route sand shopping locally had to add some benefit to the local community. Cycling has to be have a greater impact on the environment than travelling by car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent, far exceeded our expectations. Has to be one of our best holidays

review 27 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Other than being surprised by the roadside hookers, which give a whole new perspective to bicycle trips, we enjoyed the countryside and accomodations, the wildlife and the nature park, the Greek and Roman ruins, and sitting by the coast sipping beers.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

We didn't have time to take a longer trip so it was great to be able to specify just the kind of trip we wanted, so don't hesitate to modify the trips to fit your schedule. Plan on visiting Figueres when the Dali museum is open, as we did not.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We enjoyed the local flavor of the hotels and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was exactly what we were looking for to complement our other travels in Spain. Everything worked out well: equipment, directions, and lodging.

review 26 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The views were breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure to bring enough snacks for each day's trip.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was great to contribute to local economies and travel in an environmentally-friendly way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great trip. It's so nice to be outside doing active things and get away from the typical tourist activities. Steve was very helpful throughout the experience.

review 7 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through sun dappled feilds and watching the mountains in the distance capped with freshly fallen snow.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do it! Brilliant.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly say more of the country, and interacted with locals more than we would if we had traveled by car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Splendid. An unforgettable experience.

review 18 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The accommodation provided at both locations was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed our week and visited some beautiful locations on our bikes. The crew were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate in recommending them. The accommodation was excellent and again we were given a very warm welcome.

review 8 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling down to the Mediterranean on the 4th day of cycling the views were fantastic and the tracks and roads were great.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of sun cream but be prepared for some unexpected weather (especially the wind).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As with all cycling holidays it must be beneficial to the environment rather than using a car. Because we stayed in smaller villages it must help the local economy in some small way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent! Great information given about all routes. Great accommodation helpfull but not pushy.

review 5 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Going downhill on some of the bumpier tracks was great, it was very exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Most of the important information was already outlined for us by a very helpful instructor/guide so all you really need is the ability to read a simple map, follow directions and obviously ride a bike.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think because of the bikes we used cars very little, cutting down on CO2 emissions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Probably a 9 out of 10. It was brilliant overall and possibly the only improvement could have been if their was a little more hilly areas. However, the lack of hills made it much easier so this is quite specific to me as I love going really fast down hills.

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Roman ruins were a highlight for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book an extra day to visit Girona.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it definitely benefited local people - we visited and stayed in places we might not otherwise have found.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had an excellent break. We were pretty unlucky with the weather but Steve kept in contact and suggested alternative activities when cycling was rained off. This meant we spent a day in Girona, which was well worth a visit - a beautiful city. The second hotel in San Pere Pescador was fully booked on our dates so we stayed at alternative accommodation down the road. The owner was really friendly and helpful throughout our stay and it was only a 10 minute walk from the beach. Enjoyed the Catalonian way of life and experienced some wonderful food, drink, cycling and sightseeing during our stay. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

review 15 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Just cycling around the villages was a great way to see them and experience some of Catalonian life. There wasn't one bit that stood out but thoroughly enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it. The bikes were very good for road and track use. Don't bother about a rucksack for cycling with. The panniers are more than adequate and just take out your camera and waterproof when you lock the bikes up anywhere.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, benefited the small village cafes and restaurants and took us to places we would never otherwise have gone to. It also reduced the impact of car hire for sightseeing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, with the small reservation that the second accommodation wasn't quite up to scratch.

review 28 Feb 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Biking through the beautiful historical medieval villages.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Spectacular with wonderful memories!

review 27 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sunny weather, the lovely accommodation and the great food cooked by Miguel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Build in time to relax and enjoy the beach, take your swimming things!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good.

review 15 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Approaching San Pere Pescador, tired and a little sore it has to be said, we emerged from the campsite situated on the beach front. Having meandered, oblivious to the outside world, through the beautiful and quiet National Park we were met by a sudden unexpected fantastic spectacle of colour and activity. It reminded me of the endless challenge and excitement of when sport and nature coincide. The sky was bustling with dozens of bright and multicoloured surfer's kites stretched out over hundred of metres surrounded by the tranquil hue of the blue sea and sky. The waves were alive with dots of athletes pitting their strength, skill and wits against the wind and water. I could have stayed for hours watching the kite surfers - it was mesmerising. That picture juxtaposed against the serenity of the natural beauty of the surrounding environment is my most memorable moment from the holiday. Loved it! My travelling companion got most excited at discovering the local co-operative at Palau Salvadere from which you could buy really good quality wine products at excellent prices in amounts of your choosing. AND very environmentally friendly you could refill your "jug" from the barrel! The co-operative was a real winner :)

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

You really don't need to worry about anything while cycling other than the most basic human requirements of food, water, rest and relieving yourself - everything else is sorted. But do bring a snack and water with you because facilities can be far apart. You might like to dine in the accommodation at least one of the nights, the food was very good and you might be lucky enough to enjoy a bit of banter with another like-minded holiday maker or share an appreciation of a super bottle of local wine.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the places we stayed were owned and run by local people. We ate and drank local produce and visited local attractions. We cycled so that had minimal impact on the environment. And we were most impressed with being able to re-use our plastic jugs to refill with wine from the barrel at the co-operative! And it was local wine and really good :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We really enjoyed it. We felt refreshed and healthier at the end of it.

review 2 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling along quiet, country roads in the sunshine then arriving at a beautiful, old village with an enormous church - and a cafe opposite to sit and sip a cold drink.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The operators info was so comprehensive, I can't think of anything that needs adding.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, because we stayed in locally owned hotels and ate out in local restaurants + cycling has minimal impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was great. The area was beautiful for cycling, the accommodation was first class and the operator very well organised. We had not done this kind of holiday before and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

review 19 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling through vineyards and flopping into the Mediterranen to cool off from the 35 degree heat.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate - the cycling is very manageable. You get to see and do things on a bike that you will never do in a car or bus.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent money in small villages that do not normally get the tourist pounds. We stayed in small family run hotels, not big chains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback Stuart, we work really hard to make sure everyone has a great time and good review makes all that hard work worthwhile. I wanted to make one quick comment regarding the temperature though. Stuart was absolutely right, during their holiday in the middle of September the temperature crept up to 35 degrees during the hottest part of the day, however this is very unusual, normally the average maximum temperature in September is around 25 degrees. Again, thanks for the feedback Stuart and good luck with your next adventure! Regards Steve

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Visiting places on the bike that you would not normally see if you visited by car.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Excellent holiday for seeing the real Spain.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes staying ib a local family run accommodation that also provided an evening meal if required benefited the local community and the accommodation was friendly and welcoming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The non stop enjoyment of cycling through the countryside and the laughter shared with my daughter!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

It does get very hot during the day so head off early.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely. The hotels we stayed in sourced everything locally and of course we were travelling by bike.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent Steve and his wife Maria of the operator were very attentive to detail and so prompt to answer any queries.....and they were lovely friendly people.

review 9 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This tour gave us the opportunity to see some beautiful villages and countryside of Catalonia while cycling on trails. It felt like it was our world!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't hesitate. Everything was organised to perfection. Steve and Maria were wonderful - courteous and helpful in every way. Maps, photos, and GPS made the self -guided cycling really easy.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local B&B accommodations gave us the opportunity to be part of the community during our trip. Hopefully this contributed to their economy in a small way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It exceeded our expectations. Would recommend it to those who like to cycle trails, and be independent.

review 6 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The 4th day of cycling takes you through the wetland reserve of Aigumoles, where you actually have to walk for about 20 min (welcome rest for sore bum!). Wildlife is gobsmacking, including huge number of nesting storks/cranes. We were there in July but apparently spring& autumn when migratory birds are passing through is something else. Generally though the places you pass through are charming and the landscape and very diverse agriculture going on round about are really interesting. As 80% of the cycling is off-road on farm tracks and the like, it's really quiet with minimal traffic. On the rest day, it's easy to get to Figueres and the Dali museum (go early to avoid the crowds).

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go for it! My other half doesn't cycle routinely and she was fine (we're both late fifties and averagely fit). If your legs get tired you can always walk for a bit and in any case you'll want to stop, look & take photos quite a bit. The support by Steve & Maria of the holiday operator is superb; bikes are high quality and instructions/directions very comprehensive and easy to follow - backed up with bike computers and bike-sat nav.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The holiday brings lots to the local economy by patronising excellent small hotels and local businesses. It's also very green and low impact as you are powering yourself around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Superb - if there was a 4.5* score I'd give it. If you want an interesting holiday with some activity then this is for you. As well as this, the surroundings, food and wine are just great. We'll probably go back again as there's lot of other things to do as well as cycling.

review 1 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The lovely scenery & tranquillity of the cycling off-road. It was our first cycling holiday & based on this experience we will certainly be having another cycling holiday.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax & enjoy. The bikes are excellent and the cycling is not hard and you can take all day if you want. Steve was extremely helpful & should there be a mishap I'm sure he would be there in a thrice!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Whilst the cycling is not far from major resorts essentially it is based around the local villages & the two hotels both of which clearly support the local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

An excellent week’s holiday which was extremely well balanced & organised with some lovely food as well!!

review 18 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My daughter and I really enjoyed our week cycling in Catalonia. After 3 full days in Barcelona it was great to get on a train, be met at Figueres , taken to a beautiful guest house, given our bikes and easy maps, and be left to go our own way, with any texted query instantly answered. Bikes were great - never knew cycling on rough roads could be so comfy, and maps so detailed that GPS not needed. Ana and Miguel’s guesthouse was a joy to cycle on to. 20 miles a day was just our mileage. Homely evening meals, and freedom to cycle all the routes given, or have a lazy day off. Think you’ve got a really good package for people who want to go their own way, with the benefit of all your local knowledge. It was just the holiday we needed. Many thanks

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book it - as long as you're not a keen cyclist who needs to cover many lycraclad miles! These are very gentle rides through backroads and wildflowers. Just what we wanted. Very little traffic, or even ther people.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good guesthouses chosen where the people were really welcoming. Excellent comfy, reliable bikes, and attentive organiser - answered all trots we sent immediately and always helpfully.

review 27 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a totally enjoyable holiday from start to finish. High quality bikes with suspension and soft saddles were a joy to ride, well thought out routes were full of interest (and hardly a car to be seen on most of them). Accomodation very good - comfortable, friendly, brilliant breakfasts - and Steve and Maria went out of their way to ensure we had a good time.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Firstly, if you have done other cycling/walking holidays that include dinner, don't worry that this one doesn't - both places we stayed in offered exellent food and dinner was a very reasonable 'all in' price that included wine/water/bread. If you want to eat out, there is plenty of choice very close by as well. Secondly, ensure your E111 card(that entitles you to free EU medical treatment) isn't out of date, like ours were (see 4 below).!!! you have to have one or you pay upfront.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely - local people earn a living from our spending and you can't get greener than biking! Also, 4 nights in one place and three nights in the other reduced the laundry ...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Totally enjoyed it - despite a 'no fault' accident on the last day that resulted in a broken arm (500euros) thanks Steve for providing a list of emergency numbers, so we could call an ambulance, and for collecting our bikes; thanks Maria for picking us up from the hospital afterwards. My only accident ever, in many years cycling, but medical treatment and help from organisers were both outstanding.

review 22 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being able take in the sights sounds and smells of a fascinating and changing landscape at a leisurely pace.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful few days which I would gladly repeat. Well organised with charming accommodation.

review 13 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Cycling along aside fields of poppies.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring the right gear. For example padded shorts and gloves makes for a much more pleasant ride.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as the B and B s were very proud of the produce they had grown and it tasted good too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent in the attention to detail to make life easy and quality of the simple but lovely accommodation.

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The area that we cycled through was really beautiful and being on a bike was a great way of seeing it. On top of this, the local food was fantastic and the people were really friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Unless you have an iron bum bring a good pair of padded cycling shorts with you! (The bikes have good seats and Steve does fit an extra layer of padding to the seat but I don't think you can be too cushioned...)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Apart from transfers to and from the airport (and a taxi there and back to the Dali museum) we cycled everywhere and either bought food from local shops or restaurants or ate in the B&B, so yes, I'd say we minimised the impact on the environment and benefited local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Really good, would certainly recommend it to friends and could see us doing one of the other activity holidays that Steve offers.

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Perhaps the excavation site at Empuries. However all the cycle routes contained beautiful places and things to see. We saw a lot of lovely spring countryside, and stayed in interesting villages. We are both of retirement age, with a lot of cycling experience, but these routes were easily managed and the options to do more or less arduous routes were there if wanted.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

The cycling is very flexible. With a map (provided) you can choose to do as much off/on road cycling as you want. However do visit the suggested places they are well worth it!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we stayed in locally run hotels and used the village shops and restaurants. Our souvenirs were all bought at the local wine and olive oil coops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a wonderful time. The hotels were very comfortable with helpful staff. We saw rural Spain in a way we have never been able to do before.

review 28 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Natural park of Aiguamolls where we spotted dozen of breeding storks.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To be physically in a good shape and to expect the best guidance from behind the scenes.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I guess so, we ate and slept in small hotels ands restaurants, bought local products and hardly used cars.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Most wonderful.

review 15 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

A relaxing fun week with old friends enjoying being outside in the catalan countryside on a bicycle in March when there is still snow and ice around at home!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ensure you understand your own expectations/requirements clearly as this holiday is as stated "easy" and could be a disappointment for those looking for a pure cycling holiday/challenge.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as we used small rural guest houses to stay in, local shops, bars and restaurants and visited local tourist attractions whilst making minimal impact on the environment as we were only cycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good time had by all 4 of us and well looked after by the holiday operator. Have already brought information back for other friends who are looking for cycling holidays.

review 9 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We cycled through some really beautiful countryside and saw parts of Catalonia we would never have been able to get to without our bikes and the routes that were planned for us.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Don't worry if like us you have little experience of bike maintenance - all equipment was provided and we were given a really thorough explanation of what to do in case of a puncture etc - plus we knew help with this would only be a phone call away should we need it. Take a camera and your swimming costume-the countryside is beautiful and we really enjoyed our breaks from cycling on some lovely beaches.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we stayed in two really wonderful local hotels. The breakfasts that were provided and the dinners that we ate in the hotels were cooked with wonderful locally sourced food. As we were cycling around the area we felt we were minimizing our impact on this wonderful corner of the world

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a really great time on our slightly alternative girls' week away. Everything was organised perfectly, from transfers to and from the airport, being booked into really nice accommodation and our well thought our cycling routes through the countryside which took us to some really interesting places around Catalonia. A fabulous holiday.

review 9 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The first day of cycling: there was a wind strong enough to make the socks turn around in the shoes. At times, progress was slow but the sun was shining and we certainly hadn't experienced anything like that before.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take it easy, go slowly and enjoy the small things - here are really no 'big' things to see. Don't be afraid to get off the track to explore things.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Apart from some lunches and the normal lodging, I don't think we did much to the benefit of the local people but then, that part of Spain gets along pretty well as it is. In some other part of the world, our expenditure might have had a significant impact but I'm not sure if I want to choose my holiday destination with that in mind. As for impact on the environment, I think we did reasonably well. Of course, if we had thought about total impact on environment, we would've minimised the CO2 emissions and stayed home.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A great way to spend a week: see a new part of the world from a different perspective, have some exercise and relax.

review 28 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The Tramontane, no but seriously, the day we cycled to Empuries. A lovely ride and a superb and interesting destination.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Always carry food and drink on the bikes because it was not always easy to find it at the times we wanted it. If you are staying at the Mas de Joncar, a superb guest house but a bit out of the way after a days ride, be prepared to eat there - not a problem though, as we were served 4 delicious and varied meals. If you stay at Palau-saverdera be sure to go to Restaurant Rhoda for the half shoulder of lamb - to die for!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, by contributing to the local economy, and by very limited use of our car once we got to Catalonia (500km each way trip from our home in France, although we did combine it with a three day visit to Collioure, en route).

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very well organised and everybody went out of their way to be helpful. E.g. during afore mentioned tramontane, Mercé who owns the hotel in Palau gave us a lift to Roses as cycling was out of the question. Steve was always concerned to be sure that everything was going well, which it did, and ensured that the paths were still rideable after recent bad weather. The route finding was easy and well prepared, and the level of cycling (easy) we felt was correct. The routes were varied and interesting, especially the bird reserve and greco-roman ruins. In spite of having mentioned bad weather we actually had 100% sunshine.

review 26 Oct 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We had an altogether lovely time. The weather was great and being able to stop for a swim was super. The routes were well planned in the main and we enjoyed the occasional challenge when we got a bit lost!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Pick a time of year when it will be warm but not too hot!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes in the economics and we cycled everywhere!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

4 stars.

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad you both had a good time, it was nice meeting you both and you were a pleasure to deal with. With regards to getting lost, we have taken on board the feedback you gave us before you left regarding the two junctions on the trail that left you a little confused and we have now updated the route notes to make sure this doesn't happen again. Good luck for your next adventure!

review 28 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The locations were amazing. Our first accommodation was situated at the foot of the Pyrenees. We also saw some beautiful parts of Northern Spain.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

As a cycling holiday, not suitable for families with young children.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we were encouraged to make the best use of local accommodation, restaurants and other facilities. By the very nature of a cycling holiday we hope our impact on the environment was minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good. We would certainly recommend this to our friends.

review 5 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Enjoying a cold glass of locally made Cava in front of the Mas Del Joncar guest house after a lovely scenic bike ride to Greek & Roman ruins and a stop at the beach, what a perfect day!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make the most of the bikes to explore further. Padded shorts for those who may not be used to long sessions on a bike, the tracks can be lumpy & bumpy at times!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Locally sourced accommodation using local produce for meals definitely a benefit. Cycle routes taking you into little visited places encouraging you to spend in local bars & shops in these small communities. And how greener a way to travel than on two wheels and under your own steam, good for you and the environment!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic, one of the best holidays in recent years. The cycling acted as a distraction from regular life, whilst getting some sun, fresh air & thrills. Lovely relaxing places to stay. Plenty of time to stop where ever and when ever you wanted too, the beauty of a self guided tour!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies