8 independent reviews for Short break to Petra, Jordan

Reviews for Short break to Petra, Jordan

SHOW
0
7
1
0
0

review 13 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

I must say all was very good , but Petra was lovely and Ardmit our Guide was so good

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Use Ardmit he was so good , and talk to the locals all very nice

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes , we spent money on local things and I felt we helped the local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good , every day lots to see and have told my family and friends to go there and use Responsible Travel

review 2 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Seeing The Treasury emerge from between the rocks of the Siq....

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Forget all of your preconceptions about security and risk in Jordan. This is probably the most peaceful and the safest place I have visited. Safer than France, Belgium, the UK....... You can wander the streets alone quite safely. Wish I had stayed longer. Just go.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is down about 80% due to Jordan's "noisy neighbours" so the local economy needs your cash!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

One of the best.

review 20 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Hard to decide: Petra is a standout, but I also loved snorkeling in the red sea, sunset in Wadi Rum, the Siq Trail in Al Mujib reserve and finishing up relaxing in the Dead Sea.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take mosquito repellent. No-one warns you about the mosquitos!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Some parts, yes. In particular, Al Mujib reserve & Wadi Rum components of the trip was clearly run by locals who loved & respected the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Fantastic. We fitted so much into 5 days, and stretched ourselves physically & culturally. It was a great trip.

review 21 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take clothes for all temperatures.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very good. An excellent guide made all the difference. Guidance on tipping would have been helpful. Also, if the hotel (Petra and Dead Sea) have no alternative options for food in as there are no nearby towns/villages, then a price guide for dinner would be helpful.

review 25 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra was much bigger than expected, the camel ride easier, and the scenery more spectacular than we imagined.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do not cross at the Allenby/King Husseing bridge between Israel and Jordan. It took two hours going and three hours returning to get across. And we were not given any information as to what to expect on the crossing - very confusing. If we had known this, we would have shifted our trip in order to cross at Eilat, Israel at least one way.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I can't comment on this although our interaction was with local people - the driver, guide, etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great way to see a lot of Jordan quickly - a charming country with open, friendly residents.

review 10 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We saw and did SO much that it's hard to pick anything specific. It was all wonderful, interesting and fascinating.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

To book via this operator.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think the local people do benefit from tourism and wherever we went we were impressed by the interaction of the locals and how importantly they rate the tourism industry. The tour guides were all incredibly knowledgeable and everybody else we can into contact with treated us well. I'm not really sure about the environment...

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great experience. Because we saw and did so much it was important to have the logistics right. With the help of this tour operator we had a fabulous itinerary and everything really ran like clockwork. If we were told we would be fetched at 8.30 we would be fetched at 8.30. It was impressive and I have already recommended them to a work colleague who is looking at doing something in that area.

review 6 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The sheer beauty of Jordan.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure that you fully understand the quality of the hotels you have booked.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

No. I drove in a private car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I was delighted to see Jordan and enjoyed the natural beauty as well as the historic sites. It was a great introduction to a country rich in heritage.

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

My husband arranged a sunset camel ride in the Wadi Rum desert. The camel handler laid out a blanket for us to sit on and proceeded to build a fire and make us tea spiced with cardamom and sage. He completed this delicious drink by adding fresh camel milk. Very romantic!!! Floating in the Dead Sea was a very different - "one-of-a-kind/can't do this anywhere else in the world" experience. Most disappointing...2 hour 4X4 ride in Wadi Rum desert. Wadi Rum guide was most uncommunicative, the vehicle was very questionable, and the site's not worth the effort. Take this off your itinerary!!!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Ask how long the ride it is between sites. We were a bit surprised to find some of the drives were quite long. If you are Christian (or perhaps another religion) let the tour planner know that you want to incorporate meaningful religious sites. We arranged to go to Bethany by Jordan - the baptism site of Jesus - when we realised we were right close by. Our tour guide was very good about accommodating this requested addition. Before booking we had asked the question about what the impact would be travelling in Jordan during Ramadan. We were told not much except some restaurants would be closed during the day (this turned out to not be problem). However, we did miss the Chariot Races at Jerash because they cancel the afternoon show during Ramadan. Someone should have been aware of this - we could have made the morning show by leaving a little earlier. Same with the mosque in Amman - not open because of Ramadan - so what was the point of driving past it. Would have appreciated some suggestions of things to do and a place for dinner on the day we arrived in Amman. We had the afternoon free. In Wadi Rum do not offer the 4X4 tour... more interesting would be a tour via camel ride (though an hour on a camel is quite enough) or the hydroplane we saw flying over the desert the day we left.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so. We certainly bought a lot of trinkets at every stop. Only one woman at Petra was "strong handed" with her selling pitch - beware of "Sara." Our significant purchases were made at Jordan Jewel, a charity that supports the men and women who make the crafts. Not quite certain about the environmental impact of our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

On a scale of 1-10 we would give it an 8.5...we were very pleased and would recommend your company and our tour guide Najeeb to our friends.

Read the operator's response here:

1. 4WD Wadi Rum tour. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the 4WD ride in Wadi Rum. We have received numerous positive feedbacks from previous clients about this tour. The vehicles are owned by the local Bedouins and as such moneys from this trip is given directly to the local community. As a result of your feedback we have contacted our local agents to ensure that in future all vehicles used are of a high standard. We are now also in the process of offering future clients an alternative camel ride in the desert if they so wish instead of the 4WD tour thank you for this suggestion. 2. The Roman chariot racing at Jerash was not included as part of your standard itinerary. The tour is very busy and due to time restrictions we can never guarantee that you will be in Jerash in time to see the Roman show. We do apologise for your disappointment in missing this. 3. We are delighted that overall you had a great time in Jordan and we thank you for your feedback which has been very constructive and useful.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies