16 independent reviews for Adventure holiday in Jordan

Reviews for Adventure holiday in Jordan

SHOW
4
11
1
0
0

review 13 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra and the night in the desert.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Do go! Jordan is a very friendly and safe country with amazing things to see and do. Support them so they can continue to welcome Syrian and Palestinian refugees

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

See above

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

A wonderful experience. So many different things packed into one week.

review 1 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Meeting such a great bunch of like minded travelers. The whole holiday was excellent; great tour guide (Mo), who looked after us all from start to finish. Every single day was another new and exciting experience and we were constantly updated and given as much info as we wanted. Can't fault it in any way.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Bring good walking shoes!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes re local people - we all spent money locally, the tour guide took us to a co- operative shop to buy souvenirs and showed us local vendors with good reps, rather than the mass marketed tat you usually get.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Outstanding.

review 29 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It was all fantastic; I plan on returning! The best bits for me were: Jerash, Petra, Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take a second camera battery as you'll be using your camera a lot! Don't be afraid of conversing with the locals - English is very widely spoken.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most hotels were locally owned (no big chains); the Wadi Rum campsite is owned by Bedouin; the guide was a lovely Jordanian. All hotels want you to conserve water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just take the plunge and go on this holiday. I had the best half term break ever!

review 13 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Go a day early as due to flight times you do not arrive till after midnight on DAY 1 and you will miss out on looking around Amman.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Just what I needed - warm climate, good bunch of fellow travellers, excellent guide and wonderful country.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This is a very difficult question as it was all just so fabulous. If I had to pick one highlight it would be the 2 days in Petra, followed closely by the camel trek in the Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you have good footwear as there is a lot of walking and climbing. Outside Amman it can be expensive to eat and alcohol is expensive so be sure to allow for that. The itinerary was slightly unclear in that it said the first day of the holiday was in Amman. In fact, on day one we met the travel guide butnot until 1900hrs that night so it is slightly misleading.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our group eat in all the local restaurants and drank in local cafes so yes it did benefit the local people. Any souvenirs were bought from local traders rather than international shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

The holiday was absolutely excellent. The guide, Mohammed was a font of knowledge and such a friendly guy with great inter personal skills. There was never a question he couldn't answer. The administration of the holiday was excellent. Everything was on time and the organisation was superb. I would definitely choose Responsible Travel and this operator again.

review 7 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Difficult to choose between 1) the first view of the Treasury at Petra 2) Camel ride at sundown in Wadi Rum 3) Sleeping under the stars (sadly not many as it was cloudy!) in Wadi Rum 4) the lovely people of Jordan 5) seeing genuine affection between a Bedouin and his camel.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Drink plenty of water (we invested in a water bottle with integral filter so could fill up anywhere - was v useful and saved on plastic waste), take good lightweight supportive walking shoes or boots, and a torch (especially a head torch) is very useful in the desert. Be aware that your ticket at Petra entitles you to a horse ride back from the siq to the entrance - and beware of the "compulsory" JD5 tip that you might get persuaded into. Please avoid the horse carriage rides in Petra - we were quite upset at the treatment of the horses.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure about this.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Wonderful but tiring!

review 16 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Riding a camel in the desert - staying overnight in a bedouin tent and seeing the sunrise over the wadi rum.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Take plenty of local currency - it is difficult to change travellers cheques and there are not many ATM's. Take good walking shoes and just enjoy - you won't regret booking this holiday

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

10/10 - Was made more enjoyable by and excellent guide/representative - was so enthusiastic and helpful.

review 13 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

3 things: 1. The first view of the Treasury as we walked through the Siq at Petra 2. The visit to Jerash 3. The camel ride to Wadi Rum and the night in the Bedouin camp - including sleeping under the stars

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you book for more than yourself and partner, don't book as one booking. The operator didn't explain this to me at the beginning and the whole administrative process before the holiday was chaotic. It ended up with them completely losing my address, sending our final details to another member of the group and everyone having this person's address on the details form. I had to call them several times - an 0844 number - and hang on for up to 15minutes, each time they messed something up. My tip would be also to ignore any administrative in competencies as the organisation of the tour on the ground was excellent, thanks to our tour leader, Fran Maillol.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in local restaurants, used local guides and drivers and hotels owned by Jordanians (I think). Not sure about minimizing impacts on the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Holiday - excellent. Operator administration - poor.

review 15 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The opportunity to wander around the Petra site and a taxi out to its sister site little Petra exceeded expectations, But equally memorable was a boat trip in Aquaba - in air as hot as hairdryer this was a welcome respite. The snorkel site they call the Japanese Garden was as tidy and intricate as its name

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Donít take too much notice of the dress advice in most guide books, Jordan is far more tolerant of western women's dress than the books imply. And donít miss shoe shopping in Amman - great designs and bargains

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Unclear - this was not really mentioned or stressed that much, There was a rural women's cooperative I think that ran the place where we did the cookery course in Petra. The desert camp at Wadi Rum was run by bedouins

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Pretty good - it was billed as a holiday for teenagers and it was disappointing little was really done to engage them or help them to overcome initial shyness at the start of the trip.

review 14 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra, especially the second day when we were off the tourist route and did optional walk from Monastery to Little Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A reasonable level of fitness is required for Petra. Be prepared for early mornings and dodgy plumbing!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. However increased tourism at Petra is spoiling it because of over supply of donkeys, horses, carts, camels etc which seem unregulated.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Good, but tiring.

review 14 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The first view of the Treasury in Petra. Our local guide, Abdul, arranged us so that we all turned round and got that classic view through the siq at the same time. It was incredible and brought a tear to my eye.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Eat where the locals do at least once. The food is superb and very reasonable and you get to people-watch at the same time. Also take the time to talk to the people you meet, even in the hotels. They're friendly without being pushy and have a great sense of humour!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in hotels which were individual, not a chain, and used a local guide (although not for the whole trip). The Bedouin camp in Wadi Rum was locally owned and run and was good on conserving water etc. However, 23 of us were transported in a 46-seater coach which is not environmentally sound.

review 17 Mar 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Our holiday to Jordan was full of such a variety of activity that it is hard to choose just one memorable part. Petra was even more spectacular than we had imagined, Jerash is the most fantastic Roman historical city we have seen, beating even Palmyra. The night in Wadi Rum with the camel ride during the afternoon was fabulous. Flopping (one cannot really swim) in the Dead Sea with its 30% salt content was great fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Book up quickly but not if you like beach holidays. The snorkelling at Aqaba was disappointing, the Madaba stop for the mosaic not worthwhile, but everything else was what we wanted. March is good for temperature and we only had rain on the last day in Amman. Even the desert walk was in a comfortable temperature. Be quite forthright with drivers if they start using mobile phones while driving and if they start racing each other (our group was in 4x4's in the desert).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Certainly, we spent 25% of the total cost while in Jordan and unlike the Bedouins took no material from any site or desert to minimise impact. We also were sparing with the amount of water we used and took sufficient clothes not to have to use laundry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Marvellous. We went to Jordan because of Petra (and Petra is staggering in its scale) but came back with so many other wonderful memories.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your correspondence regarding the tour. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip. It is always good to know our efforts are appreciated and therefore we are pleased to pass on your kind comments to all those involved with your tour arrangements. We were concerned to hear that the drivers were using their mobile phones whilst driving. We have standard operating procedures in place which we expect all drivers to follow. These state that they are not permitted to use mobile phones when driving. We would like to assure you that we have taken this up with our local agent as a matter or urgency and we will ensure that the drivers receive further training on our operating procedures. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to have the pleasure of your company on another trip in the not too distant future.

review 10 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Petra was undoubtedly the most spectacular part of the holiday - It is a truly amazing place. However waking up just before dawn in Wadi Rum and watching the sun rise was the most moving experience.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Drink plenty water! I took a 2 litre bladder which I carried in my rucksack which allowed me to sip small amounts constantly. Make sure you have head protection - red and white Shemah headgear is worn by many locals. They are cheap to buy and give great protection. Don't expect too much luxury. Hotels vary, some are basic but all were reasonably clean. Food again is adequate rather than exceptional. Lots of buffets and it helps if you like houmus and pitta bread. Do expect to have a great time. You will be in a smallish group and will soon all be on first name terms.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Jordan is not really geared up for mass tourism and the small group using existing facilities does minimise impact. The virtual absence of the likes of McDonalds and Starbucks mean you are relying on locally owned and run establishments. However there is a lack of recycling facilities and also evidence of some litter in Wadi Rum. thankfully I was not aware of any of our group contributing to it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Best ever! The tour operator provided a busy but balanced itinerary and we crammed in far more quality experiences than I thought possible.

review 17 Jan 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Being in Petra and in the Wadi Rum. Wonderful wonderful time. Also hiring horses to go to little Petra instead of the bus. We saw desert and incredible sunset. All thanks to our guide for arranging this unforgettable memory.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Cheaper than doing it on the internet. I saved app. £550 by going with Responsible and had the best time with everything included and lots of the freedom I so enjoy when doing it by myself.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

In the evenings we went to local restraunts and then on to little local shops. There was no pushing us into a shop of the guides choice but he offered us advice. We didn't really mingle with the bedouin at Petra unless we had a camel ride or donkey ride. At the Wadi Rum we had tea in different places in the desert made by the Bedouin and at camp we were able to get a feel of their lives by sitting and sharing a fire and conversation. Lovely people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I rate this holiday as one of my best and I have been on numerous world wide. The amount of places, activities and history we encountered was amazing. FULL MARKS..

review 18 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

It's hard to choose from camel rides in the desert, sleeping under the stars, exploring the crusader castles and floating in the dead sea but I think it would have to be sunset over Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be prepared to do a bit of walking and always carry a water bottle and hat.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we bought from local people and our guide was amazing - Cheers Ibrahim - kept us laughing and got everyone involved - we made a great team and I'd happily holiday with all again!

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Amazing - selection of places and activities, our amazing guide Ibrahim, excellent value - just excellent.

review 1 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The silence at Petra by candlelight, in front of the Treasury, after the walk down through the siq. Beautiful and moving, a chance to reflect on all those who had passed through this area over thousands of years.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

If you make a late booking as I did, don't bother with arranging an expensive transfer. Just take a taxi. The rate seems to be fixed at about 20JD, and even at 1.30 in the morning there were plenty of taxis. Also, don't be afraid of going in July-August: the heat is great, but tolerable (41C when I was there). And at that time of year you don't need to take a fleece for the night in the desert.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It was low season and relatively quiet at the end of July, so yes, there were some money making opportunities for local people when we came. We kept things tidy as we went along but it is a bit disheartening to see all those plastic bags blowing around at the roadside. We couldn't avoid buying mineral water in plastic bottles and cans of soft drinks: wonder if any of them get recycled?

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I loved it. So much history yet to be excavated, and so interesting to see how the heritage is being preserved. The buffet meals are a good way for both veggies and carnivores to eat together without worrying about what to order. But each meal there seemed to be so much left over!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies