10 independent reviews for Dubrovnik and the Islands activity holiday

Reviews for Dubrovnik and the Islands activity holiday

SHOW
2
7
1
0
0

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This would be different for each of us. For some, it was driving a quad-bike through a deep swamp (!). For others, the beauty of the islands, snorkelling in the crystal-clear blue water, or trekking up the hill to be rewarded by an amazing view at the top.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Relax and enjoy! It's a great balance of activity and free time. Everything is very easy, we were well looked after and were impressed with the quality of organisation and attention to safety. The guest houses on the islands are basic but comfortable, and Adria were helpful in offering choices, particularly in Dubrovnik (Hotel Kompass was an upgrade, but great luxury way to start the holiday).

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The holiday is fairly low impact, using the local ferry service to the islands, and mostly our own power to get around! (Quad bikes an exception!) The locals rely on tourism anyway, and we saw that local people/services were used in small ways throughout the holiday. We had a walking tour of part of Lopud guided by a local which gave us much more in-depth information, rather than relying on what our (sports) guides might have picked up.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

We had a great time - its a really good holiday for a family with older kids (young adults really), where everyone is fairly active but want different things from a holiday. the operator was responsive, relaxed and helpful. Our island guides were expert kayakers but were also patient with the not-so-expert guests.

review 1 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Jetting across to Dubrovnik on a speedboat - a lot of fun!

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Be ready for hot weather, but expect an occasional windy summer, leading to some big waves on the sea.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think that it did help the local businesses. About 80 per cent of Croatia's income is through tourism as one guide did tell me. So I hope that it helped to buy the goods, foods and souvenirs from local vendors, who were always polite to me.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant. Martina, Marco, Josef and his team were all excellent reps for us. They made us feel at home, went the extra mile, and as we all said, we want to come back sometime in the future.

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The whole holiday was memorable, with a good guide, excelllent locations and great fun.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Embrace the croatian culture.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stay in more traditional guest houses owned by local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Best holiday in years, perfect location, exciting activities, knowledgable guide.

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

All of the activities organised by the excellent holiday company were memorable. I enjoyed the knowledgeable guided tour of the incredible city of Dubrovnik by Ivana, the kids loved the quad biking and the sea kayaking. We all enjoyed the cycling, hiking and snorkelling. The sea caves were probably the most exciting bit! Every event was well lead by very friendly Croatian guys.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Nothing notable – it was all very well organised. It was pretty hot in August so take it easy around 1100 to 1500. The activities were all easily do-able and great fun.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The apartments were locally owned and the guides Croatian. Much of the food served was literally grown ‘out back’ or freshly caught fish which was always excellent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was a great holiday. The idea of a few days in a city (Dubrovnik) and then a few days out on the islands is a great combination. Having activities already organised and paid for, and great guides, meant the holiday was stress free and the lovely seafood (and top restaurants in Dubrovnik) did make it one of the best holidays we have been on. Many thanks to Ivana (and her Mum, Nada) who runs the company for such a great time.

review 2 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

We went on a family mixed activity adventure holiday in Croatia. Two adults, 13 year old boy and 17 year old girl.This was fairly soft 'adventure' that we could all fully participate in though we opted not to do the quad biking. We were really impressed with theholidaycompany who were very flexible and well organised. The highlight was probably the boat trips and swimming into caves. But the kayaking was also very good. We had a main guide for the week who was excellent. The bikes for the biking day were good quality.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Croatia in End July was really really hot, though they were having a heat wave so maybe it is not always so bad! Anyhow this meant the early part of the day was best and we usually had the afternoon free to relax. Not good for vegetarians and in general the food was slightly repetitive meat or fish options when an inclusive meal. The local sea food was fabulous.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a hotel in Zagreb and village rooms on the islands all of which were contributing to the local economy.The guides were Croation from various parts. Ours was from Zagreb. That's about it though.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Very very good. Easy to set up and arange. As a small company they could be responsive to your needs. A lovely part of the world.

review 30 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

This was a school trip, but we still managed to have an outstanding time. The highlights were when something happened unexpected - we had some memorable solo diversions during free time - exploring the island paths, off-road buggying, but the jewel is the location - stunning Dalmatian coast (and Montenegro mountains) and the active itinerary was perfect - sea kayaking, biking, rafting, swimming in caves.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Montenegro uses Euros - bring some, while Croatia uses Kunas - exchange UK money in Croatia. Prices are generally a little cheaper than UK. (Pizzas, beer - a steal!) Also, bring water shoes, as the spiny sea urchins and rocky coast are unforgiving.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we ate locally in excellent restaurants and stayed in local-run accommodation. We had minimal impact on the environment but definitely immersed ourselves in the environment - our kids have seen a lot of rural life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

It was excellent. Many thanks to Johnny the tour guide who bent backwards to help and was a great source of knowledge, and all at the holiday company. Thoroughly recommended.

review 4 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Lovely country and people. Very friendly and flexible company. We struggled to get flights for a Sunday to Sunday holiday so they adjusted so we could start out holiday from Saturday. All the guides and Ivana were great. It was a good variety of activities which kept all the family happy. We stayed in 3 different locations and I liked the fact that we kayaked to the 3rd location, from Sipan to Loped and our luggage was there when we arrived.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

A lot of the beaches are stony, so suitable water footwear is useful and take your own snorkel gear as they didn't have any.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate in local restaurants, a lot of the food was local such as fresh fish. The company use small restaurants, guest houses etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Brilliant definitely one of the best holidays.

review 11 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

The best thing about the holiday was that it matched the description and quality of the brochure. The sea and coastline, really was beautiful, the food was local, fresh and good and people were helpful and friendly, the activities were generous and considerate of the abilities of the participants. It was especially good to see our 15 year old son having a good time on the choice of activities and comfortable talking to the rest of the group especially a couple of the regular Guides.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you can cope with the heat of the season you are travelling in. August is known to be hot in Croatia. Having said that, one of our party was not good with the sun and the reflections from the sea, but still managed to do everything. If a cool bedroom is very important to your enjoyment, check with the company first, to make sure they can find suitable accommodation. ( I am not an advocate of air-conditioning, but I can see it making a difference to some)

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were delighted that all the guides and staff were local and not brought in from elsewhere. They were passionate about their country and had strong and thoughtful views about how tourism should develop in Croatia. It was noticeable that the staff had been with the local company for years and it was giving them a sustainable living and they were happy to work with local families to create good small scale apartments and they always used very good local family restaurants. Where possible, both tourists and staff used the most environmentally method of travel. One even commuting to work each day only by bike and canoe.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

Excellent

review 21 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Very hard to say as it was so varied. I loved the Quad Biking, horseriding, especially the sea kayaking

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Make sure you know what activities you are doing. Make sure you pack the right clothes, walking boots etc.

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I Guess it would benefit the locals, tourism always does. We also stayed in local guest houses and ate local food so that would have benefited the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall?

I have travelled around the world twice and there are not many places i would visit twice, however i would visit Croatia again.

review 1 Nov 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday?

Walking up to 1234 metre peak with stunning views all the way and super picnic lunch at top overlooking mountains of Bosnia, Montenegro, Croatia and the coast and Dubrovnik in the distance.

2. What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday?

Might be better to stay closer to Dubrovnik if you want to go out in evenings. Our hotel was a bit out of the way, which made for a very relaxing stay, but didn't allow for any late night drinking opportunities!

3. Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed at local hotel and used local services. We walked a lot. We ate a lot of local food and wine. But we flew there....

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies